Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia-Ukraine War (continuing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭poop emoji

Now look what you done Trumpolini and Putler

You woken Germany who are ripping up self imposed limits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Land of the free??? and Vance had the audacity to try and lecture European leaders on free speech! WTF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

It’s these clowns protesting outside government buildings today about removing the triple lock that tells me we will have some job getting the country onboard with the need to defend itself.

Trust Sinn Fein to come out with total bollocks about neutrality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Ye great not quite a hundred years later Germany is building Autobahnen direction east again. Yay. And all of Europe is following. Yay again. And they will use a dirty parliamentary trick to push this through before the new parliament can sit where they wouldn't have the required majority. More yay.

We seem literally drunk with obsession of a new war. I'm not sure people understand this the way they're going on here but a new world war is where we're heading with no sign of stopping atm. The way it's currently going there will be one and it wont be the Russians starting it. And it may well be the last one ever.

People in this frenzy should have a long hard in the mirror in the morning and have a think what this all means and how little it took to set off this frenzy. It's the same madness that set off WWI and WWII and its mostly cheap demonisation of a supposed enemy and big time lies and you're all falling for it again. And when it's all done and there is still someone left to reminisce it will be all 'awww how could we have known this'. People learn nothing from history seemingly.

Post edited by CalamariFritti on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,060 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Journalist who asked Zelenskyy about the costume in the White House complains about threats

Brian Glenn, a journalist for the far-right network Real America's Voice, who asked Volodymyr Zelenskyy at the White House why he was not wearing a suit, complained about the threats.

Source: The journalist said in an interview with the BBC, as reported by European Pravda

Details: "Thousands, tens of thousands of comments on social media, death threats, phone calls - I don't know where they got my number," Glenn said.

He admitted that people apparently did not understand his intention to check whether Volodymyr Zelenskyy understood the "level of respect" that people entering the Oval Office should have.

Easily one of the best things I've read today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Supposed enemy? Invades a neighbour, bombs civillians Bucha , threatens others. No, a real enemy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭Guffy

Tbf the person who quoted the tweet is posting misinformation. That's clearly not what he said.

Absolutely agree what he did say is scary though. I keep thinking they can't let him last 4 years but the alternative will be Vance so will that be any better? How do they get rid of both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Virgil°

how little it took to set off this frenzy

How little it took!?

You mean like the largest land war in Europe kicking off at the whims of an absolutely disgusting murderous autocratic scumbag?

Or the recent American administration breaking from 8 decades of foreign policy direction seemingly overnight because Trumps only means of getting a hardon anymore is flirting with said scumbag?

Those little thangs?

Demented drivel. Try harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Certain irony in you saying people never learn from history. Appeasement of Nazi Germany did not work meanwhile you're arguing for that very policy with Russia. People really never do learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭OrangeBadger

Will Trump propose to buy Ireland in the run up to st Patrick's day? And what will he say if president Higgins has a go at him....Like what would the first remarks out of Trump's mouth if he saw Higgins....Paddy's day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,006 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭joseywhales

The Russians have already started it, just like WW2 was really just the climax of the political divide in Europe pre WW1. The wheels are in motion now. And when you invest in building up militarily, there is increased pressure to use it. When Putin invaded Ukraine he began a war that could last for decades and involve every country in the world. It's not like Europe has a choice. They can agree any deals with Russia, Russians will not abide by them and continue to push west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭REDBULL68

Indeed, you are right, at the start putin said not war but the long war ,me thinks this has been conspired by many blank faces .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭wandererz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

Jesus fcuking Christ, Putin Jr.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/ckgn3v0rdx2o

"He repeated his desire for an American annexation of Greenland, promised American control of the Panama Canal …"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Even Elon's own AI estimates with 75-85% certainty that Trump is a Russian asset:

image.png image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,607 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Attempting to humiliate Zelensky over his attire, yet there is his girlfriend Marjorie in Congress wearing that ridiculously stupid MAGA baseball cap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

@CalamariFritti

Ye great not quite a hundred years later Germany is building Autobahnen direction east again.

We seem literally drunk with obsession of a new war. … it wont be the Russians starting it.

…demonisation of a supposed enemy

So that's your summing up of what is going on in Europe over last few years. Militaristic Germans are itching to fight and create a giant war and wronged Russia is the victim of this warmongering.

