Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fighter jets for the Air Corps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2025/03/04/ireland-may-at-last-be-waking-up-from-its-suicidal-course/

Article from todays Telegraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,243 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I think I speak for everyone here when I say, f*** the Daily Torygraph and everything to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,443 ✭✭✭roadmaster

The Tranche 1 Tyhpoons that are due to be retired shortly which are mainly just air defence models and not multi mission, I wonder what sort of price package would it be to get them.

Interestly i was listening to Declan Power one of our better defence analysits yesterday and he was saying he thinks that we could go from zero to operating Fast Jets in 5 years if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,568 ✭✭✭sparky42

from comments on some of the U.K. defence sites forget it, they have basically be cannibalised for usable spare for the rest of the fleet once they were earmarked for disposal. As for time frames, I’m sure we could get something in a relatively short period, depending on airframes and support from friendly nations, but as ever it comes down to whether the government of the day wants to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭thomil

The big issue I see is staffing. We have a small cadre of pilots and instructors on the PC-9 that are likely the first in line for fast jet training if and when a deal is signed. The question is how many of those can be sent for training without negatively impacting basic flying training over here. Or would we outsource the entire training pipeline to whichever country we end up contracting with?

Then, there's the ground staff. Whilst I understand that the deal mentioned in the Irish Times over the weekend mentions maintenance by a commercial company, I presume basic line maintenance, pre-, and post flight handling and inspection of aircraft, etc. would still be done by Defence Forces personnel. The same would naturally go for all external security of the new fighter base. Is the headcount available for that, or can it be generated quickly enough?

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Regarding base security, I'd hazard that it could be managed by the 12th infantry battalion out of Sarsfield Barracks in Limerick with perhaps even some opportunities for RDF units to step up to more duties.

The maintenance and ops work will of course need a significant degree of training for Air Corps but similarly to Saudi and the Gulf states, much of the real work will be done by contractors. We have to ensure though, that our cadre of officers and NCO's are trained to the same standard and work alongside those contractors. Rather than just being uniformed decorative rubber stamps.

On the pilot training, I'd be very much in the contract it out camp. We can operate fast jets with LiFT and specialised training via whomever we buy the airframes from. Eurofighter, Rafale & Gripen all have good training programmes already in play.

We don't need to build or buy capacity for LiFT and it shortens the time to having Irish pilots trained and deployed by a huge margin. It also reduces Capex and risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭purplepanda

I really can't take Ruth Dudley Edwards seriously with her anti Irish diatribes over many years.

She borrows valid opinion points regarding Irish defence policy that have already been mentioned many times over the decades & certainly adds no further insight to the debate.

Yet she still manages to insert her anti Irish prejudices into every article she writes.

Her opinion will go certainly go down well with Tory types, & other fellow forelock tuggers like "Sir" Bob Geldof.

The Torygraph always been a vile anti Irish rag.

Screenshot_20250305_151407_Maps.jpg

There you go, one air station. And me a town planner and all. Excuse the roughness, I'm on the DART using my finger.

Red - secure outer compound, electronic and sentry security, 5 metre double layer fencing, buried palisade, not wire.

Yellow - extent of new aprons and hard standing. A mix of concrete and permeable paving sections. The control of flooding consequences of this work will have to be carefully managed, with interceptor drains, soak pits and upgraded storm sewers.

Azure - main construction. Hardened main hangar and operations building, including crew accommodation, simulators, gyms, maintenance halls and staff offices. Solar array on roof. Azure dots indicative hardened individual aircraft shelters away from main unit. Also new road access from a widened local Ballycally road and taxiway to main runway 06/24.

Separate decisions to be made on satellite buildings for fire operations, armaments storage, fuelling, service vehicle garages etc, depending on what commonality would be achieved with existing Shannon Airport facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

I would add in a separate parallel taxiway system, as otherwise aircraft would be backtracking the runway (especially for 06 departures) or having to cross the runway to access the taxiways on the east side, which would not be compatible with efficient mixed civil and military operations.

Post edited by EchoIndia on

why the feck do they have that hag talking about defence? I mean it would be one thing if it was their defence correspondent, it would still be a Telegraph shitshow, but at least he might have an idea on the subject. RDE, she’s just full of shite full stop.

