Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭hugeorange

Sure. But we were absolutely laborious in attack for most of the game. Lots of players in that squad are passengers who want to pass the buck to someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

So many poor performances from Mayo and yet a 1 point loss( big guns for mayo we’re non existent ) . I’m at a loss to see how Donegal and Galway are looked upon at as all Ireland potentials when they could have and possibly should have lost 1) the Connaught final and also this draw .
    Surely there are better teams in this competition ( Armagh or Kerry ).

I do think Donegal have a lot to work on to win the competition outright. They played like it was the old rules today. Fortunately for them, so did we. But not every team they meet from here on out will be that inept. Still, they bear Armagh in an Ulster final that Armagh definitely wanted to win.

Galway, I'm not sure. Have felt something has been off with them all year but sometimes it just takes a big win to kick the season into gear and maybe yesterday was that win for them. Don't see the Dubs doing much. Kerry are in big trouble with injuries and will be praying for a handy one next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Be-Jaysus

Gutted, but when are we going to stop being so passive and law abiding in the final seconds of multiple crucial games ?

New management team needed , and an influx of fearless youth needs to be bedded into the squad this winter.

We are not as far away from the chasing pack , as many deem us to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,465 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

They can get Louth, Cavan or Galway

So they have a 66% chance of getting a handy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,160 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

I dunno...Cavan can be very dangerous on their day*

*If the team they're playing are asleep and disinterested for no apparent reason 🙄🙄🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Disappointing to lose like that but Donegal were the better team overall I think. McHugh going off injured was a big loss, not to mention the point Murphy scored while he was down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i am not sure if new management is needed, i think rochford is doing okay since mcstay got sick , but someone has to be man enough to drop or take off aidan o'shea whenever its not going well ,

today he won several balls inside the small arc and laid it off nearly every time , and nearly every time mayo as a result were pushed back outside the 45,

in my opinion ye had 3 brave forwards today in ryan o'donohue , conal dawson and darren mchale who was excellent , on top of o shea both jordan flynn and jack carney did very little , no manager can improve that unless the players improve it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,082 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I thought Jordan Flynn did well around the pitch for Mayo when he came on - but not necessarily in half forward role

Mayo desperately missed Tommy Conroy this season

Lack of 2 pointers needs to be ammended for Mayo drastically - don't know if that's an ability or cultural issue - no one wanted to shoot at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,160 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

I can't multi quote any more but to respond to a few things above -

Our game management is still diabolical, it's like we've learned nothing from all the close games in the last 20 years up..…we draw level with 30 secs left and then let Donegal wander up the pitch no bother.....that was the time to deploy the dark arts...ie. 3 lads going down with cramp, Reape needing to change a contact lens, Rochford wrestling with McGuiness etc.

And on 2 pointers...was at the Limerick v Wexford match earlier (great game btw... Naughton and maybe Neville would walk into the Mayo team imho)....Wexford scored 5 two pointers....have Mayo scored more than 2 in a game this season?

And lastly, on a wider point, there was a kick of a ball from being no Connaught team left in the All Ireland series (and none in Tailteann either) which should have alarm bells ringing in the west surely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i think mayo only kicked 3 in the entire championship , the first half killed ye especially after the black card , it cant be ignored how good mayo can be but it also cant be ignored how bad the cavan result was , i think ye need to stick with rochford though

The lack of 2 pointers has to be addressed, we're one of the worst at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

I didn't see any attempts at some 2pts during the warm up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

It's more deep rooted than that. We don't have enough kickers even inside the arch. ROD looked like the only guy who wanted to shoot at times. It used to be the strategy to run everything into the D but that made it so stupid with the new rules.

Anyway, today was inevitable and I hope we get someone with a bit of substance to come in. They have a few months to try to get the best manager they can find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The great thing about this condensed season is that when you get knocked out early you don't have long to ponder what might have been, in a month or so everyone except the championship will be knocked out.

The winter is long for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Westernview

Yes it will all be over soon and only one team will be left with Sam Maguire. Assuming the management will step down it's imperative to get the recruitment process up and running to give the new management a chance to look at young players around the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Nota single person in Donegal or Galway see their team as all Ireland potential. Maybe mayo will win when fans like you learn how to manage expectations appropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭eastie17

so you’ve polled everyone in Donegal and Galway have you? Good lad, must have a lot of time on your hands, surprised you have time to worry about mayo fans expectations with all your analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭spakman

You're talking shite now. The hordes didn't start following Donegal again in expectation of a q-final knockout

What expectations aren't being managed? Didn't talk to a single Mayo person last week who thought we'd win that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Thats a bit disrespectful to Louth and Galway considering they are provincial champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

The hoards are following because one of the (arguably) greatest players in gaa history came out of retirement this year. With Motm performance no less.

Was referring to the unrealistic expectations of the last 30 years... 1996, 2012 and 2021 being particularly good examples with many others coming close.

This sort of horse **** again.

I'd bet if you thought Mayo people were being pessimistic about their teams chances you'd be lecturing us about our pessimism bringing the team down.

Reality is Mayo are not real contenders, have not been for a few years, and most Mayo people know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rockfish

Oh cmon Louth are one of the worst team left in it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,710 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I wonder will AOS finally retire now?? Is it too late for him to join LK promoting hair products or does he still have another year of playing in him??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Westernview

Aidan seemed to indicate that he wanted to keep playing for a few more years in a recent interview so who knows.

The national media have their usual lazy Mayo headlines today.... Tragedy, heartbreak, disaster etc. You'd think that no other team will get knocked out of the championship. I don't think any of us thought the were going to go much further this year anyway.

If only we had known that the attitudes of the fans played such a crucial role in a team winning or losing 🤣🤣 Different attitude next year everyone and Sam is in the bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭ethical

So here we are again….or not,as the case may be!

This years Championship quest was lost by the diabolical defeat to Cavan.

As some pundits said yesterday evening there are worst teams left in the race compared to the teams that have now exited,Derry and Mayo two of the later. Remember in the league when Mayo were within 5 minutes of relegation …..and then in the league final 5 minutes later…..fine margins!

Mayo are not as bad as some people would suggest and of course no where near winning Sam as others might think!

Take Michael Murphy out of Donegal and we would have beaten them quite comprehensively yesterday. Michael Langan along with many other Donegal players did not turn up yesterday….this will not get them Sam.

Langan was brilliant in the previous game.I know he did a lot of work defensively yesterday but didn't venture forward as much, where he was very effective previously.

Same with Kerry,they haven't a hope of winning Sam if Paidí Clifford is injured,he is the glue that binds that team.Its fine having David but Paidí is the man that makes Kerry tick!

Galway likewise,if Shane Walsh does not fire they will find it difficult and Damien Comer injury free would be a great addition.Galway are by no means a two man team but all the others ,Conroy,finnerty,Darcy etc always give their all but they need the two lads to provide the topping on the cake.

Getting all your top marque players firing on the same day is required realistically in order to win Sam.

Armagh,as holders, will have a major say yet in this years Championship.

As as footnote from yesterday,why oh why did the backroom team of Mayo not notice the slipping and sliding of some Mayo players,AOS in particular, in the first half where there were turnovers and scores from Donegal capitalising on the slipping misfortune….NO BOOT CHANGE AT HALF TIME!!! SAME THING WAS NOTED TO CONTINUE IN THE EARLY PART OF THE SECOND HALF. How big is the Mayo backroom team that none of them noticed this!!!! Remember its fine margins,very fine margins that win or lose games at this level……Donegal got at least 2 first half points from this misfortune….Mayo lost the match by ONE POINT!!!!!!