Reminds me of what Peskov I think said the other day. Russia has stopped heaping invective on the US though, as they are doing everything Putin/Russia wants. The US is suddenly "good", and Europe is now the remaining evil, "the party of war".

You perhaps haven't got the new Russian political/media messages internalised yet as you were are still attacking the US here + banging on about the Iraq invasion from 20 years ago, "plane loads of cash" etc. The change-up has just been too rapid and sharp for you to cope with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

I am still waiting for the latest Orwell Rd representative to grace us with their presence, to squeal “Russophobia”

Then my bingo card will be complete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭zv2

@CalamariFritti "The way it's currently going there will be one and it wont be the Russians starting it."

Eh? The Russians have already started everything that is to follow. You can't start a war and blame someone else for the consequences.

But Trump is already trying to blame Zelenskyy for it. He's trying to preempt the blame game so if it does come Putin will not be blamed: "You are playing cards with WW3".

You have to be ahead of the curve with this f'er.

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭TokTik

Don’t agree with everything in the below, but it covers what’s happening without being too one sided.

“Many people were understandably appalled at the Oval Office row involving Trump and Zelensky. It was indeed unedifying and appeared to be a form of bullying of President Zelensky by Trump and his lapdog JD Vance.

However, people’s understandable loathing of Trump, which I share, should not blind them to the background and realpolitik to this public spat which lies in the long and murky history of US involvement in Ukraine.

While Trump is a boorish, arrogant oaf, his statement that President Zelensky wouldn’t be “such a tough guy without US support” is essentially correct. You don’t have to like the messenger to accept the factual basis of the message.

Zelensky has never held “the cards”- as Trump put it - in this war. Ukraine was never an independent actor in this conflict. The real movers and shakers have always been in Washington, Moscow and Brussels.

The reality also is that many western supporters of continued war in Ukraine take a simplistic, ill-informed view on the background to the conflict which, to be frank about it, is the result of a diet of Russophobia which people in this part of the world have basically been reared on.

The truth is that the long histories of Ukraine and Russia are inextricably linked. They have been for 1,000 years. Ukraine’s capital was the heart of Kievan Rus and laid the foundations for the Russian nation.

Despite huge efforts in the west to portray Ukraine as an oppressed nation, that caricature is disputed by many. For instance, the most obvious problem with this analysis is that Ukraine was an integral part of the old Russian Empire.

Even during the Soviet era, Ukraine was a central player in the USSR. Soviet leader Nikita Khrushchev was himself Ukrainian.

What is also true, of course is that the Ukrainian people suffered horrifically during the period of the Holodomor, which some historians believe was a man made famine engineered purposely by Stalin.

Saying any of the foregoing does not make one an admirer of Putin, who is a brutal authoritatian. It is merely to understand the history of the region.

When the USSR collapsed, Ukraine became independent and that’s when things get more complicated.

The United States and NATO gave explicit assurances to the world that in the post Soviet period, NATO would not expand “one inch eastward." It wasn't long before this solemn commitment was torn up.

Western intelligence and political interests began meddling in the internal politics of Ukraine. So too did Russia.

In 2014, what many people describe, fairly accurately as “a coup” overthrew a democratically elected president, Viktor Yanukovych, because he rejected an EU trade deal.

The hidden hand of the US and the CIA was exposed - when officials like Victoria Nuland were heard on a leaked phonecall, handpicking Ukraine’s next government before Yanukovych had even departed.

Anti-government protests at this time were anything but peaceful. They included self-declared, neo-Nazi organisations.

Western and Kiev backed groups supported bans on the Russian language, and people in the east of the country who identified with Russia were brutally attacked.

In this atmosphere, Crimea voted to return to Russia. Groups in Donbass also voted to secede.

Russia was clearly interfering in Ukraine at this time also. We all remember the “little green men”, who were clearly Russian soldiers on Ukrainian soil.

However, it is also a fact that Kiev attacked their own people, shelling civilians for eight years, and there wasn’t a peep out of the bleeding heart liberals in the west.

It should also be remembered that Ukraine suffers hugely from corruption, with oligarchs funding political parties in their own self interest. It cannot be compared to any liberal democracy in Western Europe.