That seems overkill at this stage, if I’m honest. What I would add to Larbre’s overall design is an alert facility on, or near the disused runway between the threshold of Runway 24 and the Atlantic Aviation Group’s hangar. It’s not a big build, just two hardened shelters and an accommodation building for the on-duty pilots, ground crew, and a handful of guards to keep watch over the facility. That eliminates the entire taxi issue for the QRA fighters.

Also, come to think of it, most modern fighter jets are insanely powerful. Even if you ditch a separate alert facility, an intersection take-off from the approximate location of the taxiway in Larbre’s layout would give you around 1600 meters of runway if taking off on 24. It’s only 1200 meters if taking off on 06, and you’d probably wake everyone between Bunratty and Newmarket-on-Fergus if you did, but performance-wise, it should actually work out. Eurocontrol’s Aircraft Performance Database lists the approximate take-off run for a Typhoon at 700 meters, a Gripen at 800 meters and a Mirage 2000 at only 450 meters. I’ve linked the website below, for anyone who wants to take a gander:

https://contentzone.eurocontrol.int/aircraftperformance/default.aspx?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Of course there are lots of permutations that can be considered but in my view a degree of future-proofing may be wise, lest we end up with a less-than-ideal set-up and the consequential process of trying to add to facilities that should be fit-for-purpose from the outset. Incorporating military infrastructure into a sizeable civil airport will presumably be less straightforward than doing same on DF property, especially given the national propensity for turf wars between different State bodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,443 ✭✭✭roadmaster

Former Air Corps Pilot on Morning Ireland was using the Czeach republic as an example.

12 Gripens @ €70 Million a year (lease) but more interesting only 25 Pilots. I taught they would need more.

They're only single-seat variants, so with a max of 4 on operational standby, 25 pilots is probably plenty to maintain readiness, though 3 pilots per aircraft in service would be optimum.

It's interesting to consider Czechia in the context of comparable militaries and budgets etc, because those guys have just put a down payment on a €6.6 Billion contract for outright purchase of 24 x Lockheed F-35A.

Their population is twice what ours is, yet their economy is only 60% the size. Even so, they already spend 2% GDP on defence, with a pathway enacted to be at 3% by 2030.

You could argue that geography is a bigger factor for them in defence provision, but then, they don't have a million square kilometres of ocean and airspace to look after, full of who knows what nefarious actors. So really we are no naturally safer than Czechia is, just different. And also they are in NATO, so they do have a natural buffer of strong militaries all around them.

Czechia is a fine example of how not to eff around and just get on and do whats necessary in this climate.

A decent article here on various implementations of QRA across NATO and the requirements and needs to ensure effective response and cover.

Jane's have a few decent articles in print regarding the force structure and in particular pilot requirements but I can't find any .pdf of them.

RUSI have a few interesting papers on the topic, in particular on NATO V Russia and their air operations and tactical approaches to QRA. Russia tends to come off fairly poorly despite their "super" radars 😉

Of particular interest to Ireland's needs though IMO? Is SAAB's marketing and it's focus on availability and efficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

https://www.aerotime.aero/articles/irish-air-corps-fighter-jets

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

With the expansion almost solely focussed on fighter jets and Shannon airport. What is the future for Baldonnel in this new jet era?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Qaanaaq

I would rather see us getting drones than fighter jets. You won't have to deal with any Top Gun egos😁

But seriously what is the main threat to Ireland that we should be focused on? For me i think that the threat is going to be primarily to the undersea cables off the western coast. I think Irelands role in the future defense of Europe should be to protect those cables. Its a vast area to patrol and we also need an intercept capability.

Let the existing fighter squadron's of Europe look after air superiority.

Also why couldn't a detachment of French AF Rafales not be based in SNN if required? The US has been basing aircraft all over Europe for decades, why can't Europe consider doing the same thing?

I'm all for increasing our military capability but we should be investing in the right capabilities that are really needed for our defense. I think our money could be spent more wisely than fighter jets.

While UAVs are developing at pace I can't think of any that are yet supersonic and has endurance, and they wouldn't be cheap either. Let alone issues like using them in a air policing role.

