Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭randd1

A bad day.

I just hope the three deserved red cards won’t be used as an excuse to cover that in general, once again, we were far behind the opposition in terms of first touch, S&C, shooting from distance, forward movement and ball forward. When it was a contest before it became farce, Tipp were toying with us.

A word needs to be had with the three lads sent off, every one of them was avoidable and were simply down to acting the gurrier. The Tipp sending off wouldn’t have have been a red either only for a theatrical dive, if that’s our behaviour then Lyng needs to have words.

A bad day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Carey was silly but he did get a clip across the face guard going down for the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Ah come on, you could argue they were all avoidable but Jordan Molloy was very unlucky in my opinon,i t was an attempt at a hook that went slightly wrong and there wasn't much in Careys either, hardly acting the gurrier . Blanchfield's was stupid alright but not the worst offence I've seen either. I didn't like Kenny going down so easily but I think most of todays red cards were down to the incident in the Galway-Limerick game last night.

It ruined the game anyway and its impossible to analyse either teams performance properly really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭hurlaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Tipp could have, should have annihilated us today in the first 10 mins.but dropped the ball or did something stupid everytime. Posters are right and for once we all agree Lyng and his team have to go as well as the county board who insisted on picking him for another year despite no progress being made in the previous two years.I’m absolutely disgusted with the whole set up, we’ll talk later.

Don’t think he deserved a straight red no

O Connor and deegan going at it on the ground and no cards given for that

Once he sent off the tipp player he lost the plot completely

It wasn’t a dirty game and tipp were popping the ball around us so much it never really got a chance to be a physical game as we were chasing shadows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Too easy say you can't analyse that game because of the reds. Blown off the field in the first half. Puck outs, both defending and on our own were a shambles. No tracking of off the ball runners, no movement inside, no creativity and either no plan or a group of players who are not clear on the plan.

Year 3 and it's simply not good enough.

It's not all on management as the players are actually very very poor across the field and they seem incapable of thinking on the fly but ultimately the buck stops with Lyng and it's worse we're getting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Ah yeh, I'd agree with all of that but it turned into such a farce in the second half its hard to make sense of any of it so soon after the game. No doubt though we showed ourselves to be a very badly coached team again and as you say apart from all the brainless stuff (again) there doesnt seem to be any kind of a game plan at all.

Post edited by Charlie69 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Ompala

From an outsider (Tipp), I wouldn't just dismiss todays game due to the 4 red cards, yes the 2nd half was a total write off as Tipp didn't know what to do with the ball and Kk had to go ultra defensive, but focus on the 1st half.

Every team can have an off day, but Kk style of play was long ball in, and at that didn't put their best high fielder TJ Reid on the edge of the square vs a very green full back line.

In contrast Tipp with 2 new players in the full forward line played in diagonal balls as they know it suits their personnel better. Kk took an age to score from play. The players may not be there, but tactically they were outdone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Marrooned

The cards weren’t the difference we were bet hands down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭forchange

sorry James everything I have said is fact

Cody left Kilkenny hurling in a terrible state

Even after your own comments you question lyng

Molloy done ok against cork just ok today he not so good is he a county midfielder I don’t think so

Reading other comments everyone is questioning the tactics and the manager and his use off Doyle told me he not good enough

The funny thing is this question off the s/c this is only a excuse rather than say some off our players not good enough

If the kerry man is good enough put him in centre back his position and see how he does

Just because what I have said is fact and you don’t like it doesn’t mean I am bitter

I have as much love for hurling as any kilkenny man the biggest problem with kilkenny hurling is people pride like yours can’t accept we are way off the top he have only being hanging around because Leinster hurling so bad

People need to realise when we drew with Carlow in the championship showed where we are

You talk about disrespecting players

Look at the disrespect you should towards one off the greatest off all time in playing and management

I played hurling against Ollie he was one off the greatest in every way

All I pinted out was the way he brought kilkenny hurling from no place to all Ireland champions

Paddy Buggy resigned as chairman because he could not see kilkenny win all Ireland he said that in a interview compare that where lyng has brought use he got job from county board with at least 5 people with better cv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭droppingball

Clare getting a right trimming here so we are staying up anyway.

