Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister floating scrappage scheme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

It's a common misconception that most people expect the state to subsidise living in the countryside usually by yuppies who live in towns or cities. No one I know expects that. We all have cars, we don't expect to be able to drive and drink, we get taxis and pay for them or we get family members to drop us and pick us up in nights out, we have solar panels even, air to heat systems in our houses, we've embraced most stuff that is modern. We don't expect anything other than what we have. If dozy politicians put up what they can provide us with, we take it with a pinch of salt. We are fully aware of what we can expect and are happy with it. Most of the whingers in the countryside are the city dwellers that have joined us and expect to be able to get the same services here as they had where they grew up and lived previously. Country born people are very aware of what it needs to live and work where we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,298 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

EVs aren’t that popular in Japan. We are the market with the biggest appetite for clean used VWs from Japan. The Asian and African countries that gobble up used JDM Toyotas aren’t as keen on VW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Ah will ya stop

It's 2025, not 1840 FFS.

What about ...

post, parcel, fire services, ambulance, schools, power, broadband, telephone, housing, home care, roads, road maintainance, policing, ...

These cost a fortune to distribute to a scattered rural population.

It's a very good deal and people in the countryside know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,444 ✭✭✭User1998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

They did - The state/tax payer IS subsiding all of this. I'm ok with this for food production but not for Mary/John MNC employee expecting the state to pay for their lifestyle and to further destroy the countryside for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,319 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

So are you worried about the big fines or not? It's the obvious solution, to make ICE cars less attractive and encourage people to switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,855 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

I'm not playing with your straw man. Never know where it's been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Are any EU countries hitting targets?

Where does the fine money go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,302 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Only Croatia, Czechia, Hungary, Luxembourg, Slovenia and Spain are currently expected to meet the takes. Italy, France and Germany are the furthest off track. They aren't fines as such. Counties who miss targets must buy credits from countries that exceed the targets. The price depends on availabity.

I get some of what you say. Certainly there's a touch too much loose planning permissions granted. But that aside your arguments don't stand up.

The fact that so many people in the country from every area are involved in the parts of living here that you support negates your argument to a large extent as the services provided here need every bit of those services anyway. There are no roads or services provided just for one off housing. They're there to provide for the very thing you agreed are necessary. Even the farmers and industries involved in producing and processing the products ready for your shops and tables need other services. Skilled builders, plumbers, electricians plasterers etc. So virtually every industry is needed where they live. So quit with the subsidised shite, it's all needed for you to get what you get in your city, town, village restaurant, even to drive around enjoy the countryside you claim its destroying. That is unless you think all these services should be provided by people who commute from the city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,496 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Surprised that nuclear France are one of the furthest off track… Not saying I don't believe you, just that I'm surprised. Also impressed that Spain has made the list given the amount of energy they use on Air Conditioning

So our choice is effectively to hand money over to Croatia, Czechia, Hungary, Luxembourg, Slovenia and Spain or to spend it in the country on trying to reach our target? I certainly know which one I'd prefer!

Isn't that exactly what this thread is about though - a proposal to subsidise private cars even more?

You brought up the question of fines, so I thought you might be interested in a solution, but perhaps not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I’d like to see this come in but on a limited basis with a clear focus on the drivers of the old cars having owned them for X amount of years - past versions of scrappage schemes saw some people buy whatever banger was going for 500 quid and pushing it into the forecourt to claim their discount (not quite that extreme but not far off).

I have a 17 yo car - owes me nothing - have it years -but means more to me to keep it on the road than sell it - but I’d gladly take advantage of a decent scrappage scheme on a new EV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭TerrieBootson

And is better for the environment than replacing it with a battery car

The aim of such a scheme would be to take the older, more polluting cars, off the road. Whether you have owned your petrol/diesel car for 17 years or 17 minutes is irrelevant from that point of view.

Adding a stipulation that somebody needs to own a car for X amount of years just means that the current owners are the only ones that can avail of the scrappage grant. This is useless if the current owners can't afford to buy a brand new car.

Say for example if you were in a position to buy pre-owned when it came time to sell your car but I was looking for new. If I could buy your car and avail of the scheme for myself that exchanges an old ICE for a new EV and you benefit from buying the preowned you want.

It doesn't really subsidise cars because somebody who doesn't already have a private car isn't going to be able to scrap one. What it will do is make the private cars that are already on our roads cleaner

And I'd have no issue with that in fairness. But when lads start giving out about every subsidy going and pointing fingers at people who can't afford to take up offers, because they can't afford it or it doesn't meet their needs anyway, I'd take exception to that. Even saying they should be penalised more to learn them, bitter people!

“This is useless if the current owners can't afford to buy a brand new car.”

True enough- hence I focused on a “limited” scrappage deal - essentially enticing those who currently have older cars to jump into the new EV market who can but are reluctant to- I can “afford” a new EV- but I’d prefer not to suffer as much early depreciation - so say 5k off a new model with my old and long owned ICE and I’d probably be a new EV owner tomorrow morning -not all “deals” will suit ALL current ICE owners anyway but if this adds say 4-5k new EV owners and takes 4-5k old ICE cars off the roads, then it’s progress.

