Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I entitled to any sort of free housing or HAP? I'm on 70k a year and have two dependants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭scrotist

LoL 😄

But it's my fecking money! The government stole it from me and I want it back. I want to know about everything I'm entitled to, and take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭AugustRain

there’s no longer any charge for inpatient hospital stays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,720 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I completely agree with your sentiment, but it's not reality.

There will always be people who can't and won't work. You just have to accept them as an outlier across an employed population. You can't force these people into work, some of them would rather lie down, take drugs and die.

Ireland's unemployment rate currently sits at 4.1% as of May 2025, we're doing quite well when it comes to our level of employment versus unemployed.

A percentage of that 4.1% would also be looking for work, so in reality the real percentage of chronic dole for lifers would be even smaller.

Again, I also agree with your sentiment - but in reality, this is how ghettos are formed. Do you want there to be pockets of ghettos around Ireland with all the poor/chronically unemployed?

As an aside, the reason the junkie across the road from me has a house there is because she has two kids unfortunately. Which factors into the houses people are offered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭scottser

Why don't you go down to your Local Authority Housing Office and find out what you're entitled to, instead of giving out about what de immigrinz get?

Off the top of my head, a housing application for you and your family is based on your net income and doesn't include children's allowance, etc. You might well be entitled to a HAP payment, that's of course if your landlord accepts it.

Most of the people in receipt of welfare can’t work. They’re:

1. Disabled sick injured unwell etc. (disability allowance or invalidity pension)
    2. Too old (on pensions)
    3. Taking care of tiny children alone (one parent family payment)
    4. Taking care of a very sick or very old person(carers allowance)
    5. Working but have children and in a low income job (working family payment)
    6. An adult who was jobless but has returned to full time education.(BACK TO EDUCATION ALLOWANCE).

There aren’t huge numbers on actual jobseekers payments but I agree that there’s too many and they need to get them off it and back into work quick.
    Many of the people on disability allowance aren’t that sick but they are unemployable honestly through addiction issues and mental health issues.
    We can’t leave these people with no payment at all. We’d have a rough sleeper epidemic and a crime wave within weeks.
    There are plenty of people on reduced amounts of these payments because they are working, perfectly legitimately, and good luck to them.
    what we need is a cap on the amount of SW payment any one family can get in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭SteM

The great thing is you have a child now so once he/she starts to go to primary school they'll get free books/school meals and essentially free education on top of the childrens allowance they already receive. You might feel you're getting something back for your taxes then?

The junkie most likely owns the house through inheritance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Lots of angry people searching about for something to be angry at and someone to pin it on. Immigrants/HAP recipients seem like the go-to scapegoats.

Maybe take up meditation, OP, or journalling? Go outside and find a beach/mountain/ lake to swim/sail/climb/ walk around/just look at. We are blessed here in that most of us live a short drive from one of these. You'll feel much better,I guarantee. You'll worry a lot less about what other people are getting for "free". Give your partner and kid a hug and live your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭reactadabtc

You can get a mortgage for ~300K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Not true, my child just completed Junior Infants. We had to pay for her books, there is an annual school entry fee each year, arts and crafts fee and no free meals. Actually they don't provide any meals at all. It's far from free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

They didn't steal anything from you, you paid tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭SteM

It will be in place for the OP by the time their child goes to school, that's the person I was speaking to.

https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-education/publications/primary-schoolbooks-scheme/

Master of the Universe

The junkie rents the house via social housing, the owner is a landlord who gave the house over to the council under the RAS scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Nermal

I don't particularly want there to be ghettos.

But they arise as a side-effect of scrapping policies that incentivise idleness, I'm fine with it.

Master of the Universe

The numbers just don't agree though.

Ireland's long term unemployment rate (Those unemployed for 12 months or more) is just 1%. The remaining 3% of unemployed people are engaging with jobseeking.

So only 1% of people eligable to work in the whole country choose not to do so and go on benefits long term. And even then, just 4% of the whole working population is actually unemployed.

I'd hardly call those figures the result of policies that incentivise idleness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Jonathan2712

Deleted when I realized there is no point debating selfishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,898 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

You forgot the classic “is it ok to throw glass bottles into a river”. Something tells me this thread may not be serious 🤔

if it’s a big good qaulity house in a good area then that doesn’t really fit in the RAS typical scenario.
    if he’s a “junkie” living alone then his max SW payment is €244+€22=€266.00

Out of that he has to find €40 per week minimum from his SW payment. RAS falls under the same criteria as HAP. The council will only cover the rest of the rent up to a limit.
    the limit for single people is typically pathetically low.
    Even in Dublin it’s only €660.
    So say the rent is €1000 per month. This tenant would still have to find the €40 plus the €78 each week from his own payment to keep up with the rent.

That would leave him with €266-€40=€226.00-€78=€148.00 to live on every week.
    So, no, I just don’t think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

You should get all your entitlements.

You also should not be a racist and you should not hate immigrants, nor should you be a hypocrite.

I make more money than you and pay a lot more tax - should I begrudge you your welfare because you're a lazy sponger milking the system? Or is it OK because you're Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

As a higher rate taxpayer, the first 3 months of every year... You are working for free.

Post edited by Viscount Aggro on

delete

how is it a free gaff when it’s costing him nearly 50% of his weekly income?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭con747

Edit, wrong information.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,273 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

sadly, more and more are moving this way, we ve made a mess of things, expect this kind of thinking to become the norm over the coming years, theres virtually no confidence or trust in governments and our state institutions to resolve our most critical of issues, particularly in relation to housing, and the usual scapegoats will be as such.

op, our housing issues have virtually nothing to do with immigrants, its failures are largely elsewhere, including with our direction of policies over the previous few decades, we actually need immigrants to help us resolve them, as theyre gonna have to hep us build them, unless you wanna do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Lecter8319

At this stage, you have to consider the fact that policiticians, the establishment, the media & some of the judiciary are deliberatly conflating two completely different things on purpose. Often to their own ends & ambitions within the eu & certain circles within the states.

Legal migration of often very skilled workers who want to come, work hard, build their careers here, pay taxes, then move on or stay and make a life here are more than welcomed and accepted by irish people.

And illegal immigrants who come here on bogus asylum seeker applications (one standing out being a nigerian man with a family here, 2 kids, who left nigeria because he was bi-sexual), destroy their passports on flights, who scam the system relenlessy, use NGO charities who are funded by the goverment(irony) like focus ireland, st.vincent de paul, racism council of ireland & many others to exploit and use whatever of these parasite taxpayer funded organisations that are at their disposal to their advantage.

The funny thing in all of this is the same type of people who're vitriolically campaigning for us to take in all these so called refugees would lose most if not all of their rights if these refugees were in charge of running the country. The sheer stupidy is mindblowing

Post edited by Lecter8319 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,273 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

oh dont worry, anti-immigration is gonna win this one, so we re gonna embrace aging demographics, a slowing economy, retirement age to be pushed into the 70's, longer working hours, and an even bigger mess, tis all good stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭con___manx1

My own partner is foreign person. She also hates foreign people coming here and fuckin with the system when she herself works hard. Her own brother is even doing it. He left full time employment and went part time to get more benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

I have a cousin who is Irish and does the same thing.

See how useless anecdotes are when stereotyping!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

OP, you don't have 2 dependents, you have 1 dependent and a wife who looks after your child, that's her job and the 70k you make isn't yours, it's yours and your partners.