By 2022 NATO countries had funnelled millions of weapons and money into Ukraine. So, with NATO on its doorstep, in contravention of previous assurances; with Russian identifying communities being attacked; and the prospect of Ukraine becoming a base for NATO nuclear weapons - Russia invaded Ukraine.

The Russian invasion was wrong. It was illegal under international law. Like all invasions it was brutal.

But let nobody pretend that the US or other western powers would not do the same in similar circumstances. If you believe that - I have some magic beans to sell you!

Saying any of this does not make one an admirer of Putin. It merely means you recognise the truth.

And the truth is that Ukraine has been used as a pawn in geopolitical scheming for years, and it still is.

With President Zelenskyy being abandoned by his previous sponsors - Washington, Ukraine has now effectively lost the war.

There is no way that the Brits, France or the EU can fill the role played by Washington. They have neither the military capability nor the money.

But what Britain, France and others now wish to do is to greatly militarise Europe. They are seeking to keep up the fantasy that Russia can be defeated by Ukraine on the battlefield. This is utterly delusional.

If they weren’t able to defeat Russia with the backing of the most powerful military and economy in the world, how on earth can they do it without them?

Meanwhile, Ukrainian forces are dragging kids and old men off the streets to force them to the frontline in an unwinnable war.

It’s disgusting. It’s shameful. It’s a waste of human lives. And people in Ireland need to stop cheering it on.

Why should Ireland care about any of this at all? Well, because influential forces in this country are seeking very explicitly to drag us into the vortex of a new European militarism.

For a start, the British have announced that they will manufacture their weapons of destruction for Ukraine on the island of Ireland - in a city that itself has only recently emerged into peace from a decades long conflict. This is an obscenity!

The British have no money for struggling pensioners, or for their crumbling health service but have plenty of money for weapons of war.

Meanwhile, in the South the opinion writers, the columnists and the editors have been working overtime to end Ireland’s longstanding policy of military neutrality.

The first step in this process will be the Fianna Fáil/Fine Gael government’s attempt to remove the Triple Lock regarding the deployment of Irish troops overseas.

The insidious campaign to chip away at Irish neutrality must be strongly opposed. The Irish people highly value our neutrality, our record of peacekeeping and our long anti-colonial history.

Meanwhile the efforts to flood Ukraine with more weapons of war and to escalate the conflict must be replaced with efforts to broker a ceasefire and serious negotiations towards a lasting peace.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭Hoop66

A lot of words to say: "I uncritically lap up Kremlin propaganda and regurgitate it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭zv2

@tiktok "Ukraine’s capital was the heart of Kievan Rus and laid the foundations for the Russian nation."

Which means Russia should be living under Kyivan law and jurisdiction. Kyiv existed before Moscow did. So if historical arguments apply you have them here.

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,820 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Read with an open mind but got as far as this nugget and gave up:

In 2014, what many people describe, fairly accurately as “a coup” overthrew a democratically elected president, Viktor Yanukovych, because he rejected an EU trade deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Great - so what do you want? The war to stop? Europe to do nothing?- let Putin have his victory? With what is looking like zero consequences for his actions? What happens the next time Russia comes knocking? Do we just appease him again? If you think that that the only reason Putin is in Ukraine is because of NATO or to protect Russian speakers you really do not understand at all. Love the confidence though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

“Repeat a lie often enough and it becomes the truth” - Joseph Goebbels

^ In case anyone is confused as to why the Russian Nazis keep reiterating the same lies over and over and over again

Fair play to those whom patiently call em out on the bullshit again and again, you give the Russian Nazis an inch and they take a quarter of your country before you know it (or in case of US under Krasnov the whole country)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Are the bits you don't agree with the bits that are absolutely hot garbage? Which is most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

The exact moment the penny dropped with me I was sucked into another Kremlin scutter propaganda article!!

I keep falling into the trap…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Who wrote that horseh1t? It's disturbing to see that Russian propaganda has got a foothold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,006 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Good example of a diatribe of Russian propaganda. Touches on everything:

• Putin has no agency
    • The West is to blame
    • The invaded country is to blame
    • Crude Russian propaganda
    • Pearl clutching about peace, but repeating the talking points of the invader
    • A clear underlying anti-European world view, which shares the same page as Putin's views