Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kneecap - New Footage *Read OP for Mod Warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Choochtown

"It is entirely possible to accept that Israel is committing genocide, agree with what Kneecap are saying, but also condemn them for crossing a line, which they clearly did."

The Kneecap statement:

Let us be unequivocal: we do not, and have never, supported Hamas or Hezbollah. We condemn all attacks on civilians, always. It is never okay. We also reject any suggestion that we would seek to incite violence against any MP or individual. Ever"

The term "all attacks" couldn't be clearer.

As for the jimmy saville reference … I think you want to cop on a bit and maybe think about editing that bit out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,429 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

I'm sure that is less nonsensical in some parallel universe where slagging off AIB and BOI signifies anti-Irishness.

Am awaiting an example (ANY??) of Kneecap expressing hatred towards another race or people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Randycove

yet people are still bending over backwards to defend them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

The only good Tory is a dead one and kill your local MP seem to be pretty clear statements as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Padraig1888

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

I’m one of those that support Kneecap for their pro-Palestine stance.

and do you condemn their comments about killing MPs and waving the flags of terrorist organisations?

They didn’t wave the flag of terrorists, one member made a chant that they have apologised for.

This is all taking away from their actual message and actual issue of genocide being committed by Israel, which is exactly what the UK and US media want.

so you don’t condemn them calling for people to kill their local MP?

They've made an unequivocal written apology for those statements.

Do you doubt the sincerity of their apology?

If so, why?

Remember you're comparing a clear unambiguous written statement released for everyone to read and judge with a few shouted words during a performance that were captured on a mobile phone in 2023.

Are you defending what they said, or just down playing it?

And they haven’t actually apologised for those statements, they apologised to the families of murdered MPs and tried to claim the comments were taken out of context and are trying to paint themselves as victims

They haven’t actually said they were wrong to say it, but I guess as they are being investigated they are probably under legal advice not to confirm or deny anything.

I'm not defending it.

The band themselves are not defending it.

They are certainly not downplaying it. They could have just said something like "ah look it was part of the performance and was just shouted ironically"

They didn't. They released a very clear statement.

The real issue (carnage, genocide, orchestrated famine in Gaza) is being conveniently pushed aside.

Have you read their statement? It's as clear and unequivocal a statement as possible.

Can you suggest what they could possibly add to it?

Do I have to condemn or support everything that a person/people do on every single topic? Do you yourself do that?

I stated "I’m one of those that support Kneecap for their pro-Palestine stance." I never mentioned their belief's on MP's as it has absolutely no relevance to their stance against the genocide occurring in Palestine.

they could and should have owned their mistake, rather than pretend it is a conspiracy against them, as should all of those who are trying to pretend it is nothing. Rather than defend them, call them out for being stupid and making needlessly inflammatory statements.

the real issue isn’t being pushed aside at all. This thread is about the comments they made, slogans they chanted and flags they waved at a concert. There are plenty of other places discussing the ongoing crisis in Gaza.

so in the context of this thread then, which is about comments kneecap made, not about Gaza, do you condemn, or even criticise what they said?

I agree with 99.9 of the comments that they have made.

Do I agree with them saying "Up Hamas", No I don't. However they put out a sincere and clear apology about it.

All this nonsense noise is taking away from their main and most vocal stance which is against the genocide in Gaza. People seem to be washing over there thousands of comments on that which is far more important than one about MP's from 2 years ago.

Now, do you agree with their anti-genocide comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Not much talk of this in the news.

Prince Harry was the evil one last week in the UK press with the outraged Maud Flanders brigade.

Maybe they've moved on to someone else this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭sheepysheep

Race has nothing to do with it! The issue is about Racism.

It’s difficult to believe that so many people on here who are so confident in their declarations on race and racism, and who pompously encourage other people to check the basics don't even understand such basics themselves. So I will explain.

RACISM is defined as prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism by an individual, community, or institution against a person or people on the basis of their membership of a particular racial or ETHNIC GROUP. 

From Psychology today:

Persistent negative bias and narratives about an individual or a group based on race, ETHNICITY, cultural background, and/or national origin 

The emphasis here in both definitions is on ETHNICITY, where

ETHNICITY is a social construct based on cultural and historical factors, not biological ones.

The English (as indeed the Irish) are A DISTINCT ETHNIC GROUP and nation, defined by a shared history, culture, language and common ancestry. (Cole, Jeffrey (2011). Ethnic Groups of Europe: An Encyclopaedia).

It is therefore absolutely logically possible for Irish people to be Racist towards English people, as indeed the famous Punch Caricatures of the Irish being portrayed as being dirty, simian, knuckle-draggers was racist against Irish people years ago.

ETHNICITY is also why white Irish people can be racist against other white Irish people in the form of Irish racism against the Traveller community who have been deemed a separate ethic community based on the above definitions.

In summation, Racism is not just based on your limited understanding of the subject.

