Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭older by the day

That Is what I would like like to know, are the veal units paying a lot more this year or are we just getting screwed every other year?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

The thing to remember here is everyone else is making more too .the people that are buying our calves could be making nearly I k more per animal this year.the question I would ask is what is the outlook from here on.i can't call it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

It wouldn't be beyond pssibility that the veal units might be getting paid more for beef the same as here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ftm2023

What kind of money are friesian bulls for breeding making now? Generally I think the more money you pay for a bull the quicker he tends to injure himself 😂 it seems every sort of a bull is €3,000+ now. Saw a regular enough bull on DoneDeal for €5,000 not far from here… it’s for cows so would have to be 2 years old plus but preferably 3+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

What’s a cull bull making at present, or a store bull through the mart, the day you buy is the day you sell, seen a CH bull cull weighed 1040 make 4k online another 2k and a serious replacement bought,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,809 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Go buy a crossbred unregistered bull, bullocks easily making 2k in marts.

Milkman has started coming during milking here, used to be here around 8.30am now it's 7 30. Very little milk going to drogheda and Virginia it's all being sent down the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Danny healy ray

there was fr bulls in cork marts yesterday I'd say none were sold were making around 1600 mark weight 450 kgs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Could be wrong but i think its to do with blue tonuge in europe and fmd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Predicted 20-30ml of rain for the weekend/next week has disappeared of yr weather forecast here, 1st cut grounds after stalling on lighter ground, heavier ground a bit better...

May could be a very expensice/hungry month by the look of things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 mike3215

Very unfair time to come on anyone. I know someone has to be unlucky as they say. Usually around here they gather the later lads up until 7 and the earlier men from 8 o clock on.

If the plate cooler was turned off the next morning and milk at 10 degrees upon their arrival they soon f*** off for another hour. Think they've to put it through a plate cooler in ballyragget which adds another hour if they have hot milk. Sometimes best dealing with the milk supply manager rather than the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭visatorro

Walked silage ground today and thought the same. It's ready to burst of it got water. One field got silage relatively late and it's still on the ground. See the rain pushed out until Friday. I might aswell go out and ask the cat when the rain is due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Pushing end of first round out until 20th. Cows still on 8kgs of wholecrop for another 10 days then i'm out, and i can add maize meal and straw if needed. Luckily stretched my silage as i thought I was going to be out of fodder in March. Any bit of decent rain and everything will take off though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

half way through the 2nd round here. Baled up one paddock yesterday and sprayed off another. Not worried yet

Rang a guy on donedeal about a 3yr old hereford bull, 5 grand. He might be the nicest most fertile bull in munster but he could still fall and break his prick on the first cow.

How are ye getting on buying bulls

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Covers creeping up here (afc 820 this morning) but rain is needed for silage ground.

The slurry I spread last month gave grass an initial burst but it must have been more watery than I realised as it’s kinda stalled now. I should have put out a 1/2 bag of N on it last week but I’ll do it this week instead.

Similar to posts above, the softer paddocks here are bouncing back faster than the “better” ground around the yard. That soft ground grew grass during the 2018 drought too when every place else was bare.

Maybe it’s no harm to have the odd few acres of soft ground.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Bought last couple of year s when they were cheap so barring problems I ll sit a couple of years out.its gas you couldn't give them away last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ftm2023

Ya €5k for a bull is madness, you could be sure of it then he’d break his rod or break his leg in the first week…… we had told the mart manager to go to €3100 on a bull during the week, the bull ended up going for €4,000 instead… sourced a bull from a friend of ours for I think €3,300 since but he’s a good strong 4 year old… back in 2023 we’d terrible luck with bulls, we must have gone through 10 of them that summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭cjpm

jeez 10 bulls. How many cows 600?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭ginger22

For f,,k sake what kind of farmers are yey. What do ye need a bull for. Don't ye listen to the experts that say ye should get all in calf to AI and calve all in 6 weeks.

Still a week to go on first round here and buffer feeding silage, maize, distillers and crimp. Have never seen cows as content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭yewdairy

Bulls are some dose around the place. Between cross ones and ones that don't work, can't see why lads bother with them.

Price of bulls now, makes automated heat detection systems look cheap.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I have Smaxtec but will still use / stock bulls for tail end of breeding season …simple reason is after busy spring leading into silage ,breeding etc not having to hold back cows for Ai from late may just makes sense ….for me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭visatorro

Gave 2500 for a yearling Hereford. Gone with heifers. He showed me a lovely bull, he'd let him away for 5k if I wanted. I went to go back into the jeep! I admire these pedigree breeders including fr breeders. They are very passionate and think they have the best of the best. Borderline arrogant sometimes. But without them there would be no bulls for rooters like me to buy!!

Just make sure ye see the papers or check eartag online before you buy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭yewdairy

Around 200/cow that would be including vat, 40%grant on it aswell

You right of course. But you need luck with bulls. A friend of mine bought a young hereford bull off a dealer and only saw him, when he was delivered. He has him over 10 years, no problems 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Crunching the numbers on a greenfield system comprising 1/3 of the milking platform out of walking distance of cows, How does zero grazed grass compared to multi cut silage system for buffering the grazing block?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper