Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Read OP for mod warnings before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Wow!

To see here what some people really want our country to become ...

"Meanwhile, another divisive immigration law also made headlines in Denmark and beyond: The introduction of the so-called "Ghetto Law" allows authorities to intervene and forcibly remove foreigners from neighborhoods if the ratio of non-Western foreigners in those areas exceeds 30 percent."

And your comment ...

"I want our country run like Denmark."

Is this forcible and divisive treatment of human beings really something you want our country to aspire to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,294 ✭✭✭enricoh

Exactly how are Immigrant ghettos good for Denmark? Exactly how will they be good for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

It speaks volumes for the left, whose apparent messages of 'compassion, tolerance and acceptance' is so borne out in falsehoods on the ground that a cabal of racists, rapists and criminals can so easily steal their thunder and appeal to the centre ground of voters. Any aspiring group of politicians with a clean background and a strong, firm and polished message must see the climate is ripe to gain traction at the ballot box.

Is this forcible and divisive treatment of human beings really something you want our country to aspire to ?

Divisive? I thought all the pro-immigration activists were all for integration? How can immigrants be integrated if they are allowed to congregate in ghettos!

I echo the OP's sentiment - I want Denmark style immigration policies here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Unemployed Migrants here would be on English courses and thus regarded as students .

Most migrants here are on low wages pay little tax so they are looking to rent on HAP or a social house .Too much reliance on the state .

Post edited by rgossip30 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭purifol0

Lads could you all stop concentrating on mass immigration, the government would like your outrage to be directed at camogie skorts instead

Mod Edit: Warned for trolling

Post edited by Necro on

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I’m curious if this is actually true. Can you provide some proof?

I tend to meet affluent immigrants, which just causes confirmation bias on my part.

Mod - warned for anecdote

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,294 ✭✭✭enricoh

Mod Edit: Warned for off topic link dumping

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭briangriffin

https://emn.ie/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/JR2.pdf

https://emn.ie/publications/wages-and-working-conditions-of-non-irish-nationals-in-ireland/

Key Findings

• Non-Irish nationals are generally more likely to be found in lower quality jobs. For example, they are less likely to work in professional/managerial occupations (33 per cent compared to 44 per cent of Irish nationals). Non-Irish nationals are much less likely to be members of trade unions or staff associations (13 per cent compared to 34 per cent for Irish nationals).
    • A ‘migrant wage gap’ exists in Ireland. In the period 2011–2018, non-Irish nationals earned, on average, 22 per cent less per hour than Irish nationals – for every €1 an Irish worker earned, a non-Irish worker earned 78 cents.
    • Yet earnings differ considerably depending on origin country. East Europeans earn 40 per cent less per hour than their Irish counterparts. Part of their wage gap can be explained by differences in their social and demographic characteristics (e.g., education level), the kinds of jobs that they do, and firms for which they work. However, even after we account for these differences in characteristics, East Europeans still earn 20.5 per cent less than Irish nationals.
    • For other non-Irish groups, the gap is much smaller – especially those from West Europe, North America, Australia and Oceania. This is partly because they have higher educational qualifications, but they still get lower rewards for education than Irish workers.
    • For African nationals their employment rates are very low, and when in work, they earn on average 14 per cent less than Irish nationals, after accounting for background and job characteristics.
    • Non-Irish women experience a double earnings penalty: for being female and for being a migrant. Non-Irish women earn 11 per cent less than non-Irish men, who in turn earn 18 per cent less than Irish men. This means non-Irish women earn 30 per cent less than Irish men.
    • The migrant wage gap narrowed over time, from 25.5 per cent in 2011–2013, to 18.7 per cent in 2016–2018, in part because the skill level of the non-Irish workers increased and because they are working in higher quality jobs. However, a significant 2.5 percentage point reduction in the wage gap over time remains even after we account for these changes in Irish and non-Irish characteristics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Denmark is in a far better place for it's natives and westerner's in general. I want the best for Ireland and it's natives. Denmark learnt from the mistakes we're now making. Countries like Poland aren't making them in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I cannot see how turning into a racist society is good for anyone here. Except a few on the very right extreme.

Forcibly moving people on because of their race is the very definition of racism

And before people attack saying I am accusing you or others of racism , it is Denmark's policies and some suggestions that they be adopted here that I am discussing .

This is the same treatment doled out to certain nationalities in the past .

1930s Germany , Jews in Warsaw ,Russian pogroms , Kurds , Bosnians , Yuyghers , Burmese ..

And recent times Gazans .

This is not a step in a good direction .

I know I am greatly outnumbered here on this thread but I am not generally among the Irish electorate . I would be in the middle ground on most things and would be in favour of some of the stricter processing and deportations for asylum seekers .

But would hope that for most people this turn to very right wing policies would be a step too far .

We'll see .

And for the record I am against ghettoisation .

But people should be integrated by peaceful means not force .

