Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade High Score Challenge - Round 15

• 28-04-2025 08:26AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭

Ok next round .

Lets see who has the balls.

Screenshot_2025-04-28-08-21-16-22_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

Never played the sequel , only played the original briefly but never played it properly as will be the same with most of us.

So get your bat and balls at the ready boys

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I've no track ball so I hope using a mouse is ok by the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Dont have one either . Im sure mouse is grand . I'm hoping I can play it in my cocktail cab on stick ( if I can fix the monitor)

Anyway it's a nice Taito RNG game for ya Retr0. You should be thrilled 😂 which way does the ball bounce ..tis in the lap of the gods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Nice choice, this'll be great for a bit of a quick pick up and play.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I played it on C64 and quite enjoyed it but really needs analogue control.

Gave this a couple of credits on me break . I'm am terrible at it . Managed to get about about one and a half grand on level 1 only because I got multi balls and a double bat .

The feckers have it that when a power up comes down your ball will always bloody bounce and come down the opposite side of power up , I'm greedy and just loose life's chasing them

Ya get an extra life after you hit a grand I think also

And if a bogey black power up comes down your ball always manages to be right underneath it 🤬

Had another shot . This really need a trackball or analogue control .

I only copped at the attract screen demo. the difference in handling and controlling speed of your bat Is on a different level.

Ahh well I'll plough ahead anyway

Screenshot_2025-04-28-16-17-06-29_965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4.jpg

31800..got some lovely RNG warp that gave me about 50 balls and then warped me to the next level.Didnt know what was happening

Im holding out for it to start raining money bags like rainbow islands and I'm away in a hack

Getting a new arcade stick and you pick a spinner game...

Best today. Did much better once I reduced the mouse speed to half what it was.

Honestly, really like this game and the analogue controls make it much better than the C64 version I played.

arknoid2-250428-225444.png

Haaas. Shame that . I was gonna pick street fighter 2 champ edition .what stick ya getting?

Plenty of crackers out there these days .

I ordered one of these for my cab today .

Not going to modify and wreck the cp to install it .

Donno , probably just wire it and leave it on a square of wood or something under the cp

Screenshot_2025-04-28-22-59-52-56_260528048de7f2f358f0056f785be619.jpg

Got an 8-bitdo stick. Already modded the buttons with Sanwas. I got the wrong LS-32 so have another on order that should arrive this week. Always preferred the Seimetsu's. I want to get into City of Wolves but my SF4 skills have deserted me, not that I had much to begin with.

Master of the Universe

I tried this yesterday and the slightest movement with my arcade stick makes the bat go flying. No control whatsoever 😁

Will need to have a mess about with the configuration. Really wish I'd bought one of these, they look the business.

https://ultimatemister.com/product/ultimate-spinner-pro/

I'd say spinner is even better than a mouse. Much finer control.

I hope mine arrives soon. I was doing alright with the cab joystick until I saw what's possible on the attract screen .

Like driving a car ,but it's a bat ..total control of speed

SF4 was my game.i kinda remember you active on the scene back in the day I think ?

Sanwa all the way. Seimitsu are too jittery I find .like I'm having an epeletic fit

I do remember you. I was there from the start of the Irish scene. Went to a good few of the meetings. But I was also trying to do a PhD at the time so couldn't dedicate the time. I was shite but I missed the banter from the lads like Doom, Azza and villains like top tier Terry (who was lovely). Think we had a meet up in your place once were I managed to actually make it out of the first round.

That was my twin bros gaff. Ahh yeah good times an in the day . I was ken player , he was Honda

I only entered one tournament , the one for evo tickets and flights to compete in evo in Vegas .

I got to losers finals what ever that means . Was proud of that but I turned to sh1t under the pressure . Doom still has it on his channel . Ahh good days .

Who did you pick ..akuma was it ?

I was boring Ryu although I was more famous for Sakura because Azza managed to find that picture of me from college dressed as a Japanese schoolgirl for Halloween which became a meme in the group 🤣 I wasn't at it but remember Azza won that evo tickets tournament.

Master of the Universe

Has that picture finally been scrubbed from the internet? I can't find it anywhere 😫

Still on my Facebook so it's around. You used to be able to Google my username and it would pop up in image search (thanks Azza) but I think with AI enshitification of Google and the Vanilla update here, it's much harder to find.

Master of the Universe

That's literally what I was trying to do but it was gone. Sad day for the internet.

Haa remember that pic .in a sexy little number and pose

Internet archive or time machine used to be my weapon of choice for dragging stuff from the past . It took forever to narrow down time frames, sites and searches but was good

Ahh here thats fecked as well it seems.

What happened to " if you post something on the internet it's there for good " warnings of yore

Ahhh sorry it still works ..has loads of snapshots of boards .

Around what date and year might this have been posted out of interest?

2009...or 2010 I'm thinking ?

Legend of a too still working l...browse websites from snapshots as if they are live ...select your year and day..browsing fighting boards now from 2010.

Brilliant for sites taken down. Found a pic of a lady I worked with on bebo from 30 years ago ...ohhh the abuse

Screenshot_2025-05-01-20-53-57-72_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

Screenshot_2025-05-01-21-01-07-08_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

Tje retro forum in 2008. Old schoolers leading the charge .o1s1n got his cab I see

Wtf was the story with it in 2006 :)

Before my time ...can't remember that formatting

Screenshot_2025-05-01-21-06-40-54_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

Feck that third level ..ball bouncing around like a mad thing at light speed against all those golden blocks ..

IMG20250501221322.jpg

When is my goddamn spinner arriving

I'm dying to get back to this but been on stage for a play all week and now have my stag party. I'll try and fit a few more games in as I genuinely love this game. Who thought breakout could be fun?

For you sickos out there:

img_1_1746175505339.jpg