Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭randd1

Most games have around 100 hand-passes in them, you can be sure that anywhere between 40-80 of them are throws, depending on the teams involved. Just as many breaches of the steps rule, if not more. At least 20-30 instances of pulling/dragging a game ignored.

80-150 frees ignored a game, and that's not including frees are actually given, which is usually in the 12-20 for scores from dead balls a game, never mind defensive frees.

Albeit the vast majority of these fouls not given, the steps and throws, are technical. But given there's that much technical fouls going on, can the sport be said to be of a higher quality than ever if technique is so poor? Or is it that it's not that the technique is poor, it's that steps and throw, it's a basis for attack/defence for most teams.

Use a few throws to get out of trouble in defence, play the ball forward, pop a few throws to create a shooting opportunity. It's systemic abuse of the rules by teams to create scoring chances, and anything systemic to break the rules is cheating.

Lads barging/charging because they now if they get bottled up they can just throw the ball to a teammate. That's a genuine tactic, we see it the whole time. That's a deliberate plan to break the rules, which is cheating.

And no-one uses a regulation hurl. Again, cheating. Simple as that, illegal equipment is cheating.

None of this means that hurling isn't massively entertaining, it is, some games are epic entertainment. Even the cheating is entertaining at times as it provides a furious flow to games. But it is cheating nonetheless. There's a big difference between sporting entertainment, which hurling most definitely is and quite frankly, some of the best sporting entertainment you will see anywhere any week of the year, and sporting integrity, which hurling clearly lacks due to the amount of rule breaking and systemic cheating going on.

No-one wants to see another 100 frees a game to what there already is, but any sport that has to ignore 100 or so frees a game, ignores a style of play that amounts to systemic cheating, and the use of illegal equipment, well that sport needs to have a look at itself.

Completely disagree on the Conor O'Donovan proposal.

It would have completely removed the throw from the sport, an action which has become a major problem in the sport and the associated actions with it.

On a practical level, it would have taken a rule that was ambiguous an open to interpretation based on the person, to a rule that was black and white, had no room for interpretation or ambiguity, which refs, players, managers, supporters, and pundits would know exactly what the standard is, and which could be implemented at all grades and ages in unison. Less ambiguity and interpretation is always a good thing in sport.

That O'Donovan proposal would have been the saving grace of the sport. The main reason it didn't pass is because proponents of the modern, risk-free possession based hurling saw a challenge to the excel sheet micro-managed way the game is being played, and were worried that without the ability to throw the ball around to keep possession, they'd have play a more open but less controllable style of hurling. And control freak managers and coaches don't want anything that might bring a bit of chaos and openness into a sport, because it takes control away from them. You know, the type of chaos and openness that a sport like hurling, at it's best, thrives on (think Kilkenny/Tipp games from 08-16).

It would have taken the ball out of the hand and put it back on the hurl. At the end of the day, the sport is called hurling, not handling.

And not to be flippant, but if lads can't adjust to playing the ball off the hurl or using fast hands to pass the ball without the constant throwing, or not be allowed to barge into opponents with the safety net of a throw, then it doesn't say much about their skill level.

Post edited by randd1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭tibruit

"Thankfully that Donovan proposal wasn`t carried. Would ruin the game."

I couldn`t agree less. The game is already ruined and nothing is being done to address the problems. What we had in Cork the other night was a running throwfest. The most important requirement for the modern hurler is that he can follow a gym program, run and throw. Unfortunately a generation has arrived that has accepted that as the norm. Hurling ability is no longer the prerequisite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Nedflanders02

The refs are in a no win situation, blow for the throwing and constant fouling that is going on in the game and they are accused of ruining the game and turning it into a frees contest, don't blow for it and the situation gets worse as teams will keep doing it as they are getting away with it. Refs are caught between a rock and a hard place as no matter what they do they will be criticised for it. Personally the way modern intercounty hurling is going it's getting harder watch and from our point of view I definitely think that's a contributing part to the poor attendances at our games, not the main reason by a long distance but it's part of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelside

totally agree - but why didn’t the KK CB back it unambiguously? A free vote for delegates ffs…it’s not a matter of conscience. The fact that the 3 ‘traditional’ teams didn’t stick together in this gives oxygen to those opposed to the dumbing down of our great sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Throwing and to a lesser extent steps are a huge blight on the game at the moment. I don't think this needs any new rules to sort to be honest, just actual enforcement of the current rules consistently will solve it IMO.

