Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning added to OP 10/1/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,173 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

That's not libellous though. It's clearly an opinion.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,047 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Agreed. Although insults can be considered libellous if they inflict damage on a person's reputation, I doubt 'Newscum' would ever qualify under that. Juvenile and petty, but not libellous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭randd1

As would the response President Frump. It'd be some craic if Newsome started using it, especially given how vain Trump is.

"Newscum" honestly reveals more about the convicted felon than it does anyone else.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

I heard it could lead to the water of the Middle East being poisoned. There are lot of potential consequences. But Iran’s case for having a nuclear weapon has just been made by Israel’s attack and if that regime want to survive they need the bomb. Quite the conundrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭briany

It would be cathartic, maybe, but would come at a most terrible cost of further validating/normalising that language. There's a hope - maybe a forlorn one - that some kind of civility could come back into American politics at some point and that hope gets further away as otherwise sensible politicians start slinging the mud back.

Plus there are ways to wind Trump up that don't involve petty name-calling. When Kamala Harris called Trump old and weird, both of those things were objectively true with his strange hair and his golden apartment and his obsession with beauty pageants and his orange face. He is a massive, massive weirdo. Strange that the Democrats haven't kept up with that chat since losing the election. It's as true now as it was then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

it also reveals a lot that so many Americans love all that adolescent name calling. Do they hate politicians so much that any who breaks the norms will get their vote ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Let's not forget all the European countries with US airbases constantly flying tankers down to the med. Let's hope he has thanked them (no pun intended)

I just hope Iran don't go attacking US assets around the area if the US bombs just the mountain. Shame it can't be loaded into the back on an Israeli C130 so the US doesn't have to intervene.

I totally agree that Netanyahu will keep the war going. It's his best chance to complete destroy the regime and all offensive capabilities of Iran.

It does but bear in mind that American culture has a very, very strong anti-intellectual current within it, manifested in crude terms such as "poindexter" and "brainiac". Trump uses very simplistic language and sentences to convey very simplistic (not to mention wrong) ideas. The man is in touch with what his base thinks and continues to reap the appropriate rewards.

People like things to be easy and straightforward but we live in a complicated multilateral world where action by one country can have ripples across the world.

The rules of engagement strongly favour Trump since it takes no effort at all for him to say that free trade is an anti-American scam while anyone who knows the truth has to go into detail to explain why.

I don't think it's a hatred of politicians in and of itself. I think it's something more atavistic. They want simplicity and to feel special and Trump gives them this. It's why they don't care whenever he launches a meme coin, NFTs or his new phone plan thing. It's childlike and primitive but also very powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Sergio Gor, Director of the White House (chief personnel officer)

Sergio Gor (officially born November 30, 1986) is an Maltese businessman and Russian operative in the United States.[1] He led Right for America, a super PAC supporting president Donald Trump, during the 2024 United States presidential election.[2] During the election, he published Our Journey Together, Letters to Trump (2023),[3] and Save America (2024)[4] through Winning Team Publishing,[5] a publishing house he operates with Trump's eldest son Donald Trump, Jr.[6] He served as a delegate at the 2024 Republican National Convention.[7]

Malta denies that Sergio Gor was born in Malta, but confirmed that the same person had lived in Malta under the name of Sergey Goryachev. In reality, Sergey Goryachev (not the Russian general of the same name) was born in 1980 in Saratov. His sleeper agent parents emigrated to Malta where he spent most of his childhood before the family was transferred to the USA. Sergey proved to be a popular guy in college who got involved in the Republican party early. He helped Trump presidential election efforts and brought in $72 million for the campaign.

Post edited by Apiarist on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Tell everyone you need two weeks to think, and hopefully the problem will resolve itself or someone presents a way to avoid pissing off half your supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,301 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I've been digging into just what political mechanism CFTrump can use to launch war with Iran. As I recall, eventually under Biden, the Authorization for Use of Military Force that was used in Iraq was finally put to rest, due to the efforts of a Congresswoman from California who continued to attempt to legislate against it decades after it had been granted but never repealed.

Sure enough, Congresswoman Lee did succeed it getting it repealed in the House in 2021, but it died in the Senate due to Schumer not bringing the revised version to a vote (and they had the votes, too.) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Repeal_of_the_2002_AUMF

However, it does look like, subsequently it was passed by the Senate in 2024, however, Biden did not sign the bill and in fact used it as cover for bombing Iraq in 2024. So, that particular AUMF is still around.

Now, getting on to CFTrump, if in fact he 'chooses' to attack Iran directly, he will (in theory) need Congress to declare war, or do another AUMF. Such is detailed at great length here: https://www.justsecurity.org/64645/war-powers-trump-iran-strikes/

That article was recently revised - CFTrump was rattling swords when Pompeo was SecState about attacking Iran, but never followed up.

I think if indeed CFTrump goes forward to attack Iran (he won't, it'll be another Taco event and RuZZia doesn't want their ally hurt), he'll need an AUMF. With a compliant Congress, he'll get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭michael-henry-mcivor

Putin has said that the Russian scientists working on Irans Nuclear program are not for leaving-

It's OK to bomb Iranians it seems- but bombing Russian scientists would be a Trump No-

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,542 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

They were CBP. Both are involved with people and stuff crossing the border to one extent or another, and both work for DHS. The distinction may be lost on some folks.

They were apparently conducting operations nearby and wanted to use the parking lot as a staging area. They ended up using the street just outside.

Can the president not go to war for 90 days without congressional approval?

Start bombing Iran, 2 days later notify Congress that your bombing Iran and spend another 88 days with a bombing campaign and stop before you breach the Constitution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,056 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

No, he needs a declaration from Congress of some form (AUMF or outright declaration.)