The puckouts and they way we brought the ball out from the backs showed we are not working on anything in training. There is no plan and we never follow up a pass. We stayed in the game with frees only before the sendings off. Our tracking and marking was so poor, tommy walsh was so far off his man and let lads run by him. One of the goals was embarrassing for Tommy. Hard to see where we are going, limerick will expose us even further.

I have no interest in the results, wanted us to experiment with new guys but when there is no semblance of what we are working on in training it makes us look far worse than we are. We should be drilled to the last but we are getting puck outs over the line and some too high, handpasses in field where there is numbers and no movement inside. All the one in the league but we will get what we deserve in the championship if we don't have a style of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Agree with a lot of the comments on here. First half was shockingly bad. Someone said chasing shadows which is accurate. Tipp had options with every attack and were finding a free man at will. We were way off our man. Huw Lawlors stock went up by virtue of his absence. You have to wonder what the instructions are in terms of feeding the forwards. For example Deegan received a short pass in front of us in the first half and had a simple pass to Mossy who had acres of space and was looking for the pass. Instead Deegan hits a diagonal ball high in the air. TJ actually won the ball but it was 100% the wrong option from Deegan.

The referee definitely lost the plot with the red cards but we were second best all day.

Clare are getting an even bigger beating off Cork so presumably that means relegation is avoided?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

On the Puck outs, I see Herrity up in the stand in the subs with earpiece and mike (obviously in contact with Cahill) and in our subs was PJ Kenny and Lyng on the sideline with a bloody biro 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

1-5 from play. Mossy and Dunne the only scorers from play. Only 7 wides from play and 2 short so in 70+ minutes of hurling we took 15 shots. 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 am2418

Jordan Molloy was excellent last week in cork, the pick of the 4 midfielders, he was very unlucky today was never a second yellow.Its like you just get enjoyment from cutting the back off lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

I think if Wexford beat Limerick, Clare beat Tipp and Limerick beat Kilkenny it will go to points difference

My problem with you is your only appear here after a defeat ramming the same old rhetoric down peoples throat everyone is useless 

Win lose or draw il pop on and give an opinion 

I might have an opinion of a player good or bad but I’d like to think I’m never disrespectful

I appreciate how hard they work to play for Kilkenny and no I player ever goes out to play a bad game 

Saying stuff like a player should have kept going down the tunnel or went to the supermarket etc after the cork game is disrespectful 

There’s no balance to what you say no credit to a player if they play well 

Rightly or wrongly lyng got the job after winning our first underage title in a few years most county boards in the country would have given an underage manager the senior job in the same circumstances 

It does look like lyng is not the man to take us forward 

Everyone knows on here we’re along way off 

But this is a forum for debate not declaring your right all the time it’s not a competition

I ll still stand by what I said recently you come across as bitter and happy to see kk struggling  your attitude towards the current squad and players is horrible 

You should be disappointed after todays game but i get the sense your happier we lost so you could come on and say how right you were all along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭The_Tank

It’s not as if Lyng has been handed some golden generation and has mishandled it. He mined an u20 with what turns out to be a very average group. None of those players have stepped up, even in clubs. I’m minded of Enda McEvoys comments to the effect that he wouldn’t believe we’ll win an AI until he sees an exciting underage team come through together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Krazy gang

Just listening to Andy comerford on the radio. What an an absolute spoofer. Not refs fault players can't hold thir discipline. Whoever decided to let him on the radio would want to have a rethink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 njcat

Folks taking today's league game far too seriously. Tipp have been playing championship pace hurling in the NHL under Cahill for the past 3 years; yet were burned out in April & May 2023 & 24. This experienced Kilkenny team, Galway & now Clare don't bother peaking until early June. The last few years. Cork look great this NHL but they haven't managed more than 3 great performances in succession for a long time. Limerick are the only team who maintain a high standard every day.

