Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning added to OP 10/1/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,934 ✭✭✭✭walshb

McGregor’s insta…

Trying his best to write so proper and correct. Hint, Irelands is Ireland’s..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,788 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If there were riots in the streets, Trump would use it as a pretext to declare martial law and the rioters would be declared terrorists.

American democracy is already terminally wounded. We're just waiting to see exactly how it dies

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭yagan

When I heard about the Cybertruck glued on panel coming off I could help but think of Trump's stupid combover. Tesla and Trump are analogous of eachother, cults completely detached from reality.

If Trump were to run again the number of people who vote for him wont matter because the vote would be completely rigged

Trump will die in office, whether that happens before or after 2029 remains to be seen

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

No he didn't. He repeatedly denied having anything to do with project 2025. I'm sure sime people were foolish enough to believe that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,705 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

He did indeed deny it but when architects of 2025 where in Trumps last administration how could you believe Trump. I have friends who are American Trump supporters and I look forward to the day when I tell them I told you so.

Trump is claiming to make America great again and whilst he proclaims this using it as a distraction whilst he slowly dismantles any checks and balances that might stop him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

I reckon my ESTA application is now totally fu*ked !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,353 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Don't know if we are "fecked" (non US Western world has quite a lot going for it vs rest) but there is no way Trump 2 spells a more peaceful and safe world for any of us.

The worst thing (IMO) is the POTUS and his admin. is declaring it is open season for dictators, autocrats, and evil politicians and rulers generally to be their worst selves, to behave just how they like, at home and abroad. Was a bit of that the 1st time out but it's far worse now (the world is less stable and more dangerous anyway).

Looking abroad in particular, wars of conquest and genocide are very much "back on the menu boys" if you are powerful enough and your victim is weaker and you can cajole or force enough of your population to march into the guns for you.

The US won't mind, may even tip a sly wink and egg you on perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,130 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Trump shuts does the dept for education

Musk posts this 🤦‍♂️

America is fùcked.

20250320_225028.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭yagan

There's supposedly a surge in applications for Irish citizenship via Irish parents/grandparents from the US over the last month, not dissimilar to the Brexit demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭JJayoo

If Ukraine wasn't been invaded I genuinely wouldn't give two sh1ts about America, let it burn to the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 309 ✭✭Walter Sobchak III

I have a US passport. Immigrant child born in NYC in the 60's. I am very regular in the morning after that first cup of coffee. However that little booklet is replacing my usual 3-ply in the a.m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭briany

Depending on how ardent of supports your American friends are, the 'told you so' day might never actually arrive.

A I understand it, and I am totally open to correction here, his approval rating at this point is the highest of any time he's been US president. Maybe that's not very high among US presidents overall, but pretty disturbing when you remember that his administration is busy dismantling US democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Maxface

That is exactly it. Europe has a great opportunity here. It needs to stand up and act like the Union it purports to be. This could be the golden era for the EU that will last for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,697 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

What er have in power are an absolute shower of waster, losers... trump likes winners... and that attitude. Aside from mcgregors other attributes. He can relate to mcgregor...

We are a tax haven, free loading on defence... no question about it... those wasters in power, are paid more than trump I believe?

The squandering of public funds here is criminal. A tax haven for decades, extreme taxation over a pittance of an income. No military expenditure, low elderly population... 2nd world infrastructure… seriously...

What we have running this country, is far more offensive to me, than trump or mcgregor, ever could be...

Post edited by Idbatterim on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,687 ✭✭✭threeball

America was never a democracy. If it was we would never have gotten to this situation. Hillary would have beaten him in 2016 and he'd have been yesterday's chip wrapper.

Their stupid weighted "democracy" was and is a sham that's allowed idiots gsin power more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Iecrawfc

Maybe they should stay and fight for thir country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭briany

The US was, of course, a democracy by every mainstream dictionary definition for virtually all of its history. Democracies have used various forms of weighting to address some issues that can arise with direct democratic methods.

Now while the US Electoral College might be one of the more flawed of those weighting methods, I'd argue there was a lot more wrong with the US that someone like Trump could be a serious candidate for POTUS in the first place. He'd run for president before, but had always been considered something of a fringe/joke choice.

Breaking News. The New York Times is reporting Elon Musk is visiting the Pentagon later today for a briefing. At this briefing Musk will get access to top secret U.S. plan for potential war with China.

This shows how fucked up America is. How can an unelected person get access to this info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Screenshot_20250321-012738.png

Well that's handy for china

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,560 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

A private citizen gaining control over stuff like that…

Other countries will look at this and have serious concerns with sharing information with the states. They really are isolating themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I don't think that's the case. Pretty sure he came into the 2nd term with a net positive rating of around +7 or so, which was one of, if not the lowest approval ratings ever for any president starting their term.

And I'm pretty sure that the positive approval was eroded within a month and that he'd already reached a net negative approval rating.

Can't validate that 100% any more because Disney seems to have shut down 538. I imagine there's some other poll aggregator out there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,243 ✭✭✭jackboy

Do you think they will show him the real plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

"Canada is a nasty Country. Nastier than Russia."

Trump literally expresses himself like a 6 year old child.

We have a 6 year old child as leader of the free World.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

Oh no I now have Sméagol voice in my head for Trump

“Nasty nasty hobbitzes, my precious Russia”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,974 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Promoting hatred, some of his fanatics are probably planning on killing some mounties now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

I mean the last time I checked Canada had not invaded anyone, or struck civilians with missiles/drones…But clearly Trump knows better than everyone else 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,353 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

A democratically elected government is more offensive to you than POTUS platforming an Irish rapist on our national holiday? Our country most definitely has issues but things like that being normalized is horrific.

Also you can keep calling Donald Trump a winner. But the man had 4 years in denial over losing an election. Upon getting elected, his winning strategy is to cause a global recession and feck over all his allies.