Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Marrooned

It’s not officially a Leinster gaa run competition,it’s just something KK came up with. The final is in Nowlan as it was last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭KK36

Much better from Kilkenny on Saturday. Hunger and workrate were up but more importantly we got lots of shots away. 0-29 is very impressive and will win most games. Don't know exactly but I'd say we had 7/8 different scorers from play which is excellent. Lawler Donnelly Mackessy and R Reid made a huge difference. I loved the way we played in the long diagonal ball and stopped the running game.

Positive shoots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭neverbet

That would probably account for your failure to comment on our best performance of the league. It proves nothing other than what we have we have. Hardly managements fault nothing is coming through from underage. Lawlor, Richie Reid, Donnelly, Mackessy , and Luke Hogan made the difference v Limerick as opposed to the Tipp game. I find it incredible KK in the last years of Cody and the couple of years since have been so competitive at the top end of league and championship bearing in mind the lack of emerging talent and how some on here view our regulars. Harry Shine in the few minutes he had wing forward did show real promise and there is hope for him making it.The others as I have said before are good triers but not good enough as yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭KK36

Luke Hogan is one that the management need to use a lot more. He's very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

Niall gave a great interview on clubber after Thurles bet Flannans in the Harty cup this year and paid a very emotional tribute to the late Dillon Quirke who on his Harty cup winning team in 2015.

I know people who live in Nenagh and they said he is a very genuine and pure hurling man Niall, I was delighted for him yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭jamesbond2022

He’s one of our only forwards that makes very intelligent runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 kilkenny123456

Yes Nialls a great man. Lives and breeds hurling. Great scenes last night with the Kilkenny men lifting the cup in Urlingford before they crossed the border in Fennor Hill

where exactly do you think I am wrong in that statement or is it just a cheap shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 WibblyWobblyWonderman

Senior League Championship Draw

Group A

Dicksboro v Lisdowney

Shamrocks Ballyhale v Bennettsbridge

O’ Loughlin Gaels v Glenmore

Group B

Mullinavat v Erin’s Own

Thomastown v Tullaroan

Clara v Garigue Ballycallan

Group A will be great watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Handy reintroduction to senior for Lisdowney

You are quick to overreact to defeat and call for managements heads, it took a Tipp visitor to this thread to call you out and BTW Mark Dowling is a Boro man and pride in, and loyalty to one of your own shouldn't just extend to winning All Irelands.

Thomastown deservedly won the SHC last year but I think OLG could win it out this year.

Butler, Lawlor, Deegan, Molloy, Mackessy, Hogan and Wall are all top class hurlers,

Add in M Bergin, C. Heary and D. Fogarty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

Luke hogan has potential and id also like to see him being tried more. He is ahead of drennan and dunne who will be worried when the panel is being cut and the 4 lads come back along with Owen wall,Tom phelan. I wonder should more be done looking at players mid twenties and trying to get a few years out of them. Tom phelan had a great year but was unlucky with injury. Potentially Stephen donnelly,Jordan molloy,Shane Murphy could start a championship match.

Loughlins were most peoples favourites last year but got their timing wrong and were flat when the final came around. Its so important to come right at the right time. Management will learn from this. I'd expect Henry to get a bounce out of the shamrocks who are expected to get a few of their travellers home.

Disappointing heading into the last round of the league and only one game matters cork and galway to see who plays tipp in the final. At the beginning of the league these 3 teams were well touted as teams who would really like to win it. Cahill was under pressure to have a good league after making hard calls and a few lean years. Galway with a early exit last year and cork hurting after coming so close. It will be intresting to see will tipp be able to keep it going. Its very easy see they have a huge amount done. Cork will still need to tighten up in defence. Waterford are coming in under the radar and if they get everyone back they will be no pushover. Themselves and tipp will back themselves with clare struggling and their star man out.

Oh Paddy if only you knew.I really don’t know where you’re coming from with this I stand by the statement that Lyng isn’t up to the job on all the points I previously mentioned. Do you think he is?you also singled me out WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭me89

Are teams not allowed to be criticised for playing poorly?? The league up to the limerick game was very disappointing and criticism for the lack of effort at home to Tipp was definitely deserved.

Hopefully they had a few words with themselves after Tipp and Limerick was the turning point, Roll on Easter Saturday and we will hopefully see a repeat performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Krazy gang

Cork should beat galway and go all out to win the final. They haven't won a national title in 20 years, or munster since 2018. Tipp realistically won't win munster or the all ireland, so they won't turn down a league.

You're right about waterford. Plenty talent and experience there. Plus they don't play until the 2nd weekend, which is at home to a clare team who will be coming off a bruising battle against cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 bostonbeauty

I know I’m probably not going out on a limb here but I do believe the stars are aligning for cork this year to to take it that one step further and end the drought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭randd1

If the refs seriously clamp down on the throw, they might be in bother, their whole gameplan is built around the run and throw, and they have the greyhounds to do it better than anyone else.

If not, they'll be hard to stop, no-one has their pace, and their striking form distance is prolific. Their defence still has the ability to regularly part like the Red Sea, so if you can shut them out from scoring a goal, they can be beaten.

The deserved favourites as of now.

I agree cork and limerick are the main culprits when it comes to the thrown ball but i don’t see any major clamp down in the championship unfortunately. I think cork have added a bit of attitude to the back but do agree they need to tighten up a little more

Cork appear to have Limericks number based on last year. Fact Limerick couldn't beat Cork in the semi despite having huge incentive to do so after the naked (and understandable!) triumphalism in PUC earlier in the summer, suggests Limerick are seriously on the wane. They're still capable of beating seven shades of shite out of teams, including us, but they're definitely diminished.
    Ironically though I'd rather face Cork than Limerick if we do get to the latter stages.

I agree I would rather meet cork than limerick in the later stages don’t know if it’s psychological or a match up thing

If Limerick get to the AI final, they’d be very hard to beat at full tilt.

You’d want them gone at semi final stage.

Whereas I think Kilkenny would have the beating of Cork or Clare if they met them in an AI final this year.

I heard today he will be ok , bad cramp, don't take it as gospel. I also believe despite his best efforts to get right Tom Phelan may play no part for us this year. Conahy man told me tendonitis in the knees. Really tough on the Chap who would have a lot to offer and is committed to the last.

I bring ye more good news tonight. The minors bet Tipp tonight in Thurles KK 1-24 Tipp 0-18

That's good. Tipp are out in Minor championship next week I think? That result won't go down well, they fancy themselves in that, and they think the U20 is a formality for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Amazing you know what ALL tipp supporters think. I from tipp haven't heard or talked to 1 person that said the u20s is a formality. Most think we have decent team but are worried about Cummins tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelside

these challenges come with a health warning, didn’t kk beat tipp by over 20 points a couple of weeks before the minor ai last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelside

Waterford the ones to beat this year at minor level