Handpass rule….clear separation of ball and hand, if the player doesn't give clear separation of hand and ball then blow it….Yes refs will be giving away plenty of frees but it needs to be done. Teams won't be long copping on. It's so frustrating to watch on the TV now.

The rule is there…just enforce the bloody thing. I think spectators on the most part would be happy to see this cancer stamped out of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelside

*opposed to the prevention of…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

The biblical level of cheating is what is creating theentertaining spectacle and therefore the reason why the powers that be won’t do anything at present. In injury time in the Limerick/Clare match, Limerick moved the ball out of defence at lightning speed using 5 quick "handpasses"

Every one of them was illegal, three were quite blatantly clear throws. And the commentators marvelled at this slickness. And it is slick, but it is also illegal.

The game has been turned into a spectacularly fast ball game but a large part of that is down to the rules of the game (particularly relating to handpassing, steps, bas size, illegal puckouts, illegal free taking via stealing 5-7 meters balancing ball on stickbefore striking etc) being waived.

This may seem like a golden age for hurling but I feel we are fooling ourselves,much of it is an illusion, the rules waived and a game dumbed down to create a spectacle.

We've tried clampdowns before, they rarely last beyond the first two rounds of the league, usually after a moan-fest on Sunday Sport about how fussy referees are ruining hurling.

The GAA should be making changes based on what's best for the sport, not on what the RTE panel want to see.

But they don't, they acquiesce, particularly the football crew who don't want the hassle of being accused in "interfering with hurling", even if their hurling fans themselves.

So the clampdowns are pointless. And if they're pointless, the only option left is to either pass a rule to legalize the cheating and have it out in the open, or pass rules to prevent it.

No idea. We should have. It was bad form by ourselves, a chance to make a fundamental change for the benefit of hurling and the skills of the game, and we opted out.

Can't figure it out why, most people I know can't stand the constant throwing and think it's brutal to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I agree,… another obvious rule break is Diarmuid Byrnes free taking, he carries the ball forward on the hurling at least a yard or more when rising it before the strike.
    It’s another one where I don’t blame him if refs are going to let him off with it

Post edited by Charlie69 on

I agree, clampdown starts and peeters out over the years….but no reason why the GAA can't make a campaign out of this before league starts and warn fans and players that the actual rule is going to enforced to it's literal meaning so they know well in advance. If they stick it out through the league the whole thing should sort itself. As I said earlier, the rule is there as needed, they just need to consistently enforce it

The idea that a handpass should come from the opposite hand as a solution is a non runner for me. Players need to have the opportunity in a tight situation to move the ball on legally. If a player is swarmed by 3/4 of the opposition they have no hope of moving the ball on if they have to switch hands to handpass.

The rule that is there is quite simple in wording and not rocket science. GAA need to encourage refs to use it correctly. Not giving players benefit of the doubt. If they feel there is no clear separation, then blow it. Guarantee you they'll be right 9/10 if they actually trust themselves.

Yeah, but they've tried that, and we've wound up at the same place each time. At this stage after a few attempts at a clampdown, it's pointless. At this stage, the only way to get rid of the throw is a rule change, repeated abandonments of the clampdowns, combined with endless moaning about refs ruining the flow of the game by having the temerity of applying the rules, have shown that applying the rule as is is not nor will ever work in the modern ball-in-hand possession based game.

As for the alternatives, the pass could be given from bouncing off the hurl either, or you could use the Brick Flick, and then there's the quick swap of the hands, all fairly easy to any hurler at intermediate level. And the trick to getting out of being swarmed would be to not get swarmed in the first place by playing the ball quicker, or more likely, don't barge/charge into the opposition.

