Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General sheep thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭joe35

That's 350 for a bulk bag delivered. It's a poor quality ration. Palm kernel is 3rd or 4th ingredient with soya further down the list. I only ordered it as they done delivery. But I'm mad I got it now. Didn't think it would be that poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,486 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

you may top it up with soya or the milk will suffer

How much soya would you add to 80 ewes lambing in 2 weeks

If you mix 9 parts 18% ration with 1 part soya, It should give you a 21%P ration. That'd be big improvement.

.1kg (3.5 ozs) soya per ewe should do it

Thanks wrangler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Sami23

Not a bad outcome for a Ewe that was near deaths door back in December.

20250301_121037.jpg 20241213_150856.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Le shovelle

Fine looking lamb, do you have a idea what was wrong with the ewe

No idea tbh.

I gave her a few different doses to cover fluke and worms and got an injection from the vet as well for her.

She had been dosed with Flukiver in early November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭White Clover

A good result. Sheep are amazing. I found a big 90kg+ ewe scanned with twins dead yesterday morning. She had put out her insides some time during the night. I was glad she was dead when I found her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

It ain’t a pretty picture…..had v similar a few years ago.

Jas that's terrible.

You would wonder sometimes why s&#t like that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭eire23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭StoutPost

Stupid question.

I read a lot of Teagasc heads saying to feed 100 gms per lamb of soya two weeks before lambing. Grand, but if the rams have been out 6 weeks, the early lambers are getting it two weeks before lambing, mid 4 weeks and late lambers perhaps 6 weeks before they lamb.

Or is this a raddle or scanner type solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 TommieG90

Anyone able to get Heptavac P? I didn't realise the shortage will still ongoing until I went to try and get some!!

There's supposed to be some coming into the country at the end of the week, the shops have waiting lists for it,

A neighbour has his name down at three different shops/vets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭razor8

I have one unopened 500ml bottle in the fridge if anyone wants to collect in leitrim area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭roosky

im selling sheep on DoneDeal at the moment and lads are asking for a good like penny

What is a fair luck penny, I often feel we I’m giving too much or too little ! But then again we agree a price and lads want another €50 off that !

Do ye judge it by number of sheep or total value of :sale …. Like what would be fair for the following, I generally end up giving too much back to the man buying a small number and not enough to the fella buying a large number

1. Person buying 30 sheep for 7500
    2. Person buying 10 sheep for 2500
    3. Person buying 3 sheep for 750
    4. Person buying 1 sheep for 250
    Post edited by roosky on

What's the best treatment for a lamb with Joint ill.

I've a 3 week old lamb that seems to have gotten affected where he was castrated. Where the bag fell off is now exposed n raw and obviously he got infected there.

I gave him a shot of Promox LA as its Sunday and it is all I haven

Post edited by Sami23 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭eire23

Synulox/noroclav for 5 days and if you can at all do 7 days. Don't be tempted to stop when he's better after 3 or 4 days. If you have anti inflammatory give that as well.

Went to Vet today to get something for the lamb with joint ill and he actually gave me Promax LA for it to give him every second day for a week.

I mentioned the Synulox/Noroclav to him and he said there all pretty similar and the only difference is Promox is every second day and Synulox would need be given every day.

Just thought this info might help someone else sometime.

Post edited by Sami23 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Tileman

have an inspection on Friday for the sheep welfare scheme.
    anyone have one recently what we’re looking for. All is in order so no worries but may che k that all ewes have their tags. Anything else ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭Cran

strange thought that was paid for 2024 and not announced yet for 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭manno

Have had two inspections in the last 5-6 years. You need to get something like 40% of the herd in the pen. He will scan their tags and then go on the laptop to check against movement certs to make sure they are in your flock. Then he'll look at your flock register for whatever is left. He'll be looking for a record of you tagging your own replacements (this is where I fell down!). If he's sticky he might also do the sums to see if the number you entered in the most recent census is correct. So current number of ewes + deaths + sales - bought in should tally exactly with what you had on the 1st Jan and he'll also be checking that you are above your reference number for the scheme. That's it really, if there's a few with one tag he'll comment on it but it's fine as long as it's not loads.

The most annoying thing for me was the last time I got the call a couples of days after I got the last of the ewes and lambs out to grass and I didn't want to be putting them back in the shed for a few weeks. Time before that he rang me the day after I let out the rams. I asked him to leave it a few weeks but he wouldn't.

Don't get stressed about it anyway, they're only sheep!

If there's ewes with one tag, and you already have tags (before you got the call), you can cut out the one tag and replace with a new set and match them up in the register.

You don't even have to match them in the register.

just put down the number of the new tags

Hi all, we got our own flock number 2 years ago in the wife's name.

We currently lease about 40 acres and own 4. We have no entitlements and normally rent in a few.

Would we get any entertainments if we applied to the national reserve.

Thanks for any replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭roosky

yes you would get 17.8 entitlements (44 acres = 17.8 ha) at the national average which is about €155

You will recieve anc (€105/ha), criss (€45/ha) eco (€65/ha)

If your wife has a greencert she is also entitled to young farmer payment of €175/ha

Thanks roosky, my advicer said she wouldn't be entitled to anything without the green cert. I'm going to get him to ask anyway