If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Brutal weekend. I don't think we're throwing a game like that, just ripped apart all day in midfield and all over the backline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Conor Cooney hasn't really done much for Galway since winning the All Ireland, has flattered to deceive with the odd decent performance, but, followed by multiple woeful performances, so while he probably has been the best club hurler possibly in the country in the last 7/8 years, he's just hasn't been able to replicate that form for Galway during that time, don't know why, but, for whatever reason, he's not doing it for Galway and can't see him doing it now, it's strange because until winning the All Ireland he was fine, but, his form after winning All Ireland has been poor. Daithi Burke, is a 5 time all star, but, that's in the past, new lads need to be given opportunities, he'll still be a 5 time all star in 3 or 4 years time, should he still be getting picked!

Part of reason we have slipped back so far is holding onto too many of the older players that won in 2017, we're now in a rebuild stage, and will be for a few years, so might as well give the younger lads the chance or we'll only be worse in a few years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Stewball

I think these defeats to Dublin & Kerry will bring us back down to earth.

Starting to concede goals too, which will be a worry to PJ.

Still work to be done to be considered serious contenders for SAM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭Robson99

Put Cathal Mannion or Whelan in that Thomas's team and they would probably be the best club hurlers of the last 8-10 years. Eanna Burke is also a very good club player but hasn't been able to do it at IC level. Mannion & Whelan have produced at IC level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

Will john daly be back for the roscommon game. We really missed him the last couple of games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Our full back line has been seriously exposed last 2 matches when early ball kicked in front of forwards. Outside of mc grath very few of the others able to go toe to toe with forwards when space is there. Noticeable how Dublin and Kerry benefitted from kicking ball in early to ff line and half forwards running on for return pass. We have done none of that during the league bar few punts from Conroy finding Tierney like yesterday's goal. We need to get good kickpassers out the field to deliver ball into comer if we going to use his power at 14. That's where John Daly will be needed in side for that delivery. I do worry about full back spot as Sean Fitzgerald has been found out when up against top opposition. Had it easy last year when we had double sweeper sitting in front of them so teams werent able to get dangerous balls into ff line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

Would like to see sean kelly back in full back with liam Silke beside him. I think them 2 along with mcgrath are our best man markers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭spurshero

im not saying by any stretch that Conor Cooney should be an automatic starter . But people are saying get rid of him some want rid of daithi Burke etc . The reality is we don’t have an influx of players to discard these lads easily . Some players have left or got rid of this season and i imagine a few more will be gone after this season . It’s a total rebuild though and most supporters realise that . It will take time let be honest the last real top class hurler that prob came through was whelan and that’s a decade ago . So patience is def required

Opportunity to win a league title and Galway basically turned their noses up at it. Considering we haven't won a league title in over 40 Years and the fact this team has lost 2 AI finals and league final in the last few years, this represented a great chance to win a national title, but, instead we baulked at it. That's a bit of a concern and raises a few questions regarding the attitude of the management.

The AI is very open this year, with the top 6 or 7 teams capable of beating each other on any given day, we basically threw away a very winnable AI last year, I'd be a bit concerned about whether this team can get over the line when put under pressure, last year was a golden opportunity spurned and I doubt we'll get a better chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,321 ✭✭✭threeball

I don't think they turned their noses up at it. They just weren't good enough to win it. Out of our back 6 we have maybe two go man markers. With the new rules affording more space the zonal marking doesn't work as well. You could drive a coach and 4 straight down the middle of our defence and not be touched.

And like other years our transition out of defence isn't quick enough plus we're losing far more kickouts than we're winning. They're all issues that will lead to us losing against the top teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

People need to take a chill pill on the hurlers. we are where we are after 5 years of O'Neill and Shefflin who had zero interest in what was best longer term for Galway imo.

There's plenty of good from the league, we have our 6 and 11 imo. Lee has been flying it and will improve as he gets more experience. I have to laugh at the person above who said to take him out to throw in Morgan becasue 'It can't hurt' so when Morgan struggles you take him out and throw in someone else? Nobody steps in at no.6 and is Declan Hannon right away, even Declan Hannon didn't.

