If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ulster Team Talk Thread IV... Go On My Henderson...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Please, please, please let the Sharks play against us the way they've played against Leinster. Simply unbelievable that Springboks can play like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭CalmaftertheGav

Shows what an incredible job Erasmus has done with these player though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I agree, I've been looking at the permutations. I think we need 12 points from our last 4 games which means two bonus point wins and 2 points elsewhere. Beating the Sharks is non negotiable and they're a good team. Can we win in Edinburgh and Munster? If we have Izzy, Hendy and Hume back and suffer no further injuries then we have a chance, but I wouldn't be putting any money on it.

That said I think longer term we're on the right track, but yes as far as this season goes the three games I look back at are Cardiff, Munster and Zebre. Three games we should have won and if we had we'd be pushing top 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭big-al

Yep. Can’t be losing 19-0 leads to Cardiff or to Munster at home.

They need to go down to Thomond all guns blazing, hopefully strengthen their 23 with Henderson, Hume and Postlewaithe (Izzy be a while yet) and get one back on them.

I hope next Sunday won’t be too costly.

After having been at the game, I watched it back on box last night.

Apart from his propensity for running into Ulster players off the ball, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu is some player. Fantastic skillset and formidable rugby IQ. The dropgoals to just keep the pressure on Ulster were clever and well-executed. He fed his backline well. Looks to have it all.

The fightback from 0-17 was nerve-jangling, but what a lift. And Ravenhill was as boisterous as I’ve heard it in ages. Team gave us something to cheer for and by God did we cheer.

Thought Tom O’Toole looked a bit more like himself in the loose. David McCann, apart from a ridiculous offload that wasn’t on, and a frustrating knock on, had a great game. Smart, effective, irritated the opposition. He was magnificent at the back of a scrum often going backward at a rate of knots; getting the ball out and away before we could give away a penalty. That was invaluable. Good to see him get back to where he should be.

The scrum is a mess. That’s not changing any time soon without a change in scrum coach or new personnel. Wilson will naturally improve but the rest are as good as they’re going to get without some new ideas.

I personally think Jack Murphy looks a lot better for us than he did at U20s. He’s growing into the team and it was encouraging to hear McCloskey in his after-game interview say that he’s got a very good rugby brain on him. I think we can see that. He bounces back from mistakes as well, which, given how we swich off and on again many times in a game, is helpful.

But I’d have given Lowry MotM. So much better at 15 than Moore, who on Friday looked very good at centre. For me, our FBs should be Lowry, McIlroy and Flannery/Moore as needed. People’s misgivings about Lowry at FB seem based on the (inarguable) fact that he’s small, rather than actually reflective of his performances. Moore is a great centre (he was excellent for most of a season with Hume while McCloksey was injured) who has been pushed into FB because he’s bigger and has a good all-round skillset. But he’s not really good enough there. He needs to be at centre (or, more likely, 23).

I was screaming at Stockdale “what are you doing?!?” for Baloucoune’s break and kick, so shows what I know. But we actually played some rugby with our backs. And they looked formidable at times. Ward also looked fast and athletic, but then what he needs to improve is his reliability under the high ball and his defensive positioning anyway – his physical assets (and basic skills) aren’t in doubt.

The performance didn’t drop away with Doak on, which was reassuring.

Roll on Sunday. Part of me just wants to get through it without any injuries, but if we gave them a battle it might be a further boost to spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Deramore

Agree with all this, most fun I’ve had at an Ulster match in ages. The crowd counting down the shot clock for Feinberg-Mngomezulu‘s kick and his subsequent miss was good craic but maybe not the best sportsmanship. Timoney’s try saving tackle was ridiculous, very few back rows have the speed to make that tackle.

Four Ulster players in the Irish U19 squad

Rio McDonough - Prop (Wallace)

Blake McClean - Prop (RBAI)

Thomas Dougan - No.8 (RS Armagh)

Josh Gibson - FB (Banbridge - formerly RBAI)

I suppose all things being equal those are the next lads off the rank in terms of joining the Ulster Academy and will hopefully be with the Irish U20s next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Locke_Lamora

Magee (hooker) played up for the u20's this year, so I imagine he'll be in contention as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 bigmac86

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/articles/cpvr2xm7743o

Just has no luck at all. If it's a serious one he's got to be making career decisions at this point

I'd be surprised if it is very serious. He wasn't too far away from where I was and he walked off the pitch unaided and not looking in any particular discomfort. Then again I'm no medical man either.

wait and see. I hope they are taking precautionary scans and see if he can play or not, technically they haven’t ruled him out for any time frame.

