If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Louth and Meath have more underage talent coming through and have built up a winning mentally. I doubt Ger Brennan or Robbie Brennan will leave those jobs to join Dublin who now need to overtake a major transitional phase.

All that was good about Jim Gavin's team is pretty much absent with the current team

• Extremely fit and well conditioned
    • Strength in depth with quality subs to bring on
    • Among the best for kick outs and controlling games in midfield
    • defensively solid with forwards working as hard as defenders when out of possession
    • Decision making,shot and pass selection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Jim Gavin always referenced the process and the players adapting during each game. I think Dessie is probably more rigid in his thinking and style of play. His personality comes across as very laid back. Not sure what goes on in training but I wouldn't have confidence in him getting the best out of the players at his disposal. Maybe I'm waffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭MFPM

Robbie Brennan won't leave Meath but Ger Brennan would in a heartbeat in my view. Farrell will go this year irrespective of how things go from here, GB will be one of the favourites to take it, I'd be shocked if offered it he'd turn it down.

Of course he would take it. You don't turn down your county when it comes calling and if he had any ambitions he would take the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,233 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Funny bit is saw Ger Brennan few years ago in quiet Dublin pub. Think it was his first year with Louth, They were going well at the time. Says I “Dublin job next Ger?”

Nervous laughter from him and he says “I don’t know about that!”

I bet he does now. If he wins Leinster with Louth, his stock will rise even further.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,921 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I was commenting on yesterdays game, pal, not Dublin football in the last decade.

If you want to start talking about that go right ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Was looking through the Gaa+ app forgot they had classic Gaa finals. Watched the second half of the 2017 final which seems so long ago now. Jesus we had a ridiculous squad. Every pass was near perfect nearly every shot went over the pace the movement. The ability to pass there way out of ridiculously tight high pressure situations. Felt happy and sad when it was over will never see a football team that good again.

We can say we were there anyway. Great memories. And younger generations will ask were that era that good?

My answer will be the tv does not do them justice.The movement and interchange could only be really appreciated live. Then you have to add black only came in 2014, new rules 2025. And will have some job explaining mass defences had to be broken down prior to that. And how the subs were as good as the lads coming off.

It will be interesting to see what this current Dublin looks like in five years. Also how the football counties use the “new rules” by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Growing up watching the dubs was tough. My dad started taking me to games in mid 80s. Easy for non Dublin fans (trying to split Dublin in two) seem to ignore that Dublin won one all Ireland between 1983 and 2010.

One of the most impressive elements of that great decade of Dublin domination was the fact that no game was ever really lost. By that , I mean, you could be thinking “maybe this is the one we will lose” and the grit, character and composure of the team always came to the fore at the tail end of games when lessor teams would fold.

In many ways, it was the opposite of our team of the 00s that always managed to find a way to lose, even if they looked mostly on their way to the next stage.

Honestly, I didn’t love some of the “keep the ball for 5 mins” tactics , but something had to be done to break that poxy blanket defence that had come down from the north. Armagh beating Kerry in 2001 thought the Kerrymen a very harsh lesson , you can’t expect to be able to just play your way through every team. Puke football was the hyperbolic phrase and while many enjoy the tactical battles, it’s never been a good spectacle for most fans.

Probably my favourite moment ever was being right beside Cluxton taking the free to beat Kerry. Not sure that will be topped.

Back into the pack we go and while it will sting, it is better for the game that there’s more teams who can hope to challenge for Sam.

Yeah I don't think things will ever get to how they where from 1995 to 2011 well I sure hope not!

The thing about that period though was when we did get further and pull off big results it seemed huge you really felt they were overcoming the odds. In fairness we always had that hype and buzz Dublin teams brought with them but as mentioned we always found a way to shoot ourselves in the foot.

We have gotten so used to winning and being in and around the top for a good while now that its strange to see the drop that's happened especially last season and this season so far. I think fresh ideas are needed we cant ignore the issues now and I hope if this is Dessies final season he loosens up a bit and we at least start playing some better football but unfortunately I think we are starting to become a bit to predictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭MFPM

Tough enough draw for Dublin - think they'll beat Derry and if it's Mayo I'd be confident enough but Galway/Donegal/Armagh will be tough. Glad we avoided Kerry.

Groups 1 & 4 look the most interesting.

Venues will be important too, not sure who Dublin get in CP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Couldn't have been drawn in a worse group really. Unless something miraculous happens we will seriously struggle to get out of it.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Alonzo Mosley

I think it's a fantastic draw. I'm delighted it's a tough group. Let Dublin struggle and be in the doldrums for a few years. This might bring the crowds back again.

