Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,081 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yes, like so much about the case… frustrating and tantalising, it sort of points one way but can't rule anything out or in ultimately in terms of who the culprit is.
    Hence the discussion goes on.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭chooseusername

The DNA on the boot was not blood, it was a "whitish substance"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭csirl

In any crime, if you found unidentified DNA, you'd make it a priority to find out who it belongs to. I dont understand the reluctance to do so. Even if a matching sample was not on file, you can often tell a lot from a sequence i.e. sex, ethnic origin etc.

Yes, it may belong to someone who she was known to have innocent contact with, but it may also belong to someone for whom there's no reasonable explanation.

The Guards seemed to lose interest in anything they couldn't link to Bailey.

Just like the boot print found at the scene.

The French didn't disclose in their kangaroo court trial that they had tested the item and it didn't match to Bailey. Utterly dishonest conduct and a stain on the French judicial system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Thanks for the clarification - I was thinking it wasn’t blood but wasn’t 100% sure. Someone else above mentioned it was blood so I took that as being the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Just to be clear, there was also blood on the boot, but it was Sophie's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭tinytobe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

I think that you're spot on.

The more I study the case, the more it seems to me that the Gardai, for whatever reason, prematurely decided that Bailey was the killer. Subsequently, they relentlessly pursued any scrap of evidence that could possibly implicate him and ignored anything that pointed to his innocence. Confirmation bias seems to have been at the heart of the shambles that this investigation became. And the more their assumptions were challenged the more they dug their heels in as it became increasingly difficult for them to admit that they had got it wrong.

The same incompetent refusal to question their beliefs was apparent in the apalling treatment of Joanne Hayes.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

This happened in several high profile murders over the years.

I think what also was an influence was anti-English sentiment in rural Ireland which was still stronger in the mid 90ies, further strengthened by Bailey's difficult personality. And the rest was the lack of police training resulting in incompetence and focusing more and more on something which will never ever end in results.

The question I still wrestle with is whether this was all a case of sheer incompetence or if there was a more sinister motive behind the Gard's determination to fit Bailey into the frame.

I think we’ve heard enough over the years to say - “a bit from column a and a bit from column b

One part would be sheer incompetence, lack of training and lack of experience. Murder is very rare in West Cork. Michael Collins was possibly the only one before Sophie?

And the possible more sinister motive was that it was a Guard who murdered Sophie, - possibly the often mentioned speculation about that Guard from Bantry with a complicated sex life. If it was him he would have had the right rank and access to evidence and pervert the course of the investigation. Substituting DNA samples for fake ones, other evidence going missing, pages from a job book missing, etc….

Mod - post edited to remove speculation a reference to a named person

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

Could be trying to cover up the incompetence eg Harbinson delay... high profile foreign victim... desperate to get 'a result'. Cant let it be seen that someone could get away with such a murder. Getting the actual culprit not a priority. Tunnel vision on Bailey. They thought they could get a confession with their shenanigans and heavy handed tactics and threats.

The fact that one of the moderators deleted part of my post as a name being mentioned in a speculation only affirms my experiences I've had when I was in Bantry. Also loads of names have been mentioned in a speculation in this forum so why delete this one? And please no forum rules baloney, as many other names have been speculated about.

Bantry is small, compared to say cities like London or even Dublin. Families and people are known, and interestingly if one asks around those in their 30ies or 40ies wouldn't speak, but those in their 60ies and 70ies would. Buy them a beer and they sing beautifully. They seemed straight and honest people mostly law abidinging or at least with good intentions. The guard mentioned by name was often implicated in abuse of power and even blackmail, and they also accused him of steeling and simply taking lifestock of others in return for lower fines for minor issues with the law. They also knew he was womanizing all the time, sleeping around, etc... In small places people talk, people tell stories, and even if they don't know something, others might believe somebody knows something more and start to believe this. So the name of the guard in question could be true or not, but as it was removed, one would think, somebody still fears something.

And then there is the question, who would financially benefit the most from Sophie's death? This would still be her late husband Daniel. We do know in the cold case investigation that the police followed up a lead to a Frenchman in Paris who would be within Daniel's circles. What happened to this line of enquiry?

And then who knows how much get's deleted from this posting…..

Mod Edit: Warned for arguing with moderation on thread

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

"For whatever reason"

I kind of come at it from the other way, I think the gardai had whittled down the list rapidly (due to pressure) and erroneously ruled out the real killer. By the time they got through a dozen or so suspects, they were left with Bailey and a diminishing number of alternatives (Leo Bolger for e.g.). Meanwhile the real killer was never put in the frame again, and any evidence that may have pointed to them was ignored. Bailey was essentially the best of a bad (incorrect) bunch of candidates.

Agree with everything else too.

"So the name of the guard in question could be true or not, but as it was removed, one would think, somebody still fears something."

Yes, they fear the weirdos turning up again at the family home of the dead person and shouting abuse at the family. Which is what happened when some keyboard warrior put the name and address on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

One would have to wonder if the fixation that the murder happened around 3 a.m. rather than shortly after dawn as some evidence might indicate or even just being more open minded about the time was deliberate misdirection.

As far as I recall from earlier posts the speeding car in the area that morning was never identified.

As far as I can see, the evidence for the attack happening in the morning (in daylight) is compelling.

Phil Mathers on Reddit, has made a very strong case for this.

https://www.reddit.com/r/MurderAtTheCottage/comments/vml384/was_sophie_killed_in_the_morning/?utm_medium=android_app&utm_source=share

And this is important, because if she was attacked sometime shortly after 8am, that virtually rules Bailey out.

