Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Come back Garron Noone! **Mod Warning in Post #654**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,609 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Unfortunately we now live in a world where it's totally black or white. There is no nuance any more.

Say that dropping bombs on women and kids in Gaza is terrible, or stopping food getting to them is wrong, then you're antisemitic.

Say that it's mostly Muslims who are driving cars into people and you're islamaphobic.

Say that Ireland is taking in too many immigrants for what we are able to accommodate, and you're a racist or a right wing nut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭rdser

This is the issue. The people denying this is an issue are just shutting down debate on it. That's not good, in any way.

And labelling people as far right and racists to achieve that is wearing very thin. There's extremes on both sides but if we're cancelling people for the likes of what Garron Noone said then we are in big trouble and need to cop on and face up to the issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭spakman

I liked his videos, found the chocolate reviews etc v good for a while, but got tired of it eventually and stopped following him.

I thought he came across really well on LLS and his Christmas message though.

Seems like a nice guy, and has had struggles dealing with people in the past, so I'm sure this negative attention is taking a toll on him - probably a good idea for his own sake to take a break from social media.

I think he made a bad choice in commenting on this topic at all though. He was going to piss off one cohort or the other no matter what he said.

So either he should have been willing to stay the course and back up what he said, or else he shouldn't have said it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭byrne249

I might be living under a rock but has anyone actually heard someone call another person far right unironically or without quoting/taking cue, from the media? I only see this language when I catch glimpses of the news, usually quoting Reuters agency, there's a 1984 vibe coming from state backed entities and corpo news in that we are definitely being told how we should think.

The hubris wafting off the political class has reached new heights too, there's a massive disconnect somewhere and it does not bode well for the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Never heard of him

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭TokTik

4 million followers is not “low profile”. The Leftzi’s just can’t help themselves. Anyone that doesn’t agree with them is fascist and should be banned, which sounds pretty fascist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,151 ✭✭✭Glebee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

Simple and straightforward question, would you agree that calling someone a racist for questioning the immigration policy of a government restricts that persons ability to speak freely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,151 ✭✭✭Glebee

Hes back again anyway, his exile is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭NiceFella

Exactly, it's the extremes of both sides (right and left) that make political conversation almost impossible.

I'm very much a left leaning person and I am massively concerned by the uptick in fascist style leadership especially across the pond. But I think it's fairly uncontroversial that we have an issue with immigration. I agree that it's great that people are coming here, it's just that we aren't suitably prepared for the expansion that is occurring.

What I fear is that people who have this opinion will back absolute sc*mbags like a McGregor and we end up with a divided country. I think it's very very weird Elon musk tweets about us and as a nation we should resist anything to do with that lunatic. We don't need him or any of his ilk here to destroy a decent society that we take for granted currently.

In short it's okay to say we have issues with immigration. It's not okay to sing praises of rascists like Musk or trump or even McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Seems like a completely hyped up overreaction on all sides. He shared his opinion as he's entitled to do. Many agreed with him and praised him. He also received some fair criticism. And in a totally predictable turn of events, some idiots on one side used his video to support their extreme hate-filled bile, and idiots on the other side abused him and labelled him a nasty racist. Extreme reactions were a tiny tiny tiny minority.

I think he made a foolish decision to get involved in this topic using his significant platform if he wasn't prepared to handle the inevitable reaction - some agreement, some criticism, some abuse, having his video used by people he'd undoubtedly not be associated with. I think his decision to deactivate has just aggravated the furore. I hope he comes back soon with his usual fun videos and just moves on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,224 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

do we know how bad the reaction was?

i know little about the chap, except that he has talked openly about agoraphobia. and he's inhabited social media in a way that would usually garner positive feedback? and it seems he's stepped into a corner of social media where you're going to get negative feedback no matter what you'd say. perhaps he wasn't prepared for that and closed/hid his accounts for his own mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I think he shouldn't have said anything. He made some valid points, a few people freaked out at him, but what's worse now is people like Katie Hopkins and the Tate Brothers are praising him and I'm not sure how that's going to affect his future online life as that is pretty poisonous to your brand unless you want to go down that road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

”He shouldn’t have said anything”

This statement is thrown around like confetti, but do people actually comprehend what this statement means?

