Partner’s family helped his brother with a house, but not us—I'm struggling to reconcile this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,109 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I suspect all the focus on the brother and the house is coming to the OP via the fiance. What I mean to say, he is the one focussing on the situation and won't let the OP move on.

From what we have learnt about the fiance, one minute he wants to give up work to be an artist, the next minute he wants to go back to college to get a degree so he can get a better job. Sorry to sound harsh but he needs to cop on to himself. He has a loving and supportive partner(something his brother does not have!), and a mortgage. If he's not happy in his current job he needs to find a better one. Going back to college is not a solution as it will not magickly give him the ability to get a better job if he's not motivated to begin with.

You have to have an element of drive to get a decent job. Interviewers can spot an absence of drive a mile off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Unfortunately it's become usual on boards to attack the poster not the subject.

Parents don't think these things through. They may not have considered the repercussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Ah now, this isn't a son admiring a sentimental watch and the father taking it off and giving it to him, spur of the moment.

There are a lot of steps when buying a house where the parents could have twigged... we're giving one son 550K and the other zero. Of course they knew what they were doing. They know it's shady hence not wanting to discuss it openly.

Careers choices have got nothing to with the topic at hand. Lots of people change careers or turn an hobby into a job. Micro incomes etc. Lots of people go back to college, while keeping a day job or not.

It's got nothing to do with the parents choices. Other than they are facilitating one child and not the other. It's like funding one child through college but not another one. It's impactful.

You'd be surprised how often parents don't think through choices they make, even those that have big impact on their families. But I agree and also made the point that this seems a massive family decision.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Is this actually true?

No one had any misfortune, so how could posters be engaging in schadenfreude?

If you don't like the responses perhaps ask your girlfriend to ask for the thread to be closed, it was her post that prompted any replies.

Also, how can you live 20km from a shop?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

well you both are the authors of your own misfortune.

Like it or not- you’ve chosen to buy this property in this location, you’ve chosen to do so while you both work 70km away and you’ve chosen to work a job with low pay.

I have 2 (soon to be 3) kids with my wife- I used to work as a chef and for numerous reasons it didn’t pay the bills and we barely saw each other. I changed jobs even when I didn’t really want to so I can be around more and we can live more comfortably.

Being an adult is about doing things you don’t really want to. Dream jobs are like lotto wins they don’t exist for the majority. It’s time the two of you assessed what you want in life.

You can cry and moan your parents didn’t buy you a house but it won’t change anything. Even if they wrote you a cheque tomorrow to clear your mortgage you’ll only be temporarily relieved but it won’t be long before money problems begin anew.

For Christ sake lads— you’re out picking wild mushrooms to feed yourselves- come on it’s time to seriously consider your situation and decide how much you want to live like this for much longer. What are you expecting? To make it big as an artist? Since when have they ever made much money unless you manage to end up famous and your art worth a fortune- most of the time though that happens after you die.

Not trying to piss on your cornflakes- but you and your Mrs need to get real here. This situation is one of your own making; don’t blame your folks. They may have acted shite but they’re not to blame here. Two things can both be true.

It’s your own fault you’re in this mess.
    they still shouldn’t have bought one kid a house and left the other with nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 yesimtalkingaboutyou

Edited because I'm easily identified by the details I described. Best of luck going forward OP, know you're not alone and look out for yourself if they come looking in their old age.

Post edited by yesimtalkingaboutyou on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

If there's nothing coming your fiancé's way you need to think about what will happen when 1 or both of his parents get elderly and unable to look after themselves.

If there was nothing offered or promised in a will I wouldn't lift a finger to help either of them. I've seen it time and again with farming and other situations where the fool minds the parents and foregoes their own happiness to mind parents or look after a farm only to be treated like a hired hand and anything worth while left to someone that never contributed only to visit when they could. Have all your ducks in row and have it out with them. If there's nothing coming your way then cut them loose and visit when it suits yourselves, letting someone else care for them when they can no longer look after themselves

Only the last sentence of that is relevant for me.

I don't think they are complaining about their circumstance. Its giving context that they aren't so rich that NOT helping them out makes any sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Maybe it doesn’t but that isn’t going to change the situation no matter how much they cry about it.

Look, when I passed my driving test insurance and a car was my problem. In fact my entire adult life it’s been “my problem”. My older sister on the other hand:

Had a car given to her insured and all

Paid for her to go to college and live there (after also paying to sit her leaving cert in a private school again after not getting the results she wanted first time) only to subsequently drop out after the first year!

She’s had mortgage deposits loaned to her and every other leg up under the sun. Me and my brother got no such luck. My brother more than me. Do I complain? No.

I got over it. I found better jobs until I could afford my own car. I sorted my own situation out instead of being pissed off with people who wouldn’t help.

Get a new job for themselves closer to home and ideally with better wages. No more money problems.

Maybe a bit harsh. To leave the parents to it when older.

But I can't see the other sibling helping out when asked (needed) to step up.

Don't leave it so you look back with regrets when they are gone. But don't be taken for a fool either.

Kinda haven't "gotten over" it if you cry about it here.

Maybe you think you're giving context like the OP did, only they got a kicking for it.

I didn’t cry about it I used some examples to demonstrate that I’ve dealt with it before.

The difference is I didn’t forage wild mushrooms and type on boards about how **** my in laws are.

I expected that response but anyway.

honestly the whole thread comes across as you both are bitter his parents are not subsidising his dream to be an artist.

