If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭spideyman92

On a separate note, I hope the camogie quarter final isn't stuck as part of a double header if it's fixed for before the Cork and Dublin match. Won't be a hope of a ticket if it is. It's alright for Kilkenny and Tipp with the same teams playing but not really fair in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,690 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

well done lads mighty win yesterday , the only downside to it from a waterford point of view is there will be no stopping ballygunner when young spain starts playing senior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭deise man

Think it's set to be curtain raiser for Cork Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Pudz2180

still buzzing from yesterday. What a wonderful bunch of players they are so talented and so well coached. The whole county needed this shot in the arm after the lows of the last few years. So many good players on this team it’s probably unfair to single some out but Spain is a delight to watch, the two points in the first half from the side line on one leg were unreal.

i was on here after our win v cork and i hadnt a clue about this team , i watched back a few games and was very impressed , diarmuid murphy , hugo quane thomas Kennedy , especially o'shea in midfield the half back line in general was outstanding , i know dans son was quiet yesterday but everyone knows he is going to make it , shane power and conor power that was injured are almost intercounty standard at 16/17 years of age

enjoy the celebrations its well deserved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,338 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Could Paul Flynn go in with the senior management

Impressed with his demeanour on the line yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Yeah great display. After Clare beat cork most waterford folk were expecting a really tough encounter but Clare just couldn’t repeat their heroics of the cork game (thankfully)….still they are a team with plenty of quality but yesterday just wasn’t their day, 5/6 future inter county players there for sure…..plus their underage performances have been really good for the last 3/4 years so the ‘conveyor belt’ is running nicely, waterford’s on the other hand went in reverse almost and had barely won an underage game since 2016 until this year…🥲🥲 so this is why this year and this title means so much, I don’t think anybody in the county can remember a minor team with so much quality all over the pitch

By the way I don’t think Jamie shanahan has any connection with dan……? He’s from Erins Own which is a city club….Dan is from Lismore about 40 miles to the west.

ok thanks i naturally assumed he was dans young lad. the physicality of that waterford team was amazing , it was two waterford lads to four clare lads in every ruck yesterday with the waterford lads on top most of the time espically hugo quane, gavin o'shea and thomas kennady ,

a really good sign for the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭914

Absolutely delighted with that minor performance, reminded me of the 2016 U21 win over Galway.

I felt from 10 minutes the game was over and we had it in the bag. Despite a scrappy second half we never looked like losing which is a great testament to the team.

Massive credit to management, backroom team and the players. It's not often it comes around but thankfully it's happening a bit more in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

I agree with you 100% and when we were 10 points up with 3 minutes to go the bench should have been emptied to get a few more lads onto the pitch. But we all make mistakes and we move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

The Shanahan corner forward is not even remotely related to Dan 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,338 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Surprised to hear Cormac Spain is not going to school in De La Salle College. He would tear it up in the Harty Cup

Maybe he goes to Waterpark

The Gaelscoil, His parents moved down here from Offaly, I doubt playing Harty Cup hurling was on their radar when picking what school to go to.

is there a chance that Offaly co board (duignan and co) cook seek a transfer of Spain back to them, how long have they been resident in waterford I wonder 🤣🤣

don’t open that can of worms, shur half the team have Kilkenny blood of some sort !! They’d hardly come to us looking for hurlers though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭decies

Only found out this morning that Cormac Spains mother is Aine Aspel that’s good Waterford stock there , she grew up 5 mins from Ballygunner .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭seananigans

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40082030.html

A piece on barry coughlan back in the day

"

He was born and lived in Monasterevin before the bypass, and so the summer of ’98 while his adopted county was ebullient over the exploits of Tony Browne and Paul Flynn in their best season since ’63, Coughlan himself was swept up in the magic of Micko and Glenn Ryan as Kildare made it to their first All-Ireland football final in 63 years; it’s one of most vivid sporting childhood memories, Ryan bringing the Delaney Cup into the local summer camp for Coughlan to gape at"

A great natural athlete for sure, but it was ballygunner/de la salle that made him a hurler .