Whatever about the Gardai in bantry, it should be pointed out that it was Gardai from Dublin that led the investigation - if corruption and cover up took place that would mean the Dublin Gardai were also complicit - bad and all the original investigation was, I don’t see my mind heading towards a mass Garda cover up - I think it’s as simple as complete and utter incompetence of the original investigating Gardai - coupled with some underhanded methods alright to cover their incompetence - but nothing more and certainly not for the reason of hiding a killer from their own organisation

The recent Richard Satchwell case has also raised a lot of questions as to why the original investigation team didn’t uncover Tina’s body sooner given they spent 10 hours searching the house. So it’s not just past policing methods that can be blamed- good and all that the Gardai are in many ways there’s still a level of poor methods in place today- at least in some high profile cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭head82

"the incompetence eg Harbinson delay"

Whatever about the general incompetence of the Gardai investigation.. which became much more evident as time passed.. I find it shocking that there was not more of an outcry at the time re Harbinsons delay in attending the murder scene. Am I correct in believing the reason given was he received news of the crime on the day of his birthday (or the day after his birthday and he'd been celebrating the night before) and didn't want to drive from Dublin to Cork!?

If that was the reason given, it's more than just incompetent, it's downright callous! Leaving a murder victim exposed to the elements for ~24 hours because you're recovering from a hangover!

Were his superiors accepting of this excuse? Could he not have been provided with a driver? Or ideally a helicopter! I assume there was no assistant state pathologist. Did Sophies family and the French authorities kick up a fuss at this extreme lack of professionalism?

It's a shame bjsc doesn't post here anymore. As she was in a similar profession, it would be interesting to hear her take on this.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

If that was the reason given, it's more than just incompetent, it's downright callous! Leaving a murder victim exposed to the elements for ~24 hours because you're recovering from a hangover!

My understanding is that Harbison requested that Sophie's remains be brought to CUH but the gardai at the scene preferred to leave her in situ using a tarpaulin to "protect" her from the elements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Deeec

In fairness to Mr Harbison I dont think he is to blame. He was the only state pathologist in the country at the time which was the problem - so thats the governments fault. Mr Harbison was entitled to time off and a life of his own. Unfortunately this murder happened when Mr Harbison had personal plans. It was not feasible that he could be available 24 hrs per day every day of the year.

Completely agree with this, Ireland was still quite a backwards place even coming in to the mid-90s, there were many competent people, as well as investigators imo, but it was the lack of investment and not having an innovative system or thinking at that time that caused a lot of the issues. We were still being run by the senior leadership who had grown up in an almost third-world economy and almost authoritarian system of the 70's 80's, where people were much more hesitant to question authority, or police etc. I think Sophie's murder along with a spate of other mid-90's cases, had a sudden sea change, almost viral impact that looking back today it is easy to pick apart the incompetence.

To think that there was one pathologist available for the whole country is laughable now, and having to send a Dublin team down on an all-day long drive to bring any sort of investigative prowess to the goings-on is farcical.

When you have investigators who are incompetent, or inexperienced they will be very skittish about what to do. This is why forensics exist. You might search a house, but ripping up floorboards is very destructive, and also in the back of your mind you might be thinking that you may inadvertently contaminate, or even undermine an investigation, cause evidence to be struck out etc. I'm not trying to justify it, just pointing out that doing things the right way, by protocol with a competent team, is there for a reason.

When it comes to Sophie's case I think that the inexperienced team members on the scene in that first half day or so, directed the proceedings towards a limited unlikely and limited pool of suspects and poisoned the well for the more competent investigators that came over the following days imo. If you are an investigator and you turn up on the scene, and one of your colleagues hands over a list list of people who have to be investigated, you're likely just going to start following those leads, if the murderer had already been struck off the list, you probably wouldn't bat an eyelid for a while, especially once you are rounding on what is considered the prime suspect, and pending DNA etc. Once the DNA came back as negative for Bailey, I expect many of those investigators were flabbergasted, but the horse had long bolted by then.

You can't expect one man to be available 24/7, simply not sustainable.

So when I said incompetence there I didn't mean to target Harbinson himself for any failings, more the incompetence of the administration \ structure that led to his delay. And it is plausible to argue that such an embarrassing failing of the State being exposed to the outside world increased the pressure 'to get a result' at the cost of getting the right result.
    I think this is also behind Michael Martin's ill judged comments about the case also, he was a TD for Cork when the murder happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭head82

While the bureaucratic powers that be of the time have an awful lot to answer for.. not least allocating one state pathologist for the entire country.. the position is not a typical public sector 9 ~ 5 job. Thankfully murder scenarios are not an every day occurrence but when they do occur the state pathologist should be available 24/7. I'd expect it to be part of the job description. If the alternative is to allow a victim to be unceremoniously exposed to the elements for an unnecessary amount of time and thus resulting in time of death unable to be ascertained, that is a terrible reflection on the states professional and compassionate abilities.

Regardless of professional responsibilities, on a basic human level Sophie should not have been allowed to reside where she lay for that extended period of time. If Harbison did request Sophies remains to be removed to CUH and that instruction from the states highest medical professional was ignored, someone needs to be held accountable for that decision.

It's so frustrating that all this occurred merely ~30 years ago and these issues have not been resolved much less even addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭Allinall

Thankfully murder scenarios are not an every day occurrence but when they do occur the state pathologist 

should

be available 24/7.

This doesn't make any sense. They don't get advanced notice of murders.

You are effectively saying he should have had no time off duty, at all.

I would say (and I think what the poster likely meant) is that the state pathologists office should be available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, as murders can happen at any time of course. It doesn't necessarily have to be the same individual the whole time. In addition there should be forensics experts dispersed throughout the country so they can be located relatively close to be able to determine facts on the ground as soon as possible as well as time of death etc. I would imagine this is the case today, but I'm not sure of the distribution etc. tbh. especially on peninsulas and islands etc.