Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French Open 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Same here, fairly robotic and boring. Does he have a strange walk or is it just me? He doesn't seem to bend his leg when walking.

Tomorrow the Tiafoe/Musetti match looks a good one on paper, hopefully it lives up to it. Tiafoe is always good to watch, wonder how many shirts he will get through in this match. I think it was 20 in the last match.

I think the evening match is going to be a straight sets win for Alcaraz over Paul. Can't see Paul posing much of a threat. I think Alcaraz losing focus is more of a threat.

In the women's I am hoping that Zheng can knock out Sabalenka and Svitolina can knock out Swaitek. Don't think it will happen but I can hope. Even if one of them gets knocked out would be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,627 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Agree with both your hopes for the womens' games today - I think Swiatek is definitely vulnerable - I haven't actually seen Sabalenka playing yet, but I presume she's just steamrolling everyone as per usual? What's Zheng's record against her, or does she even have one? Anyway, I wouldn't be betting my hard earned money against Sabalenka!

I felt very sorry for Jack Draper last night - Bublik was having one of those games where he could just do no wrong (as he referenced in his very brief post-match interview, poor Alex didn't manage to get even one question in!), and Draper just couldn't cope with it. I had recorded the remainder of the match and watched it when I got home - I thought Alcaraz was king of the drop shots, but jaysus! I would dearly love to see Bublik get past sinner to see him line up opposite Alcaraz - but again, I'll be keeping my money in my póca for that one!!!

Zheng seems to be good on clay, she won the gold medal at the Paris Olympics and she beat Sabalenka a couple of weeks ago in Rome 6-4, 6-3 so she is capable. I think there is more a chance of her knocking out Sabalenka than Svitolina beating Swaitek. Swaitek has had her scare against Rybakina and I think we will see her more focused now.

As for Draper, sorry to see him go out but he played into Bubliks hands by staying so far back and that allowed Bublik to drop shot him to death. Some of the drop shots were outrageous but still Draper didn't help himself by staying so far back. It's funny because it was the opposite to what Swaitek was doing against Rybakina in the first set, she was staying on the baseline which allowed Rybakina to power over her in the first set, then Swaitek coach told her to "Go back to go forward" and once Swaitek did that she was in the match, Draper need to move forward in his match and not be so far back, he only did it in the 4th set.

Yeah, I was surprised he persisted in staying so far back for so long - it was like he was so shocked at what was happening that he just couldn't see it. Why his coaching box didn't intervene I don't know!

Speaking of which - I've said this before, but I hate the way it's now become player plus player's box are playing the match - it was particularly noticeable in Alcaraz's last game, every single shot, before the last ball even landed his eyes were gone up to his team, with either a fist pump or a questioning look - there's no sense any more that players are out there playing by themselves, figuring it out for themselves, playing a "singles" game. A few are left - Rybakina springs to mind. I miss the days when they were out there on their own, for better or for worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

The on-court coaching has taken something away from what the sport special in that you were out there on your own and you had to work it out for yourself.

Really wish they had went the opposite way and banned all coaches from the players box and made them sit in a room and watch on TV or up on the top deck of a stadium.

Speaking of this on court coaching, Sabalenka or Zheng just shouted up to her box to give her more energy.

The coaching should be banned, be interesting to see how some of the players handle it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭sxt

It's wild that the stands are 75% empty for these ladies quarter finals. There is just no public demand to see them play.These girls are absolutely stealing a living with the equal prize money they are receiving . I presume the tv viewing figures would be equally low compared to the men as well

Eh, 75% empty??? Didn't look like that to me - and i see plenty vacant seats right now at the Tiafoe/Musetti match.

Back on the subject of actual tennis - Musetti has this in the bag if he even half keeps his head, Tiafoe looking properly rattled having lost the 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,841 ✭✭✭✭josip

Tommy bageled in the 1st set.

how is Paul playing or is it that Alcaraz is too good.

?

Paul looked a bit flat but even if he had been 100% I don't think it would have made much difference. I haven't seen anyone play a better match this year in RG than Alcaraz today.

God, but Chris Evert is a pain commentating!

I loved her as a player (showing my age there!), but I'm going to have to turn this match off soon - just reading ever more complicated stats and spouting clichés and platitudes. Up there with John McEnroe in the unlistenable stakes.

Where's Annabel Croft when you need her???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭klr87

Boisson d. Andreeva 7-6(6), 6-3. Sacre Bleu! World #361, but up to #65 in the live rankings.

We have just had one shock with Boisson knocking Andreeva wonder will we get another and Bublik knocks out the robot.

