Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭A-Train

FFS! That was the chance, just recycle the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,972 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That's incredibly stupid from Soroka. Clearly propelling himself in his knees.

Blown a brilliant chance for the bonus point try.

Some good play and a shocker of a pass by Foley

Foley ffs.

Scarlets all out on their feet and he ruins the try with an awful pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Jesus, don't think Plumtree knows where he is.. hopefully no lasting effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭bingobango12

That’s absolutely shocking from Foley. Not good enough in that position when Scarlets are struggling to get back

Keep the ball in hand for a few phases, no Ross Byrne just kicks an aimless kick and they are down the other end of the pitch now.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭fitz

Wtf was Ross thinking with that kick?

Absolutely brutal today. Shocking basics and have deserved nothing. A very annoying performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭KH25

A few lads need a bit of a bollocking after this performance. Some absolutely terrible decision making on display.

Glasgow actually gained a point on us after losing last night.

That's simply not good enough. Another end of season when we tighten up needlessly. We really don't end seasons well and I'm worried about the run in now tbh.

Backline have been absolutely dreadful today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,018 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Why would you be worried? It's not even nearly our first team - maybe four or five players would make a first choice 23 and not many in our first 15. Top place is more or less secured. It's a frustrating loss but it'll likely be meaningless.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭fitz

Tbf, it's a heavily rotated side, but the accuracy, decision making and discipline has been very poor. Absolute lack of leadership on field, very disappointed with the more experienced players like Byrne and Kelleher.

Foley has been terrible since coming on. Turner you can see why he is being not being kept on at the end of the season and Ross Byrne end of season stiffness/nerves strikes again.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Mangan has showed more in a few games than I've ever seen from Deeny. Is COT injured or just not any good? I feel like he hasn't featured all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,716 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The error count has been off the charts today, and Scarlets punished us mercilessly.

Few enough positives. Thought Baird was good and Frawley was solid enough at FB, Boyle had a big impact in the loose.

We also shafted Munster and Ulster…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,358 ✭✭✭OldRio

Far too many changes in that team and to compound it some of the more experienced players really played poorly.

If that’s the last of Foley seen again in a Leinster shirt I won’t shed a tear. Absolutely appalling since coming on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clontarf_Jazz

Mod Edit

Warning issued,.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

We've a recent history of tightening up near the end of the season and failing to convert early season dominance into trophies. I'm just worried we'll do the same again. The lack of accuracy on both sides of the ball was so disappointing even with a heavily rotated side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clontarf_Jazz

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

There are some positives. Soroka, J Osborne and Mangan played well individually.

Ruben Moloney had some good runs in the few minutes he was on. Looks to have a decent step and speed. Beat a few defenders.

Andrew Osborne has the speed, but his hands are appalling and he can't read the game defensively at all. Shot up a few times, hitting nobody and leaving the door open for trys to be conceded.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

To me it was very clear that everyone in the entire organisation has their eyes on next week and basically didn't give a shite about this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,018 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

It's not even nearly a first string team... Most of these lads won't have a sniff of knockout rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭redmca2

Soroka has a huge heart and apparently a small brain if he thought he'd get away with that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,098 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

You'd have to wonder what is the point in all these changes by Leinster for URC games. The goal should be to win first and foremost but instead they treat the competition with contempt and get what they deserve.

Best team won. No complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭mangobob

One of the most inept and frustrating games I have seen Leinster play in a long time. I think we discovered today that our much vaunted "depth" is not actually as deep as we like to think. Heavily rotated or not, I have rarely seen a Leinster side play so poorly. So many moments of just utter wtf. Ross Byrne has been a good servant but is nowhere near good enough. The whole coaching staff will have had their head in their hands watching that but I would imagine Nienaber will be having fits. Dire stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

They are 3 match points from a guaranteed top of the table position with 2 homes games (one against Zebre) to come. So apparently what they deserve is topping the league?

Best team won for sure.