Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,443 ✭✭✭A-Train

Absolutely brutal today. Shocking basics and have deserved nothing. A very annoying performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭KH25

A few lads need a bit of a bollocking after this performance. Some absolutely terrible decision making on display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,600 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Glasgow actually gained a point on us after losing last night.

That's simply not good enough. Another end of season when we tighten up needlessly. We really don't end seasons well and I'm worried about the run in now tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Backline have been absolutely dreadful today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,355 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Why would you be worried? It's not even nearly our first team - maybe four or five players would make a first choice 23 and not many in our first 15. Top place is more or less secured. It's a frustrating loss but it'll likely be meaningless.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭fitz

Tbf, it's a heavily rotated side, but the accuracy, decision making and discipline has been very poor. Absolute lack of leadership on field, very disappointed with the more experienced players like Byrne and Kelleher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,443 ✭✭✭A-Train

Foley has been terrible since coming on. Turner you can see why he is being not being kept on at the end of the season and Ross Byrne end of season stiffness/nerves strikes again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mangan has showed more in a few games than I've ever seen from Deeny. Is COT injured or just not any good? I feel like he hasn't featured all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,483 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The error count has been off the charts today, and Scarlets punished us mercilessly.

Few enough positives. Thought Baird was good and Frawley was solid enough at FB, Boyle had a big impact in the loose.

We also shafted Munster and Ulster…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭OldRio

Far too many changes in that team and to compound it some of the more experienced players really played poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭bingobango12

If that’s the last of Foley seen again in a Leinster shirt I won’t shed a tear. Absolutely appalling since coming on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clontarf_Jazz

Mod Edit

Warning issued,.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

We've a recent history of tightening up near the end of the season and failing to convert early season dominance into trophies. I'm just worried we'll do the same again. The lack of accuracy on both sides of the ball was so disappointing even with a heavily rotated side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clontarf_Jazz

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

There are some positives. Soroka, J Osborne and Mangan played well individually.

Ruben Moloney had some good runs in the few minutes he was on. Looks to have a decent step and speed. Beat a few defenders.

Andrew Osborne has the speed, but his hands are appalling and he can't read the game defensively at all. Shot up a few times, hitting nobody and leaving the door open for trys to be conceded.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

To me it was very clear that everyone in the entire organisation has their eyes on next week and basically didn't give a shite about this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,355 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

It's not even nearly a first string team... Most of these lads won't have a sniff of knockout rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭redmca2

Soroka has a huge heart and apparently a small brain if he thought he'd get away with that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,107 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

You'd have to wonder what is the point in all these changes by Leinster for URC games. The goal should be to win first and foremost but instead they treat the competition with contempt and get what they deserve.

Best team won. No complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭mangobob

One of the most inept and frustrating games I have seen Leinster play in a long time. I think we discovered today that our much vaunted "depth" is not actually as deep as we like to think. Heavily rotated or not, I have rarely seen a Leinster side play so poorly. So many moments of just utter wtf. Ross Byrne has been a good servant but is nowhere near good enough. The whole coaching staff will have had their head in their hands watching that but I would imagine Nienaber will be having fits. Dire stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

They are 3 match points from a guaranteed top of the table position with 2 homes games (one against Zebre) to come. So apparently what they deserve is topping the league?

Best team won for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,107 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭darkened_scrum

Worst Leinster performance in a very long time, got exactly what was deserved from that game unfortunately. Lot of poor performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Boyle had a great impact, let's pretend the rest didn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭scott1974

Anyway...looking ahead to next weekend.. Saints had a good win I over Bristol today.. I don’t think they should be underestimated..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,180 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

I wouldn’t be too frustrated with the performance considering the selection. 

I am frustrated with the selection!

Frawley switched back to 15.

Osborne switched back to 12 (1st since Oct).

Baird switched back to 4.

It’s confusing for the team, the players themselves and ultimately doesn’t help either. 

Depth? Not if you are continually shuffling players like that around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭johnh6767

One to forget let’s leave it at that. Onto next weekend. Haven’t seen such a shocker on basic skills , talented players who couldn’t catch a ball from 3 metres away hardly moving and what looked like a bone dry day.