Short answer: No

Long answer: No, of course not.

OK, stranger things have happened, but Sinner isn't an 18 year-old who doesn't yet know how to handle themselves when the going gets really tough.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,425 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

It must have been fairly tough for Andreeva in that bearpit. Sorry to see Svitolina going out yesterday, but she made a game out of it in the 2nd set.

Sinner has Alcaraz-ed Bublik. Hard to imagine anyone else contesting the final.

Boisson will get €690,000 for making the semi finals. According to the WTA, her career earnings to date are $148,000.

And then there are all the big-money events she will qualify directly for over the next 12 months or so, based on just reaching the semi here: Not the upcoming Wimbledon. Her performance is too late to get even a qualifying spot, but she might get a wildcard. She will get into the four slams after that, up to Wimbledon next year. Then there is Cincinnati and the Canadian Open this summer, Indian Wells, Miami, Madrid and Rome next spring. She will also get into a number of smaller non-mandatory WTA tournaments where the cut-off is lower. She was injured from before the French last year to February this year, so her ranking was based on just those very low-level events in the last 3 months.

I'll enjoy these moments while I can. The sands of time are running out.

2nd set point was also good.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Zverev losing to 38 year old Djoko 🫣

Not surprised to see Djoko make the SF's though. I do think Sinner will prove too strong, but you never know. Hoping for an Alcaraz-Sinner final, with Alcaraz winning #5.

Intriguing women's SF's. Hoping for a Sabalenka-Gauff final with Sabalenka coming out on top. I'm leaning towards Swiatek defending her title though, think finding her way through Rybakina might prove something of a turning point for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,392 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Must be infuriating to be a Zverev fan... if any of those exist. Djoko was great though, didn't think he'd win yesterday let alone win comfortably. Can't see him getting past Sinner or Alcaraz but I guess you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Slashermcguirk

Sinner looks to be in phenomenal form and for me he is the favourite to win, very hard to see past a Sinner vs Alcaraz final. Although Musetti is playing very well, I don't see his playing style causing Alcaraz many issues and I see Alcaraz winning that in 3 or 4 sets.

What Djokovic is still doing at 38 is just unbelievable, the fact that he can rock up at grand slams in 2025 and reach the semi final stages so comfortably and beating the 3rd ranked player in the world. For some perspective, can you realistically see Sinner and Alcaraz playing Djokovics current level in the year 2041!! He is 16 years older than the likes of Alcaraz and Sinner and even managed to beat Alcaraz at the Australian Open this year. While Sinner has had the better of Djokovic over the past 12 months, they are 4-4 overall and two of those Sinner wins included one win 7-6 in a decider set and their Davis cup meeting, Djokovic had 3 match points before losing. Djokovic has won a lot of their biggest matches, final of world tour finals and beat him a couple of times at Wimbledon too. I would make Sinner the big favourite to win that match but I just hope its a really good competitive match. If you are going on current form, its hard to see past a 3 or 4 set Sinner win but if Djokovic can bring his level like the Australian open QF win over Alcaraz or the Olympic final win over Alcaraz last year on Phillipe Chatrier court, he could make life very difficult for Sinner.

I would love to see Djokovic win the French open this year but I just cant see past a Sinner Alcaraz final. The fact that Djokovic has reached the semi final has exceeded my expectation as to the stage he would reach based on his form the past year and about 10 years past his peak.

Also shows how exceptional Federer was (on grass) that he nearly won Wimbledon at the age of 37 against a 31 year old Djokovic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Slashermcguirk

yes absolutely, Federer was very impressive in that Wimbledon final in 2019. He really couldnt have played any better and for so much of that final he was the better player. Djokovic was just so clutch when it mattered. I remember hearing an amazing stat about that final. Across the three tie breaks in that 2019 final (including the decider tie break that was played at 12 games all in 5th set), Djokovic did not make one unforced error across all three tie breaks. When you consider the pressure of a Wimbledon final playing against Federer who was playing lights out, that is about as clutch as a player can possibly be. Federer played unbelievable that day though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

What happened in the 3rd set to Swiatek, seemed like a spectacular collapse by her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭hawley

Musetti playing very well so far. Will be very difficult to hold off Carlito's power over a best of five, though. Has the makings of an excellent match

Communication was the greatest fatality

Musetti playing about as well as he could have hoped for and it's one set all. You'd imagine Alcaraz should take it from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭CassieManson

Musetti retires 2-0 in the fourth after losing the 3rd set 6-0

And 30 minutes later Alcaraz is through 😨 That escalated quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,588 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Sinner serving for second set...but Djokovic breaks him!