Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noel Kelly and Tubridy submit data request

• 20-04-2025 11:14AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭

Does anybody know what this would entail and why it has cost so much to find the information? Seems like a pretty straightforward process if they're just looking for copies of emails and documents. What would be the reasoning behind them looking for these documents?

https://goss.ie/featured/ryan-tubridy-submits-data-access-request-to-rte-416560

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭daheff

I guess they are looking for some evidence on which to sue RTE or one of it's staffers for something. Probably related to Ryan losing his gig there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭hawley

Could there be another reason? Noel Kelly still has a lot of business with RTE and they threatened not to deal with him anymore after the fallout from what happened. It would be very risky for him to take a case against RTE. I couldn't imagine Ryan doing so either. He still has a lot of friends in the organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,583 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Perhaps to try to prove they both did no wrong or weren't solely to blame for the mess?

And perhaps a way of getting Tubs reputation back, and getting his foot in the door again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

It’s a very strange development considering how many eggs Kelly still has in the RTÉ basket, putting all of their overpaid contracts at jeopardy to potentially score a pyrrhic victory for Ryan. Ryan was also telling us just a few weeks ago in his Sunday column that there were “no hard feelings between him and RTÉ”, which these actions run completely contrary to.

These types of requests are normally precursors to further legal action (esp. re. Employment Law), so that suggests Kelly and Tubridy are gearing up for a further battle, Round 2 as it were.

On the question of costs, they had arisen because of the involvement of legal counsel, presumably to screen all requests and responses - and also because they’re aware where this is likely going. And guess who is paying for those?

Considering the performances of the RTÉ Exec. Team (a mixture of incompetence and arrogance) at the time in the Oireachtas hearing I would be confident digging might produce some details that would be embarrassing for the organisation. However, given Kelly’s role facilitating the invoicing he’s hardly squeaky clean on that front.

What is puzzling from the outside is why RTÉ continue to do business with a man who landed them in the middle of a national scandal, seems to accept no blame for his part in it, continues to blame them, and is likely gearing up to sue them. Indeed Doireann Garrihy’s return was negotiated whilst Kelly was submitting these FOIs. Would this happen in any other organisation?

Ryan’s radio show is good though, worth listening to if you haven’t given it a chance since the move. That is of course if you are able to separate the art from the artist, I appreciate many can’t.

I honestly find it difficult to believe that that's the reason why they're looking for the information. Maybe they feel that if some piece of information was made public, it would exonerate him. I don't think that either of them are motivated by money but just want to clear their reputations. Yes Ryan has said that he has put it behind him and has forgiven RTE. This is what Ryan wrote back in January;

"After a period of self-imposed isolation from RTÉ, I’ve decided to re-engage and put all animosities and grievances in the rear view mirror. Life is too short. RTÉ is a fine institution and I look back fondly on the years I worked there and particularly the people I worked with."

Doesn't really stack up with what you're trying to say, to be honest.

I’d argue that he and Kelly did more damage to themselves by their pronouncements before and after the disastrous Oireachtas hearing. I’m not sure what this is doing other than to bring up the scandal again - this is a classic example of the Streisand Effect playing out before our eyes. They were re-igniting something many have parked or even forgotten about.

I’m no fan of Kelly’s but I’d say he’s being badly advised here - but I get the impression he’s not one to take advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭head82

Ryan "forgiving" RTE sounds like a victim impact statement. I'd be surprised if there were many license fee payers who would sympathise with him.

It's curious timing all the same. Aren't some of these 'overpaid contracts' due for renewal this year? I think Joe Duffy for one is up for renewal. Kevin Bakhurst has stated no contractor will be paid more than €250,00. Joe will have to take a sizeable reduction in his pay cheque if he intends on keeping his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Duffy will retire from RTE. Newstalk might take a punt on him but at much reduced rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Hoboo

So it turns out nobody actually wants the talentless Tubridy. No surprises. Making 90k on UK radio. That’s some drop from the 500k he was leaching from the tax payer.

None of the RTE big earners would get a job anywhere else, give them all 100k max or feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭nonetheless

Data requests in general usually means a lot of work for company HR departments. However The Times report has stated that their requests are somewhat restricted and focused on data pertaining to the 2023 controversy.

