Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

1958959960961962964»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,386 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Some listeners thinking the robots could become preggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Dublin Calling

Did these artificial women not feature on Tomorrow's World back in the 60's? Ideal for doing the house work etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,041 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

a self lubricating what ?

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭archfi

Welcome to the Wonderful World of AI and Progress ™!

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭johnbarrett35

I must say it's deeply disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,360 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Caller has now moved on to the creation of virtual women robots. I'm surprised she hasn't blamed this 80's movie yet.

17503406657335603088580851028005.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,120 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Depends.

If it's a man using it - evil.

If it's a woman using it - empowering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,041 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

remember in the days of yore on Liveline, a simple phone number mix up was a typical story:

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭mumo3

I don't mean regurgitated stories or scenarios, its just her personal experiences that have led to her writing this book, creating this project!!

I think she might have got five years but there is some weird suspension of some time.

GDY151

Why didn't she pull the portable tv studio phone out of her pocket and record those sado's making a fool of themselves or maybe seek the 12 or so CCTV's on each bus to ID the man?

That last caller has a bit of a fixation.

Screenshot_2025-06-19-14-54-35-715-edit_com.android.chrome.jpg

And on and on it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,666 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

it's wimmum in danger day

I doubt she hugged the dead ripped-apart-by-three-dogs cat to be honest.

A thing is what it does.

Was her cat dead or virtually dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Dublin Calling

Joe, is obviously not listening to the caller or want to hear the gory details again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,120 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Any penny put towards trying to combat deepfakes or chat or whatever online is wasted.

Every spare penny needs to go towards combating the terrible sexual abuse by priests, rapists and people who abuse others in real life. The numbers aren't going down, that's where the focus needs to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Do you think that the things she writes about aren't real/don't happen?

It does, but that's not the point. It's all she writes about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭johnbarrett35

I'd rip the head off a dog owner if their dog harmed my cat!!!!

GDY151

2 minutes to discuss, wow.

A thing is what it does.

Delighted that this undeserving topic is a footnote on today's show, only getting 2 minutes of airtime.

"It's a crazy world." Billy from Aslan, made sure to get a plug in for an upcoming concert.

Well done. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Many writers and academics stick to an area of specialisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

The first rule is actually “Don’t talk to Joe”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Young Barmen and hen parties. I was at my first and last hen party about 30 years ago. A male stripper was hired and the women in the group lost the run of themselves. I was mortified with the carry on of them. Any young fella that approached the tables to collect glasses was groped. Sometimes two women would be grabbing and pinching his bottom. I gave up appologing to the young men and went home. They barmen seemed to accept it as part of the job.

All this went on early in the night when they were all starting to get tanked up. I can only imagine what went on when they moved on to the nightclub.

I've met hen parties on the streets in the middle of the day dressed like extras from the Rocky Horror Show complete with pink handcuffs and blow up dicks and the photo of the man the bride is marrying on their chests.

I seem to be alone in my revulsion at this carry on. I'm no prude. People say it's only a bit of fun I don't see it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,930 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

"Kip needs a reset". It really does!

SETI, the Search for Extra Terrestrial Intelligence have been using radio telescopes for years to try and find signs of life out there in the universe and so far have found none.

Theres about 3 theories as to why not.

1. Theres no life out there. Plausible, but mathematically unlikely.
    2. There is life out there but they have advanced far beyond using radio communications.
    3. There is life out there but they havn't developed radio technology yet. We only invented it ourselves about 130 years ago, so thats plausible. SETI could be hearing ET's answer to the Archers theme tune any day now.
    4. No civilisation has survived much long past our current technology level.
    5. As this is the liveline thread, Aliens have heard Joe and his Joe-isms, and yer one complaining about being groped in the meta-verse and decided Earth is a planet that needs to be left alone.

I suspect climate change is a lot worse than we realise, and Israel/Iran/Russia/US could actually lead to nuclear war considering 3 out of 4 of them do have nukes. Iran to China: Here's an idea, how about you start selling nukes on Temu for a couple of billion each and we buy them off you?

A tale of 2 very different gambling stories side by side on the RTE News website.

Screenshot_2025-06-19-15-32-29-291-edit_com.android.chrome.jpg

'The sentencing hearing last month heard Higgins told gardaí that she had hoped and prayed every day for "a big win" to pay the school back, but that the hole kept getting deeper.'

How many people in this country are in a similar hole praying for a miracle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I did like a bit of Eurotrash and Antoine and Jean-Paul’s zany presentation style (Antoine also fronted a teenage favourite, Rapido).

The show was unapologeticly ludicrous and bordered on depraved (by the standards of the time). I’ve long been an admirer of erotic kitsch and absurdity, and the show delivered this in spades. It was art meets fashion meets satire meets absurdity meets supermodels meets vanity meets surrealism - and delivered in a hyper camp style.

I was in recent years gifted for a birthday “The Complete Eurotrash DVD Collection”. I was surprised such a thing existed and I will rewatch it all at some stage in the future - esp. to see how it’s aged. And for Adriana Sklenarikova and Victoria Silvestedt.

i assume there was no crossover between Liveline and Eurotrash? It would have been interesting hearing Bernie from Ballyer giving out about Boris in Berlin’s Bondage Party.

Joe always kinda reminded me of Eddy Wally. Eddy is famous for his “wow”:

Eddy was fond of the hats, cravats, and “interesting” clothing choices like Joe:

IMG_5174.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,200 ✭✭✭furiousox