As to main threat, I don't think you can isolate one area from another, the Bears for example are used for communications with submarines as we've seen off the West Coast before as well. As for "why can't Europe do", well they do actually, European fighter take part in policing/patrols in other nations from Iceland to the Baltic's, however if you think the current histrionics from members of the press/public/politicians about changing the Triple Lock is something, just wait until a government floats a permanent "foreign" military deployed in Shannon. "Holy Shitshow" doesn't even start to cover it.

A LoA3 budget or more for any reasonable period of time would allow us the budget for more than just one area of investment

Which Drone system would you suggest for the Air-policing role? Drones certainly have a massive role to play in our sea surveillance and security needs but there is nothing, not the Kizilelma nor even the US Anduril & General Atomics CCA that are capable of the Air-policing or QRA mission.

Basing a partner nation's jets in SNN is of course a great means of improving our own defence. Yet, it will still require the same alterations to the airfield & apron as if we were operating our own jets. A large capital investment that is part & parcel of being a sovereign nation.

There aren't enough fighters in Europe currently to provide adequately for its own QRA and defence, let alone assist in defending an EU member who is adverse to spending money on equipping it's own forces sufficiently. As much as European solidarity matters? It's also a 2 way street, we must pull our weight.

We can do that via proven aircraft, systems & tactics in place for the Air-policing & QRA role, or we can continue to sit on our hands muttering platitudes to obsolescence and the next big thing.

Only one of those choices provides for either our security or our European partners.

All valid points, although the Top Gun stereotype was on its way out even when that movie originally debuted in the 1980s. Granted, fighter pilots will always be competitive, but in today's threat environment, teamwork is equally important. For what it's worth, Maverick would have been grounded, brought before a court martial, and run out of the Navy just for his antics in the first twenty minutes of that movie.

Anyway, getting back to the real world here. Regarding drones, they're honestly a bit overhyped, certainly for a country like Ireland. For starters, operational UCAVs suitable for these types of operations are at least a decade away at this point, if not longer. And even then, it'll be a long time before these become available for small countries like Ireland. In addition, these drones will run into the same issue as maritime surveillance UAVs: A lack of range. Once there's no more line-of-sight connection with its control stations, these UAVs will be cut off. This isn't a big issue for countries like the United States with its massive network of communications satellites that you can bounce signals off of. Unfortunately, Ireland has no satellites of its own and whilst commercial satellites are okay for communicating with Irish Naval Service ships at sea, the data throughput for drones is going to be significantly higher, making this a non-starter. Then, there's the issue of signal lag. Quite frankly, a drone operator will never be able to react as quickly as on-scene aircrew.

As for your point of having other European nations base fighter jets in Ireland instead, this runs into a number of problems. The first is that every major European nation is currently scrambling to bring its own armed forces to wartime readiness conditions: Germany, France, Italy, hell, even Austria, something I'd never thought I'd see in my lifetime! As such, they'll likely not have any aircraft they're willing to base abroad. The second, and more important, issue is that other EU member states have simply had enough of Ireland's laissez-faire attitude towards defence and its reliance on other countries for protection. A lot of the defence U-turn we've seen in recent weeks may have been due to the relation that there's now a madman in the White House, but make no mistake, EU pressure has had a lot to do with it as well. Any Irish attempt to request some sort of air policing arrangement would be met with a swift, firm, and not necessarily diplomatic No.

Finally, with regards to the cost argument, this is something that I ended up recently looking up as part of an argument I had on FB of all places. Roadmaster mentioned the Czech Gripen arrangement, where the Czech government is leasing a squadron of SAAB Gripen (12 single seaters and 2 double seaters) for the tune of €70 million per year. Whilst I admit that this is quite a stack of money at first glance, it's worth noting that Ireland is spending more than that just to support Horse Racing Island. Quite frankly, unless there's a sudden resurgence in cavalry charges just over the horizon, I know which money is better spent.