There can be many reasons for requesting access to employment data, one of the most common is making that information available to be reviewed and analysed to ascertain if all procedures as per the company policy were carried out correctly. A lot of data can be presented and then the reviewer will usually put together a picture. So what are Tubridy's and Kelly's expectations and what do they hope to achieve? Intriguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Classic PR spin from Tubridy. These lads don't know how good they have in in RTE getting paid hundreds of thousands from a public service broadcaster. There's been massive scandal there over the years and we've learned nothing. No attempts made to bring the spending there back to realistic levels despite the spin.

Where's the PR spin? He said that he has moved on from what happened and was back listening to and watching RTE. He obviously was quite hurt by what happened. Gave half his life to RTE. He naturally still has a lot of affection for a lot of the people working there. He's probably being underpaid at the moment, but will get a bigger contract after proving himself on Virgin Radio.

Although this is something that has struck me quite recently, I found it interesting that Virgin Radio did not grasp the opportunity to place Ryan onto their breakfast slot during Chris Evans' absence. Usually top or competent presenters are promoted to that slot even temporarily if radio station management genuinely believe that the slot is being transferred to a safe pair of hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 EmergencyExit

I haven't listening to a single second of his guff since he came back on the radio but from what iv'e heard he remains as talentless as ever.

There's also the element of Noel Kelly having a lot of power over RTE. If it turns out that RTE management acted inappropriately and that he was unduly blamed for what happened, he can withdraw his stable of talent from RTE. He could stop RTE from hiring his talent and make exclusive deals with the likes of Virgin, Newstalk and the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Tubs - through his own actions - has made himself so unpopular in Ireland that nobody is interested in giving him a chance - even at a knock down bargain basement cost - he has become so toxic to listeners that his very presence would “torpedo” an entire radio station. Sad times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,617 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Yeah, because Virgin, Newstalk and BBC always have a large bunch of open slots available?

Are you serious? Kelly blackballing RTE would be shooting himself in the foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

If his top talent had to take a pay cut of 400000 to get a job in the UK I doubt he wants any more to leave RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,534 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

He said unprompted that he had moved on from what happened. Thereby bringing focus back to what had happened. He had even moved on to the point that he was back watching RTE? Geez, drama queen alert!

If he wants to be taken seriously as a journalist, maybe use his column to talk about any number of global or geopolitical issues occurring at the moment, not harping on about what amounts to a lovers tiff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Enter Username Here

I remember following this story and reading up on it after the fact. I did not know anything before it had all been done, so I may be wrong - hence me asking here.

But was Ryan Tubridy sacked, or was his contract just not renewed? Or is that just semantics? I do remember that he was due to start work and he said something that irked the then new head of rte, which i thought was the actual nail in the coffin for him, not anything else that had gone before it, although those issues surely contributed along with the unwelcome attention that it brought to rte.

I think that's going to be important in how all of this plays out. Some of the Fair City actors took a case against RTE due to their employment status. They were working as contractors, but claimed that they were being denied some of the rights that were being afforded to full time public sector workers with RTE. I don't know if that case has been resolved. This request could be related to how Ryan's employment in RTE came to an end.

Jeez, could you imagine the damage Noel could do if he were to pull all that talent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,367 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Stop promising us a good time!

Stable of talent that I would happily see turned into glue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,534 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

A mutual friend of ours could produce a sizeable amount of glue.

We should be so lucky.

I hope he does. He’d save the taxpayer a fortune.

If you actually saw the number of people who he represents, you'd be surprised. Obviously the likes of Joe Duffy have contracts that would have to be honoured, but as regards guests for programmes like the Today Show and the Late Late, RTE would be in serious trouble. They'd be able to ride it out for a while but it would be foolish to think that NKM doesn't have a certain amount of power to leverage against RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

It's all fellow rte staff taken from the canteen to appear on LLS so without Kelly's influence, maybe the quality of guests vould improve.

Even a max of 250,000 is too much for the presenters rte insist on employing.

RtRte is still squandering tax payers money. Seemingly unanswerable to anyone.

I have never heard Tubs on radio or tv and never will.

Have always disliked his smarmy smirk. The top 10 list of highest paid presenters each year used to make me question how they got away with it but seemingly no journalist worth their salt willing to rock the boat.

The majority of his talent isn't fully committed to RTE. If he discovers that RTE acted improperly and withdraws access to his talent, of course it could get ugly for everyone. It would be a bloodbath. Another problem he could face is if his clients grew unhappy with his actions. A lot of them are relying on appearance fees and keeping their names in the limelight. Think it would be better for everyone if it is settled amicably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭HazeDoll

We're operating with a very loose interpretation of the word 'talent' on this thread, aren't we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,617 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

That's a two way street,he and his clients would be screwed without access to RTE.