The government have to try “something” - but a one size fits all approach doesn’t work - and if the current EV grants of 3k or whatever it is was done away with, I guarantee you we’d see a reduction in car prices nearly overnight - I’m not a fan of over inflated car prices with tax payers footing the bill with grant subsidies but if different approaches are made maybe some progress could be made.

Probably the biggest reason to get into EVs right now is the ongoing and long term likelihood of much higher oil prices - the one reason for me not to is lack of reasonably priced secondhand EVs that I’d like to drive- not least because of over inflated asking prices from dealers — we’ve seen enough posts here of users being low balled by dealers only to see those cars go back on the showroom floor at greatly inflated prices-give me a bit more incentive and a more level playing field and I’ll join the EV troops

Yes agreed. What I am simply saying is that the scrapped car shouldn't need to be owned by the person scrapping it for any significant length of time

Say a hypothetical situation whereby somebody with a 15 year old car wants to upgrade to a 5 year old one and the govt introduce 5k scrappage but only on new EVs. The person with the 15 year old polluting car could then sell it for 3k to somebody looking for a new EV, who in turn gets 2k off their EV.

When it comes to prices and subsidies, Tesla being very open about their prices would likely pass on the full savings to the consumer, this in turn should keep the other manufacturers somewhat honest about pricing.

Dealers low balling their buy price and then overpricing their "for sale" price is nothing new, no matter what fuel your car takes

It really DOES subsidise private cars though, using public money that would better be spent on public transport - which will keep our roads cleaner AND be accessible to everybody, not just those who can afford a new car.

It won't though because if you want public transport that works in such a fashion that it takes people out of their cars you'd need bus services that run every 10-15 minutes along rural backroads 24 hours a day. And even then it's not going to suit 100% of peoples journeys.

Hundreds of extra diesel busses on our rural roads won't make for cleaner roads no matter how full these buses get. Taking older ICE cars and replacing them with EVs however, is a no-brainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Banzai600

there are plenty of ppl who may not be able to afford or even want to consider an ev to be within their priority of spending. i hope they dont start this b.s. of forcing ppl into it. You think ev's were some sort of mechanical messiah on this island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭creedp

It seems to me that if the Govt introduced a low cost warranty scheme for used EVs people would be a lot more inclined to/confident in purchasing a used EVs. Even pro EV drivers on here have said they wouldn’t buy one without a warranty because they are afraid of the battery going kaput. Of course in the case of Tesla’s it seems this warranty would also have to explicitly cover the suspension given that it seems to be made of cheese requiring a very expensive overall every 50k kms or so😆.

This approach would have the added benefit of bolstering trade in value for new EV buyers who supply the used market for those people who drive the older dirty ICEs but don’t or can’t buy new cars. but A win win for all🥳

A far better approach IMO than subsidising people who can already afford to buy a new/ nearly mew car but is delighted to say thanks very much Mr taxpayer for yet another financial incentive to buying a new EV

So unless we can do public transport 24x7 up the back of every boreen, then we shouldn't bother doing any?

That's just silly. No transport service meets 100% of people's needs 100% of the time. So we focus on getting a decent spread of services getting decent numbers of users.

If we do want to start subsidising private transport, it should be sustainable transport schemes, like this:

“Dealers low balling their buy price and then overpricing their "for sale" price is nothing new, no matter what fuel your car takes”

True but it’s more prevalent now and much more pronounced than ever before - maybe it’s also the lack of supply of ICE cars too I dunno - that second hand market is also insane

Can't afford? They are litterally cheaper than ICE vehicles these days. As for forcing people into them, you will be free to not own one if you so choose but after 2035 there will be no new ones available so getting around might be more difficult for anybody that doesn't bother with one

There's still 2012 Nissan Leafs driving around on their original 24kW old tech well-out-of-warranty batteries. I think warranty worries are largely a thing of the past and car dealers know this so prices go up. There's also a shortage of ICE cars so that's helping as well. With that being said there's some bargains to be had. A fella I work with got a

So unless we can do public transport 24x7 up the back of every boreen, then we shouldn't bother doing any?

I'm glad it only took this long for that penny to drop…

So you agree then that it's unfeasible to provide public transport as an alternative to car ownership, especially outside of the cities? So what would you suggest as a good way for rural dwellers to reduce carbon emissions if not a car scrappage scheme where an ICE gets traded for an EV?

It's a ridiculous premise, just an obvious delaying tactic.

I've already given multiple suggestions for what rural dwellers can do, including;

• not building McMansions up every boreen
    • pay for their own cars

Government should planning to

• increase taxes on ICE vehicles to encourage EV adoption
    • incentivise eBikes, cargo bikes as sustainable alternatives.

Have you not been paying attention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,302 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Back with the McMansions and boreens again? Have you ever been to a rural area?

EBikes are not the answer for most people. Taxes have already been high for some time and they don't seem to be the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,444 ✭✭✭User1998

Come on Andrew, we already pay up to 41% VRT on ICE cars. Taxing them even further is simply unfair. Almost 25% of the population can’t even home charge. Why should they be penalised?