Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭spurshero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,358 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

That's the fundamental problem, imo. Lack of proper u20s coming through. Not necessarily All-Ireland winners, but definitely challengers at that grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭I says

it starts at underage and that’s a cluster **** at the moment so the magic wand starts at u14 development squads and we eat **** for the next ten years otherwise it’ll be longer than that. But the county board aren’t going to take any blame for this scutter that’s being played at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,353 ✭✭✭threeball

Lads that can figure out that you don't puck high ball to Hugh Lawlor or the KK half back line. Same stupid shìt for nearly a decade now and they cant even figure that small fact out. It's like the sun rising in the east and rain is wet. I'd rather work with less talented hurlers who can figure out problems than talented one who never learn.

I even said 3 things before the match in my post that we needed to do to be competitive today. And we did the opposite of them all. I'm no guru but that much was obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Ah lads.

Back to the dark days.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

imagine being Joe canning having to comment on that scutter today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭obi604

I thought his puck outs were excellent for that 2nd half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

We don't have the hurlers at the moment, but, we still should be more competitive than what we saw today, Kilkenny aren't great, the fact they have won 6 in a row and not really come close to winning an AI, bar in Cody's last year says it all, Kilkenny currently would struggle to get out of Munster, but, we are miles behind them. There doesn't seem to be any proper game plan, no structure to the team and no real passion or heart in the team either. We were a shambles for most of the match yet, still in with a shout with a few minutes left, a decent performance would have beaten Kilkenny today, they are a fairly ordinary enough team, who tbf make themselves difficult to beat and won't roll over the same way Galway teams tend to do.

We had years of underage success and failed miserably to convert that into senior success, so now that the underage is in a poor state it's hard to see how we'll be competitive in the short to medium term. Unfortunately our best players are the wrong side of 30, with very few of the younger lads up to it. Dublin and Wexford must be very poor considering we beat them handy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Back to before 1980 it's that bad I think.

I was 12 years old and it's seems like our race is over now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭Robson99

His puck outs were very good...with more game time he could be the no 1....he was just unfortunate for that goal....it happens the best of keepers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sheflin is probably glad he is out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Was Joseph Cooney dropped or did he walk away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Dropped. He has been one of our better performers over last 2 seasons and would have been able to compete in the air against Kilkenny backs atleast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Exactly my thoughts. Has been one of Galways best players in recent years. David Burke hasn't played well at intercounty since 2019 but started yesterday.

Whatever about MD you would wonder what EOS is bringing to the party ? Attacking play was shocking yesterday, we made Huw Lawlor MOTM. Any average coach would know to have an attacking plan to keep the ball away from him

Hes the greatest snake oil merchant going. This is his second stint with Galway and there hasn't been an improvement ever. Of the scores we got from play yesterday, every single one of them came from low ball played into forwards, often to the corner. We got none from high ball. Any coach worth his salt would either know that or identify it. Stats lads should be on top of that too. 15 lads on the sideline and stand, God knows what half of them are up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭MfMan

Retired. Had to be persuaded to give it a last shot last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Butson

We await the next installment of the Bellew PR machine.

Nothing to see here folks.

At the match yesterday both concannon and cooney spent most of their time playing as a twoman ff line. Mannion was operating either side of the halforward line nearer midfield than the goals. Oceans of space from square to halfway line kk cleaned up. Whelan spent most of the game playing midfield halfback and he done f all. EOS tactics for the game was a rewatch of the 15 hurling final where our strategy was long puck outs up to Johnny Glynn and that was scutter to watch. MOD was brought in for what I don’t know.
    what’s needed is a total clean out and get a no nonsense manager/coach who’ll do an Anthony Cunningham and clear out all the so called in their heads superstars and the spoofers. All the bolloxing that has been put up with mannions and whelans is time to get rid. The egos of those is only for themselves and not for the greater good of Galway hurling. County board need to do this but that’s like turkeys voting for Christmas. They are riding the goodwill of Galway hurling supporters to death. The disappointment of yesterday was the lowest I’ve been and seen in a long time. If the supporters stay away from inter county games the board may realise time to shake things up. Cork neglected underage and it’s took them 20yrs to sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭MfMan

What are you blathering about? Were you actually watching what Whelan was doing yesterday, particularly in the first half? Where would we have been without the contribution of both Mannions?

