Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2025 - Mod warning in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭LordBasil

Re Ireland, I think in hindsight it was a bad sign when Ireland was not drawn to open the SF. Ireland and Australia were the only fun up-tempo songs in the first half and based on the studio versions 'Laika Party' seemed a more appropriate opener than 'Milkshake Man'. The fact Australia opened signalled producers didn't have confidence that Ireland's staging would be impactful enough to open the show. So frustrating, if it had of been staged better we easily could have qualified. We got 28 points, the same as Serbia and Georgia but we scored points off more countries than they did which is why we are 13th and they are 14th & 15th. That shows we had potential for more universal reach if the song had been staged better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Guys not that its over can someone explain how does the public vote work, I cant understand how the UK and Switzerland get zero points surely someone voted for them, would acts not be getting thousands of votes in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,866 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The televotes are grouped similar to the way the jury votes with a 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,10,12.

So they got some votes, but there were at least 10 countries ahead of them who reached the threshold of bagging some points. If you're not in the Top 10 you get 0.

Each participating country awards two sets of 12, 10, 8–1 points, based on their ten favourite songs from other countries. One set of picks comes from their professional jury, and the other from televoting in their country. Only the set from televoting is used in the semi-finals. Both sets from jury and televoting are used in the final.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voting_at_the_Eurovision_Song_Contest

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Justin Hawkins reacts to the Australian entry, hard to know if he likes it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Libertine07

This is great!

I think he enjoyed it really, he gives himself away a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,683 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Downloaded ‘Tutta L’Italia’. ☺️☺️

And ‘#eurodab’. 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭archfi

That was great, subscribed to Justin's YT channel! 😂

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,239 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The sheer scale of the advertising by Israel and the cynicism of it were the biggest issues here imo though the voting system is inherently a problem with 20 votes each. By cynicism, the word "Israel" wasn't mentioned in the ads, just the song number and you'd have to squint hard to make out the flag in the corner. Those ads were everywhere and shown all over the world. That's never happened before and the obvious question the EBU has to ask is do they want everyone doing that going forward? The template is there now. The whole thing would go far beyond the farce it already is.

I see the Spanish and Belgian broadcasters are looking for a review and doesn't look likely they'll be the only ones demanding changes. The setup appears vulnerable to manipulation before you consider the advertising blitz.

In any case as discussed by other posters televoting inherently gives advantages to the countries with big diaspora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

I have to agree …. used to enjoy the Eurovision years ago …. but have not watched it religiously for years …. and may watch none of it next time around …. defo do not ever watch them semi finals ….. I agree 100% Israel ruin it ….. they argue it is not political yet Russia and even Belarus are not in it now ….. and Serbia/Yugoslavia in the 1990s ….. here we have Netanyahu doing worse than any of them and yet Israel are in there ….. you are right …. they should not be given a platform on the international stage in this or in world cups etc either ….. this only encourages and legitimises a far right warmongering genocidal regime more than ever ……

I agree there is something dodgy with the voting ….. VPNs/spoofing, Israeli embassy personnel having multiple phones, Israelis going on holidays to other countries, etc. can all up the vote for them ….. Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, etc. all surely got higher actual votes than Israel ….. and Czech Republic, Australia, Ireland, etc. deserved to be in the running for the final spot taken by Israel …..

Moroccan Oil are deceptive ….. they name themselves after another country to deliberately mislead but they are Israeli …. if they were called Israeli Oil it would be more honest ….. but do less business !!! …. for sure new sponsors are needed and this favouritism has to end …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,496 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,683 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

If Eurovision 2025 has given us anything, it’s this picture (which will no doubt be used frequently on the LLS thread)….

IMG_0430.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,395 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I see on X that ratings for RTE collapsed for the show on Saturday to just 217,000 adults.

You would think RTE will change the commentator now…

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

We weren’t competing. No reason to watch and add to that one of the finest evenings in a long time. I watched and am wondering why I did. Most people I’m sure were out making the most of the weather. How many watched the BBC coverage? No ads is a big thing. Even getting away from terrestrial tv, the iplayer feed was of higher quality pictures and sound wise than RTE Player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,541 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

BBC watcher and was grand. Marty gets on my nerves.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Yeah. It’s gone really. Eurovision isn’t fun anymore. Nothing is fun when the organisers exercise double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,101 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

I think if the Israeli song was sung by another country it would have won the jury vote but if things were done

fairly it probably wouldn't have won the televote but top 5 possibly.