Killeen is developing away as well and I'm hapy he's been left in place. Always showing for ball and super tidy in possession. Shooting needs to improve. Like always with Galway we need more ball winners. I'd be hopeful Lohan, Fleming and down the line Jason Rabbitte and Brian Callanan will improve that situation. All in all we're better than I expected after the league. I think Jason Flynn and Davey Burke probably played their way out of contention, and Niland and concannon are goign to struggle to get a look in. Burns and Mcloughlin were inconsistent but our top socrers from play by a mile and I'd start 2 out of them + Kevin cooney to keep some pace in the team in a team something like

Fahy

Morrissey

Daithi

Morgan

Mannion

Lee

Ryan

Fahy

Monahan

Fleming

Killeen

Whelan

Mannion

Kevin Cooney

Burns

I see a mention of the old '2017 was Cunningham's team' nonsense above. While I'd be the first to give some credit to Cunningham, here's a list of our key players in 2017 and what they were up to under Cunningham

Daithi Burke- Wing back, moved to 3 by MD

Gearoid- In the forwards (!) move to wing and then center back by MD

Joe- constant switching, in and out of gmaes while we had no center forward- Made permanent no.11 by MD

Padraig Mannion- Corner, full back, everywhere but his best position- Put wing back by MD

Conor Cooney- Not starting in 2015

Cunningham did good work in getting us competitive again and blooding players and yes for sure that is the job that MD now needs to do, but peole trying to give him nearly equal share of the credit for 2017 is absolute codswallop.

I actually agree that we're not good enough and can't see us will the AI, but, from the position we were in we should really have been able to make the final and at least have a decent chance of winning it. The best team doesn't necessarily win the league, look at Derry last year, far from the best team and still won it. We haven't won an AI in over 20 years, no league title in over 40, we're not like Kerry and Dublin who don't necessarily give the league full attention. When there's a chance of silverware it should be ceased upon and put best foot forward, instead we and a lot of other teams didn't seem to want to make the final, Kerry will probably pick up another league title that no one else wanted, hopefully Mayo upset them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

why would u want to win a competition nobody else wants to win?

For once pj did the right thing…..

The break will do us good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

How did he stop himself from winning the league? He was vocal all year about winning the league.

Galway should look like they're a well oiled machine at this stage but I think Cian O'Neill is the big loss it was feared he might be.

Watching highlights, Monaghan kicked more direct ball than I've seen Galway do. It's all down to coaching attitude. Kerry are looking dangerous, yeah it's only the league but their defence is organised by O'Neill, and all of a sudden Galway are getting porous again at the back.

We've been here before. Talking about moving the ball faster but in reality, we've seen other years that the die is cast. This is Galway's style for the year and it's not going to get them over the line this year, you won't win a shootout playing the way Galway do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Avon8

Disagree, Galway will kick the ball more than most this year, as long as there's a focal point there like Comer. In the Dublin and Donegal games last year McHugh was constantly trying long balls into Comer, even sometimes when it wasnt on. We went away from it in the final as Armagh always had numbers back .We beat Mayo last year by playing long ball into Comer, especially in the first half. Two goals (Maher's and Finnertys) have come from long balls into Comer in the last two games

Conroy also always plays with the head up, again seen by a goal in the last game from a direct ball into Tierney. The other obvious player of that ilk would be Daly, who may or may not be starting later in the year. We can't place too much stock into league games on windy and bad pitches. It'll be very different in Croker for every team

Agree on the defence looking porous the last 3 games in particular. It actually looked very decent prior to that and has been ok for years so hopefully not a Cian O'Neill shaped hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Galway’s form dropped and he realised getting a hiding in croke park wouldn’t do them any good. Mayo who had a good run going have been seriously damaged after yesterday.

Unless we have comer and Walsh full fit we haven’t a hope in hell this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

It's the absence of Comer I'm referring to mainly. If we resort to slower play when he's injured, we're toast. There just doesn't seem to be a kicking game based on all the other forwards, it's all based on Comer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

A few folk that would know are confirming Cooke is back. Hopefully he can commit to the full season rather than a Johnny Glynn scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Wow, Connacht semi final in 2 days and hasn't been a post here in two weeks!