Force leads to radicalization

Post edited by Goldengirl on

Are you comparing Denmark to the Nazis?

"But people should be integrated by peaceful means not force."

People should integrate themselves especially when given a chance of a new life in the first world.

In Denmark force is leading to a less radicalised, more prosperous, peaceful and homogenous society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

Integration is a myth, as time passes and numbers of their own communities move to Ireland, they mix less and bring their own traditions to an area. This happens the world over, yet here in Ireland we think we're special and we won't repeat the same immigration mistakes as other nations.

And for the record I am against ghettoisation .

But people should be integrated by peaceful means not force

What actions should be taken to ensure integration, if not force? It's well known that a fair proportion of immigrants aren't exactly gung-ho on the whole integration thing. So, if not by force - then how? And how - with an absolute minimum or zero cost to the Irish taxpayer who is already forking out huge amounts of money for migrants.

Would I be right in saying the last time cultural integration stopped in Ireland was during the plantations? Religion seems to be a pretty big dividing factor but there are others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

Not just religion, nationalities will stick together . And as to prove that point, in the IT today, a Brazilian tells us how great Dublin is, as it makes him feel like home, because of all the Brazilians here.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-style/people/2025/05/06/i-didnt-expect-to-find-an-exciting-life-in-dublin/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

The problem is that people have wildly varying standards for what constitutes "integration". For some its simply working and paying taxes, whereas for others it means behaving almost exactly the same as their Irish neighbours, and for others the only acceptable form of integration sometimes appears to be the wholesale abandonment of all customs, traditions or languages of the home country.

Further complicating the issue is that Irish people themselves don't tend to integrate with their own culture — or rather the culture they were raised in. The current generation have almost entirely rejected one of the central pillars of Irish culture for centuries — the Catholic Church. They also are, more and more, influenced more so by social media culture driven by the larger English speaking countries of the UK and the USA. So it's often hard to really identify what exactly we are asking migrants to conform to.

There's a certain luxury to the Irish view of "integration" of course, whereby Irish people tend to migrate to other countries in the English speaking world where they arrive with native fluency and into places where the Irish community has been established since the 19th century. Thanks to English just-so-happening to be the dominant commercial language, our ability to blend in is made automatically much easier than it is for others.

Mod Edit: Warned for off topic link dumping

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,382 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

We don't flush international treaties that we've willing signed up to down the toilet. For many reasons, but mainly cos we're civilised.

So basically sod all difference (bar some superficialities) in how the two countries deal with refugee claims. As before, it's all about the speed and effectiveness. That's where we lag behind.

Accredited or empirical source for non-Irish born in 2025? And how many of those were born abroad to Irish citizens?

Kinda ironic that some people will pander to a civilly-convicted rapist who warms about the dangers to women of unvetted males.

There are always options for withdrawal but it'll never happen. No precedent for it in the history of our state. We've had plenty of dubious senior politicians but we'll never have the bunch of dunderheads required in different offices of administration to make this a reality. You can rest easy knowing your nation has signed up to something decent and humanitarian.

The stats are for third-level. Very clear if you look at the research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭briangriffin

The problem is only exacerbated though if you have large numbers of people coming in to the country. Tribalism is the anthetisis of multiculturalism. But tribalism is a natural human trait that has kept people safe historically. There is safety in your tribe. It's a human instinct that Irish people feel as much as those coming here. We dont want parallell societies and ghettos developing here like in other European countries. Integration can only happe if numbers are controlled and integration is allowed to happen with supports from the state.

Integration then is difficult for every person emigrating but there are factors that make integration easier.. a common language.. similar values morally and societally that usually have some compatible religious foundation. Similar or complementing values on family on roles within society on men and women on education,on work, on crime, on democracy, on social welfare, on a shared vision for where the host country is headed.. similar or complementing traditions, sports,music, culture. Some cultures are more compatible than others, that is not a racist statement. Its objectively factual. Social cohesion is maintained by allowing all people to work together with a shared vision for the future of the country. I would argue that far from kerbing nationalism (in its most simplistic form a love for your own country its culture history traditions and future) we should be promoting Irish nationalism (Pride in our country) as the one unifying common denominator for all people living here. Instead you have an almost embarasssed narrative spun about who we are epitomised with the nonsense in that SPHE book from last year where the traditional Irish family was depicted as white backward racist Irish dancing, gaa playing, aran jumper wearing cow milking gombeen family. How on earth we could imbude in our people such self deprecating shame is beyond me. M Martin last month said the leaders of 1916 had a much more internationalist vision for Ireland. That rewriting of our history is possible the most egregious thing ever said by an Irish taoiseach in the hope to subdue the growing tide of people questioning a mass immigration policy to Ireland that his government are directly responsible for.

No where in the link posted or in the CSO link does it state third level !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Chewns1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭cute geoge

What war is this your on about now .

The majority of illegal migrants are coming from the UK,as there is a big clampdown on social welfare benefits there unless it is street wars they are fleeing