Leinster player ratings vs Scarlets | 2024/25 URC 

By Ian Cameron 2 hours ago

Leinster player ratings: Leo Cullen’s men fell only their second loss of the season, but they can have no complaints with this 35-22 loss to Scarlets, as it probably was Leinster’s messiest performance of the season.

We rate the Leinster players:

1. Cian Healy – 7
    A typically combative showing from the veteran, scrapping for every inch at scrum time. Carried with plenty of venom too, even if he didn’t quite get Leinster on the front foot as much as he wanted.

2. Ronan Kelleher – 4
    Could easily have seen yellow for an aerial challenge and never fully recovered his rhythm. Flashes of his dynamic carrying game were there, but his poor discipline left plenty to be desired. Not an ideal showing for the Lionslong-shot.

3. Thomas Clarkson – 6
    A gorgeous pass to put Culhane away showed he’s not just a scrummager, but he creaked under Scarlets’ pressure at the set-piece. Gave away a costly penalty for holding on.

4. Ryan Baird – 6
    Didn’t put a foot wrong but struggled to stamp his authority on the contest.

5. Brian Deeny – NA
    Lasted less than a quarter of an hour before injury struck.

6. Alex Soroka – 5.5
    Tried to tread the fine line between aggressive and reckless but fell foul of the referee more than once. Came close to scoring late on but it wasn’t quite his afternoon.

7. Will Connors – 6
    Steady and industrious without really catching the eye. A classic shift full of unseen donkey work.

8. James Culhane – 7.5
    Showed a nose for the line with a well-taken close-range try. Strong in the carry and busy throughout.

9. Fintan Gunne – 7
    Passing was crisp and his decision-making kept Leinster ticking. Not at fault here.

10. Ross Byrne – 6.5
    Kicked accurately and even pulled out a side-step or two. Blotted his copybook slightly with a needless intercepted pass, but otherwise a decent outing.

11. Jimmy O’Brien – 6
    Linked play nicely and distributed well in attack. Gave away an avoidable penalty which handed Scarlets field position at a bad time.

12. Jamie Osborne – 5.5
    Took his try well after the Mangan charge-down but was guilty of missing several tackles. A mixed bag but still showed flashes of what he can do.

13. Liam Turner – 7
    Made a couple of important turnovers and was willing to bustle in heavy traffic. Couldn’t quite finish off a clean break but put in a shift.

14. Andrew Osborne – 4.5
    Lost a ball in the air early and never fully recovered his confidence. Caught out for Tom Rogers’ try too.

15. Ciaran Frawley – 6.5
    A steady presence under the high ball and ran back kicks with real intent. One of Leinster’s best on a night when they needed a few more to front up.

REPLACEMENTS

16. Gus McCarthy – 5
    Bounced around with energy but a messy offside boot at a ruck gifted Scarlets points.

17. Jack Boyle – 6
    Conceded a penalty for hands in the ruck after arriving at the breakdown like a runaway shopping trolley.

18. Rabah Slimani – 6
    Improved the stability of the Leinster scrum after Clarkson departed.

19. Diarmuid Mangan – 6.5
    Charged down Costelow’s kick superbly to set up Osborne’s try and got himself a meat pie too. A lively cameo with just a few rough edges.

20. Scott Penny – 5
    Threw himself into everything but didn’t really swing the momentum back Leinster’s way.

21. Cormac Foley – 5
    Sniffed out a defensive lapse for a late break and was solid overall.

22. Charlie Tector – 5
    Needs to add a little more polish — fired too many missiles at his forwards’ ankles.

23. Ruben Moloney – NA
    Not on long enough to leave an imprint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭conquestscarer

Ross Byrne dropped an absolute stinker. He was shocking and he got a 6.5. Boyle was excellent, carried incredibly well, solid at set piece etc and got a 6. Wouldn't trust those ratings.

Very low for a Leinster performance 3 or 4 over 7, and lots 5 or below. Always will be a few ajar and you spotted the outliers as did I. Boyle to me was a 7 and Ross a 6 only due to his points from tee, 5.5 in main play just not dialled in. But no matter who does a rating there will always be disagreement it’s nearly the point of them