Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gript-A source of misinformation. **Read OP before posting**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭prunudo

If people don't like gript they are free to to move along and ignore them, similar to my dislike of the journal dot ie, I don't like their editorial stance, so I ignore them. As for Fatima Gunning, she is a courts reporter, why would she be reporting on either the Carlow incident or the Michael Gaine case as neither are before the courts. It appears that many on this thread just like kicking gript because they are different.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,166 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I think it's important to call out bad actors and will continue to do so. Gript are a glorified fake news blog and should be known as such. Sunlight is the best disinfectant.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,296 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Gript are neo fascist and are abusing the 'availability heuristic' to make their readers 'feel' that we are under assault from immigrants and their crimes.

{DC99AECA-1D19-4938-9C7D-3C7DCB3F6709}.png

Basically, what they're doing is flooding their media and social media with stories about crime, but only reporting on crime from non Irish white people, means that their readers will associate crime with immigration, and immigrants with crime.

They do this in two ways, but having a large volume of reports of any immigrant who is accused of any crime, they create the illusion that immigrants are responsible for the bulk of all crimes committed, and by focusing a lot of their detailed reporting on a small number of very high profile crimes and then constantly referring to them, they implant those crimes as the default examples in their readers minds so, for example, if they are asked to think of 5 crimes committed in the past year, all 5 of those crimes that they first think about will have been committed by people who are not white Irish natives.

The fact is, about 20% of the Irish population were not born here, and about 17% of the prison population are non irish nationals. So if are asked to think of 5 recent crimes, and you find yourself mostly thinking about crimes committed by non Irish nationals, then you have clearly been manipulated by Gript. Relying on Gript has had a measurable impact on your attitude towards crime and immigration.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,590 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Saying "protected class" is grade A conspiracy loon territory

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

I never said Fatima herself should be covering it, did I? I just pointed out how the vast majority of her articles are about people of colour in the courts.

In fact, the only article she wrote on the Richard Satchwell trial (the biggest case the Irish courts will see this year) was about evidence which said Satchwell never hit his wife, and that she was violent towards him.

Not a word out of her (or anyone in Gript, in case she has been off work) when this white British immigrant was found guilty of murdering his wife. Why?

It's amazing that there isn't any coverage on the two biggest crime stories of recent weeks, when Gript had all the resources in the world to cover the Stoneybatter attack.

They covered the Stoneybatter attack in six different articles. I'm not saying that's excessive. It was a significant event. The articles focused on how the attacker was an immigrant.

So, this shows Gript have the resources to cover the big stories.

So in saying that, why has there only been a reference to Michael Gaine once in a podcast, where John McGuirk actually just has a cut at the Gardai? No mention of the suspect, who has made himself free and available to talk to the media. The suspect just happens to be a white American immigrant.

Now, we have the shooting in Carlow. Suspect was white and Irish. Again only mention is McGuirk having another go at the Gardai in one article.

The pattern and evidence is there for all of us with eyes to see, and you can stand there and try to dress it up all you want, but we aren't the fools that you think you are.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

I think Gript are the ying to the mainstream media's yang.

Both should be consumed as they are so polarised to one side. It's up to the individual to use common sense after hearing as much information as possible but acknowledging that most outlets are biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

I can’t believe Gript called a group of people mongrels, oh no wait that was the Irish Times who said that about Irish people

No media outlet 'should' be consumed based on whatever side of the aisle they're on. The people who subscribe to Gript are the ones bitching that other media outlets have 'an agenda' and say this garbage with a straight face.

Gript subscribers are hypocrites. Nothing more, nothing less.

That's a lovely and completely balanced outlook to have. That's a complete and definitive statement that you have made, with absolutely no verifiable proof.

And I disagree. People SHOULD consume as much information as possible but also be aware that the media they are consuming may be biased.

The blanket statement below. An opinion stated as a fact.

Gript subscribers are hypocrites. Nothing more, nothing less.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,166 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

There are multiple people in this very thread who say they are proud to subscribe to Gript because the mainstream media has an agenda.

That, in itself, makes them hypocrites.

Are you interested in an adult conversation or are you just going to post absolute rubbish like this?

I'm going out of my way to point out Gripts agenda for everyone to see plain clearly, and you're dragging the conversation in a different direction as a distraction.

