Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Count Hairyfoot

Noah Gundersen in The Grand Social last night was really good. He can sound a bit light on Spotify but live he came across really well - great voice. Sold the place out as well which was nice to see. Didn't see the support so can't comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Ouch! Tbf, i wouldn't have had them down as your cuppa.

Lael Neale tonight in the Workmans Cellar. Very much looking forward to it.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,867 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I know, ‘it’s a **** cabaret act’ came to mind 🙄

Grand Social for a bit of Psykosis for me tonight

Lael Neale in the Workmans Cellar was just wonderful. Support came from Entrance/Guy Blakeslee, who i was a fan of some of his material in the mid-noughties (unfortunately he didn't play Grim Reaper Blues tonight). I mention him because he's her producer and was playing guitar and keyboards this evening. Lael herself was on omnichord, guitar and keyboards at various stages. A just about 1 hour set (after she was convinced to play a couple more songs) of dreamy VU vibes. I was beaming from start to finish and she didn't even play any of the three songs i really wanted to hear. One of my most enjoyable gigs this year so far.

Conflict were pretty good in Lost Lane tonight. A 1 hour set of anarcho punk, comprising oldies and new songs (new tunes were decent).

I've said it before but i really don't like going to gigs in this weather. Indoor ones anyway. I much prefer heading out on a dark winter's evening to catch a band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I may not be engaging with the right audience here - but I have to say that Tate McRae last night in 3Arena was some show. I've never been to one of these Britney Spears type gigs - costume changes, all dancing, backing dancers, possibly bit of miming (I'm not sure about that one). But it was spectacular when you see it up close. The timing of the dancing, and the physical effort of it all for nearly 1.5 hours. And there were several stages that she was performing on which just appeared throughout the 3Arena. It was great stuff. I was there with my daughter and her friend (the two of them cried with excitement for the first hour, but composed themselves for the finale). But I would happily go again - except a Dad on his own would definitely look a bit weird in a room full of approximately 13,000 teenage girls.

The crowd were belting out every lyric as if it was going to be the last sentence they could ever utter. I think most of it was about ex-boyfriends., and how they should all go to hell. But it certainly touched a nerve with the fanbase last night. They were ecstatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭hold my beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Ha ha. Fair enough. Probably not my proudest moment 😀

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I get your point though. I was at Olivia Rodrigo last year and found her really good, she put on a great show!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Oof, great shout on Langkamer @Dreamweapon ! Those boys are right up my street!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Only catching up on this now. I went and thought they were brilliant. Took a few videos and sent them to my 17 year old daughter. She texted back to say she'd love to see them, so booked it again for the button factory.

I've been listening to them for a while and they certainly didn't disappoint live. Lyrics are funny and they had a great stage presence. Just 2 lads messing like they don't give a f*ck.

Highly recommend seeing them live if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

It's a fair run from Donegal to Belfast to see them live, so not sure if I'd make that trip. I do love a few of their songs, but someone mentioned the gig is relatively short so might be a long trip for a bit of a novelty?

I did watch the videos on YouTube of their Dublin show, did certainly look like great craic.

Wine Lips in the Grand Social was a fine night's entertainment. 60 minutes of Garage psych/punk a la Osees, King Gizz etc. Barely a moments rest as they ploughed through their set to an appreciative, decent sized crowd.

Support came from Bucket which pleased me as i haven't seen them in about a year. If, like me, you've looked at all the Gilla Band acolytes of recent years and thought 'i wish they were heavier/noisier or had a psych element to them', then Bucket are the band for you. Sure, a lot of the time it's just noise and volume but sometimes that's enough. Found them most effective when they slowed things down. At that point they became less chaotic and more psychedelic. Plus, none of them want to be Ian Curtis, so that's a bonus right off the bat!

Message to young bands: Other pedals are available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,717 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Wine Lips were great.

Saw them last summer and they were really good but they're much better now. Nice to see a band on a clear upwards curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Grand Social sold next to damn-all booze last night. Really strange.

A solid gig from Throwing Muses in a sold out Whelans last night. Decent chunk of the new album played, with just a smattering of old tunes over the 90 minutes. It was good but i never felt completely engaged, my mind was wandering for most of it. Probably just me! Support was Dose who i found utterly forgettable. Nothing wrong with them i guess but there's millions of bang average bands out there already, we don't need another one.

Yeah, agree on both counts. Enjoyed Kristen and co without being totally transported, although Shark was great for the encore and by the end of Bright Yellow Gun, they were flying so ended on a high. You're being kind about Dose who I couldn't be doing with at all at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Bryan Adams was brilliant as always at the SSE Arena on Wednesday night. And was really fortunate that everybody around me seemed to want to listen to the music rather than chat with their mates and I seemed to end up in a rare section where nobody was even drinking (other than the odd cup of Pepsi).

