Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

I thought that too even while watching the game tbh: that 14 V 14 would have suited Kk…

(I was neutral for this one btw, I'm a Cork fan!)

I didn't really notice the soft frees, but I felt that the Kilkenny lost their shape a bit. Lofting balls into a "spare forward" that didn't actually exist. If it was 14 v 14, they would possibly have stuck with creating overlaps and working the scores.

We'll never know, but it's interesting that so many of us feel the same way about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,794 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

So just to be clear about it, apart from the scoreboard error which apparently only affected how Kilkenny approached the final minutes of the game, the fact that Kilkenny weren't reduced to 14 men also was an advantage to Tipp.! Sure they probably should have just taken off a man and not put on a sub then!

So we're on the same page, I don't think it was an UNFAIR advantage to Tipp that Deegan stayed on! There's a difference between discussion of advantages versus unfair advantages. For instance, Tipp seemed to take better advantage of the weather. There's nothing unfair about that.

Basically it's almost exactly like how Dublin's sending off turned out to not suit Limerick: the team with 15 men lost their focus and structure. That's Lyng's fault, ultimately. People can say "the players are responsible" but Lyng is the one tasked with having a back-room team capable of making sure the players are mentally ready for every situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

The ignore button is a god send for a Tipperary man who can't get Kilkenny out of his head.

You should be concentrating on trying to hold off Cork for 70 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭mooz

62 mins on the clock, Kilkenny had 0-28 scored.......only 2 more added in the remaining time, 8 + 4 mins injury time. Down the closing stretch, we couldn't clinch it. Just looked at the match again, how did O O'Donoghue get that shot off in a crowd? It was an unbelievable goal for Tipp and really powered them on for home. On another day, he was blocked or hooked. Then Doyle's goal line save from John Donnelly, just one of those days when our luck was out. Still thought our players fought to the bitter end but just wasn't to be I'm afraid

Tipp used 5 subs (4 between mins 50-63), whereas Kilkenny used 3 subs (40, 66, 70).

Tiring legs. Bench not used. (Bench not there to use?). That seems to be reflected in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭neverbet

Ormonde and O'Farrell had their quietest games of the championship also Jake so HB line did well until it went 15 v 14 when unforced mistakes were made. I honestly feel we played and lasted the pace much better than last year v Clare and as in that game Cody and Mullen disappointed , because there is more in them. The scoreboard fiasco just summed up our day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭me89

When is a decision usually made on management?

Surely if it's someone new you want them in before the club championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭droppingball

We definitely found a way to lose that yesterday. We were all over them early on and played our best hurling in a while. John Donnelly was wondering all over the place and causing them all kinds of trouble until O Meara went on him and Jordan Molloy was running straight down the middle of them. Not sure what happened Adrian Mullens touch but it totally deserted him.

Our Corner backs were badly exposed and contested the same ball a few times. We scored 30 points but we are clearly missing something when it comes to killing games and making the right decisions when games are in melting pot.

Tipp are getting most out of a team that is building in fairness to them. They got plenty of luck and our poor decisions helped them see it out. In reality this team aren't world beaters and will lose to Cork but from their point of view they are in some position. They are starting a re build but have the materials coming. This is a bonus all ireland for them. If you are being realistic you could say John Mcgrath and Fordes best days are behind them, Sam O Farrell is a right hurler but not a forward, really not sure on McCarthy, he is too patchy for me. That being said Jake Morris and Ormond are the real deal, and O Donovan and Stapleton from u20s look serious so if they sort McCarthys discipline and mentality they will be a real force as well as rest of the underage talent like Euan Murray coming. So the point is we have been beaten by a team that is starting a journey at the minute that are getting the mentality and gameplay right and this will lay the foundation for what is to come.