That and this article from Eamon fitsmaurice more or less sums up the Galway enthusiasm for this year where he talks about the window of opportunity starting to close for Galway:

https://search.app/?link=https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0417/1508226-galway-know-window-is-closing-in-the-quest-for-sam/&utm_source=dsdf,sh/x/discover/m5/4

One thing I'll disagree with him on - the Kerry final 3 years ago was the bigger loss than last year's…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭testtech05

I hope I am wrong but I think the window of opportunity might already have closed. I know we had a lot of injuries and maybe it is just because it is fresher in my mind but I think I felt last year was much more of a one we left behind us than the Kerry one but maybe that is just recency bias too.

Sunday will be a tough game for us. Obviously the Rossies will be targeting a big win over us as ever and I think their forwards will give us plenty of problems. I hope we can get over the line but I expect a very tough game.

I don't get this "window closing" talk at all. Only Conroy is over the age of 31, and that's at the position most stocked

Yeah Walsh and Comer are 31 but when fit at least neither look like they're losing a step.

The panel is way stronger than it was in 2022. Is that when the window was supposedly wide open? It's Nonsense

I beg to differ on the panel being stronger than in 2022. Walsh, Comer, Sean Kelly, Heaney, mcdaid, Molloy, Daly - all fractions of their peak in 2022. Patrick Kelly being pivotal in that team as well.

While the likes of Maher, McGrath, Darcy have shored the team up, don't think they improved on the 2022 team overall

I'd strongly disagree. In 2022 there was basically no subs made for the entire year. Eoin Finnerty was thrown in as third sub on his championship debut in the final just because there was simply no options

Now you could add any of Hernon, DOF, Daly, Molloy, Mulkerrin, Heaney to the team named Sunday and not make it noticeably worse. And then obviously Walsh, Comer and Cooke are still to come back in

McGraths one fo the best defenders in the country, every team would covet Maher and Cooke, and McHugh is another level now to 2022. Have only lost Patrick Kelly

Night and day difference imo

How are Walsh and McDaid at fractions of their 2022 peak also? McDaids best performance ever came last June against Dublin. Walsh looked as good as ever in the league. I'd argue the other 3 you named bar Kelly have simply been passed out by other better players

Walsh only looked better in the league because of the 2 pointer rule. He simply doesn't have the pace he had in 22.

Don't dispute the comment on McGrath, Maher, McHugh.

If Galway were to win this year, I believe the 2 pointer rule will be pivotal in that.

2022 and last year were both finals that could have been won, but, 2022 would have been a bonus as very few expected to beat Kerry in the final, Kerry were strong favourites to win that day and Galway performed above most people's expectations, failing mainly due to lack of experience at that level and a lack of strength in depth, we basically had no one to come on at the end to help us over the line.

Last year was different, no excuses not to win, a very fustrating loss against a bang average team. We didn't really perform, were favourites going into the final, had the experience of 2022, decent strength in depth, but, underperformed badly, an absolutely golden opportunity to win an All Ireland thrown away!

This year we are at the bottom of the hill again and it's all uphill, the likes of Kerry, Dublin & Donegal to overcome, will do well to get to another final never mind win it.

Agreed that they had nobody to come on against Kerry to get them over the line but they did have an awful ref decision against Daly that turned the last 5-10 mins in Kerry's favour.

The final against Armagh was a carbon copy of the draw against them in Sligo in the round robin a few weeks earlier. Innocent galway learned nothing from that game despite being better. Armagh were simply managed better last year and stayed relatively injury-free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

In 22 I thought he'd throw on Gallagher near the end, he was flying at club at the time, a tenacious enough player , looks like Joyce never rated him too highly, this year I see Tomo Culhane hardly got any game time, was he injured or out of favour, he looked to be one for the future

Kerry 2022 were a much better team than Armagh of last year and even without that decision going against Galway, Kerry would in all liklihood have won that final, as we had completely ran out of steam and they had started to get on top. I have no real qualms about losing the 22 final, obviously would have been great to win it, but, we performed above ourselves and lost nothing in defeat. In contrast last year was a golden opportunity that we are unlikely to see in along time, even if we get to the final again this year we are likely to meet much stronger opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭MfMan

He must be back in favour as he's on the bench for Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,321 ✭✭✭threeball

I think they have it arseways with Conroy in midfield and McDaid centre forward. It should be the other way round. The young legs getting up and down the pitch at pace with your most accurate passer playing in the role that was always pivotal to unlocking defences. It doesn't make sense to me that they're persisting in those roles.