If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,234 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Before Dessie won last Sam v Kerry myself and others wanted Dessie gone. But then he made eejits of us by keeping main players in reserve v Mayo AIQF. Worked brilliantly. But in hindsight that looks like wringing the last bit out of this squad Dessie’s way. New rules found him out.
    The worst thing is it is just basic bread and butter stuff that has to be changed, but it wasn’t.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Game was lost in the first half Meath missed a crazy amount and still won by a comfortable score.

The new rules have shown us up I actually don't want to see what will happen if we come up against Donegal for example if a team like Meath can go 13 up against us.

Even typing that out and thinking about it we where that far behind an average D2 side **** me I don't care what anyone says that's embarrassing for a team full of All Ireland winners.

The Meath fans seemed more shocked how poor Dublin were. But at the end of the day if Dublin kicked 2/3 more two pointers would have got out of jail. Meath were ready to fold in that last 10 minutes. But there was just eejitry or panicky stuff. Losing possession not playing the correct pass when on the break etc.

This Dublin team seem to find it easier to score goals than 2 pointers! Either that or they go for the close in one pointer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

I know it's not fair on some lads but we had some very average lads out there today who wouldn't be any better than div two players .But my biggest criticism is our failure to adapt to the new rules ,not to mention the near farcical situation with the goal keepers this year .

Yeah the vibe on here was maybe Dessie has some plan we were unaware of. Some tweak he was ready to unleash. So it was sort of “wait and see”. But now it looks like Dessie is winging it. No plan.

The sight of Stevo kicking the ball up towards a Dublin player with two Meath lads near or around him was a sorry sight .I don't know how many but we conceded quite a few scores almost directly from a poor kickout .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭JRant

That's a tad harsh in fairness. They are playing with no coherent structure and it's bloody painful to watch. I remember watching us play Kerry a couple of years back and Dessie had them pumping long balls into the forward line all night. The big problem then was it was in the middle of a bloody storm and the the rain was coming down in sheets. It was the most braindead stuff I've ever seen and outside of a couple of one off games that's what we have been getting. I'm not one bit surprised so many players walked away from the panel under his leadership.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

That was v Armagh in Croke Park in league. Year Dublin got relegated? Armagh fans were laughing there was some comical defending as well.

Part of me is thinking would a certain fella that tested the new rules (and won 5 in a row under the old ones) be tempted to start another “process”.
    Or would the next manager be Ger Brennan or “A.N. Other” after that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Whoever takes it has a serious job on there hands.

It was the Armagh game as well, in the same league campaign. The Kerry game was down in Tralee. Got our arses handed to us both days and the weather was diabolical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

They will be given plenty of time though because the team is in transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Ger Brennan next year is a no brainer. Dessie wouldn't be getting the same results with Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

For me Dublin have a bunch of talented younger players. The strength of club football in the county virtually guarantees us a team with enough raw material to go close each year. That means nothing though if they those players have to contend with uncertainty, and uncertainty is what they're facing under Farrell.

Exactly, you’d swear we had no players at all the way some go on. There’s the guts of a good team there but when’s the last time we played good football under Dessie?

Even in defence we are too passive and don’t get after teams the way we used to, especially from kickouts which is criminal this season with the new rules encouraging it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

That's it. There has been good young players coming through and in the current squad. Surely they should be at least beating Meath. The coaching is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,921 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Lookit….the Dubs won a lot with the outdoor basketball style of play over the past few years.

What happened yesterday was they were found out when some real 'football' was being played.

Meath won most of the kickouts either with primary or secondary possession and the Dubs had no answer

going down blind alleys especially in the first half.

The Dubs will be back once they have realised that the game has changed and the auld outdoor basketball

game is moribund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭mattser

Dubs should have been down to 14 early doors. Deliberate strike to the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭Trampas

They were very bad on kick outs and cluxton ones just seem to be the same style everytime time. Go up and just float back down and go backwards. Meath more drilled lower into the wind.

What’s it with Costello he’s hot or cold. Two point free in front of the posts felt like it was miles wide. Byrne lacks pace in midfield.