Where are your parents here OP? Why don’t you ask them to pay for your house instead?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

my brother in law got IRL£1000 from his grandmother and his car insurance paid by her for when he turned 21.

three years later, my wife (his sister) got a fiver in an unsigned birthday card. she's able to laugh about it now, but said it stung like **** at the time. and that was from a grandparent, not even a parent.

whatever about the supposed life choices of the OP and her partner, that's irrelevant to the premise that one sibling can be favoured to that extent over another, without it leaving big open questions.

But you did type on boards.

But that's what boards is for. I'm not sure why it's not ok for OP to do it, but it is for others. Same thing IMO.

It's not a good idea to post too much details in threads, there's always someone going to use it to drive a topic off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

Almost as selfish and nasty as favouring one child over another, they're either treated equally and left equal value of an inheritance or there's obviously a favourite child, which begs the question why one would continue to engage with parents that don't see their children as equal if you're the child who wasn't fortunate enough to qualify as the favourite

okay I am not going to argue back and forth with you.

The OP and their partner have the tools to sort out their own problems. Get a different job and work on “dreams” when you’re financially stable.

Whole things coming across a bit BSey anyway when I think more about it. Bank offered a 400k mortgage despite couple being unable to feed themselves paying for it?

Doesn’t seem likely to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Kangarooknowsme

Mod - Edited to remove quoted post, as requested by quoted poster.

Thank you so much for your reply.
    It really touched me — I felt like you put into words so many things I’ve been feeling but didn’t know how to say.

I’m honestly so sorry you’ve had to go through all of that.
    It’s heartbreaking the way his parents, especially his mother, have treated you.
    You deserved so much more respect, support, and care.
    Reading what you wrote, I just kept thinking how strong you must be to have lived through that, because I don't know if I could have handled it with as much grace as you clearly have.

If I’m honest, I really don’t like the way your mother-in-law treated you — you deserved to be celebrated, not ignored and blamed.
    It makes me so sad and also angry on your behalf.
    Nobody should be made to feel so unwelcome when they’re just trying to build a life with someone they love.

I also wanted to share something that happened recently that's made all of this even harder for me.
    My fiancé’s brother told us that the reason their parents bought him a house in Dublin — and kept it a secret from us — was because they think I am "too money-obsessed."

Hearing that honestly broke me a little.
    Because this was never about money for me.
    It’s about fairness.
    It’s about seeing their second son — my fiancé — working hard, struggling, sacrificing so much, and them not even acknowledging it.
    It’s about not being invisible.

It hurts that they made this about me instead of just facing how differently they treated their two sons.
    It feels like they used me as an excuse to justify something that was never fair to begin with.
    I never asked them for anything — I just wanted them to care even a little about the life we’re trying to build.

Reading your story really helped me feel less alone.
    It reminded me that I’m not crazy for feeling hurt, and that there are other people who have been through the same kind of thing and still kept their heart intact.
    I’m sending you so much love and strength.
    You truly deserve all the good things, even if some people couldn’t see that. ❤️

Post edited by HildaOgdenx on

Hi, just to clarify — we actually saved very hard while renting for years, and the mortgage we got was under €300k, not €400k.
    We put down a very large deposit ourselves through a lot of sacrifice and living extremely frugally.

Also, I do have a job that pays above the average salary.
    We’re not irresponsible — we made sure we could afford the house before committing.
    It’s the cost of living and life circumstances after buying that have made things harder than expected, not poor planning.

I posted here to express how emotionally difficult it feels when there’s such unequal treatment within families, not because we’re looking for a handout or pity.

Anyway, thanks for reading.

I completely agree with you.
    It’s so painful when one child is clearly favored over the other, and it’s hard to understand why anyone would continue to engage with parents who treat their children unequally.

My fiancé and I have always been independent, but when we learned about the house purchase for his older brother — without a single word communicated to us until after the sale was closed — it really shattered his trust in them. He’s been struggling with that a lot, and I get it. It feels like they’re not being open or transparent with us.

They do call him once a week, but after this, it’s hard not to feel like everything is being kept behind closed doors. It’s not about money; it’s about respect and communication. We’re just trying to feel valued and included, but this situation has made that incredibly difficult.

I really feel for your wife — that must’ve stung at the time. It’s crazy how something like that can leave such a lasting impact. It really makes you question what’s going on when one sibling is clearly treated so differently from the other.

Like you said, it’s not about our choices or anyone’s judgment on us — it’s about the blatant favoritism, and that’s the part that leaves so many questions. It’s hard to ignore when you see it happening, no matter how much you try to brush it off. Thanks for sharing your perspective — it really helps me feel like I’m not the only one seeing this dynamic for what it is.

and it is but at the end of the day there’s nothing you can do and they won’t change no matter what.

That’s been my experience so I just don’t deal with those family members any longer whatever. My life isn’t any worse one way or another.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Was that actually your fiance that posted earlier?

Your life together is what ye make it, your decisions are yours alone. Bitterness because someone else got something you didn't will only destroy you in the end.

Forget about other people and what they have or have not. Live your own life the way ye want to and look after yourselves.

Forget how? Its not like you can avoid parents or siblings the rest of your life. Especially if they bring it up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Almost 100% this, my SIL is what I would describe as a bad gambling debt, good money chasing bad. My in laws have bailed her and the husband out multiple times. Even if I was struggling, I'd be at my lowest before I went cap in hand. My SIL gets bailed out, tells everyone they are gone interest only on the mortgage, but decent holidays and driving round two relatively new cars.

My parents were always firm with me, and I am so glad. I love my in laws but they have done their daughter no favours.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

as mentioned above, 'forget about other people' is not an easy thing when it's your next of kin you're talking about.