If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ulster Team Talk Thread IV... Go On My Henderson...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

It's the Ulster way - Leinster get an all Black and we lose a very promising up and coming player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Bit of a shocker about Reuben Crothers. I had high hopes for him. I was always impressed by him when he played for Ulster and actually was surprised he didn't get more gametime. This is a bit of a blow to our back row stock for next season:

Izzy, McNabney, Matty Rea, Timoney, McCann, McLaughlin, Augustus and Marcus Rea. Have I forgotten anyone? Bryn Ward will hopefully breakthrough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,947 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Just on grass roots, it’s good Friday tomorrow and I have fond memories of the u16/18s from our club heading up to Malone for a match every year with a suspicious amount of alickadoos on board.
    obviously with hindsight they were there for the drink not the stunning rugby we played. How are clubs like Malone going? Are underage numbers doing well?

Not great, unfortunately. My son came up through Malone Minis and it was a fantastic experience for him. He made a load of really good friends, got to go away to play, played in tournaments up and down the island.

But the drop-off once they hit secondary school age is considerable. He tried to play rugby at school (in a school not known for rugby) and keep going to the club, but it was too much.

Reddit discussing O'Connor, Rea & Warwick not being renewed.

O'Connor I can see to some degree, but our prop stock…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Locke_Lamora

I'll be honest, I'm not actually sure who are props are at the moment. Warwick is definitely an odd one as he's our most reliable scrummager and Reid has never really managed to make the step up I'd hoped he would. Perhaps we're going to go ahead with the O'Toole switch?

If those rumours are true then there have to be a glut of incomings.

Otherwise we're looking at the following leaving...

Confirmed

John Cooney

Kieran Treadwell

Reuben Crothers

Rumoured

Andy Warwick

Alan O'Connor

Matty Rea

Incoming

Confirmed

Juarno Augustus

Rumoured

Rory McGuire

That isn't remotely sustainable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Locke_Lamora

Yea, not particularly ideal.

For better or worse we will be relying on Doak, so let's hope he can continue to make improvements. Cooney's absence will be felt though.

I think we'll survive in the backrow - we all grew tired of Rea being picked ahead of our younger guys and the likes of McCann and McNabney have been improving each season. I had my doubts about Crother's potential but it hurts seeing an Ulster player captain the Ireland u20's to a grand slam and never getting a chance to prove himself. Augustus coming in will make a difference.

If the Etzabeth sabbatical doesn't come to fruition then I'm guessing we will be dipping into the academy to help in the 2nd row with the inevitable injuries to Henderson and Izzy. Perhaps someone who watches Queens can comment on whether Irvine, Hopes or McKillop are ready for the step up - certainly their u20 compatriots in other provinces seem to be.

If McGuire does come then I'm guessing it'll be O'Toole to LH to please the overlords and then Reid will either sink or swim.

Just had a look at that Ulster reddit forum and there is some chat about Matthew Devine coming to Ulster from Connacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

yeah thats a rumour going about. unhappy with game time in connacht, has ties to Murphy.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You can't make these injuries up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭durthacht

On a plus side, Ulster’s attack, broken play looked a lot more crisp.

The difference in rucking was clear though, even after ruck was lost Leinster were stilling fighting or trying to disrupt it.

Playing Leinster is what it is - I'm more concerned about what those injuries will do to the last three games of the season.

Most importantly, I hope Lowry is okay. I presume that's the end of his season, but I hope there's no lasting damage.

Both LHs got injured - Reid's looked pretty serious. McCloskey injured in warm-up, Moore presumably failed his HIA. Carson and Hume are already injured. Izzy went off injured on his first game back.

The sharks are eminently beatable if we can field a strong team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Probably time for the guys leaving alright but a concern about how and who replaces them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Scythica

Supporters will have the chance to say a fond farewell to the Senior Men’s players confirmed by the club as this season’s leavers: (caps in brackets)

Corrie Barrett (9)

John Cooney (154)

Reuben Crothers (7)

Michael McDonald (1)

Alan O’Connor (210)

Matty Rea (111)

Kieran Treadwell (177)

Andrew Warwick (209)

The province can also confirm that Academy players, Rory Telfer, Zac Solomon, Jack Boal, Cameron Doak and Ben McFarlane will also be leaving following the conclusion of the current season.

