Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade High Score Challenge - Round 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,750 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

If you don't dress up like that again on your stag it's the missed opportunity of the century. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Pwhaaaaar.

Tis a challenging w4nk but I'll take it on

Master of the Universe

Who'd have thought Araknoid 2 would be what pushed this forum into debauched chaos. 😂

It's clearly the lack of spinners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,966 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I've done worse tbh.

Master of the Universe

What would happen if you merged that photo with Cho Aniki I wonder?

0c58f81f-f159-4a76-8e16-0ade3c773652.png

Hang on, needs more muscle men;

5c10fb90-f38f-408c-bd16-98ea123382d1.png

Good grief that is way more bdisturbing .

Its the 5 o'clock shadow in the original pic that really cracks me up.

Like ryu when they released sf2 championship edition where they added 5 o'clock shadow to him .😂.

Another few credits with the oul bat and ball.

it's kinda calming and therapeutic I find . Don't know why.

Got to level 5, but only marginally better score than when I got to level 3.

Got two quality power ups I never got before ...one where 3 balls appear...then every time ya hit just one of the balls it spreads to 3 again .Another was an auto fire big fat Lazer kinda like Raiden ( not the button press Lazer power up)

Where the hell is me spinner . I'm desperate

Screenshot_2025-05-02-22-24-24-40_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,450 ✭✭✭Doge

This game is a hoor of a thing if playing on an analog joystick like the one on my RP5.

I can't even get through the first line of blocks in the first level. And forget about getting the power ups, I die each time I try get one.

Definitely better suited to a mouse or spinner.

Im actually getting used to it now on an arcade stick . Just need to be constantly moving are your fecked .

I hope my spinner comes this week so I can get ultimate control , I've never tried one , any arkanoid cab I've played in the wild always just had a stick.

It just came to my mind though ..since arkanoid had an analogue spinner back in the day and other cabs also and trackballs like rampart and defender why did it take about 20 years for an analogue stick to be invented for games ?

The D-pad on the RP5 seems to react faster than the thumbstick I'm finding so I'm doing better with that but it's still frustrating.

I may have to have a frustration w4nk myself and go back to our lovely girl R3tr0 on page 3, just like the tabloid newspapers back in the day!

Ohhh yeah ...had a golden run. I can't believe it .Everything went my way! Got some nice levels , mostly picked left level warp .

I had been mostly picking right warp previously and hit some stinker levels.

I wish I had taken note what I picked ..because around the last 4/5 levels before I died were easy

Feck you spinner, I'm doing grand with stick

Screenshot_2025-05-05-11-19-00-03_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,561 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Had a howler last night of not being able to get off stage 1.

I had that a bunch of times..but it's been stage 3. I got some serious RNG ...extra life power up ..then extra life for score straight after that , then 50 balls and automatic warp .

Give me an R.

Give me a N

Give me a G.

Actually @Retr0gamer any chance you could.slip into a cheer leader number for your next photoshoot

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,561 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

You'll need to subscribe to my only fans first.

I still haven't passed the first level!

No wonder it's called Revenge Of...

1000049502.gif

It took me good few credits and I realized on the first level . On the bat the ball hit bang on centre of bat you can basically stay there and only have to move minimally.

Ya probably all know that but I only cooped it . on a lucky run ya can just sit there as the ball goes up and back down 5+ times with out moving . Then the powers that be decide that's enough of that malarky and your old ball goes off in a mad direction as usual

Gave this a few goes yesterday and struggled to reach the second stage. Just isn't happening for me. Really enjoyed it though even if a mouse is no replacement for a spinner.

I'm at a gig tonight so I guess in out.

This is over so ,time for a new game .

Sorry lads that I picked a game that is bloody useless without a spinner or trackball .didn't realize what a difference it made till I started playing it.

Ok let me scratch my head for the next game and I'll post one up

Master of the Universe

How about about another vertical shmup? That seemed to get nice and competitive!