If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Always have been. Give me long enough I'll convince you are hurlers can still be All Ireland Champions. It may involve food poisoning and aliens but there is always a chance till your day is done. I'm sure the teams and supporters gone this weekend would take our hands off to go again next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

All three of those teams will be praying they don't draw Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Down, definitely the best for us to draw, a team we should be well able to beat, Donegal at home are a tough nut to crack, but, would prefer them than Kerry, can't see us beating Kerry unless the Clifford's are missing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

If Kerry don't get Paudie Clifford back they can be got if we play more like the second half yesterday. Down are a fantastic side but I think we'd beat them if we draw them.

Donegal is the nightmare pairing. The seem to have perfected the stamina of Murphy and have new lads stepping up when he's not active. I'd still give us a chance against them even if they were full strength and at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,812 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Thinking of Galways championship games so far, a loss at home to Dublin, only a draw against the team that eventually got knocked out & the only win was against the team already qualified. Hard to see a victory next Saturday against Kerry or Donegal regardless of injuries etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Robson99

Which is on Saturday hurling or football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭threeball

Hurling Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Robson99

Ya thats what i thought was the plan. Just see some posters saying football Sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Avon8

Exactly. Notice we have nobody complaining about Walsh bringing it out for the two point free today, when behind with loads of momentum. Results bias always 😂

Great craic in Cavan for the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭threeball

The 50m advancement only brought that free about 4m inside the arc. The free last week was inside the D. Not much difference in 4m extra vs 15m to 20m closer last week. Plus Tierney was on his first kick. Walsh was taking frees all day.

We can complain about the brainfart where we had a 2pt free just to the right of the posts and it was kicked backwards to an Armagh player if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Avon8

Conroy caught the ball a yard the Galway side of midfield, which would bring the ball to the 22 yard line unless a GAA field length has been changed recently. Closer even given that he ran a few yards and was stopped, hence the 50m advancement. It's on 47 mins on your GAA plus there

What does playing it short from the two point free to do with anything? Have I not made it clear that I'm in favour of going for two point frees? It was a terrible decision to give up the chance of a two pointer for what would likely only end as one point even if executed correctly. The difference between us is I won't let the outcome colour my judgement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Galway Vs Down

Dublin Vs cork

Donegal Vs Louth

Cavan Vs Kerry

Down are a serious team for 2 pointers but after watching them against Monaghan they seem wide open defensively. They won't fear Galway in their own backyard though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Wow. Great draw.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

We've also played a ridiculously tough set of fixtures - 5 straight games against teams that are Division 1 now or will be next year. Defend one last play against Dublin better and we'd have the best record in the championship.

No point being overly optimistic, but some of the pessimism in this thread is OTT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭littlevillage

We got the best draw possible. Absolutely nothing to fear from Down if we start with the same tempo as we ended against Armagh. In fact we have nothing to fear from anybody if we start any game like we finished against Armagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭cosatron

That game against monaghan will take allot out them as the pace they play is unsustainable and they tired badly the last 10 mins. I think we have better defenders than monaghan to lock down the lad that got 14 points, his name escapes me.

Best possible draw we could have got, no excuses now, we should be beating a team like Down regardless how well they play. Down wouldn't be regarded in the top 8 teams in the country, but, most would rank us in the top 4/5 teams in the country, we need to show that now. We should also avoid most of the big teams in the QF as we won't be able to play Kerry, Dublin, Donegal and I think we can't play Armagh as we were in same group, that would leave Monaghan, Meath and Tyrone as possible QF opponents, all good teams, but, nothing to fear either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Butson

Any word on hurlers venue yet?

• Site Banned Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Denny61

Go to Cork on a Saturday to drive to Newry on a Sunday..........

Wouldn't normally advocate CP other than bigger matches but from a Supporters point of view it would suit best.

Hammer Tipp, Hammer pints in Dublin, Hammer up the road to Newry, Hammer Down, Hammer home 😬

Gaelic Grounds at 6pm on Saturday is the rumour

• Site Banned Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Denny61

I'm glad you didn't mention, hammer your other half !! Now that would be more believable!!! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭MfMan

On our first half the other evening, there's plenty to fear from Down. They play with pace, have a few handy forwards and are accurate. Home advantage worth a few points as well. I'd be delighted with a single-digit win as it's the closest of all 4 pre-lims I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Stewball

On paper we should win it, but you can be sure the Down lads will run themselves into the ground, home advantage with a good support, it's a massive banana skin considering they way our lads seem to only turn up for one half.

If we go in to the game with the right mentality, we'll win.

If we can't beat them, we have no business in the Championship anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

If theres anything more depressing than a nearly empty Croke Park for a Leinster Final, it's a half empty Gaelic Grounds for a quarter final on a Saturday evening. Why don't they use Tullamore and get a proper match atmosphere for once?

Details have been confirmed for next weekend’s knockout matches involving Galway’s senior teams. The hurlers face Tipperary at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick on Saturday (6.15pm). The footballers meet Down at Páirc Esler, Newry on Sunday (1.45pm).

Thats an early start for Newry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

That part will depend on the scoreline at final whistle.

Agree, if we can't beat Down, we have no business in the championship, there's no need to build up Down as some kind of world beaters, they haven't beaten anyone of note in the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Robert2014

All depends what version of Galway turn up and for how long. The last few years we expected to top the group and didn't and fell into this round and lost momentum. This time round we lost momentum in the Dublin game and only got some back in the second half against Armagh. Hopefully it leads to a better showing for the full game or much more than in other games.