If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Nobody likes to have to consider permutations but of course is essential on Saturday for the footballers. Here is the current standing:

2025-06-11 11_03_16-IMG_20250602_143825601.jpg.png

-If we win we get through no matter what and the loser of the Dublin/Derry game will go out (best case scenario)

-Next best thing is for Dublin to hammer Derry. That way we can lose against Armagh but still get through so long as we don't lose as much as Derry (with a 3 point cushion).

-Worst case is if Derry win or draw - then we would have to win against Armagh otherwise we will be out.

So while Galway are in a really positive position - Derry winning on Saturday will leave us in a very precarious position and could very likely be out for the year if Armagh decide to scalp us like they often have in the past.

Post edited by Markus Antonius on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭testtech05

Depending on results in the Derry/Dub game I think if Dublin lose that and we draw we are out too so i dont think a draw is enough for us unless the result in the other game goes our way. The only way we can be sure to get through is a win which based on our performances so far is hard to see at the moment but hopefully jeopardy can bring a performance

Was wondering this myself, but seeing as Dublin have a worse points difference than Galway (miraculously). A draw will get us ahead of Dublin on points difference if they lose.

So a lot of jeopardy for Dublin as well, which hopefully they will use to beat Derry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭testtech05

But if Dublin lose Derry will have 3 points and ourselves and Dublin will be on 2 so would be decided on head to head not points difference and we go out. Or at least that is my understanding that when 2 teams are tied it goes on head to head

Ah, didn't realise this, thought it was points difference. So a draw would be more precarious than I initially thought.

Edit: you are correct. Rules here

https://www.gaa.ie/api/pdfs/image/upload/wsvypj4txjj6arjvbjxt.pdf

Edited post above to reflect this.

Post edited by Markus Antonius on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Stewball

It will be interesting to see the team named tomorrow, I wouldn't read to much into it tbh. We'll probably see a few changes by throw-in.

PJ needs to freshen things up IMO.

He needs to work on the fact that we are incapable of comfortably beating teams we are far better than. This could be put towards our lack of reliable scorers.

If you look at teams during the warm up - the opposing teams always spend a good chunk of their time shooting and telegraphing where the posts are. Galway seem to spend most of their time doing drills and 4v4s and other nonsense. They don't know what direction the posts are during the game then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Robert2014

Big weekend coming up for the footballers. If they can't rise themselves against a team that has nothing to play for, never mind the team that beat them in last year's final then the summer will be over and probably the lifetime of the management too. Even if they scrap through, it probably be only putting off the inevitable. This is the weekend to regain momentum if they are capable of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Butson

Anyone been to a game in Cavan before? Can you park near the ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Screenshot_20250613_104722.jpg

Few changes whether it'll be the team that starts or not 🤔

Sam o' Neill appears dropped after that Derry game. How well Darcy plays has more or less dictated Galway's fortunes the last 5-6 games.

Armagh named a very strong team. McGeeney playing mind games with PJ who I think will be on the chopping block if they drop out this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I can't see how PJ could be on the chopping board. He is the only manager to get a tune out of Galway for 20 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I'm not from Galway, but would Peter Cooke not be a better option than Paul Conroy. I know he got player of the year last year, and deservedly so; however, his form seems to have dropped considerably.

Maybe not chopping block, but I would think he would question his own position if we have two early championship exits in 4 years with Galway's best selection of players in decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Would prefer McDaid pushed back to midfield with Cooke in half forward line

The speed of the game under the new rules seems to make Conroy a bit of a bystander over the past two games.

Some drop off since the Connacht final

Strong Armagh team named too, I don't buy the "Armagh won't be up for this" nonsense that's being floated in places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Stewball

Armagh will certaintly be up for it. Win, lose or draw, Armagh know they won't be playing next weekend, so they'll be going all out to knock a contender out of the Championship.

I'd have more doubts about some of our lads being 'up for it'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Avon8

Id probably start Cooke and bring Conroy in reasonably early in the second half for whoever's non performing. No reason they both can't be on the field at the same time

Conroy's was very quiet v Dublin and wasteful v Derry. In the Dublin case they specifically sacrificed someone to stop him. That's not a bad thing if you can work it to get other players space

However he was exceptional v both Roscommon and Mayo. And as you say, player of the year last year. Imagine any other sport where players were written off after two games. I suppose the GAA has always been like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Obviously not the sole reason we lost the All Ireland last year but he's not tactically savvy enough to get us over the line. I feel like once Conroy calls it a day that we'll fall back a bit unfortunately but there's enough talent in that team for a quality manager to fancy taking over. Joyce is a Galway legend but I think after this year it'd benefit all parties if himself and Scan called time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Been quick to question Joyce over past 6 years but if we lose tomorrow and he steps away who do we have to replace him that would bring this team forward. Days of outside managers seems to be gone by now. None of the former players who have worked with underage teams over past 10 years have covered themselves in glory. Know David Morris who in current setup was highly thought of before but not sure if he's a guy for the manager role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Avon8

There's zero chance he gets "sacked" imo. But it's all irrelevant really anyway isn't it? He's said straight up in a press conference that he'd have stepped aside if they won last July and he talked further in a GAA plus interview with Meehan about trying to find the motivation to give it another go after last year. I think it's almost certainly one last hurrah on his part

I've no idea where the next manager comes from either. Eamonn Fitzmaurice would spring to mind but as you say outside managers may not be an option

Donal O'Flátharta surely would be worth a go? Won an U-20 All Ireland with a decent amount of the current side. Derek Savage this year is proof that you need more than just a good panel to do well at that grade. Joyce couldn't manage an All-Ireland at that grade either in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Yeah O Fatharta has the best CV of the remainder over past 10 years and and highlighted further by how poor his predecessors have done at minor and u20s since. How savage got the u20s management ahead of him begs question whether there was more at play or else he talks a good game. U20 gig coming up as well and Alan Glynn prob be in running for that.

The level of tactical nous, prep and detail at top intercounty level means a new manager coming in from underage/club scene needs to have serious pedigree and a very strong backroom team. Wouldn't mind seeing Kevin Walsh in a coaching capacity again as he's as astute tactically as any of the former players we have had in intercounty setups. Well thought of wherever he has been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Is Comer out again?

Out…pulled a muscle during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭cal naughton

Time for Comer to pack it in . Can't be relied upon.

Faherty in for gleeson, that's a big call, good luck to the lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,321 ✭✭✭threeball

I said before the Mayo game that we couldn't play conroy in midfield and it's turned out that way. He just doesn't have the legs for that role.

Hes benched this evening but when he makes an appearance it needs to be further up the pitch. I'd even use him as one of the 3 up. Hes a good target to hit with a quick transition and his passing would be an asset to either the other 2 inside or runners coming up in support.

Not sure id be confident of them getting a result today any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,321 ✭✭✭threeball

Galway GAA at a low ebb. Footballers going nowhere quick at senior and underage and the hurlers doing the same. Don't think I can remember a time when we hadn't at least a minor team pushing for a title.

Needs some serious root and branch reform and quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

This is much worse than anyone could have predicted. This team have no business any further in the championship.

We don't deserve to be in the last 12 in fairness