Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transgender man wins women's 100 yd and 400 yd freestyle races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭aero2k

I'd love to see anything that supports your implication that she approves of Trump's predatory sexual behaviour, or other criminality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,410 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Where did I say she approves of him being a rapist?

She voted for him and was honoured to be invited to the oval office to meet him. If that is supporting him, how else would define it?

You said yourself you were distressed at anyone voting for Trump, or dismayed was the term you used. But this person seems to get a pass.

Personally I am perplexed that someone who claims to be for women's safety would be keen to meet a rapist, misogynist, and the single most dangerous person to women and girls safety and rights in America.

https://nationalpartnership.org/20-ways-the-trump-administration-has-already-harmed-women-and-families/

But maybe she is right, it's trans people that barely play sport anyway are the real danger to women.

Buy a made in Peru or Vietnam T-Shirt for 50 bucks and we will keep the women and girls of America safe. Or probably more now because of tariffs.

Or something like that.

I was vaccinated 5 times, I think (maybe more!), spent the best part of two years wearing masks at work, and still got covid at least three times.

You will continue to get Covid all your life, proper masks worn properly reduced the spread, Vaccines drastically reduced severe disease.

But there is absolutely no way I am going down the Covid Truther rabbit hole on here or anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Joe1919

I have to say I was shocked recently when I discovered how easy it seems in Ireland to get a Gender Recognition Cert. Just download the form, fill it in and sign it witnessed by your local peace/oaths commissioner or solicitor and send in with the usual birth cert/utility bill etc. No need to take hormones or dress like a woman etc as far as I can see. All you seem you need to say is that you intend to live in the preferred gender. you can also change back when you want to. A great way if you wanted to win prizes or get some kind of promotion, especially if you are a poor performer.You can also I think for a biological man claim to be a lesbian woman and so continue in an existing relationship. Anyhow, information and download link of form below.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth-family-relationships/legal-recognition-of-preferred-gender/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,636 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Right. But - and you may have developed amnesia on this, but I havent - the official line until and for months after the first vaccines were released was that they would stop people from getting covid altogether. Like the measles and the polio vaccines do.

That was not true. So given that some people did die from the vaccine, and particularly young people who were not at any real risk from Covid, there should probably have been a somewhat different approach than obligatory vaccine with threats to fire recalcitrants.

And you haven’t responded to the issue of children’s social and educational development.

All good in your view?

(And if you don’t like where this is going, you shouldn’t have brought to try to discredit Rey.)

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,407 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Honestly, so much wrong in there, but it's the wrong thread for it.

(even the initial results specified for severe disease and the reductions and that severe disease immunity was lasting, happy to go through the timeline with you elsewhere but be warned, anti-vaxxers are the stupidest people on this planet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭plodder

Some of that list was definitely arguable, eg. the value of lockdowns and the lab leak theory, though not vaccines imo. But yes, this is not the place for that discussion. It was Boggles who posted it though along with the fact that Sey appears to be a Trump voter (together with 77 million others), as evidence that she can't be trusted on this issue, which she is clearly committed to.

It's hardly a surprise that she is happy with Trump for delivering what she asked for on Title IX. The character assassination that's being meted out to women who stick their heads over the parapet is pretty unsavoury tbh.

I don't know who you are calling "anti vaxxers" in this post, but if it's me, well, given that I've always had all the vaccines that apply to my situation, including the covid ones, and have said that I have no problem with that, I think that would be rather odd and would severely undermine the value of your argument in general.

OTOH if you aren't referring to me here, then I don't know what you're saying. I mean, why would you imagine I get my information from these anti vaxxers? Or do you think that any negative comments about covid lockdowns etc must necessarily come from "anti vaxxers"?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,407 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It's for another thread if you want a covid rant but it's also undermining any argument you're making here.

Not in the slightest bit interested in a covid rant, and you can search my posting history for anything of the sort - but you'll not find it.

However a poster used someone's supposed anti vaxxer opinions to undermine a completely different argument from that person on a different subject. I'm just saying that most of what the person actually said was not mad conspiracy theory at all. Eg, that covid lockdowns were harmful to children and, since they did not achieve what they were intended to, namely to end the spread of covid within a few weeks, it was absolutely wrong to try to close down such discussions in the name of it all being a mad rant. Never mind to bring it back now in a different context to dismiss that person's arguments on a different issue.

Would that be a fair general point in your view, or do you really just want to get into a detailed timeline about what, eg official spokespeople said vaccines would do vs what they actually could do, on a thread where, as you say, it's off topic anyway?