The English, or Irish, not being a Race  has nothing to do with Racism towards either group, whether you like it or not, so please stop saying that. You're just creating yet another false narrative online.

What the poster has is ’The Law’.  

An individual in Ireland was arrested, prosecuted, convicted and sentenced for threatening the life of a politician. That’s why a troll in his bedroom in Rathfarnham is relevant.

Why should there be any difference for Kneecap, who can be viewed publically online by anyone shouting support for proscribed terrorist organisations, and calling for the deaths of British MPs

You evidently believe that an apology is in this case a literal ’Get out of Jail free card’. Well it’s not.

Maybe you think that no defence team has ever come up with the novel notion of having his client declare ’I didn’t mean it yer honour, honest I didn’t’.

Or. 

’I threatened to rape a woman, sure that’s just me being hilarious m’lud, everyone knows I’m great craic.'

Kneecap have been caught with their pants down. There is no context. A half-hearted insincere apology won’t have much influence with The Law, if a prosecution is deemed worthy.

Maybe you think all criminals should just be allowed to apologise after the event and be allowed to walk free. That’s not the way the Law works.

They’re definitely in doo-doo, how deep the doo-doo is, I don’t know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭indioblack

"They haven’t actually said they were wrong to say it."

Yes. That would have been unequivocal.

They could then have continued with their campaign about Israel and Gaza.

Here, as requested. Oct 7th 2023.

https://x.com/KNEECAPCEOL/status/1711082179218805218

Hopefully the link will work, but I’ll describe it anyway in case of technical difficulties. A copy and paste to a browser should also work.

So! What do we have?

A bunch of absolute scrotes, leaning up against a wall underneath a Palestinian flag on Oct 8th 2023, grinning from ear to ear, declaring their support for the 'Palestinian Struggle' with a clenched fist emoji to emphasis their position.

If that isn't pro Hamas support I don’t know what is, although I do acknowledge that they were clever enough to write 'Palestinian Resistance' rather than Hamas, but I think any normal adult can read between the lines. They absolutely, 100%, support Hamas.

The clown in the middle is, I assume, Daniel Lambert, their manager.

Daniel himself had some lovely words on OCT 7th itself.

This is how the 'Music Promoter' saw the events at the Nova Music Festival Massacre unfolding.

'Gaza is now attempting to break out of its prison and striking for liberation.' Indeed!

He also wrote: 'Gaza is an occupied territory and therefore has the right to armed resistance under International Law.'

Because that’s how normal people reacted to those events on Oct 7th. Everyone’s first reaction was to check if what was going on at Nova was all legal and above board, which according to the lads, it absolutely was, yes, a glorious day all round.

Glad to have been of help.

Nah, the English are not a race, in common with Ireland the vast majority of their population are white caucasians.

And do you have an example of Kneecap stating anything that signified hatred of the people of England, or Britain as a whole Eighteen days on and not a single comment that could be deemed as racist or hateful of a people has been identified.

I'm in agreement. No to Israeli genocide. Never Again!

A prosecution is highly unlikely. All it'll do is give them a greater platform to further embarrass the UK administration for their ongoing collaboration with Israeli genocide and their (self-admitted, see below) illegal arms sales to said murderous country. They want to scare the band (won't work) not to draw attention to their aid to child murder.

Not on X and unable to open.

Kneecap have never been anything but supportive of the Palestinian right to resist colonialism (as with the situation in the North of Ireland) but they're not people who celebrate the death of others. I condemn the killings of October 7 but the barbaric genocide that followed has no justification in any sort of world. Murder of civilians and IDF personnel does not justify killing 32,000 children (a conservative estimate according to The Lancet).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,296 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Pity you can't open it.

Here is a screenshot for you

Screenshot_20250515_172347_X.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Quitelife

More horrific scenes from Gaza today as Israel continues to kill all round them …..Shame on all who support the Israel killing machine

I never said the English or Irish were a race, they're not.

I explained that they are both distinct ethnic groups and therefore capable of being racist towards each other which you and others have consistantly denied.

Your basic position seems to be that Kneecap couldn't possiblly be racist rowards the English because no such racism is possible, which is clearly, as I and others have explained, totally ludicrous.

Not that i expect you to acknowledge this of course.

You don't even seem to understand your own position. How can someone to provide evidence of Kneecaps racism towards english or british people when you can't even bring yourself to admit that any such rasicm is even theoritically possible.

You appear to live in a world where no Irish person has ever exeprienced Racism at the hands of the English, or vice versa, ever.

kneecap.JPG

They posted this on the 8th Oct 2023. Note the clenched fist emoji.

Grinning ear to ear after 1200 people were slaughtered.

Is that evidence enough for you of where their true feelings lie.

What's your excuse for this one?

Jimmy Saville, Rathfarnham and now rape!!!!

The lengths some will go to in order to vilify these lads over a 5 second mobile phone audio capture in 2023 is astonishing.

Posters who freely admit they've no interest in this group or their artistic output.

What's the motivation I wonder 🤔 ?