I don’t think he is worth the risk this weekend if not 100%. The likelihood of Ulster pulling of a result is slim to none.

He shown last week the quality he has, out for 12 months and his pace/power was a big threat. He also solidified the defence outwide, nobody has any worries but the winger being out of position (like Kok and Lowry often be) with Balacoune on the pitch.

Ulster Rugby side to face Bordeaux Bègles at Stade Chaban-Delmas

Sunday 6 April, kick-off 12.30pm UK/IRE Time – Live on Premier Sports

1. Andrew Warwick (207)

2. Rob Herring (249)

3. Tom O’Toole (119)

4. Alan O’Connor (208)

5. Kieran Treadwell (175)

6. James McNabney (15)

7. Nick Timoney (162)

8. David McCann (63)

9. John Cooney (152)

10. Jack Murphy (8)

11. Jacob Stockdale (129)

12. Stuart McCloskey (200)

13. James Hume (98)

14. Zac Ward (6)

15. Michael Lowry (120)

16. Tom Stewart (50)

17. Callium Reid (25)

18. Scott Wilson (30)

19. Matthew Dalton (2)

20. Matty Rea (109)

21. Nathan Doak (84)

22. Aidan Morgan (12)

23. Stewart Moore (79)

LEEEEEEEETTT'SS GOOOOOOOOOOO!

SUFTUM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭CalmaftertheGav

from 6-15 it looks pretty strong and could see Ulster giving Bordeaux a hard time.

Then I look at 1-5 and I’m like…nah! I rate O’Toole but the rest just isn’t good enough.

UNBELIEVER!!

Yeah, I don't disagree (with the exception of Herring, who is the third best hooker on this island and could give lessons to other Irish forwards about when to go off the back of a maul, and not getting held up over the line).

But the second rows… if we could field Henderson and Izzy, it would be such a monumental step up.

I notice we have three players in our starting fifteen who aren't Academy/Ulster club-originated players and Leinster have five equivalents.

We both have one non-provincially-developed player on the bench. Ours is Aidan Morgan, theirs is Jordie Barrett.

MORAL VICTORY FOR ULSTER. ULSTER IS BEST PROVINCE.

Just the seven equivalents for Munster's starting fifteen.

It's our weakest area (don't think Bordeuax are renowned for their forwards either mind), but you're being extremely harsh on Rob Herring who is definitely good enough. It's his 250th Ulster cap on Sunday as well.

Pity Baloucoune didn't make it, and having Izzy and Hendy in the team would make an enormous difference. Its probably a stronger team (minus Henderson) than played Bordeaux in December.

• Administrators Posts: 55,714 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The second row is a major issue really.

O'Connor is not at this level, he's been a great servant to Ulster but he's a URC player who is in the squad to play the run of the mill league games.

Treadwell could be amazing or he could be shite, you just don't know.

Dalton is a penalty machine.

I'd love to understand what's going on with Sheridan.

Dalton has had two games for Ulster since coming back In one he was a penalty machine, in the other he was fine. Let's wait and see before we write him off

he was fine in the scarlets game is you exclude his stupid offside penalty prior to half time that led to 3 points and passing the ball to a scarlets player that led directly to 7pts.

basically give 10 points away very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

TBF to Dalton he has been giving away penalties, but he gives us go forward and aggression we just don't have at 2nd row. Happy to invest time in hime and to be frank do we have any other choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

Too easy

Some great tackles from Lowry so far and some nice breaks from Stockdale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Ulster haven't been dreadful or anything but could still get 70 points put on them here.

They might do, but at least they are firing a few shots themselves. Stockdale in particular is going well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Yeah, I was concerned at 21-0 down and looking tired I thought but that was a much better second quarter. Shame about that loose kick from Hume at the death, very poor decision.

Shocker from Hume. We were right back in it as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Good try from the Ulster lads…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Thought there may have been a knock on from Doak there.

But that's incredible pace from Ward.