I’m seeing this attitude more and more normalized the last few years and am genuinely interested where it stems from, is it just a boards perspective given that it is a moderated forum, is it an Irish thing given that we have predominantly leftist government and media, is it a covid thing where questioning policies was highly criticised, would be interested to hear if it’s just me noticing this or if there has been a general acceptance of late that people should not share their opinions, ironically enough whilst being on a public discussion forum sharing their opinions!!

if you're an entertainer, mentioning immigration is career suicide, rightly or wrongly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,609 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

People aren't allowed to have opinions any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Murt2024

Yes you have or you wouldn't have posting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,370 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

In Relation to Garron Noone, he has amassed a massive following due to his comedy videos, and his singing talents. As far as I am aware he has not gained followers because of his social commentary or views on society or politics.

I don't think anyone is saying he is not entitled to his opinions, but that is not what people follow him for, it's completely the opposite of his usual content.

Now, that's grand, but he should be able to take whatever opinions others have, if he chooses to make a serious video.

It was a mistake, as I'm sure he has realised. He has no control over who uses his videos for their own agendas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

It's not good to be resigning yourself to "keep your mouth shut". Quite a few people here endorse that approach ("he should just stick to comedy"). It's really not healthy. He only gave his opinion because people were constantly asking him for it. He resisted it for ages but then relented.

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,273 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

This essentially seems to be a battle between far left and far right 'keyboard warriors' (i.e. cranks) trading insults on social media. I would suggest that 90%+ of the population have never even heard of Garron Noone and are probably completely unaware of the online slugfest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Will0483

It is one hundred percent wrongly of course. Ireland is spending one billion a year to house asylum seekers and a billion more to house Ukrainians. We are a tiny island on the western edge of Europe so any "asylum seeker" would have had to have passed through over 20 safe countries to reach our shores.

That this absolote lunacy is allowed to continue is a source of amazement to me every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,531 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Garron hit the nail bang on the head as did the rapist in the white house. Ireland is now destroyed. Especially working class areas where we are the minority. Any attempt, even on boards.ie, to raise legitimate concerns about the issue is shutdown and you are a racist.

Garron is an average Irish lad with the same concerns. I'd absolutely love someone with these concerns to start a political party.

Now i think Garron has pulled a stunt and will be back and increase his following thus increasing his income from these platforms. Fair play. Thats the way it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,370 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

i for one am proud my taxes go towards helping ukrainian refugees. i know, awful isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Feets

He did say towns are less safe but that there are multiple factors...probably alluding to the rock bottom morale in the gardai and its effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

If someone completely inoffensive like Garron Noone feels unable to speak up for fear of being labeled a racist, a rapist supporter, or a fascist—when nothing he said suggests he is any of those things—then fewer people will dare to speak out in the future.

This creates a vacuum where only figures like Conor McGregor or Elon Musk, who don’t care about public perception, will voice (some) of the opinions people agree with. Because they’re largely indifferent to criticism, it doesn’t affect them—but they end up being the only ones left, drawing people toward them by default.

what working class areas are irish people the minority? i live in north strand. the people smoking crack on my street, the people flying around on scramblers, the drug dealing, the kids smashing windows and robbing cars, are all locals. am i still supposed to think foreigners are the problem here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Feets

Has it gotten better in the last 5 to 7 years? Has it stayed the same or is it worse...genuine question? @suvigirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Damien360

It's the lunacy of giving supports beyond any Irish citizen that bugs people. Ask yourself, if you are minimum wage Irish citizen or on the dole, can you walk in and ask for state support for pet bill or your car bill (be that tyres or repairs). You would be laughed out of the room. We bend rules constantly for those that have never paid tax in Ireland and likely never will if they happen to head home in a free years. Meanwhile, we moan about a hospital hitting 2bn costs over 10 years to build. A drop in the ocean compared to the waste going to non citizens.