Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭blacksuir

He was Coach/Manager to the senior Camogie team for two years. Could have beaten Cork in the Munster Championship in one of the years, but for a very poor referee who gave Cork the benefit of many calls. Under his tern in charge Waterford qualified for the All-Ireland quarter finals both years, which was a first after coming up from Intermediate, something they have done each year since, or bettered, by reaching the semi finals or actual All-Ireland Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭decies

Next weekend's live GAA on TV:

Saturday
    4pm: Waterford v Offaly (H) - TG4
    7.30pm: Cork v Galway (H) - RTÉ 2

Sunday
    1.30pm: Louth v Meath (F) - TG4
    2pm: Clare v Offaly (F) - TG4  app-player
    3.45pm: Tyrone v Dublin (F) - TG4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭Cake Man

So what’s the plan for Saturday? It’s a bit of a strange situation to be in, in a way. Need to take it serious enough to at least avoid defeat to guarantee promotion but the question is whether to use the game to experiment to some extent. I feel this game will likely be the last opportunity for trying things out as if we lose, our next game is in Munster in a month whereas win (or draw) and it’ll be a repeat fixture in two weeks where you’d expect both teams to be pretty much full strength with it being a final and being on the eve of championship.

I think we could probably get away with a bit of experimentation as I’d imagine Offaly, being already qualified for the 1B final, will probably do a bit of the same themselves. That combined with getting minutes into the likes of Tadgh and Aussie, possibly Shane Bennett and anyone else who could be in a position to return would hopefully be enough to get a result.

Obviously we’ve to put out some semblance of our best team with it getting closer to championship and also to ensure we don’t lose. It would be some disaster to somehow manage to fall out of the top two at this stage as Carlow will most definitely take care of Westmeath.

To sum up just win the game and play a team to win it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 JohnMcClane

This is Offaly's final fixture that we should expect they will be full strength in the league, the 1B final is fixed for the same weekend as their first Leinster U20 fixture against Galway and I would think they might prioritise that for their younger players rather than the 1B final after already securing promotion to 1A next year. So if anything I would expect Waterford to match up with as full strength a team as possible this weekend and probably follow suit again for the final if they make it. I certainly don't see any benefit in us experimenting this weekend with the possibility of losing to a full strength Offaly and not making the Top 2 at all. I think getting an extra "competitive" game in the final for Aussie, Tadgh, etc. before Munster championship is more beneficial than any challenge games that we could fit in before Munster begins if we were to lose this weekend.

Also, Our hand was forced early on in the league and a lot of panel members got game time so Queally learned a lot then so should know enough at this stage and be close to knowing his preferred 15 and match day panel if injury free. The likes of Conor Ryan I think being the biggest "find" as it has now freed up Mark Fitz to get out to the half back line where he can get on more ball. But, and it's a big but if the last few years have thought us anything, that also depends on keeping Iarlath Daly fit as I don't see a full back line of Ian Kenny, Prunty and Ryan being the answer come Championship so Mark could end up back there if that was the alternative. But ideally a back 6 from Daly(Iarlath or Cathrach who was excellent corner back underage), Prunty, Ryan, Mark Fitz, Tadgh, and either Shane bennett/Mikey Kiely who Queally has stuck with in the half back line I reckon would be a good championship back 6. Obviously in this day and age there will be another back there and I think kieran Bennett again has been solid when asked so could go wing back, Mark Fitz centre back and Tadgh the extra man or vice versa. I don't think Leavy has done enough in half back line to warrant a spot there come championship but would be a good partner in midfield for the all action Darragh Lyons. The prospect of Aussie another alternative half back. It looks to me anyway that Queally wants strong runners from deep a la a Kyle Hayes type which Mikey Kiely could be(and Prunty has done it a few times in the league too) but wouldn't Austin be just as good potentially facing the play, collecting a ball and just taking off. Mullaney did well for UCC but didn't get enough league time to warrant championship consideration but I do think he will be worth looking at over the next year or two as he has a lot of attributes for a modern wing back and consistently picks up a point or two in games too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

100% the experimenting should be done at this stage. Lose on Sunday and Carlow win we miss out on promotion that would be a disaster and a long 6 week wait before Clare come to WP. There should be anough competition for places that complacency shouldn’t exist. We need to put our best foot forward on Saturday and the same if we get into a league final, getting game time into the experienced legs at the above poster said is priority aswell

IMG_0830.jpeg

Rte championship televised games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Not quite as black and white as that. If we lose and Carlow win then we're hoping Dublin beat Laois as that would put all three on the same points and take away head to head. As it stands our points difference is a help.

