Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

1234235236237238240»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,008 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Foreign language students and their complete and utter lack of situational awareness. About 40 of them - no exaggeration - got off a bus there just as I was walking past with my dogs and they all just milled around taking up the entire footpath. Leads tangled, lost sight of one dog entirely for a moment, and literally not one of them even attempted to step aside or excuse themselves. Will yiz for the love of god employ even an atom of cop-on and get out of the fcuking way 🙄🙄🙄

Post edited by Dial Hard on

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Deborkify!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

When the sleep option on my laptop doesn't put the laptop to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

How it's easier to be a drone in work rather than waste energy trying to engage with people at a higher level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Charlo30

For some odd reason the metric system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,112 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Is it exactly the same cohort I encounter down by DCU I wonder ? It’s fûcking bizarre. It’s like they’ve actually been drugged, they either just stand in your way, looking at you, or walk at you… the exact same crowd I’ve been giving out about in the shop…NO situational awareness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭brokenbad

The trend of boy racers with slogans in the back window of their souped up cars - some examples below:

"flat out like a badger on a bypass"

"Drive her like your late for mass"

"Wiggle your hole for a sausage roll"

"workin' the land and droppin' the hand"

"part time farmer, full time charmer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,935 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I found two old films at home. No idea what's on them.

I could get them developed and be overjoyed or disappointed.

Post edited by freshpopcorn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Can't remember the full slogan,but there was one going around that involved "creampies".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭jacool

Have you seen the price of gum shields in the "border counties"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Haven't seen it in a while but this is the one that really TA's me

image.png

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,817 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Sitting in Dublin Airport T1 having **** all to do waiting for the 2am bus home to Waterford

I know they can't have a 24/7 bar but surly can have the Food Hall open. Insomnia and that shop on the way to arrivals is not much choice

Then seeing happy fuckers on the way to departures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

That I'm up posting this at 4am because I can't bloody sleep :-(

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,434 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Insincere adverts. No overweight people on McDonald’s adverts. Banks that “care”. Phone companies that tell me we are “together”. And women who look extremely happy during their time of the month.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Nipped down to my PIL’s mobile home out west for a nice peaceful weekend.

Fella across the site out foaming and buffing and washing his mobile, grand whatever. Apart from the fact that he also has a large petrol lawnmower he’s left idling and making a complete racket for the last 40 mins all while he’s been doing his bits. Hasn’t even touched it since starting it up. Good man, waste your petrol and annoy everyone around you for no reason.

Can never get my head around the solipsism of some people. They think themselves the main characters of the world. I can excuse that mindset in someone under the age of 10, but this lad is about 60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

No fish again in the canteen, even though they advertised it earlier in the week. 😕

I bet they're all pictures of Schrödinger's cat!

And the cat is both fed and unfed. 🙃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,735 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Supermarkets that don't have 2 litre bottles of sparkling water, except in 6 packs.
    You can even see where people have ripped the 6 packs open to try to buy one.

Looking at you ALDI and some Tesco branches.

Why they have an issue selling a single bottle is beyond me.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

The heavens' insistence on opening every time I set foot outside the door today 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,587 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

TA that when wearing a sports bra it gives me a uniboob.

Double TA that when I am driving to a class wearing a sports bra my seatbelt will continuously slide off said uniboob to my armpit. If I have an accident when it's in that position, it'll cut the neck off me not to mention I feel like it's choking me so I have to keep adjusting it while driving. Annoying as feck.

You want encapsulation rather than compression sports bras, it sounds like. Basically anyone over a D cup should be using them. They're expensive as fcuk, though.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Yes you are right. The price of them in bigger sizes from any decent brand is another TA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Hasbaralies

Needing 50 posts to engage in politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,339 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

People who hit their driver side door off your car when they're opening their door in a car park.

And, on a similar note, people who clip/brush off the wing mirror of the car when walking through parking spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Hearing some university marine professor on rte talking about the ‘boo-ees’ in some coastal bay. Fair enough if he was from the US as they pronounce Buoy that way. Surely as a local he knows we pronounce it boy in this part of the world. Americanisms. Hopefully we won’t be referring to the emergency lifebuoys as lifeboo-ees anytime soon 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭Be right back

People leaving the freezer door open in supermarkets..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Around my neck of the woods they just walk straight out onto the road without looking. I don’t know how there hasn’t been a serious accident yet.