Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,340 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Yes, apparently if it was a dead rubber it would have stayed in dungarvan. Absolutely crazy stuff fixing this game for dungarvan anyway. A few weeks out from playing 2 crucial championship games in Walsh park it's surely better to be playing a game there ahead of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭deise man

Think the team and management wanted another match in Walsh park before championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,043 ✭✭✭deisedude

Dungarvan is handy and closer to me but it's mad to be playing intercounty games there at this stage after doing up Walsh Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,280 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The crowds the footballers get it makes sense to have most games in Dungarvan and no floodlights means the minors & U20s play there but agree with you. Senior intercounty hurling games should always be Walsh Park when possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

The only reason for playing a game in Fraher Field would have been for the benefit of the new naming sponsor. It would have been the highest profile game to take place there this year. It would make no sense in terms of championship preparation though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

I guessed the reason it was originally in Dungarvan was so the final league games would start simultaneously for competition integrity etc. but maybe as things worked out it's not a big concern, if ye look after your own business the other 2 games are dead rubbers with the relegation already decided.

Gavin fives in for Ian Kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 amber_black

Embarrassing sending off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 gunners200

have to say if that’s a red card the game is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Pudz2180

never a red caught him in the chest not the head. Stack the lineman got him sent off. Anyone any idea what Stephen Bennett was booked for. Not a great game, we have been poor

Sloppy game and performance

You'd take a draw, crowd not the biggest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Ah lads whatever about the quality of the game the conditions are atrocious, but Something needs to be done about the standard of refereeing in these games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭JD. 60

Normally that Ref screws us over. He's getting carried away with the cards.

Poor enough game. At least Tadgh is looking sharp. Fives doing well and the Bennetts as usual. Otherwise not much to write home about. Looks like objective achieved as regards promotion.

Sean stack should be no where near a hurling match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Never a red card. Very sloppy game, Offaly with the wind now, we need a big 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭5948ai

Never a red card. Ref will give them everything now after chatting with his team at half time. We'll do well to finish with 15 as a result.

Good turn around after a disaster start to the 2nd half. What a hurler TDB is.

Finished strongly but wed want to having had an extra man for most of the game

To concede 1-03 unanswered straight after half time is absolutely unforgivable not to mind against 14 men. As things stand we will be eaten alive in the Munster championship

a Week away on a training camp now followed by a league final in 2 weeks. With more injured lads back hopefully we can get it together in time for Clare in 5 weeks

And by the way, I dread to think what where we’d be without Bennett

Post edited by Mastermcgrath on

In fairness we are missing a lot of players, of course we could still be missing them in 5 weeks. But that's nowhere near our best team today.

We'll take that and look forward to the final in 2 weeks time (all the talk of Croke Park but Leinster using it the same weekend)

It was a sloppy performance but the weather played its part. Offaly are an up and coming team playing with no fear. There keeper played very well, you could see they half arsed a bit after missing the penalty (good save by Billy Nolan). TDB had a great game and showed his leadership

Hopefully the training camp goes well and we can get as many players back for the final as possible

We all know 1A is going to be a different ballgame and we'll need to maintain our place which won't be easy

Stephen Bennett my motm today. Tdb was good for sure but he had half a field to himself for 3/4 of the game. Hard to overstate just how horrible the conditions were, absolutely Baltic the first half then that rain started and it was properly miserable. Very poor fare by and large and a forgettable game really. Red card was ridiculous altho on other side of field to us, penalty seemed like a crazy award too, a couple of mins before the red could one of the Offaly players got the line for a shoulder head tackle on Stephen Bennett.

Ya there was one where Stephen had a rather wild pull where he took a hefty shoulder to the head, but good ol Johnny saw nothing there.

I’m not saying he was for or against us, he’s just an atrocious ref. The red was a shocking call, although made by the linesman it seemed.

Great save from Billy for the penalty. Might be enough to secure him the number one jersey.

Impressed with Tadhg’s performance although free throughout, thought Fives did well. Stephen lead the forward line well and thought Shane had his best game inside in a while.

Still concerned about midfield.

agreed on midfield. Don’t think Sheehan is up to it. Darragh Lyons was poor today, more interested in roaring in his opponents face after he won a free instead of just getting on with it. I thought Kieran Bennett played v well there against Dublin thought we’d see more of him there again today. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Jamie back there for championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭loves_me_county_boy

thought Sean Walsh was excellent when he came on there’s a few exciting new young players to be fair a lot of the old lads to come back too

div 1 and div 2 matches look like two different sports hahaha

He got on a few balls and can be somewhat effective, but I feel a lot of the time he doesn’t see (or just doesn’t play) the simple pass to a player in space that the vast majority of intercounty hurlers would see and play. Runs into trouble a lot of times unnecessarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭decies

first job done of the season get out of that division , second job getting out of Munster much trickier because let’s be honest with expectations not exactly at a all time high I actually think we have a chance of two wins in Munster .

I must say I hate that aspect of Darragh Lyons’ game. He does it so often. I actually think refs hate it too and often give 50/50 decisions against players who do it as the game wears on.

Surprised we didn’t see more of K Bennett mid too. Leavy didn’t play any bit there either to the best of my knowledge? Gavin Fives may be an option there similar to Monty played in the last few years.. But again, he hasn't played there either so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭JD. 60

The Cork/Galway match tonight seemed to be at a different level ; then again, the surface in PUC looked like a manicured carpet compared to Walsh Park.

I believe Waterford have won 2 Leagues (division 1) since either Cork or Tipp last won the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

One positive I took from the game was the number of individuals who scored, besides of course TDB getting through the game in good fettle - not that he had a lot of opposition for most of the game.
    Otherwise a poor performance all around. There was a distinct lack of support players coming in if the event of a dropped ball or so.

That ref should be dropped back to challenge games only!