However I completely agree that this should be as close to a team that would line out in championship as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

if Carlow and Dublin win and we are ‘turned over’ by the Biffos then Carlow and Biffos go up….?? We lose out on the ‘ head to head ‘ rule as would have equal pts to Carlow but they beat us in their first match so therefore go up….??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,275 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

If we lose with Laois beating Dublin and Carlow winning means were not promoted as we lose out on the H2H with Carlow

If Dublin were to win then then it goes to point difference between Dublin, Waterford and Carlow

A win or draw for us and were up no matter the other results

Laois could of somewhat done us a favour last weekend but fell short

The extra game in Croke Park (dont think itll be there tbh) is a nice incentive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭supernova5

Offaly already promoted so Waterford will beat them handily, simple as, and Laois have zero to play for so Dublin will simply stuff them, chill out lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Gardner

we will turn over Offaly handy in both games. too much shite talk going on here. said it months ago, this is the game PQ is targeting. We will probably do the 10 point handicap PP are offering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

so we can expect a score line something like 2-19 to 0-15…….?

Somehow I don’t think this will transpire…?

FB_IMG_1742509014687.jpg

Team for Saturday

Good to see TDB back but no sign of Aussie hopefully if he's injured its not serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 gunners200

I heard prunty is injured also, that back 7 be eaten alive come championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Hopefully the majority of absentees are precautionary / almost back to fitness.

Prunty, Austin, Iarlath, Carthach, Patrick Fitz, Michael Kiely all notable absentees there. I’ve probably forgotten some more even.

I believe the squad are heading for a training camp in Portugal this Sunday.

Is that the reason the time and venue was changed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,043 ✭✭✭deisedude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Not a strong team. If Ian Kenny is corner back come Championship we are in trouble. Paddy Leavey is honest all day long but he's not a wing back. When is the last time the Dalys have not been injured? Both of them are at the age now where they need to start producing - for club and county. They are gone past the stage of being spoken about as having potential. We've got nothing out of either of them for the last three years at least. It's also worrying that there's no sign of Austin Gleeson and Conor Prunty this close to Championship. Great to see the three Bennett brothers starting.

I wouldn’t fancy that back line come championship either. Surprised Shane Bennett isn’t getting another run wing back, can’t see any obvious moves into the forward to switch him back there before throw in ala the Laois game.

I don’t think Leavey at wing back has been a particular success either. It’s midfield or bench for him in my eyes.
    Prunty has played a few games in fairness, but I’d be a little worried when we haven’t seen Aussie basically and the 2 Daly’s have disappeared. Carthach especially needed a run of games to get up to speed after a long term injury in order to be competing for a place come championship.
    Surprised Gavin Fives drops out also, thought it would be worth seeing how he’d do as things step up a little. He’s definitely one who could have an impact off the bench though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 JohnMcClane

I expected/hoped we'd see a stronger team so a bit concerned at the missing personnel at this relatively late stage. We definitely need to be stronger come Championship which is 5 weeks away so if players are carrying injuries it does allow time to get them right but very little room for error and very little room for game time too. To be positive adding Prunty and Iarlaith to that back line and getting Kiely, Patrick Fitz and Austin in to the team will improve the forward line and give us real options from the bench too so 4 or 5 players can make this team very competitive come Munster championship time. And 4 of those 5 each saw a decent bit of league time so shouldn't take too long to get back up to speed hopefully.

Another positive is Reuben Halloran on the bench after picking up an injury before the league started, I was hoping to see more of him this year after him not getting to see any significant league or championship action under Davy the last couple years.

It is really about getting lads back now and keeping who we have fit currently that way too, the target has to be going at least 1 better this year after last years gut wrenching finish and actually getting out of Munster and Queally's has to have them ready for 27th April as our home games could be the crucial decider in that happening or not!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 gunners200

I also don’t understand y we keep reverting back to billy on goal when he is clearly a much better half back than what we have and has proved that, also imo sob is a better gk anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭upthedeise16

Austin Gleeson injured his hamstring and will be out for a number of weeks, was probably due to start this weekend as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

this was always going to be a worry after taking the year out, he has a lot of mileage on the clock and getting back up to the required fitness levels of the modern game is a massive ask. has to be question marks whether he will be fit for the Munster championship at this stage

Will the game be on tomorrow with the weather warning ?

For a yellow alert due to expire at 2pm before a 4pm game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Krazy gang

It hasn't rained in weeks. Is it in dungarvan? Why not switch it to Walsh park?

It's been switched to Walsh Park since last weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

I presumed capacity was the reason for the venue change, Dungarvan from memory had a 3.6k capacity for the league games when Walsh Park was redeveloped, there was over 5k at the Waterford Dublin game.