Hopefully this gives them a kick up the backside needed

The number of times Stevo kicked the ball out towards a Dublin player with one or two Meath players around him proved very costly for us ,can only imagine if that had been David or Evan the amount of stick that they would have got .Also we should at least have being better at slowing things down in that first half ,know its easy to say but we needed to do that and stop the flow of scores as best we could .

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Alonzo Mosley

Costello should have got that two pointer with the wind for sure. Lovely finish for the goal in fairness.
    Meath were there for the taking last 10 they were ready to collapse. Think it was 1-6 without reply. If there were pre rehearsed moves to get 2 pointers in that last 10 it would have been the Royals flushed.
    Dublin must have broken upfield at speed 5/6 times in that last 10 but it ended in a sloppy pass/shot. Or worse Kilkenny would inexplicably decide to recycle the ball and momentum was lost. That really wound me up.

I blame the sideline and to be honest some premature retirees leaving a team in transition in the lurch

Peak Dublin were the best in the history of the game on the break at speed. Long pass switch of play quick incisive stuff.

Let’s be honest if McCaffery, Fenton, Mannion, were playing Meath get steamrolled by Dublin in the last 10 likely winning by 6 or more. But those lads got bored of winning!

I can’t see Dublin getting that kick in the arse as long as Dessie is manager. Same issues all year tactically, and not adapting to new rules made it worse. Ironically Jim Gavin might have helped get Dessie sacked!

I would never bank on Cormac with frees ,he is a good player no doubt but not in the same league as Deano.

He is exaggerating it. At peak Dublin used to be brilliant on the break with speed 5/6 passes. That poster @Brendan Bendar conveniently omits that fact. The MOVEMENT used to kill teams it wasn’t all slow handpass stuff in the past.
    Have people forgotten amount of havoc dublin used to cause with fast breaks head up football and quick switch of play one side of pitch to other? Loads of options spreading play.
    It is extremely disingenuous to forget that.
    Only when playing against packed defences when required did Dublin use handpass “basketball “. Dublin at their pomp varied their play - the basketball trope, is just mean spiritedness.

However, I do think Kilkenny either needs to be dropped or told to go direct. Stop the “link man” recycling stuff. I remember when he was a minor he didn’t think of backwards stuff. It was direct running taking shots. He cost Dublin at least once or twice when he opted to recycle with Dublin ready to break. Killing momentum.

Its a pity that instead of countering my opinion you elect to disrespect the poster.

Are you afraid of the truth?

I am not falling for that, try harder! See my post to another poster where you were mentioned. Pointless engaging with you directly though . It is noteworthy you only appear on here when Dublin lose.

Indeed they were, however instead of blaming Cluxton I would ask how come the outfield players could not win the ball. from the kicks out?

The day of the 10 yard pass to the corner back and walk it down the field, with everyone trundling back, is gone, that was so evident yesterday.

The Dubs will be back and they are definitely not gone, but they need to start learning pretty sharpish.

Here is one I have only considered battle of the Brennan’s. Best thing since sliced bread.

Ger the obvious choice as next Dublin manager. But what about Robbie? Surely with his past Kilmacud tenure it puts him in the mix?

Would Dublin fans accept Robbie Brennan as Dublin manager? Would he want the job?

Doubt Robbie would take the job at the moment ,he considers himself Meath anyhow ,he was reared there as far as I know .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

If you're wondering why there was a paltry attendance the Meath keeper couldn't even remember when Meath last one and the time before that some of them weren't even born in 2001 or 2004 when Westmeath beat you.

As for the manager Dessie is terrible and just proves him winning 1 or 2 AI with you that the squad could have won many all Ireland's with any average manager.

Jim Gavin if he returned would probably win a few more. Don't forget before he changed Dublin's style to that muckball he "believed" Dublin should always play in a certain way until the Donegal loss in 2014. That old entertaining style he played in 2013/14 would be much more suited to today's rules which he helped create.

So I've no doubt he'd relish with a return and he'd probably drag Fenton back with him. The question is after winning so many Leinster's and AI's, is he arsed?