I'd rather watch a mediocre Dublin team with great crowds and colour that a Dublin team steam rolling teams with picnics on the hill !!!

Bit that annoys me Kerry will get the nicest group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭Trampas

Away to Connaught and home to Ulster and neutral for Derry I thought I saw on rte earlier. I think we can beat Derry but after that I’m not confident but maybe mayo would be my choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Wonder if GAA would pencil Dublin v Derry game in Breffni park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Irish Times confirming this.

Away to Connaught on the week ending 18th

Home to Ulster the bank holiday weekend

Neutral v Derry two weeks after that.

A two week gap between games at least which a lot of others (including teams in our group) won't get.

I can see Dublin building momentum in the group stage. Once they get the likes of Bugler back and sort out their errors etc.

Bugler was a big loss down in Portlaoise. Can they cut out the errors? I think they need to stop the easy ozy. stuff. More aggressive, move the ball with pace.

I am not sure how feasible it would be, but would moving Kilkenny to Centre Half be an idea? He clearly slows up attacks so put him further back.

I can’t for the life of me remember the match. But it was when Connolly came back from injury. He was given the free role type thing. Real deep in his own half not bringing the ball into contact.

The midfield is weak. Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne isn't great tbh. There's plenty of room for improvement though and I can see the performances been a lot better in the group stage.

Jayus it can’t get worse anyway. From where I am looking at it should only take a few common sense tweaks. Need to get possession on those kickouts more energy in play. Jayus if them Royals can do it, it mustn’t be that difficult!

Is the third midfielder trick viable under these new rules?

Cluxton is another problem, probably should be dropped after the last day. But will Dessie drop him?

Honestly, I think Dublin are the worst team under the new rules, even worse than Derry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Real tough draw and if the two championship performances to date are any guide we will struggle to go through even ,can see us losing two games and that's a problem.Keep hearing fans talking about players to come back but there is little or no word when or if they will be fit and ready for action .We could be out altogether before some come back .Big challenge for Dessie and Co to us up to the task .

kick outs, sort them out and that’s a massive part of our issue improved. I think Dublin could click and maybe make a decent go of it but it’s not clear where the class is gonna come from.

Kilkenny is wasted in midfield.

Im excited with the group to be honest, what’s the point in getting an easier group and getting found out in knockouts?

This will give us a proper gauge of where Dublin are really at. No excuses. If the squad is concerned with the group, we might aswell raise the white flag. Perfect opportunity for the players to stand up and show what they are made of, but like others im not convinced the tactical side of things for new rules are sorted.

I wouldn’t bet on Dublin in any match in that group because ive been to both our games in Leinster and I’d say every team is stronger then meath. Even an out of sorts Derry could give us a game. We could lose all three games or somehow turn things around , get a good performance away to Ulster champs, solid performance to Connacht runners up and finish it off with polished performance from Derry, with the first two games allowing us to iron out issues.

I think building momentum is more important than finishing top of the group. Having an extra knockout could equally help that momentum. Just feels like we need plenty of games to try and play ourselves into form. Won’t be holding my breath, but I think it’s an exciting group to be in and don’t fear anything because what’s the point in wanting it easy ?

Momentum is one of those phrases that doesn't really mean anything in today's game. You either play well or you get beaten. That's it for this team, the days of half arsing it and getting a result are gone.

What we need to do is get some players back fit and drop Cluxton.

Tickets wont go on sale until all the 4 finals are done right?

Trying to remember last year did they do some sort of deal on the group games together or did they change the pricing??

My daughters communion is the 17th and Eurovision is that night (Wife loves it) so hopefully we aint playing that day!!

Found the answer on the fecking Mayo GAA website of all things!

From 2024 last year

Sam Maguire Cup Group Stage Ticket Pricing

Adult – €25Student/OAP – €20Juvenile (U16) – €5

GAA have introduced a new group stage package for supporters for €50. It offers them the chance to buy all three matches for the price of two.

note that the student/OAP rate will be available to purchase on-line and in Centra/SuperValu.

We know well Mayo will be asking “Why Me?’’ as usual. Meanwhile we will be wondering why Dublin “Never seem to Rock and Roll anymore”. No more Rock and Roll kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

€50 for the 3 game package would be sweet.

Cant make the home game but will still buy all 3 and attend the other 2

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

I see that the U20s quarter final has been moved out of Parnell Park, as the pitch has been vandalised with weedkiller.

Sickening stuff, will never understand the mentality of someone that could do that.