I can't remember anything of the sort happening in Syria, Libya or Yemen. Was there declaration of war declared on those 3?

In the case of Syria, Obama had the authorization but chose not to use it. Libya was requested by the UN.

Yemen is different. Here the POTUS (Biden) had to provide, within 48 hours, a statement to Congress as to why he did this. The military can be used for 30 or 60 days depending on the type of intervention, as it is subject to the War Powers Act. If Congress has not declared war by then, the hostilities must cease. None of these ended in declaration of war, but based on my reading I think Biden violated the War Powers Act and kept the attack going through 2024 - it should've stopped by April or so.

Trump re-instituted attacks on the Yemenis in March 2025 which ended fairly quickly.

With Syria, Obama and Trump did not have authorization to send troops in. It was strictly supposed to be assistance and supplies to friendly forces within Syria. It actually prohibited troops on the ground.

But with Yemen, it's the exact same thing Trump can do with Iran. I highly doubt Trump has plans for US boots on the ground, but he has a 90 day window for a bombing campaign, which if the goal is blowing up a mountain, should be plenty of time. Maybe a few other targets that Israel may have issues getting to (based on range and lack of air refueling over Iran)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,347 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I`m no fan of either Isreal or Iran at present, and not broken hearted to see Trump caught between a rock and a hard place. I very much doubt Netanyahu`s claim of Iran being weeks away from developing nuclear weapons. I have been hearing that for the past 20 years, but the world would be safer without them having the capability to develope them further. But then with Netanyahu, the world would be safer if he didn`t have them either.

I would doubt much of a regime change without boots being put on the ground in Iran. if there was regime change due to this bombing it would most likely be a military one, and when it comes to military regimes taking over it is usually the most vicious faction that comes out on top, so perhaps a case of both Isreal and the U.S. being careful what the wish for.

Unfortunately as history has shown, the US a d Israel have no issues destabilizing countries for short term gain.

Then you have some politicians in Europe spewing out Israel has a right to defend herself etc... while not realizing we could be in for another wave of refugees arriving on European shores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

its going to be 2 weeks,it will be beautiful,did i tell you how bigglie it will be in 2 weeks?i was just on a phone call with one of my besties bibi,you know bibi dont you?great guy,shame about the combover though,he should use my hair dresser,hes a great guy,clearing gaza for me and bombing iran for me too,build some hotels and a resort there too…talked with my other bestie vlad,you know vlad,great guy,he wrestles bears,did you know that?great guy…he uses alot of iranian stuff you know,he tests it in Ukraine,hes a great tester for iran…so it will be in the next couple of weeks,did i say that?yeah i think i did,2 weeks,it will be all done,be awesome…did you see ive an onion on my belt?yeah i wear it because i can, in 2 weeks…its time for a golf weekend,i play golf,did you know that?im great,i should play in the masters,win it too!,have to get my assistant to change my nappy first,get some sudocream on there to,stings a bit…youll see,in 2 weeks,be bigglie!!

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭Homelander

A regime change of any kind is a win for Israel, because it cannot get any worse than the current regime from their POV.

May not be so good for Iran's immediate neighbors at all, granted, but Israel isn't going to care much about that - even a destablised Iran doesn't trouble Israel given the geographic distance.

Have to remember the broader Iranian people have no real quarrel with Israel, and before the current regime, Iran as a state had no quarrel with Israel whatsoever and enjoyed reasonably good relations, distant as both countries are.

Unless the hypothetical new regime was another fundamentalist islamic one, and not only that, but was once again obsessed with attacking Israel, which would be incredibly unlikely, Israel would chalk that up as a win.

There are lots of countries around Israel that absolutely do not like Israel, that it exists, what it does, but they have no interest in attacking Israel.

A new regime in Iran would probably be that at worst, or completely disinterested in pursuing any further aggression against Israel at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,347 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Isreal had no problems from Iran prior to this regime because Iran was ran by a U.S. proxy, the Shah. The present regime is a continuation of a populist religious revolution where there was no love for the U.S. because of their proping up the Shah, or for any of their allies either. Decades of sanctions haven`t improved that situation. Neither will, imo, this idea by both Trump and Netanyahu of "taking out" Khamenei. He may be their head of state, but he is also their spiritual leader.

I don`t see that just wiping out Iran`s nuclear capabilities will result in regime change, but even if it did the most likely new regime would be a military one, and the threats to Isreal have not been nuclear. They have been through proxy factions funded and armed by Iran`s military. If that is the threat that Netanyahu is hoping to eliminate he or Trump are not going to achieve that by bombing. It would require boots on the ground, and while a lot of countries around Isreal may not much like Isreal, they would like them a lot less with Isreali troops in Iran.

Trump is not going to send troops into Iran. He would be out of the White House quicker than he could wipe his ass, and unlike Iraq, there would be no coalition of the willing either to back Isreal. Netanyahu started this war thinking he could sucker in Trump, but that is not going to happen, so how he gets himself out of it is going to be a problem for him. If Trump sends those bunker busting bombs via U.S. planes, we know Trump well enough to know he will claim them an outstanding success, even if the do not do what they are supposed to. By doing that it will leave Netanyahu twisting in the wind with no excuses to continue bombing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

The EPA reconsidering the ban on asbestos

What a country 👏👏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭rogber

No it's not, because Trump had and will have the last say on the matter, which is what he wanted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,168 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Unconnected I'm sure.…

"Russia is a major exporter of asbestos. In 2023, Russia was the world's largest exporter of asbestos, with exports valued at $279 million"

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,168 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Q: Your intelligence community says they have no evidence that Iran is building a nuke

TRUMP: Then my intelligence community is wrong. Who said that?

Q: You director of national intelligence Tulsi Gabbard

TRUMP: She's wrong

🤡🤡🤡

Elect a clown... Expect a circus