Yeah I agree with this, no need for new rules at all , I understand the point randd1 is making re taking the ambiguity out of the refs decision but having to switch hand or pass off the hurl would definitely make it very difficult for a player under pressure to offload and would lead to more swarming and rucks.
    The rule is already there, if the ref can’t see clear separation blow for a free, as said earlier lads wouldn’t be long about doing it properly if it was costing their team. It would have to be made clear to everybody at the start of the year that there was going to be a zero tolerance clampdown on this and the likes of Donal Og could whinge all they like and as said earlier if you need a slow motion replay to see a couple of millimetres of separation it’s a foul, if all the referees were doing it consistently there’s no doubt in my mind it would work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭neverbet

I think a lot of the bitterness is directed at Limerick because of their success. In soccer if a lad scores and is a fingernail offside its a foul, hardly cheating in Rugby a slightly forward pass likewise...often this is decided only after 5 minutes viewing replays. Do we want the same? Donal Og showed after last years All Ireland final handpasses that were penalised were in fact legal. The game is so much faster and a better spectacle now IMO. Our poor attendances, not a problem in Clare ,Cork or Limerick is more down to the fact we are not winning as we used to. Enjoy the game no matter who is best at it. Our turn will come again. Calling the players cheats is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭KK36

Except that Donal Og only showed minimal separation after slowing it right down under a microscope.

Those handpasses weren't legal as there wasn't "A Clear Striking Action" ie what's in the rule. "Clear" being the important word.

Exactly 👍 and you can’t compare being caught offside in soccer where the player is trying his best to stay onside to the blatant breaking of the rules when you throw a ball in hurling…, no comparison at all to be honest.

Well practiced throwing moves have been central to Limerick's success. We've seen it time and time again, to get a grip on the game or kill the momentum of the other team, they have used a sequence of 2, 3 or 4 thrown passes to work the ball out of defence or through the middle third to set up a score. If this rule breaking doesn't cause bitterness, the fact that referees completely ignored their throwing for Championship after Championship has the potential to.

On top of all this, for the majority of the lifetime of this great Limerick team, the media have refused to highlight the role of throwing in their success. Instead we're treated to the strange spectacle of ex-inter county hurlers turned pundits talking us through replays or end of year highlights reels of Limerick scores, with throw after throw going completely uncommented on, despite them being shown in slow motion, in HD, leaving you scratching your head, wondering what exactly is going on as there is no way those pundits don't see the throws. It 2025 now, all teams are throwing the ball, but that is natural evolution where a dominant team has been allowed to use unchecked throwing to achieve success.

So I'd argue that bitterness towards Limerick when it comes to the dicussion around throwing is not due to their success, it is due to their use of systematic throwing to achieve that success and one of their legacies to the game is that unchecked throwing is now rampant

That's exactly the point. There is no clear separation in 90% of handpasses nowadays. If you need ultra slo mo to see it then it's not a legal handpass. Most players do release the ball from their hand for a fraction of a second but continue the motion with their arm which ends up akin to a push shot in snooker. Hand opens and arms moves forward all at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Changing the rule to O'Donovans suggestion immediately cuts out the biggest blight on the game, which is throwing the ball. It's a no brainer. It might lead to more rucks initially while players adapt, but if it preserves the integrity of the game that's a very, very small price to pay.

As someone said, players are deliberately running into opponents now, knowing they probably won't break the tackle but comforted by the fact they can just throw the ball away if held up, and 90% of the time get away with. Its a central tactic of most teams now but it's still cheating plain and simple and it dumbs down the game. It's now a basketball/rugby type sport with most plays consisting of throws to off the shoulder runners to eventually set up a shooter in space.

It's pointless saying that refs should enforce the rules that are there, when it's next to impossible to do so with any consistent accuracy or success. It would lead to refs guessing, and result in dozens of extra and contested frees a game. It's not realistic and that's why refs just choose to ignore it.

I'd say the game would improve immeasurably, and obviously be far less contentious, if handpassing from the holding hand was outlawed and I'd say it's only a matter of time before it happens. Players would adapt and it would force coaches to rethink how they play. The reason players throw the ball is that it's central to the teams game plan (look at Limerick). They know it's illegal but they also know they'll get away with it, but they mainly do it as it's extremely difficult to give a proper, accurate, legal, 'clear release and strike' handpass in close quarters to runners coming at pace. The way players currently execute that pass is a cop out and the GAA is ignoring it.

