Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The scanner can scan everything with a barcode. Thats how every trackable item is uploaded on any given day. But those bastarded things have to be manually inputed (sometimes a barcode might have to if the barcode is damaged) so hence why it can be annoying if the handwriting is suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭I says

yer man shaving his town halls in the domino’s ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,899 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Doesn't look like a scalable business model, relying on manual input.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,702 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

That’s why they charge more for it. They don’t want a rush to use it but it’s convenient if you’re not near a PO to buy a stamp. Most will look at the cost and think “F. THAT!!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,899 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

It can be very handy when you want a recorded delivery, but don't want to go to the PO to arrange this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

The Barefoot wine ad with the guy taking his shoes and socks off in someone elses house. The whole thing is so cheesy and poorly acted, it reminds me of the ads that they make every year on The Apprentice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BP_RS3813

If I see the cadbury dementia ad once more I'm going to fling the next cadbury bar I get against a wall.

What annoys me even more then whole dementia theme is the fact that the oul one for years never told his daughter that he didn't like the hazelnut bar. Like jaysus christ whatever about when she was 10 she looks about 40 in the ad so I'm sure he could have told her when she was 20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,559 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'm guessing Lynx saw the sweaty success of the Sure Boobs, Balls, Nuts ad, and thought oh we can out gross that.

Highlights include a dude sniffing another guys balls during a basketball match, and a women disturbingly sniffing a guys arse in the cinema. To the point that she follows him with her nose at his arse.

Wow. Also, ick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,098 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

these domino ads are getting very very weird!

I hate that those KFC adverts now, where they are down by the river and they are all in the square doing the synchronised chicken dance thing and yer one behind the bar jerking away.

and that bloody Kellog's Cóck advert too I hate….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭deezell

It's flawed too, he has a real time intact memory over a long time ago to the present. That's not how it works at all. The ad is meant to make you wistful, 'Ah!, just like my poor dad" etc. It's pure exploitation, they can shove their non eu standard paste up their hole, assuming they haven't forgotten where it is. I'll have some real chocolate from Lidl or Aldi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Bocadilloo

The latest Aldi ad. Amy huberman for starters makes me want to rip my ears off. Brand destruction having her voice over.

Then we have the family broken down in the people carrier. The wife is really annoying, I'd be delighted they couldn't make it tbh. And then we have the absolute cuck of a husband in the passenger seat, slagged off by the kids for being stereotypically stupid in not filling the car. Could he be any less masculine. Are there people out there like this family??

As has been noted earlier here, many times, she's driving, petrol gauge is her responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭littlevillage

That advert has been dissected in detail on this thread. In summary its a terrible advert on several levels and widely despised 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭tv3tg4

I have mixed views on that cadbury dementia ad. It must be hard on the families of people suffering with dementia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,053 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

I absolutely hate it, it's disgusting on so many levels. Having seen someone sinking into dementia moments like that never happen in reality. More like throwing it across the room, I won't eat that shite, where's your mother so I can hurl more abuse at her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Allinall

You've a lot to learn about dementia.

There are numerous forms, and stages of advancement.

I think I've learned enough thanks very much I had 10 years of it with my father and it wasn't pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Allinall

I sympathise, but my point remains.

You cannot generalise about dementia, as you did. It's totally unfair to other sufferers and carers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 wirecotton

I've been watching this thread trending for quite some time without ever posting………BUT now I must come clean.

"Are you a smart booker or a silly booker"

That advert right there turns my face red with disgust and anger ohhhhhhhh how I loathe it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I have just seen 2 adverts in a row! with 2 people in the bath. One was for dominos, with a couple having a romantic bath together and Dominos delivery driver arrives in the bath with them.

The other was for Bord Gais energy with 2 GAA lads in a bath.

Presumably both ads were done by the same ad agency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭ollaetta

That Vodafone ad with the cyclist mammy leaving the child with Barry from Fair City is back on every second ad break. I'm so sick of it that I've invented the scenario that the cackle of the kid is demonic and that there won't be much left of Barry when Mammy gets home.

I love it. The child is the reincarnation of Sarah, murdered by Barry, and she disposes of him where Barry disposed of Sarah, which just happens to be the mountain cycle route the oxygen challenged mother takes. Maybe she comes across the demonically dismembered Barry when she collapses exhausted off her bike into the ditch.👽💀👻.

I have a similar script in my head for the Aldi out-of-petrol family, parked at that creepy abandoned house and garage, where lurks a murderous immortal octogenarian, who resides there in eternity waiting for people who never showed up for his 80th Birthday. As darkness falls, and the AA can't find them, there is a smell of burning petrol and rotting flesh....... First to go has to be yer wan on the phone.

Mine is simpler, they all get some super bug from the food and die screaming, fin...

An alien bug which explodes out of their stomach/chest/arse/brain!! Controlled by the weirdo on the tractor, who ....…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Regardless of this, why they thought it would be a good idea to take a positive, happiness-inducing thing as chocolate, and sink it down a hole of misery! Baffling. And I thought that petrol station with the father giving it to his miserable shop assistant daughter was bad…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,918 ✭✭✭lertsnim

That Flo Gas ad with the salesman at the door is an instant channel changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭RoTelly

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Cadbury's were much like Guiness in the past kings of advertising, but much like their chocolate it they've lost their touch.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Gunner5

Unfortunately both you and I have seen one of the cruelest diseases in the world . I'm sorry for yours. It's sh*t to have the experience at all let alone the one where there is aggression but I have seen 2 and am dealing with another and all 3 are presenting very differently..

I think this ad and you can even tell the creator isn't someone who has been impacted by dementia/Alzheimer's as it's far too whimsical...it's not funny or cute he forgets who is daughter is....it's f*cking heartbreaking. and all done just to sell some **** chocolate. I don't need Cadbury in my face when I'm trying to tune out of reality to present a silly representation of it