Screenshot 2025-03-06 at 12.01.39.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Grassy Knoll

If we go down the fighter jet road, for a range of well argued reasons, Shannon would certainly work (tip of the hat to Larbe for his design work, it has my vote). It has excellent, existing infrastructure, land and air capacity for infrastructure and actual activity, proximity to our EEZ where it would have its main policing role, a lot of the inevitable NIMBY issues would be lessened, the mid west region offers a recruitment pool etc, etc

IMHO Baldonnel would still have an important function for the fixed wing, heli, and VIP travel along with training and tech support. It remains a strategically positioned asset close to our existing training centers, I'd be very slow to sell and relocate to Dublin airport for example. The airline traffic would mean military would be second fiddle out there. It could run the risk of the DF having no dedicated military airfield, because good luck trying to turn to a greenfield site.

Baldonnel while it would have some limitations, it should remain as military.

I hear what you're saying, but one of the advantages of using Shannon (or any other civilian airport) is that most of the infrastructure is already in place. And to put it bluntly: Shannon airport is criminally underutilised. Its existing taxiway system is capable of handling a much higher number of flights than it currently gets, or is likely to get in the future. There's plenty of space to build a full-size taxiway system north of Runway 06/24 in the future if required, but for now, that's a level of expenditure that's just not needed in my opinion.

As for your point about a lack of cooperation between state bodies and thus potential conflict between the Defence Forces and either AirNav, Shannon Airport, or both, once again, I see your point but once again, I don't think it applies here. When it comes down to it, Shannon Airport is a commercial enterprise. It cares about revenue first and foremost. As such, it is likely to view the Defence Forces as just another client. If Shannon Air Base ever really comes to pass, you can expect that a significant part of the deal will be a financial contribution to the running of the airport and provision of ATC services, which is all that Shannon Airport will likely care about. As for AirNav, they have a vested interest in keeping air traffic over Ireland running smoothly, so they'll likely view the presence of a fighter squadron and a Defence Forces run radar system as a net benefit from the start.

Its 100% win-win for Shannon and for the DF.

They would, no doubt, get a contract fee for runway access and shared facilities. Shannon would also benefit from certain airfield enhancements as a result of the air station build.

And you could argue most importantly, you'll be adding at least 150 people and their families permanently to the local economy, with money to spend and services to use. On the other side of that equation, how good would the opportunity be for a young service person to set up home in a far cheaper market, with a wonderful environment and great communities. Average price for a 3/4 bed house in Ennis, Newmarket and Sixmilebridge is in the low 300k. Certainly makes a DF salary look a lot more shiny than it does in the Dublin commuter belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Shannon won't be making big demands, they're already desperate for it to happen. They made a 9 page submission to the CoDF advocating for the Air Corp to set up there;

Just been reading up on some industry figures released by Dassault this week.

They are certainly gung-ho to take on more business in the environment, even to open a whole new line in India to build the carrier capable variants for the Navy.

However.... Last year they built 21 Rafales. This year they'll build 25. Within their current resources, if they really push capacity,they can deliver 33 in 2026.

Their current backlog of orders is 220 units, or a 6 year wait....

I've stuck some money into Dassault this week, the day before their results. I've some other money spread around other Euro Defence stocks too and unfortunately all of it invested since late January, I wish I'd got in a touch earlier.

The Indian fighter tender has a requirement for local production and technology transfer. It'll be huge for whoever gets it and given how well the Rafale has done there so far? It's hard to see past them winning it. A lot of links already built between Dassault and India and French defence industry in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭mupper2

New military hospital's going in there and the IR-SOF ATU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 802 ✭✭✭ricimaki

It is worth noting that whilst they have 6 years of production guaranteed, that doesn't translate to a 6 year wait for new orders. Of all of the aircraft they can build each year, they will assign a certain amount to each customer. If they receive an order for more aircraft, they will likely have some unassigned production slots where they can fit those in. A key part of negotiations is which slots you get. I imagine the French would be happy to delay some of their own orders if it means getting more customers. Remember, it's in both Dassault's and France's best interest to keep the production line open and running at capacity for as long as possible.

The same applies to commercial aircraft. The A320 family has a delivery backlog of over 7200 aircraft, with a production rate of around 50 per month, giving 12 years of production. They are still receiving new orders, and will deliver some of those new orders in a lot less than 12 years.

The backlog does mean it will take longer to get, but it also gives us some negotiating power. Realistically its probably a moot point, as the UK have a far greater desire for Eurofighter Typhoon customers (the line will close if they don't get more orders in the next 2 years), and both aircraft are likely too expensive for Ireland.