Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭fillup

Why do u think sax solos were mimed?

I was at show, in the pit and didn't get a sniff of any miming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭dasdog

I hope I'm wrong but I thought I heard the sound kick in a few times when mouth wasn't to reed. I'm a stickler like that over analyzing at times but it could also have been the shots of Zubrowka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭T.V Eye

I couldn't confirm but I'd be shocked. The band know what they are at and they'd be rinsed if anyone noticed a mimed sax.

I'm blaming the demon drink.

Although Sebastian's gut is a definitely a prosthetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭boomdocker

What time were they on stage at and what time they finish?

Support band well worth checking out

Swedish Punk too, lead singer puts on a good show

Not a chance it was mimed

And leave Seb's belly out of it it!

Finally a rock star bod I can confidently aim for!

I'm not hating at all.

He was rocking it along with the shades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Count Hairyfoot

Saw Ghost in Zurich tonight. Sucks no Ireland show on the tour but if you have the chance to catch them somewhere its definitely worth it. Going to hard to top that this year for me I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭mosstin

Seefeel @ Droichead Arts Center, Drogheda tonight. Great gig. Just him on stage with his sonic gadgets creating some beautiful ambient soundscapes. Opened with the first song from 1993's 'Quique'. If you're not familiar with them, that's your starting point: a stunning album.

Great to see them tonight. They cast a long, influential shadow, not least on Cocteau Twins' later albums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,193 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Alain Johannes with a fantastic evening of guitar fueled 90s/00s rock. Great range in setlist including his solo material, then songs from Chris Cornell solo, Mark Lanegan, Desert Sessions, Eleven. Grinning away with how enjoyable it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Saw them in Lisbon myself, joyous stuff really don't know if it was the Portuguese crowd, the no phone factor perhaps both. Maybe not all shows but tbh would love this in all arena events just pure escapism.

Can see why they left Ireland out but probably didn't anticipate the UK portion flying out like it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

I was also at this. Pity it wasn't the full band but i think they're only doing two gigs and all the other shows are Mark Clifford's Dub/AV thing. Yeah, opening with Climactic Phase#3 was an excellent decision! The gig was an hour but it seemed longer and i don't mean that negatively. I just got into a totally relaxed zone. He took the material and remixed and tweaked on the fly. I'd best describe it as an evening of dubbed-out industrial ambience.

Everybody needs the 'Quique' lp in their life (in fact it's just been remastered and reissued with bonus tracks). After they signed to Warp the material became increasingly abstract and dull imo.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭mosstin

Yeah, felt the very same about the gig. Too short but the hour flew past. I loved last year's album, to be honest and he played my favorite song from it last night, but these days track titles escape me, especially with a band like Seefeel where the albums generally feel quite seamless.

So happy they reissued Quique. I had been watching it on Discogs for years but saw nothing on vinyl for under 150-200 euro. Ridiculous so I'm glad that I held out. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,426 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

1000032748.jpg

Sing us home festival.

Sing us home is an independent music festival curated by Dave Hause in Philadelphia running over 3 days. The VIP Sold out before I could book but the GA+ was $250 but included an open bar (I've made my money back)

DAY 1

Quarry were the opening act, they had instruments, the instruments made noise, that's about all I can say.

John Gallagher Jr is a white guy with a guitar, singing white guy with guitar songs, who just happens to be a Tony award winner, absolute joy when he let the pipes soar.

Hause family campfire is 5 singers celebrating each other and music itself, Dave Hause (he's playing every day) was joined by his brother Tim, AJJ & Jon Muq. The line up was supposed to be rounded out by Dan Adriano, but he pulled out and was replaced by Tim Mcilrath of Rise against, this was magical. They opened with Tom Petty, Dave broke out some new stuff, they covered a Disney song, Tim played swing life away as the sun set and we all lost our **** when they finished with dancing in the dark.

Tim hause opened up day 2, I think I enjoyed him more when he played acoustic in Whelan's a few months back, but his band were good.

Missed the next band because the sun was starting to become too much, there's re-entry so we went to a local bar for some lunch and some shade.

Dave Hause and the mermaid I've seen Dave many times in many ways, but since he put this iteration of the mermaid together he's got a new lease of life, they're playing 2 sets this weekend so I'm very excited to see what's in store for today, highlight was bringing on the bassist from mighty mighty bosstones and a brass trio for impression that I get.

The Bouncing Souls were the day 2 headliners, they came on, they sang East Coast **** you, then it started raining, they sang hopeless romantic, it rained even more, they sang Manthem, the lightning started, halfway through the 4th song they shut the stage down and because it's an outdoor show in a residential area, they couldn't restart by the time the storm passed. I'm just never going to hear night train live.

