If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,237 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Wind is strong though. Lot of game left with new rules.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

No I'm sorry this has looked likely far to often this year already. This Meath team has a lot of decent players but we have handed them this on a **** plate. We are not below this Meath team not in million years what the actual **** are we doing in training? Can't win our own kick outs can't kick 2 pointers we just run the ball up the other end and do **** all. Did anyone even learn these new rules?

There's still a lot of top players in this squad it's clear there not being used in the correct manner. He has to be gone after this season. Fresh start is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Cluxton has been absolutely shıtĕ this half and a lot of our problems coming from him not being able to find anyone. Parachuting him in last minute has been an awful call so far.

End of the road for Dessie I fear. He can't get this team moving at all.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

10,216 here, I could not understand why more didn’t come. Felt like Dublin were ripe for the taking after poor Wicklow game.

Wind is strong, maybe Dublin can claw this back, but goal kicks by both teams will decide it. If meath can find their man , Dublin are done here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭dobman88

Some replies to the Dublin tweet of the HT score. Really OTT needless stuff regardless of what the result will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭MFPM

I hope Dublin can show something in the second half but I'm not convinced they'll bridge this gap, they've been very poor. Cluxton has a lot to do in the second half, long time since a Dublin kick out has been dominated the way it has been today. They don't have much on the bench bar Costello.

Either way it's hard to see Dublin troubling Galway, Donegal, Kerry, Armagh etc later in the year

10 mins gone and Dublin have managed to cut the deficit by 3...Hard to see them getting out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Not feeling it, meath want it more and deserving this lead.

What’s the craic with Kilkenny im midfield ? He’s missed further up.

Dreadful pass by McGarry.

So sloppy by Dublin, should be level from those last two moves.

That should be that...Meath more clinical in that move than Dublin were.

Meath thoroughly deserved that. Shocking by Dublin.

**** me what kinda further embarrassing shite do we have left after that.

Agreed. Worrying part is same Dublin issues. Not winning midfield, poor kick outs, sloppy wides, not enough two pointers and recycling backwards instead of running with ball forwards.

The gamble to bring Cluxton back has backfired massively.

I tend to agree - Meath clearly planned to go after him and it worked. It's going to get worse, Small and Kilkenny will probably finish this year. Basquel had one outstanding season but too inconsistent, O'Cofaig Byrne - it's one thing to perform for Cuala. Paddy Small too inconsistent too.

Doesn't matter who's in goals Dublin haven't adapted to these new rules at all not one bit. We have teams all over the country that have clearly used the two point system to there advantage. Can anyone honestly say that none of our lads can kick two pointers? How many All Ireland winners top level players in the team they can't kick them or win there own kick outs?

Are they doing anything in training wtf are they actually doing?

New manager needed new direction and god knows how many more players will leave by the end the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭Trampas

Very sloppy and seem a little slower compared to Meath. Didn’t deserve anything but could have won it with 10 minutes to go

There were way too many misplaced kickouts in the entire game today. It was the same against Galway in the league. Very hard on the outfield players when they are being served slop.

I do agree with you on our attack structure though. It's been all over the place this season. The new rules are no excuse because other teams have adapted by now. We've always struggled in attack under Dessie though and that's not going to change any time soon.

Hes a negative manager he doesn't play positive progressive football. Only for Gilroy coming back we wouldn't of won that last All Ireland. He inherited a team full of talent so had to win something but he's turned us into a team full of negativity lads running everywhere but forward and afraid to kick scores unless literally in front of goal.

Some once in a lifetime players papered over the cracks but the more who leave the less we look like a functional team.

We are being made look bang average by teams that don't have the level of players we do and it's all down to lack of direction in the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Huge questions have to asked as how we haven't been able to come up with at some plan regarding the new rules .We have had problems all year with them and nothing has changed and now we will face a very difficult match next day to stay in the competition. We really have left ourselves short on quality so unless we get our injured lads back next day we are gone .Manager options look short as well as we will lose a couple more lads this year so the next guy will be playing with quite a poor hand .Better team won today no complaints about that ,we needed almost everything to go our way in the second half ,it was a big ask even if we got close with small margins going against us .

Ger Brennan is the obvious one but will he want the attention and hassle taking the job is going to bring? I'd like to see him give it a go though he has Louth doing very well for what they have available to them and hopefully they go on and win Leinster now.

Look I'll take anyone who can bring positive football back to Dublin again. I said it million times to family yesterday it's one thing losing a hard faught game you did your best played to your ability it just wasn't enough. We are not losing games this way we are losing games in an ebarrassing nature we're we deserve nothing.

Yep Ger is the name most touted and he looks a decent shout .We definitely someone who can get up to speed with the new rules as both seniors and underage look well below in their adaption of them .The standard of players seemingly on the scene looks well short of the standard needed to compete . The amount of basic mistakes made today was terrible .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭C__MC

Hard luck today. Dublin have been great champions. But I have been shocked at how clueless dublin have looked under farrell for some time maybe minus 23. They lack of energy and skills by dublin have been shocking. That number 23 for meath today conlon, you'd never see a dublin player play like that really. I'm suprised the dublin supporters haven't been more vocal on dessie.

So what's next this year? Unusual situation for Dublin to not even make a provincial final - they'll be a 3rd seed so could be in a group with say Kerry and Armagh for example but given 3 go through they will most likely make a preliminary quarter final. Hard to see them going much further but in a one off match anything is possible but on today's evidence they're no where near teams like Armagh, Donegal, Galway.

Plenty have I've spoken to enough of them myself. He should of been gone this season there's obviously an issue finding a replacement and the powers that be left him to it hoping he would steady the ship somewhat for one more year but it's only gotten worse. Covid year was on auto pilot he won one after that and I put that down to Gilroy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

A lot of meath fans like myself will boycott this fixture out of principle. Went to Carlow and Offaly matches but I won't support this fixture.

Tbh I think a lot of dubs are boycotting your Leinster games too 😂

2010 was an actual hammering and that just leading to 15 years of winning. I don't think anyone will be too excited for next year's championship. Worst case you win 7/8 of the next 10 but you'll probably win more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭bren2001

boycott this fixture out of principle

What principle?

I suppose we will be third seeds in a group then in that case we should make the next stage where it will be touch and go ,doubt we will trouble any of the big contenders .

That is the bit that annoy’s me more than the fact we lost. No homework done at all it looks like. In the Match itself Meath were buckling. But it was harem scarem stuff no plan. When I think of how structured Donegal are every player knowing their role. Feck sake even Louth look like a team with a plan.

After Wicklow I assumed we would see changes in tactics working a shooter into 2 point range etc. Going more direct when required etc. Has Dessie abandoned the EOD experiment big man up front?

Meath out muscled Dublin as well when I think of it, that must be the first time that was done since v Tyrone/Kerry back in the 00’s?