Where does that leave us? Well we are a year further down the line having played the same team with same tactics and have limited talent ready to step in. We scored 30 points so we can't be too bad, we have good hurlers but are refusing to experiment and refusing to try and mix a different type hurler in with what we have. We refuse to try a Luke hogan who is awkward but has pace and a cut to him but because he doesn't look tidy he doesn't get in. Same with an Owen Wall because he might not win a dropping ball. But who would enjoy marking those lads. Derek has delayed our rebuild and has been too conservative with things. We have tried the same options too many times now. A slight shake up could have moved things on but we made three subs and had no trust in our panel. Its not a great place to be. We need a more physical presence at centre back, midfield and half forward line for one thing and make ourselves horrible to play against. A Huw Lawlor or Mullen centre back could freshen things up but if I was manager of Kilkenny next year I would start with our half back line and try build a team from there because Carey, Reid and Deegan together doesn't work.

It is more disappointing to be in the same position again with nothing solved as opposed to losing a standalone semi final albeit against the old enemy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Box to box

We need to find a corner back a center back how long has that being written here? No center back since Brian hogan left. Someone with presence. Derek is there 3 years and to be fair it's more or less the very same team the last 3 years. Molloy was excellent all year and Stephen donnelly unlucky to lose out. Absolutely there's a few more Jordan molloys in the county but management is afraid to try them. Surely to God Luke hogan could of got 5 minutes yesterday

Giving up puckouts was scandalous but giving them up a man up is shocking

Kk aren't improving. I've zero faith in the county board getting the right people involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

Lots of frustration here - which is natural after such a disappointing defeat. Here is my take on things for what it is worth now that I have had time to reflect....

It's not often that the better team lose a game .... but the better team lost yesterday.

I think Tipperary were deserving winners of the game because of the attitude, desire, application and ambition they showed; but they were not the better team yesterday.

I think Kilkenny were incredibly unlucky yesterday. The deterioration in weather stopped our momentum, balls broke the wrong direction, a couple of refereeing decisions, the scoreboard error, you name it - we just couldn't catch a break.

Added to that some basic individual errors - many leading directly to Tipp scores. Especially Mullen, Reid and Deegan.

It was a perfect storm really - and hard to believe Donnelly nearly snuck it for us at the end.

We have lost the fight we were known for. That's the worst thing - we went out timidly - a stark contrast to Tipp yesterday. They were ready to die on their shield yesterday. Also, you make your own luck to an extent.

Major surgery is now needed. We have regressed since Cody's departure. Lyng seems a decent man and has the best of intentions but he has not installed that killer instinct needed. Our preparation for this game was ideal - a 4 week break, an apparent clean bill of health - plenty of opportunity during Leinster campaign to identify areas of improvement. I expected a comfortable win to be honest.

i hope Lyng steps aside sooner rather than later and I hope the next appointment is carefully considered. It is essential we appoint someone that is not afraid to drop big names and put faith in youth. Someone that plays to a specific style that suits our players. I am happy to write off the next year or two if we are clearly building something. Tipp have big talent coming through and we need to be ready to take them on - just like they did to us from 2009 on. We need somebody with passion that can motivate - with clever coaches. I am thinking Andy Comerford might be the type of personality we need but an improvement in coaching is essential and we cannot just take the cheap option here.

I assume Eoin Murphy & TJ will retire now. Two great servants to the county and both have given us great memories.

Four weeks to the club championship. Looking forward to it. Hopefully we have a new management team in place for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭jonniegoogle

Watch Cody's attempt that goes wide in the early stages, Billy Ryan in an ocean of space on the Hogan side. Cody clearly sees him but goes for the shot under pressure and has a wide. I couldnt be sure but I thought if the ball was good enough it cud have been a goal chance. If that's TJ, Ryan gets the ball and that's the difference.

And yesterday as if we didn't need any more evidence of what a man TJ is, just unbelievable in his 37th year . It's just a pity we couldn't have gotten him on more ball. For me the debate of Henry, DJ or TJ is an easy one. W£hat he has done in that black and amber jersey has been incredible, just incredible. These young lads coming through would want to sit down and see what he brings to the team, not just scores but an incredible intelligence on the field, probably summed up when under most pressure yesterday he had the ability to hold onto the ball and create that chance for Donnelly. He makes players around him look better than they are imo.