Back to another sold out Whelans tonight for Earth. A cracker of a gig. Nearly 90 minutes of slow, ponderous instrumentals could be torturously dull in the wrong hands. Thankfully, Dylan Carlson and co are experts in their field. In fact this may well have been my favourite gig by them. The set was all 2005-onwards material. New track 'Scalphunter's Blues' was a particular highlight. In the zone for most of it and, yet again, i felt my eyelids getting heavy about three quarters of the way through. Not out of boredom but they put me in such a relaxed state it seems to happen everytime i catch them. One of the few bands i'd like to watch whilst sitting down! Their first time playing here in 11 years and if i heard Carlson correctly at the end it sounds like they'll be aiming for a return in autumn 2026.

A good weekend for Foggy Notions & Umack. Long may they continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Supergrass at the Olympia.

Good concert all the hits and very enjoyable . They looked like they enjoyed it too.

My oh sang all the way through which is unusual as he is the quiet one but would be a bigger fan than me . Crowd were lovely . .Bar was lovely . Olympia was lovely , as usual .

I love the Olympia 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭unichick

Went to the Scissors Sisters in the 3 Arena tonight. It was a great gig. Jake Shears is some front man with note perfect vocals. Sang all the favourites. My only criticism is more Jake less female singers with him. I felt they hogged the limelight a bit. It was the last show of 10 gigs around the UK & Ireland. Not a sell out but 80% full.

Back with a review of Supergrass tomorrow night. Two concerts in a row. I’m living for it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I was also at Scissor Sisters and it was a wonderful Kiki!!

A full 2 hours show - they played the whole debut album and other hits from their catalogue. Most of the songs still sound fresh after all these years! Lots of paraphernalia on stage, including a telephone booth which they used for the intro of Let's have a Kiki. As unichick said, Jake Shears is a great front man! The 2 female vocalists were good, but we definitely missed Miss Ana Matronic.

Support by the always reliable Alison Goldfrapp with a lovely, upbeat 45 minute set. I would have preferred more songs from her solo album (the set was primarily Goldfrapp back catalogue) and her vocals were mixed a bit low, but it is always great to see her live and I hope she will come back for a show of her own after the release of her second solo album.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,134 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Supergrass we're great tonight, for the casual fan the setlist was a bit 'uh' but was enjoyable. Outside of the album hits 'Richard III', 'Grace', Moving' and of course 'Pumping Up Your Stereo' were amazing

Next up locally 'Dave Lofts in the Theatre Royal' on the 31st . He's playing the Academy on the 30th. What a gig awaits

https://www.ticketmaster.ie/dave-lofts-dublin-30-05-2025/event/18006175C8AB9DE4

20250528_210610.jpg 20250528_213643.jpg 20250528_220041.jpg 20250528_222403.jpg 20250528_222609.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭MOR316

Scissor Sisters was an incredible gig.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Last night in the 3Arena

ss1.jpg ss2.jpg ss3.jpg ss6.jpg

I enjoyed that

Ah Supergrass brilliant in the Olympia tonight. Thought they sounded just fantastic. Gaz's voice better than ever, lovely dynamic between them, I should Coco sounded fresh as **** and a few great add ons after. What a tune Richard III is! Great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭unichick

Supergrass were incredible tonight in the Olympia. I got in early & enjoyed the warm up act also - Matt McMenimen.
    Gaz & the boys sang all the first album plus amazing stuff from other albums also. I loved every minute of it apart from plonkers going in & out to the bar during the show. Next time I’ll get a standing ticket. I love the Olympia. Such a beautiful venue. I don’t get to go to it often so when I do I appreciate it. I’ll be dreaming of Gaz tonight.

Supergrass was good but it was another one of those gigs i felt disengaged for large chunks. Now that was clearly down to me as the band sounded energised and not like some bunch of tired, jaded old has-beens. I'd forgotten how many good songs there are on that debut. Sun Hits The Sky probably my highlight of the night though. Pity we didn't get Going Out which would be my favourite of theirs. Is Danny Goffey McCartney's lovechild?!

They were the one Britpop band i liked, bought all the albums upon release and saw them live a number of times from 94/95 onwards. However, that was the first time i'd seen them since they reformed and i suspect it will be my last, other than a festival appearance. Nothing wrong with them but i might've moved on. It's like the Pixies all over again!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

going out does not work well live - in the valentines day pre covid gig - they had an issue with it then

seen this video of the crowd singing the intro to pumping on your stereo