Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Richard Satchwell Found Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Juran

Glad it wasnt reduced to manslsughter. And so glad justice has been done for Tina, her family and her loving dogs & pets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Juran

How the gardaí fail to investigate fresh building work in their house in 2017 is beyond me ?? They need serious re-training and made watch UK and American murder/crime documentaries on Cable TV/Netflix like the rest of us do !

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Tina Satchwell's family pay tribute to 'loving and gentle soul' and say trial 'did not portray who she was' https://jrnl.ie/6719631

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,819 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I agree, but I read enough crime to know sloppy police work is not just an Irish problem. Some a the cases in the UK and America are astonishing sloppy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭tara73

this and the story he told Tina met up everyday at the same place at the same time with a friend but they never exchanged mobile phone numbers…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭tinpib

Yep, was posted about a lot on other Tina threads such as here, e.g. post #502

Maybe it was all just crazy rumour and it was 100% the Guards found it as reported on RTE here: https://www.rte.ie/news/analysis-and-comment/2025/0530/1515932-richard-satchwell-garda-investigation/

I'm sure someone will comb through the old threads, might even get round to it myself!

stated in every media article back in October 2023.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I can find only one that specifically mentions it but I don't have time to read them all - two other articles from the same time did not mention remains being found in a drain. I genuinely don't remember that element and it wasn't mentioned in the course of the evidence afaik.

https://www.sundayworld.com/news/breaking-news/human-remains-found-in-cork-home-identified-as-missing-woman-tina-satchwell/a1918316640.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,686 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Richard was no doubt inspired by the Kevin Bacon movie from the noughties ‘Stir of Echoes’.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I did read about something being found while the neighbour's were having work done.

I thought the neighbours called the guards and that lead to the invasive search of the Satchwell home, I was surprised it wasn't mentioned during the trial.

I'm not surprised at the verdict either, if it had been manslaughter you'd expect some remorse and guilt rather than parading himself around the media like a local celebrity. Family members of missing people always look understandly uncomfortable in the spotlight, they're doing it in the hope of answers/closure, not for their own notoriety.

I'm glad the verdict is murder but I would be genuinely interested what are the elements that proved it. The remains couldn't be the evidence anymore. Who could prove after this time how it really happened? Murder has to be planned, malice, or low reasons like gaining money through killing someone. They really could have been in a nasty, verbal fight that morning, provoking, insulting, humiliating each other. He then killed her in the heat of the moment. And afaik this is exactly category manslaughter and not murder.

Anybody knows how they proved murder? Is the verdict open to the public to read somewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,224 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Obvious outcome.

The gardai let themselves down yet again with their fairly juvenile and unprofessional investigation. Aomw things will never change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭arctictree

What a nutter. Imagine walking down those stairs at 2am on a cold dark winters night knowing what's buried there?! I wonder will the house be sold now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭eastie17

yeah not sticking up for him obviously but I dunno how they came up with murder either. I mean it’s clearly a good result but by the letter of the law….

He’ll probably appeal which is more suffering for the family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,817 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Nobody has to prove anything, the prosecution just had to convince the jury beyond reasonable doubt that he murdered her, which they clearly did.

And I'm not sure what you think would be open to the public to read - the verdict is guilty of murder, that's all there is to it and it's already on public record. The jury aren't required to explain how or why they came to that verdict.

murder does not have to be planned.. it can happen quickly, in a moment or instant you can decide to murder. Intention is the key! Not planning.

The jury must have believed that he intended to end her life. That’s a murder conviction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

There was no evidence of this. That was a rumour going around but the evidence before the court is that this wasn't the case.

Bit like the rumour that Jozef Puska and Ashling Murphy knew each other before he killed her. That was debunked in court as well.

Maybe don't believe everything you hear from the nosey neighbours, lads.

I would imagine the fact he told lie after lie for years and the fact he tried to sell the fridge he hid the body in for a time to her sister looked like an act of sinister premeditation in the eyes of a jury.

Also, people have to remember that what you read in the papers is only a fraction of the evidence heard on any given day. The jury hears every shred of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Tork

I've been listening to the podcasts about it, so I would hope that they haven't omitted any important details. I wonder did his story of how she supposedly died come against him too? For a man who couldn't lie straight in bed, you'd think he'd have come up with a better story than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,167 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

good coverage of the court case here, the reporter updated the podcast everyday of the case

The internet isn’t for everyone

I would highly doubt the important details were left out. They're the ones that get the headlines.

However it's hard for any journalist writing about any trial to provide the context in which the jury receives all of the evidence, and how all of the statements and testimonies come together like pieces of a jigsaw puzzle.

There is a lot of legally technical evidence which isn't 'sexy' enough to be written in copy, but for a jury it could be something that links one testimony with another piece of evidence or whatever the case is.

I should add at this stage I wasn't in court for any of this, so I don't know if that is the case.

Coverage of the judge's charge to the jury, in general, is very hard to put into context. It can read like the judge is trying to guide the jury in a certain way but it's far from the case. The judge is often explaining what they should consider if they are considering one verdict or another.

For the last point, I'm not sure. The only people who could say Tina wasn't violent were her family members. However, if I was a juror and I heard he hid her body in a fridge (before burying it), and then months later tried to sell that fridge to her sister, that would be a premeditated decision which would paint him in the light of being a horrible, controlling bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

There was ' concrete' evidence in fairness!

jaysus, just saw his prime time interview where he breaks down. Absolute nut job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Tork

The interview he did with Neil Prendeville on Red FM is worth a watch too. Prendeville, no matter what you think of him, did a masterful job (ha!) of making him look even weirder than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,375 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The jury got it right, vile attention seeking scumbag killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭airnwater

Mentioned earlier,  but I really can't figure out why the fresh building work under the stairs wasn't checked out properly back in 2017.. apparently it had the look of having been done by an amateur...a handy tradesman could have knocked it down & rebuilt it in a day if there was nothing behind it... saving a lot of stress on Tina's family & saving probably hundreds of 1000s of euros of work by the gardai. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭arctictree

And why didn't they bring in a cadaver dog back then? Surely that's the top thing you do if looking for a body?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

I wonder will Richard have a lot of visitors while in prison....but then again he probably more than happy to sit in his cell all day