Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭green daries

I've been told something similar...a big tightening in early may according to my local fella.. I hope they are correct have a few to go myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭agriman27

Agriland is reporting that the factories are cutting the price but when you read the article it doesn’t really reveal much info…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

The cattle aren't there, it's the long & short of it so if they want them then they will need to pay for them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,745 ✭✭✭893bet

the other long and short of it is that “the cattle are not there so paying more won’t magic them up”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

No but it means that the different gangs have to fight it out hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭agriman27

How is it they’re reporting every week that the kill is over 36000 head per week…is it just propaganda..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭dmakc

Agriland often report debatable articles depending on who's feeding them. I'm still waiting for their next article on how great supersoil is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Supply and demand will control the quotes. While supply is tight quotes will remain high. The danger is with Trump & his tariffs.. if he pushes his hormone fed beef on the UK then we have a problem... because the UK doesn't care once they get cheap food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭kk.man

When supply is tight factories start fighting over cattle. In the last few weeks I was talking to four outlets. I could almost name my price. It's amazing to see how a bit of competition works. Yes people say the will get cattle anyway and in theory they will but if they are not filling their order books then they pay over the odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The US is more short of beef than we are. Suckler herds decimated, dependent on dairy beef now.

There contracts are now beginning to be dependent on spot pricing. Processors are being limited by what supermarkets are willing to pay. They are probably pricing on a margin. But supermarkets are pushing them to drop the price.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Supermarkets have been dictating for too long and think everything revolves around them, this is new territory and consumers can be fickle. We need Bord bia to keep the supermarket and processors honest over the next while. The local butcher could be the winner

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,300 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Supermarkets are where the rubber hits the road and money comes into the food supply chain. Catering, restaurants, McDonalds, etc. are another money-in channel but to a lesser extent.

Whether they're in the UK or across Europe, the supermarkets know consumers have little choice. Is there much between Lidl, Aldi, Tesco, Dunnes, Sainsbury's, etc.? There's the odd fiver to be saved here or there, but you'll get the same consumer back a week later if you cut 5c off your own-brand 3L of milk for a week.

Factories are a shower of b*stards but they're only the visible problem. It's the supermarkets as you said who have the power and they dictate all. And no politician will question them on the likes of below-cost selling, reducing their food waste, etc.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

At the end of it prices have to stop somewhere. We have seen a bout a 75% rise in beef price year on year. The consumer in general has not seen that price rise yet. It will probably take a 25-40% rise at supermarket level to reflect this. When it happens there will be consumer resistance

Slava Ukrainii

My fear is with lack of supply (caused by years of neglecting the producer) we could see rouge operators going horse or imported beef labelled as Irish beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭nearlybreak

the reason for the price rise is because it was unsustainable to produce beef at Whst it was making and the sharp increase in price just shows what robbing was going on for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭green daries

FFrom Many the conversations with two people who negotiate contracts with the supermarkets...... there a really ruthless bunch to deal with if they smell a weakness . One fella has had to walk away from deals and won’t negotiate with two chains anymore 😕.... they want the very last drop of your blood he says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭148multi

BBoth factories and supermarkets are perfect bedfellows, factories don't care if we had to pay to slaughter our cattle, it's their profits is all they care of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭insullation

My treat on a Friday night for many a year has been fillet steak from Supervalu. Its been 13.99 a packet for 2 small ones for years. Went in last week and the same packet is now 19 euro (or 51 Euro a kg I think it was). It is the first week that I didn't buy them and would not every pay 19 for them. Went for the sirloin instead for 14 and if that rises its back to pork chops (would break my heart).

My point is that there is an upper price point that consumers will pay and we are very near there. Next to go in our house will be the striplion roast on a Sunday…once the stuff in the freezer is gone it will a roast chicken on a Sunday.

We could see demand drop rapidly once supermarket contracts come up for renewal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭massey 265

Id say u have summed it fairly well there from the consumers end and whatever about the supermarkets dictating the beef trade its the price to the end consumer that will affect trade fairly quickly if they start to switch to the white meats from buying beef as u have outlined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Fine Day

Poultry and pork will then rise in price as demand increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,745 ✭✭✭893bet

it’s burgers that drive the beef price. But the fillet steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Yous all laughing at the vegans but it could take over yet if meat prices keep increasing at the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I rarely buy steak ,mince and stew still ok price wise but chicken has not increased in price with 15 years it looks like .

Hard to see supermarkets continue to sell any prepackaged meat 3 for 10 euro.

Agree, the price increases to food up to now was due to the energy, this is the first increase for the producer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I was on cooking duty last Sunday evening and got 4 steaks in Lidl on the way home from standing on a freezing sideline for 4 hours, 2 were sirloin and 2 were Angus of some sort, cost €19 in total and were melt in the mouth after a few minutes on the BBQ, the table setting is a bit rough as herself was away, and it was the kids who were getting the extra one between them 😁, I thought it was good value dinner for 3 and easily have been dinner for 4, for under €25. Not including the vino 🥴

IMG_20250415_224516.jpg

Chicken has increased in price over the last couple of year. Impossible to buy much in the line of a whole chicken for less than a fiver. You used to be able to get small 1200 grams chickens for 3 euro a couple of years ago. Hard to get a few chicken breasts for less than a fiver either. Pork is still cheap but smoked bacon has got expensive.

White meat is related to the price of grain which is relatively cheap at present. When it increases white meat will increase in price

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Was chatting an agent I deal with a fair bit today..he said base price is 7.40 for next week and no more flat deals.Only being told to buy what can be killed in the week as more cut are likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭StevenToast

That old chestnut...hopefully farmers know better and send in nothing for the next few weeks....

The factories are really trying to get a hold of the price....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭High bike

Correct anyone that sends cattle to a factory at that price deserves to be rode