I expect this Kilkenny team will get to a Leinster final and even an AI semi. But they are good enough to compete in an AI final unless the opposition have an off day.

It's important for us fans to support the team, mgr & selectors. They showed enough fight today despite their "usual stage of training program", to give me hope that we may win Leinster and will have a few high quality players showing off the best of Kilkenny skills. TJ and John D showed some lovely touches when their dander was up Huw Lalor adds another dimension to our defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,100 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

This is a frightening mentality to have - If I was a KK man this comment would annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Village87

I agree with a lot of that but the problem is we have not been good enough with this team the last 4/5 years and badly need 4/5 new faces to freshen us up and maybe make us contenders. We are lucky we can coast through Leinster and hopefully make the semi final again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 njcat

Agreed with the 4 red cards; all for head and in Tynan's case attempted head tackle. These unpaid amateur players need to learn discipline and care for each other. The GAA doesn't offer them long term health and long term care insurance. If fans want a full blooded game then let them pay 3 times the ticket prices so that the unfortunate pkayers who get seriously injured in tje process have the GAA insurance cover for their lives instead of putting that huge financial & support liabilty on the players and their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭usualstripes

The fight only really appeared when we went down to 12 men.

Stupid and undisciplined from the 3 lads getting reds but it was only after that we started hunting opposition. Huw missed badly but we don't have enough forwards that can run on to a ball and make it stick. Surely Owen Wall deserved 15 minutes today. Marty Murphy still out. Not sure what frame of mind Cody and mullen will have on their return. Don't know what the story with Tom phelan is either.

I dont agree with giving a forward a start and then dropping him for 2 matches only to give him another start. Stick with the new lads for 4 or 5 matches and see what they can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

As a Clareman I'd be worried for both Clare and Kilkenny. Clare will struggle to get out of Munster. That's obvious now.

Kilkenny have gone back on last year. Iv never seen a really ill disciplined Kilkenny team before today . And that's not just the reds. I'm talking about tracking and support play. Blanchfield is a disappointment . I dont think he's gonna make it centre back. Poor decisions.. lacks power ..big and rangy, why does he do the big ego centric strokes.. but the backs are OK when Huw Lalor is there. The forwards are the issue . This Tipperary team contrary to what people think will probably not get out of Munster . They get walloped by Limerick ..cant see them beating Cork and Clare could turn them over.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Village87

Waterford are not so bad either. They would be in a Leinster final at least on our side. We are blessed we can start building from the Leinster championship. Munster do not have that luxury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

100% consider yourselves lucky. Clare have to go to Walsh Park. They've got more skill than Clare and Limerick put together so if their heads and bodies are right you never know with Waterford . The problem Kilkenny have is exactly that safety net you speak of. Ye can relax and rebuild confidence slowly and get to the leinster final. In my opinion real change will only occur in kilkenny ,can only occur when ye recieve a big beating in championship. That's when Kilkenny people will go 'Halt Lyng. Your out..player A,B,c out ..not good enough ". Until then it's like Deja vu all over again. Ye might get 10 leinsters in a row and still be no closer to Liam McCarthy

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

what people think Tipp are getting out of Munster? Tipp fans think they are at least 12 months away from that scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 kinghenry1

Very poor performance today against what i would describe as a poir Tipp team who havent a hope of getting out of munster.Hugh Lawlor will make a big difference to the backs on his return as will Eoin Cody Adrian Mullen a fit John Donnelly and maybe one of Eoin Wall Tom Phealen or even young Marty Murphy to the forwards for the championship .The Limerick game is a non event now that Clare and Wexford are relegated on the head to head so not all doom and gloom just yet lads.