I was, him pissing about gave no option in the half foward line. That’s why lawlor looked immense yesterday nothing to trouble him. The amout of space Galway gave up between the small sq and the halfway line was criminal. At one stage yesterday whelan was down playing between our fullback and centre back line. Two man ff line gave kk the initiative yesterday. Their backline cleaned up with the long puckouts. When we decided to play short ball in we got joy in the last few minutes. What in fcuks name was the sideline at when the long puckouts weren’t working. As fcuking usual too many on that team playing as individuals and not teammates. I was sat at the twenty one yard line yesterday and what the Galway game plan was was pathetic. Twoman ff line and the next nearest Galway player was 30/35 yards away. Allowing all that room for the kk backline was a fcuking joke. Even if they got Fleming or Monaghan to stand between the 21 and the football two point arc might have offered a bit more attacking options. Butler was subbed after we got 1-5 and the pressure was on the kk backline why the fcuk wasn’t that done earlier. It only started when the ball was played in short. Any defender loves dropping ball and clear it. As soon as you either run at them or get them running you get results. Why did it take so long.
    whelans ball winning ability was better served playing him in the ff line yesterday and working the channels rather than lofting long balls into two lads who don’t or can’t win and hold up dropping ball. Glennon and Killeen made a difference when brought on. David bourke not able at this level anymore in midfield for a full game.

I want the best for Galway hurling. And if the sideline can’t gameplan or use our better players to win then it’s a disaster. Helen Keller could see that after five minutes the long puckouts weren’t going to be sustainable. And every other tactic was null and void. Surely to jaysus a lot of in game tactical nous was needed and allowing your two best fowards to make it up as they go along is wrong. Whelan is a ball winning link up forward not some lad who tries to be everywhere on the pitch and ends up doing nothing. Mannion better suited with whelan up front keeping more defenders occupied. Kk had nothing to worry about yesterday with that 2 man ff line, whelan way up the pitch.
    management should by now know how to get the best out of their players.
    KK third goal wasn’t that from whelans effort that dropped short when he had more time to run for another 10/15 yards.

You said all this bolloxing that has been put up with the mannions and whelan. What are you waffling about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

There's a lot of over the top opinions today as there always is after a loss and lads blowing off steam but let's stop short of absolute stone wall lies. Joseph retired. Had to be begged back last year and was not one of our better performers. A legend who knew the game was up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

We were over a year with everyone wondering 'What is wrong with whelan' when he was inside, so you hardly think he'll miraculously be a star again if we lob him in full forward yesterday out of the blue? His issue is not positioning, it's that he was trying to do the jobs of himelf and the 2 midfielders, who are not up to standard. Kevin Cooney got 0-3 so not sure how he's being castigated when there was 10 or 12 worse than him. For me everything is going wrong starting from midfield. We've never replaced Johnny Coen and David's race is run. Shefflin played Mannion, Lee, Fahy, Monahan, Fahy, Linnane, Cooney, Burke and Killeen there over his 2 years to no avail and we still don't have one Lseinsetr final standard midfielder not to mind 2. This has the knock on effect of having to pick whelan and Fleming at wing forward to try and cover some of the donkey work that the midfield isn't getting through, and also of running the 2 of them into the ground when in reality they could be 2 scoring forwards.

Glennon did well yesterday and I liked Killeen’s effort. What went on yesterday was playing kk as they want you to play them ie. The Kilkenny way. As soon as we played the channels or got the ball out quick from midfield and pushed up on them we got 1-5. Before that every ruck and maul we got horsed out of it. And even if we won one it was soon back into a maul again. High ball and man against man is what kk thrive on. We tried a two man ff line and it allowed them the extra man to ate up the high ball with a man over to take the pressure off their backline. As soon as we started running at them with quick ball the last ten minutes they weren’t as cock sure with themselves. If you don’t have a midfield as you say you get creative with your game plan. The system failed yesterday because they’re kk backs were winning nearly all high balls and firing up the field as they wished even on their puckouts they got very little pressure on the short ones.
    Player performance aside management really made a dogsdinner of game planning for yesterday.
    Definition of insanity doing the same thing over and over hoping for a different result. The long puck outs, it was only when young Walsh came on in goals did I think he was better able place his puck outs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 laymansterms

We could still beat Tipp in 2 weeks time. This time could still have a kick in them.

tipp are already planning for the semifinal against cork 😂

Can't see that happening. Tipp are ahead of KK as far as I can see. We haven't shown any sign that we're anywhere near that level.

It's clear at this stage Lee is not a CB. I think he could be a good midfielder. He has the hurling. Maybe try Glennon with him.

Fintan could work at CB with Daithi at full. Morrissey is out best Corner back.

The main problem with the team is that they're not smart in how they play the game. Lads are constantly running into contact when they should be moving the ball 20 to 30m to a free man, even if it means going back or lateral. We seems to be happier to solo running headlong into 4 or 5 defenders.

The ball should only be delivered low to our forwards and only by a man with enough space to get his head up and pick a pass. Unfortunately we have 2 wing backs that are really poor passers of the ball so personel may need a change up there.

And we need to identify when our puckouts are being lost and go a different route, whether thats working it out from the back or trying to get a midfielder or wing back free.

There's far too much to put right in a week or two, so I cant see them getting near Tipp but there are things they can do to close the gap.