The cloth has been cut fine.

• Administrators Posts: 55,717 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

There must be signings on the way. There has to be.

How many props do we even have in the squad now? O'Sullivan our only loosehead?

Losing 2 locks as well, Hendo always injured.

I was expecting a good news piece after our defeat.

That’s surely a fair clum of cash unlocked with this departures. Please please don’t waste it on one new player!

Including the Academy lads that 13 players gone. Is that some sort of record?

Lowry and Moore confirmed out this weekend.

Cooney, Herring, McCloskey and Reid are doubts.

The good news just keeps on coming. It would be a real shame if Cooney misses out on his last home game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I assume Reid is contracted for next season? Perhaps Boyd will see some minutes too, or the O'Toole move finally happens.

Looks like 6 props contracted thus far (assuming McGuire is a done deal), so you'd have to expect at least one signing.

With he amount of senior experience leaving, not sure 1 signings gonna cut it.

We're literally a development province with our players.

So, with all thanks and due deference to the guy (@Paddybrown22) who posted this on the Ulster Rugby Sub reddit –

Squad for next season as it currently stands:

Loosehead props: Eric O'Sullivan, Callum Reid (academy: Jacob Boyd)

Hookers: Rob Herring, Tom Stewart, John Andrew, James McCormick (academy: Henry Walker)

Tighthead props: Tom O'Toole, Scott Wilson, Bryan O'Connor

Second row: Iain Henderson, Cormac Izuchukwu, Harry Sheridan, Matty Dalton, Charlie Irvine, Joe Hopes (academy: James McKillop)

Back row: Nick Timoney, David McCann, James McNabney, Marcus Rea, Sean Reffell, Lorcan McLoughlin, Juarno Augustus (academy: Tom Brigg, Josh Stevens, Bryn Ward)

Scrum-halves: Nathan Doak, Dave Shanahan, Conor McKee (academy: Clark Logan)

Out-halves: Aidan Morgan, Jake Flannery, James Humphreys (academy: Jack Murphy)

Centres: Stuart McCloskey, James Hume, Stewart Moore, Jude Postlethwaite, Ben Carson (academy: Sam Berman, Wilhelm de Klerk, Jonny Scott)

Back three: Jacob Stockdale, Rob Baloucoune, Michael Lowry, Zac Ward, Werner Kok, Ben Moxham, Ethan McIlroy (academy: Ethan Graham, Lukas Kenny

According to rumour, O’Connor, Treadwell and Matty Rea just aren’t being offered new contracts. Hope, Irvine and Murphy will be getting development deals.

I’m disappointed Barrett is moving on – I though he put in respectable performances a number of time this season.

As for this weekend – from last week, Michael Lowry (neck and concussion), and Stewart Moore (concussion) definitely out, Stuart McCloskey (groin), Rob Herring (calf), Callum Reid (knee), and John Cooney (ankle) all doubts.

Hopefully that means Izzy and Warwick are available?

No update on the status of previously injured players, meaning Henderson, Hume or Baloucoune. Obviously Moxham, McIlroy, Moxham, Flannery, Reffell, Carson, McLoughlin and Eric O'Sullivan still out.

Bloody hell. Bare bones.

How has Feffell survived the player cull

• Administrators Posts: 55,717 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Even outside of the academy lads, there is very little experience in that team.

With no Lowry, McIlroy, Moore or Flannery, who plays FB? Morgan?

If McCloskey's out, outside centre is likely to be either De Klerk's first start or Kok's first start at 13.

Are any of those Academy players any good? Jack Murphy we know about, but apart from that Bryn Ward and Lukas Kenny are two with a bit of a reputation, maybe Henry Walker, but anyone else?

No Ulster players in the Ireland U19 starting XV, albeit a couple on the bench.

I've watched a few of the Ireland U18 games on Youtube and there are definitely a few lads there to be optimistic about (couple of front rowers, back rows and a 9), but they are two or three years away from their Ulster debuts if they ever get there at all.

The point I'm making is that we are letting 8 senior players go (plus 5 Academy lads) and I'm not sure there are too many in the Academy banging down the door to replace them anytime soon. So we have to be making a couple of signings at least.