(If you do want to, I'm happy to do it on a covid thread, but it's all kind of old hat now, IMO.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭ingalway

I think 95% of the country do not know just how stupidly simple it is to magically become a (fe)male and have full access to single sex spaces - toilets, showers, dorm rooms, changing areas, win all around them in female sports, convicted sex offenders and violent offenders housed in female prisons.
    How anyone can 'intend' to live as the opposite sex is another mystery. No woman wakes up in the morning and consciously intends to live as a woman, you live as a woman because you are a woman - a dress, long hair, high shoes, feminising your voice etc can never change that biological fact. Women who choose to have short hair, always wear trousers, no makeup etc are still 100% female.
    Expecting at least some meaningful attempt at a transition is seen as 'gatekeeping' which is a socially punishable hate crime in the gender sphere. A 6'2" male with a beard can magically become a she/her with a piece of paper, no ifs, no buts.
    The UK Supreme Court ruling changes that nonsense. I hope someone challenges in the same way here.

To be fair to Sey it would appear she only got involved with Covid because her husband went full loon from the start on Twitter.

She was somewhat measured at the start I imagine in order to take the heat of her husband having a public meltdown.

Would appear then she followed him down the rabbit hole, and things escalated.

Now they are both fully in MAGA cultists.

A great way if you wanted to win prizes or get some kind of promotion, especially if you are a poor performer.

That's just illogical.

In Ireland, over 1,188 gender recognition certificates (GRCs) have been issued since the Gender Recognition Act of 2015 came into effect.

Again just nonsensical self fear mongering based on a minute amount of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,418 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Kowtowing to men is the antithesis of feminism, as I pointed out earlier in the thread.

It simply is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

Gender (masculine/feminine) denotes behaviours, interests, forms of self expression associated with one's sex (male/female) but not everyone conforms to these. And an insistence that individuals only follow those gender traits that are associated with their sex is indeed oppressive. I have no doubt that most feminists support gender non conformity. They agree that men are sometimes feminine and women are sometimes masculine, and that it's harmful and very repressive to force those men and women to act only in line with what's expected of them according to their sex. And it feeds into homophobia as gay people are often gender non conforming.

But no matter how feminine a man is, he's still a man, and no matter how masculine a woman is, she's still a woman. And to say that being feminine makes a man become a woman, and that being masculine makes a woman become a man... is pretending. THAT is conflating sex and gender. It also ironically says the same thing that gender essentialists say - dresses, handbags, high heels and makeup = women; men's clothes and shoes and an outwardly very masculine look = men. Sex is not gendered behaviours. E.g. gay people are same sex attracted.

Gender non conforming alone is not the same thing as trans. A crossdresser, transvestite, drag artist is not trans - they are gender non conforming people.

A trans person is someone who undergoes extensive surgery and a longterm regimen of cross sex hormones, thus making the journey to being a transwoman or transman. This is certainly not the case for all gender non conforming people.

And no matter what you think of Germaine Greer, she is (or at least was) an actual feminist.

Post edited by Frost Spice at

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

Although "assume" implies it's genuine. Plenty of people know full well that sharing one view with someone can co-exist with disagreeing with all of their other views.

E.g. I'm highly critical of the IDF's military activity in Gaza - and so are anti-Semitic types. I also despise anti-Semitism. People who just decide you can only be one way or the other despite the ocean in between should cop the fk on.

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭For Petes Sake

The UK Supreme Court ruling has made that now trans women can't use women's spaces.

However, now trans MEN can.

The old trope of men wearing a wig so they can go to the women's loos just to assault and rape them was used to scaremonger.

Now, because of the UK Supreme Court ruling, there is literally nothing stopping men from just waltzing in and claiming they are biological women.

Tell me exactly how that makes the 'nonsense' any better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭2Greyfoxes

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/clyw9qjeq8po

This is going to rile up a good number of the TRA community.

'The guidance also states that "in some circumstances the law also allows trans women (biological men) not to be permitted to use the men's facilities, and trans men (biological women) not to be permitted to use the women's facilities".

When asked to clarify this, the EHRC pointed to a section of the Supreme Court ruling stating that trans men could be excluded from women's facilities "where reasonable objection is taken to their presence, for example because the gender reassignment process has given them a masculine appearance or attributes to which reasonable objection might be taken" in the context of a women-only service.'

Not sure how I view this part... I can see both arguments in favour and against.

'But, citing the example of a rape crisis counselling session, she said a trans man could be "excluded properly and lawfully from that because of the alarm that it may cause to vulnerable women to share that space with somebody who to all intents and purposes appears to be a man".'

Clever word play may win debates, but it doesn't make it true.

Understanding and explaining things, is not the same as justifying them, if in doubt… please re-read this statement.

This is really not the gotcha that trans activists think.

The big difference this clarification of the law makes is that IF someone is acting in a way that makes a woman uncomfortable, she can now complain to the authorities about it. When women have complained about men being naked, sometimes with a visible erection, in communal showers etc, the WOMAN has been called a bigot, told that’s the law so management can do nothing, or even been put out herself.

And on your own point. in practice any trans men I’ve ever seen in real life have looked more like teenage boys than big scary 6 ft monsters. The “Look how mean and ripped I am” thing works better on Instagram than in real life - even when working out, they’re tiny men with tiny hands and feet. But as I say, it’s having the right to have actual men put out if necessary that matters.