That's my personal opinion, I love the song 🤷‍♀️ I've thought for weeks now that Austria and Israel were the

best two in it, Finland grew on me so the televote surprised me and Estonia was a right laugh.

Maybe I need to listen to Italy and Switz again? (and Greece possibly) as I didn't rate them at all.

I grew up in the 80s when the country would stop for the Eurovision, most young folk now would

have no interest in it.

I always thought that in the 80s/90s the jurys got it right most years in picking the best song, nowadays staging

seems to be equally important when the likes of Poland do so well in the tv (no offence to anyone here but I thought the song was awful)

No way could I listen to Marty but this year I found Norton annoying also.

I think the commentators should keep politics out of it and just have a laugh along the way.

That's why Terry Wogan will always be king for me, he was Mr Eurovision.

Youtube next year

I've been looking at the odds since March because I felt like I missed a trick with Nemo last year having not listened to it much up until the day

I backed Israel at odds of around 11s all the way up to 20/1 so to see it trading at around 70 on the day was

dishearting but I got a run for my money, also backed it top 5 at 4/6 as far back as March but was around 6/4 on the day and it worried me seeing it trading at round 4 in running, so next year I'll be waiting closer to the day

I'm pretty sure Sweden were around 1/7 to win semi 1 so a big shock there with Ukraine at 33/1 and Israel if I remember correctly were 5/6 to win semi two

I seen Israel available at 5.4 to win the Televote where again Sweden were around 11/10 favourite

I think that's where the real value was tbh, I just believed all the hype around Sweden possibly winning the televote despite it being fairly average imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Apparently the Eurovision vote might get audited. It's no major surprise really most of the Anti-Israel camp were boycotting the Eurovision this year, makes logical sense that their supporters would come out in force

https://www.thejournal.ie/eurovision-israel-irish-politicians-6709675-May2025/

Ireland for the win if that happens!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Its a bit of a mess now. Israel had won by being allowed to compete so the campaign to win the public vote was unnecessary and I think has backfired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I didn't mean to imply they won the competition. They won the argument of being allowed to compete. They beat the threat of being expelled like Russia.

Russia weren't expelled from the competition, the 3 broadcasters, Channel One Russia, VGTRK, and Radio Dom Ostankino, withdrew from the EBU. If they didn't withdraw they would likely have been kicked out of it because they were acting as a mouthpiece for the Kremlin and spreading disinformation. The EBU has very clear rules on this

The Israeli broadcaster, IPBC, is run by a board independent from the Knesset and hasn't been spreading misinformation on the war in Gaza, therefore there is no valid reason to kick them out of the EBU. There was never a threat of them being expelled from the EBU

An argument could always be made, should Israel win the competition, that they can't host it for security reasons while the war is ongoing in Gaza. Similar to how the UK hosted despite Ukraine winning a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,866 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Some figures on actual number of public votes in Spain:

On the night of the final, the broadcaster received 7,283 phone calls, 23,840 text messages, and 111,565 online votes. Voting in Eurovision can be done through the official app (with a limit of 20 votes per person, each costing €0.99), as well as via telephone and SMS. During the first semi-final on Tuesday (in which Israel did not compete), RTVE received just 774 phone calls, 2,377 text messages, and 11,310 online votes.

https://www.thejournal.ie/eurovision-israel-irish-politicians-6709675-May2025/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

What politics did Graham Norton bring up? I think he said something about there being a mixed reaction in the stadium to the Israel performance and that there was some controversy over their inclusion, all factual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭mulbot

There's no war in Gaza, we all know well what it is. Israel should be banned from every and all competitions worldwide.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Did a bit of googling about Tommy Cash, he has a video called Sex Olympics and the video is on Pornhub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭mulbot

Seen him a few times now at festivals, bit of a legend on the continent. He's a mad hoor, does a lot with Little Big.