Ignore the litany of rulebreaking in every match and just enjoy, it's really entertaining?

Sorry, I cant buy into that, it will end badly with a hybrid game of throwing and running (getting away 10-12 steps is now common), farcical scorelines of 1-42 to 0-43 and a game that that barely resembles hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭robwen

Yeah that looks brutal to be fair, but they were obvious throws in real time , no need for slow motion.

We are not in the High Court here, one refs interpretation of "Clear" may differ from that of another. Offside in soccer is a foul not cheating just like a handpass deemed illegal in hurling is a foul ,not cheating??

Yep, that's the sequence of play that I referenced in my post yesterday, there are 5 handpasses in total, the first two are ropey, the last three scandalous, and the ref 5 yards away.

Clare had dominated the 10mins before half time and built a 4-point lead. Limerick, similar to the injury feigning tactic of a few years ago (that refs eventually copped onto), when a team gets a bit of a run on them, I think the word now goes out to "speed things up", get that slick zig zag “handpassing” out of defence going. Get the game moving at a pace that the opposition will struggle to contain and part of that, for me at least, involves illegal handpassing.

When you are the team at the top, you will be scrutinised more, Kilkenny were always targeted with accusations of cynical tactics, some of it OTT, but it goes with the territory, dominant teams will come more under the microscope.

The dominant team of the time will also nearly always be the ones who are at the forefront with the clever tactics that sometimes push the boundaries, Limerick are undoubtedly in that category. They have the game analysed to a level well above the rest and understand what they can and cannot get away with.

For instance, I’d say Limerick (and one of two others) know refs inside out and know exactly what their boundaries and tolerances are and this is meticulously put into practise on match days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Marrooned

ye Alonzo very cynical but an accurate assessment. At a referee’s meeting one night they had video annalisis and Barry Kelly was asked why was it mostly KK he said they were the biggest culprits of the current infractions plus the fact they were televised most at that time being multiple all Ireland winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Completely agree with all of the arguments put forward here on the handpass. However, as long as the media facilitate the current completely blinkered view of the issue it's a battle that will not be won. When you have the likes of Shane Dowling on the Sunday Game completely flipping the rule on it's head and instead of "if there is no clear separation it is a foul", he states "if it is not 100% clear it's a throw you have to allow it", and all you get from the rest of the panel are bobble head nods, you're at nothing trying to get any change through. That he wasn't even challenged on such a statement, or that Donal Og and others are allowed to make equally daft statements completely unchallenged just shows that there is a real bias being pushed right now.

I’m well aware that we’re not in the high court but if you think being caught offside is the same as blatantly throwing the ball then I don’t know what to say to you.

One of the above absolutely is cheating and the other is not.

It's only blatant in your eyes not in the eyes of the referees...and THEY are the ones that matter. Mass hysteria with some on here. The game has never been in a better place. Not that Long ago the All Ireland was the preserve of Cork, Tipp and ourselves. Now all five teams in Munster have a realistic chance of emerging from the province. Slowly but surely coming that way in Leinster , something we could only dream of some years ago. I would advise go to the matches and enjoy the spectacle as it unfolds, rather than reaching for the remote seeking out minor infringements that may have escaped the attention of the ref. There was a time we were lucky to have three great matches a year now we are blessed to have three most weekends. The important thing is being there if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

While I despise the amount steps players are taking in the game right now and how poorly its policed and the constant throwing of the ball etc

Some things in the game have stayed the same every team is crying out for ball winners in the half forward line catching clean possession is still king and as effective as ever

Every team has ball winners in there half back line and it’s still the launch pad for being successful like it was years ago

Even if you look at soccer the ball is worked out from the back the whole time but going long and goals from corners are making a comeback

As much as the game is now a running game the right ball to the edge of the square is still very effective and hard to defend as long as we don’t lose the skill of winning your own ball in the air the game will be ok

But similar to Gaelic football tweaks will have to be made going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87