Apparently Quann is based in fethard. with Waterford parents https://www.tipperarylive.ie/news/gaa/1837785/well-done-son-of-tipperary-based-gp-wins-all-ireland-minor-crown-with-waterford.html

Hugo is definetly a Lismore lad, his dad Emmett heavily involved with Lismore played senior with them for many years. I don’t know how you got it from that article that he’s based in Tipp

jack power is half kk also.

I didn't, i live in tipp,heard it down the grapevine , i didn't say he was from fethard , i said i believe he is based in fethard .

believe he has some u21 management experience that didnt come to much. think he also has a youngfella coming up around harty cup age in dls so that could cause problems if he goes back to grab the next déise óg group (can't find where i read this but hope it's right )

was fantastic to see him on the line all the same, the spirit he had in 1992 is still there .

I would hope we see a conveyor belt manager like joxer who takes then at u14 and brings them all the way up ( paul could and would hopefully make a success of this )

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Joxer did the complete opposite of this though. He took over as minor manager having had no involvement with Deise Og. He remained as minor manager for a 3 year term. He did appoint 2 selectors who were with this group from U14 and it was certainly with the end goal of achieving big things with this years team.
    The Deise Og revamp had an emphasis on giving the minor manager time to learn from mistakes and build each year. I don’t know who the next minor manager will be, but I imagine they’ll be given a 2 year term with the possibility of a 3rd year. Maybe they’ll be able to go close with the U15 group that is coming through. I don’t think expectations are high for next year so a number of current U15’s could be blooded potentially. It will be an important appointment in terms of building on this years success.

Who was over the u15s this year? Getting joxer in has been an absolute master stroke, I know he’s not going to go back in with a new group of under 15s and start the cycle again but that’s the caliber of guy that you need and that’s the pathway to success and hopefully we’ve realised that now. Stop-gap management teams year on year has never worked for us it needs to be 2/3 year plan with each group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 JohnMcClane

I flagged this here a while ago that Paul Flynn would be a good fella to get involved in the senior team, maybe not as the manager but he obviously offers something as a selector. We've had Eoin Kelly in as forwards coach for a few years and what has he contributed? We have a crop of young forwards in the Fitzgeralds, Reuben Halloran and hopefully in a few years a handful from this minor team and based on what has happened to the likes of Dessie(feel bad in singling him out but his drop in form has been remarkable) in the last 2 years I'm not sure I want Eoin Kelly anywhere near them!

Paul Flynn has 3 all-ireland wins(Sean Powers minor and U21 teams and 1 now with Joxers) as a selector and one defeat in a final(Sean Power camogie), the likes of Bennett & Curran on the minor & U21 team won awards, Beth Carton won player of the year and Spain more than likely will get minor player of the year. Is it a coincidence that one of the most naturally gifted forwards of all time has been involved with teams as a selector and the attacking players on those teams are winning awards when he is there??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Said it here a few weeks ago after ye beat us in the minor, about Paul Flynn s success with teams. At senior Waterford are like the northern football teams with the most negative tactics. He is hardly going to go in with the likes of Davy and queally who's way of playing is the opposite of the teams that have brought Waterford a bit of success.

Not a ticket to be had for a camogie Q/F. Crazy! There won’t be anyone other than family members, officers of each board and maybe a few sponsors there for each time.

Flynn was not a member of the management team in 2013.

Sean Power, Wayne Power, Kieran O’Gorman and John Treacy. I may be leaving someone out there but Flynn wasn’t involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 JohnMcClane

I stand corrected, I had thought he was in with Sean Power from the start.

That's a good point. Who knows maybe he has been asked and realised the managers style is not something he can work with whether personality wise or tactically or maybe he was never asked?!? It's inevitable Joxer will work his way in to the senior job so he might want to keep that backroom team together and maybe Paul will be better off going that route rather than trying to persuade any other managers to alter their own pre-determined style.