As I understand it, this is only saying this is a possibility, not the norm. I can envisage very rare but extreme situations where a traumatised woman would self exclude from a rape crisis centre rather than share the space with a woman deliberately acting out aggressive male behaviour (which some trans men do, in an effort to appear more stereotypically “masculine”). In that case it’s up to the TIF to take responsibility for her actions in deliberately making herself look so like a man that women are scared of her.

But that really is at the extreme end of what the law is about. It’s not about having short hair and a mastectomy, it takes a lot more than that to scare someone else.

(Anyway, what about all the claims that most women don’t mind sharing spaces with men with beards etc? Doesn’t that work for women with beards?)

The only person I’ve ever heard about that type of craic is Riley Gaines about Leah Thomas. Funnily enough nobody will back her up on that.

As for the last paragraph, you are proving the point. People are expected to ‘look’ a certain way otherwise there is some sort of right to question that.

Everyone spoke about trans women going into the woman’s bathroom and they’re going to attack you and rape you. Imagine what these women are going to have to face when using the men’s bathroom? F*ck them though, right?

And now, any man can walk into a bathroom and claim they’re biological women. They don’t have to wear the dress or the wig anymore either.

Be very careful what you all wish for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭maik3n

Besides the aforementioned safety issue, I can also envisage a whole slew of lawsuits incoming.

Short haired CIS women will hopefully sue any transphobes/bigots who accost them in bathrooms/changing rooms etc.
    Well or they can at least sue the stores/sports complexes for acquiescing to such nonsense.

You've obviously missed incidents like the Korean spas in the US, where several have had incidents of trans women (males) in the female section where women are traditionally expected to be naked. In the most widely publicised one (but only because a woman videoed it and put it on youtube) the so-called trans woman turned out to be a previously convicted sex offender, Darren Merager, and yet most of the coverage in the mainstream media was to the effect that it either hadn't happened or else was all a set-up by a bunch of christian fundies. On SM the coverage was even more extreme, with claims that the little girl who was present should have been told by her mother not to be so rude as to look at anyone's genitals, and that she was perhaps a pervert herself.

You're also wrong about "nobody" backing up Riley Gaines. Several did, but most of them remained anonymous, because they were - quite reasonably - afraid of male violence from the trans activists. Despite that, some did.

Paula Scanlan, who was on the same U Penn team:

Skateboarder Taylor Silverman is another, after she had been personally affected in her sport.

So if you aren't aware of this, well maybe the problem is where you get your information from?

That'll be grand. I can guarantee you that won't be an issue. The minute a short-haired "cis" woman speaks it's obvious that she's a woman.

So unless you think that there are hordes of short-haired women (like myself) trigger-ready to go to court over just being ASKED if they're a woman - as opposed to being thrown out of sports centres and fired from their jobs*, which is what's been happening to women who've challenged transidentifying males in female spaces - well I think the first judge faced with such a frivolous case will make short work of it.

* And I'm sure you can point me to where you posted your concerns about Maya Forstater or Allison Bailey or Sandie Peggie or the Darlington nurses - I mean, given your concern about cis women being victimised.

What's that? You didn't give a damn about them?

Meh. I'm not surprised. Cos it's always about the men's feelings really, isn't it?

And yet now, any man can claim they are biologically female and just waltz in as they please. You seem to be ignoring that.

The first paragraph proves my point. This is an issue about men, not trans women. A lot of the same people who refuse to see that are the same ones who claim society is out to get men.

Anyway, clearly you don’t see the issue with men saying they’re biological women and using women’s spaces. As long as trans women are ostracised you don’t care.

And yet now, any man can claim they are biologically female and just waltz in as they please. You seem to be ignoring that.

Umm. Are you saying this wasn't the case before? Because it very much was. The difference being that women were not allowed to complain about it, because supposedly the law allowed them to "just waltz in". Now, it's been made clear that it doesn't.

So could you explain how the situation now is worse?

image.png

(I've no idea what the rest of that confused and confusing post is saying, but I see you've ignored my examples of where your own opinions are based on wrong information, so I'll wait until you've acknowledged and dealt with the evidence I've provided as opposed to your mistaken opinions about me, before I bother trying to guess what you might have been trying to say there.)

Hahahaha you’ve just proved my point.

I’ve explained multiple times why it’s worse. If you think long and hard about it you might understand.

You have indeed - but based on wrong information, as I've shown.

So your conclusion is also wrong.

There's no point in me arguing something based on your "alternative facts" when I've shown examples of where you are simply wrong. Until you have a better grasp of reality, there's really nothing to discuss. It's like trying to discuss evolution with someone who thinks the earth is 6000 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭purifol0

"…the vast majority of feminists are trans inclusive."

Source: I made it up / it came to me in a dream / everyone's knows it's true