Day 3 today, second Dave and the mermaid set, Frank Turner is headlining and then playing the after show where he's playing love ire and song in full, between that and Liverpool getting the guard of honour, I've had worse Sundays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Count Hairyfoot

The no phone was great! Id happily see it brought in at more gigs. Something like Year Zero would have been ruined by a sea of screens.

I'm old/lucky enough to have bought all the albums and 12" as they were released. Quique and the few e.p.'s around that time were their pinnacle. Just listening to Plainsong (Sine Bubble Embossed Dub) now and it's a hell of a tune. In saying that i did enjoy the reunion album in 2010 (saw them in the Button Factory on that tour with the full band) and the latest ones aren't bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Delines great in the Set in Kilkenny this afternoon. Amy in top form, the band too, new material sounds fantastic, no phones, no chat, great crowd response, 10/10. Out to find a bit of decent free Americana.

Turns out not so much decent free Americana to be had in Kilkenny today. Anyhow, excellent day had by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 99 ✭✭crazyhorse

Great Roots weekend in Kilkenny. It's a really special festival. The Delines are always a treat. They put on a late night Saturday show in Cleere's that was a little bit more laid back. Ryan Davis & The Roadhouse Band were a highlight. Hopefully they'll be back over touring again soon - they were knocked over by the crowd response. Jesse Malin was a feel-good end to Sunday night. Roll on next year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Choochtown

I'll join in with the love for the Delines.

Missed the Cleere's gig but caught them in the Set. 3rd time I've seen them and they are always superb.

Great festival as always.

As for the free stuff, did any of ye catch Leaf Rapids ? Thought they were excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭ned rierson

Was in Kilkenny too. Great festival. Highlights were Jenny Don't ( playing Whelans in June ), the Courettes, the Delines, Steve Wynn and Jesse Malin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,749 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Anyone heading to Getdown Services tomorrow night in the Workmans Club?

If so, post a review. I discovered their music over the last few days and see they are back in Ireland later in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,847 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I've only just discovered them too, Spotify has played them a few times after I was listening to the new Viagra Boys. Can't make tomorrow's gig though.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Saw the end of Getdown Services set at Green Man last year and they were tremendous. Couple of great songs and they were absolutely hilarious, the pair of them. I'd say they're well worth a look for anyone who can make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,749 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Hilarious lyrics .

Must try to catch them in Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Granite Head

Just mad, but good fun Short enough set @ 50minutes. Announced they are playing the Button Factory in November.

2025 Gigs and Events: 808 State, Houseplants, Dara O’Briain, Los Campesinos, Kawala, Brian Jonestown Massacre, Real lies, Frank Turner, Big Piig, Borderline Festival, Sun Mahshene, Novelle Vague, Fat Dog, La Femme, The Weather Station, Ben Ottewell & Ian Ball, Tindersticks, Spiritualized, Six Organs of Admittance, Coco & Clair Clair, Divorce, Moonlight the Philip Lynott Enigma, Lambrini Girls, Primal Scream, Flaming Lips, Ispini na heireann, Viagara Boys, King Creosote, Get down services, Soccer Mommy, Throwing Muses, CMAT/Morgana/Biird, Supergrass, Camera Obscura, Stereophonics, In the Meadows Festival , PiL, BTP Festival, Gang of Four, Lucy Dacus, Sparks, Mogwai, ATN Festival, Throwing Muses, EP Festival (Maybe), Clap your hands and say Yeah, Vantastival, The Wedding Present, Robert Forster, Declan O' Rourke, Greg Davies, Jack Dee, Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, Rhod Gilbert, Turin Brakes, Perfume Genius, John Bishop, Ardal O’Hanlon, 808 State, My Bloody Valentine, Starsailor.

Getdown Services were good fun alright. Two dudes pressing play on the laptop but also playing guitar and keyboards occasionally. Some good tunes, funny lyrics and the the two lads themselves are good craic but i'm not sure if they'd stand up to repeat viewings. The novelty might wear off pretty quick. Or maybe not, i dunno. I won't be at the Button Factory gig anyway, not because i don't want to but i realised that Model/Actriz are in Whelans the same night and i'll be giving them a go instead. GS are also in Galway and Belfast around the same time as the Button Factory show.

I thought the support, Langkamer, were decent. A whole bunch of influences in there, The Band, Grateful Dead, Neil Young, Parquet Courts, White Denim etc. You get the idea, very much American influenced. @Stillill42 you might want to check them out if you don't already know them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,218 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I booked a ticket on your recommendation DW and i was very impressed - with the audience.

The two guys had the best night ever, they soaked it up.