I see your bullshit, and I'll happily call it out publically.

Mod - warned for uncivil post

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

I'm willing to debate. I would appreciate it if you toned down the hostility though. If you continue to be as hostile as you are, I will not bother engaging.

I think that Gript are doing a decent job. I can see their biases and don't fully agree with them, but I think they are important as an opposing view from the mainstream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭StormForce13

You'd be wasting your time. He's already made up his mind and he's 100% convinced that he's infallible, probably because everyone in his circle agrees with him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,140 ✭✭✭✭elperello

No wait indeed, that's fake news you've got it wrong.

Unsurprisingly The Irish Times is not insulting the Irish people.

You are quoting from Mark Hennessy's article in Saturday's paper.

He was quoting Briona Nic Dhiarmada producer of an upcoming documentary series entitled "From That Small Island".

She said -

This homogeneous Ireland idea, this little Catholic thing, was never the case. We were never homogeneous. Always hybrids, always mongrels. We didn’t set out to prove that, but that’s what came out,” Nic Dhiarmada says.

From Sunday, June 8th, a new telling of Ireland’s story from its very first inhabitants to the present day, narrated by Dublin-born Hollywood film star Colin Farrell, will begin on RTÉ.

Entitled From That Small Island, the four 50-minute programmes, filmed in 17 countries from Barbados to Australia, are written and produced by Bríona Nic Dhiarmada and directed by Rachael Moriarty and Peter Murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Please. They ran a story with the headline ‘we Irish were never homogenous. Always hybrids, always mongrels’. They knew what they were doing with that quote. If Gript did the same about other groups of people would you wave it away?

So the irish times, posted an article, in which there was a quote which called irish people mongrels?

Hardly fake news. They published it. Dare I say, promoted it.

Would the so-called progressives be as generous as to the liability of the newspaper if it was something derogatory about travellers or LGBTQ?

I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Always a red flag when someone makes a bold claim without any context or even a link.

Gript is more interested in pretending there's a perfect white Irish race whose blood must remain pure, hence the scaremongering about immigration and the racism.

What hostility? All I did was point out the facts that Gript are a media outlet with an agenda to all of those who claim they subscribe to Gript because the mainstream media has an agenda.

Those people are hypocrites. Nothing more, nothing less. That is a fact and there's not wordplay from you that will change that.

You're trying to bring me around in circles taking away from the point I was making.

I'm calling that out. If you think it's hostile, then debate the points I made about how Gript does not care about crime committed by white people.

That's if you're actually capable of doing it.

What about you, chum? Want to actually debate the points I made or are you just going to post pathetic little digs like this for likes?

That is an obnoxious claim. Please provide proof of your claim. You are the first to demand proof in any thread I've seen you in. Cite me a time that Gript have ever pretended there was a perfect white irish race whose blood must remain pure or else delete or retract your claim.

No need to be so touchy.

It's clearly a quote from a producer promoting a documentary series about Irish history.

It's obviously not intended as a slur against Irish people.

Stand down your misdirected outrage.

I was in no way touchy my friend. Just simply correcting you and your misguided attempt to deflect from what was published

Also…"outrage"??? Don't be silly

Here's your proof below. A complete disproportion of coverage of crimes committed by immigrants of colour, compared to their coverage of white immigrants or Irish people.

The cheek of you talking about other people 'deflecting' when your sole purpose today has been to deflect.

What hostility? Let me refresh your memory.

"Are you interested in an adult conversation or are you just going to post absolute rubbish like this?"

"I see your bullshit, and I'll happily call it out publically."

If you see that as civil discourse, then I am afraid, I can't engage further.

I applaud Gript for some of their reporting. I do acknowledge it does lean heavily on migrant crime and lacks emphasis on native crime, but we have plenty of other outlets that report on those issues.

If the mainstream media reported on everything Gript wouldn't need to exist but I think they are very important and shouldn't be dismissed.

(caveat that all outlets should have their biases recognised before a conclusion is made)

I'm not deflecting at all.

I posted quotes to prove my point regarding the context.

Here's the full article, make your own mind up.

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2025/05/31/we-irish-were-never-homogeneous-always-hybrids-always-mongrels/

You cited yourself as proof of your own claim? :)

Lovely