I don't see the county board changing a whole lot in the next few years.

Andy? I know he's done a bit with O Loughlins but where has this come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Andy Comerford and Martin Fogarty. Lord Jaysus lads

I'd say Andy Comerford himself would be shocked to hear his name mentioned not sure where he pulled that from.

I can see the county board keeping Lyng(that's if he wants it) if the minor management survived last year every chance they would ratify Lyng again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Andy Comerford is a very strange one is gorta on here posting under a pseudonym

Would Noel Doherty or Brian hogan step up if Derek moved on thomastown and olg have been the best club sides to watch over the last few years and have played a good mix of traditional hurling and the running game

Would be interesting to see what the olg management team could do with our forward unit

It might be time accept that being Kilkenny is not enough anymore drop the arrogance or reliance on history keep the manager a kk person but go outside the county for a hurling coach and selectors some freshness and new ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

If TJ is willing he should stay. Even a role coming off the bench.

I remember 38 year old Billy Byrne scoring 1-2 from the bench to win the 1997 Leinster Final for Wexford over Kilkenny. In 1996 38 year old PJ Cuddy was instrumental in Laois beating Kilkenny in a League Quarter Final, a huge game for us, Laois.

38 year old Tony Doran got the goal to beat Kilkenny in the 1984 Leinster semi. TJ will have himself in top shape. He's a Tom Brady devotee.

For me a new manager is the first most critical job to be squared.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

Is there a Tipp thread, or even a real Dan Breen one where he can talk to himself all day. He wasn't working today anyway.

All the shi*ing about the time, debating everyone, as if anything said on boards.ie will make a difference to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭jamesbond2022

No body really posts on the tipp thread on here

They all stick to posting on the premier view site like sheep in a heap

Well that's it losing the doggedness and ability to close out a tight game has gone in all grades. The winning culture.

Meath football were renowned for it for 20 years up to 2001. They might be getting it back, but when you lose it, it's hard enough getting it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I have no idea who should take over. Lyng was the obvious choice the last time. Shefflin will be front runner but not sure after he f… off to Galway the way he did will the CB approach him.

I really do hope they do a real thorough process and interview a wide range of potential candidates and not rush. There is the bones of a team there. But key positions need to be addressed.

So the names mentioned so far are as follows:

Mulally

Comerford

Fogarty

Brennan

Shefflin

Herrity

Another thing that struck me was the inability to create a goal scoring chance, bar the last effort.

That's not Kilkenny hurling. Tipp had all the creativity on this. That's inate, but also comes from prerehearsed routines to create space. Which doesn't look favourably on management either.

There are no signs Lyng is moving that team forward, more the opposite.

Cheddar Plunkett, familiar with the Kilkenny scene..

Just joking😂 Though he mightn't be that bad. That would be some mind boggling scenario.

Dowling should definitely get an interview with the work hes done with the camoige and in Kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I would hope they interview a wide range of candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Rebelside

who are O’Donovan and Stapleton from the Tipp u20s? I don’t remember them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 longcovid

That’s the dissapointing thing. The team fought hard to get back into the match in the second half and then we had them there for the taking, even more so when they went a man down. Like a bullfighter with his hand on the sword over the bull, but our nerve went, the hand quivered and we were gored. We’ve lost something somewhere along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭siyo

Apologies if this has been asked before on the thread, I don't read it as regularly as other threads but is there not 2 or 3 better half backs in Kilkenny than what has started the last few years.

No offence meant to any lad who is giving the huge commitment to play inter county hurling but no team would be expecting to win an all Ireland with Richie Reid at 6 and deegan on the wing. Deegan probably could be a good midfielder as he's incredibly athletic, Reid to me is only a sweeper at best.

It's very unlike a Kilkenny team not to have a dominant half back line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭droppingball

Sorry should have been Oisin O Donohue and Paddy McCormack