If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Upcoming Fights **Mod note: Keep discussion to fight night threads**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭cudsy1

Very true. It looked to me like paddy the run of himself to a certain extent in final seconds, id imagine out of frustration. Started trying to take crocker out ASAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,683 ✭✭✭✭walshb

exactly what happened. Paddy wasn’t trying to cheat, he was simply full of energy in the moment. Shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Yeah, I think he got caught by a big shot by Crocker just after he'd knocked Crocker down and he went into a bit of a rage to try get him out of there. The last shot was definitely late.

The ref was poor. Paddy made mistakes with the elbow and with the punch after the bell, but Crocker was leading with the head also and ref never said anything. Crocker was well beaten and he was looking like he couldn't take any more damage to that left eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,552 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Agreed, Donovan levels above and crocker wanted out, referee very one sided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Find it hard to believe so many saying crocker was looking for a way out when he was desperately hanging on for dear life in a fight he was getting outclassed in. As Bellew said, if he'd not got up from the first knockdown, nobody would have said anything against him. While celebrating and flexing is a bit much, he got pretty badly KOed by a foul. Don't think anyone disputes how late the punch was. He didn't know what planet he was on when the ref called it off, so drawing an equivalence with a soccer dive is lunacy.

Ref had a mare, but Donovan indisputably lost control at the end.

Paddy was clearly ahead in all cards after 7 rds.

Bit hard to listen to him saying he had dropped his hands because he heard the bell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭megadodge

It's not the ending people are complaining about, it was Crocker's constant looking to the ref and complaining about the head, when his head was often lower than Donovan's. When you have a lot of infighting there will inevitably be head clashes, but that's the nature of the game.

In round 7 Crocker reeled away grimacing and pointing to his eye and the ref didn't actually warn Donovan, because as the replay showed, Donovan's head made contact with Crocker's shoulder!

Paddy fooked up, end a story. Referee was correct. Would he have won had rd 9-12 happened? Possibly. But we can’t know this. It was a 12 rds fight and he got himself disqualified because he got himself disqualified

Being a whinge and trying to play the ref is not "looking for a way out". If he truly wanted out and his heart wasn't in it, he'd have stayed down when he got floored the first time.

The stuff about dropping his hands is simply post fight bluster and bravado. Did you expect him to stand there and give an interview where he admitted he got taken apart and was incredibly fortunate to have been awarded a win? It's not his fault the ref made a balls of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Paddy lost the run of himself at the end but he was unlucky to get the two points deducted for the head imo, I don't think he deserved it, Crocker was as bad as him and the ref never mentioned it once.

how did the ref make a balls of it? Are you saying he should not have DQd Paddy for a clearly after the bell illegal punch?

No, I think if he'd been doing his job properly he'd have been much closer to the action and ready to jump in coming up to the bell, especially given the way Paddy was unloading and on the verge of ending the fight. Feel free to be contrary about it if you want, but good luck convincing anyone otherwise

None of which changes the fact that it's completely Paddy's responsibility to control his aggression and not hit him after the bell. He lost himself the fight through his own poor discipline.

nothing contrary at all. And I’m not trying to convince anyone. Don’t be so silly. Where does it say in rule book that a referee has to be up close near end of round to prevent an illegal late punch?

Referees don’t keep time, and nor does an alarm sound to alert a referee to the near end of a round. So, how did the referee make a balls of the call? Paddy made a balls of it, not the referee.

Sigh. "Not contrary at all". Proceeds to be extremely contrary.

and you’re proceeding to be silly. You said ref made a balls of it. And you can’t show why. End of. The contrary nonsense is in your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Donovan will be even more distraught when he sees that back.

With 1 eye totally closed disqualification was the only chance Crocker had of winning that fight. Paddy handed it to him on a plate.

No, I just wanted to go to bed rather than get deeper into an argument with someone clearly gee eyed on a load of cheap cans.

What on earth are you on about the rulebook? Where did I say anything about the ref has to be close to prevent an illegal punch. I clearly stated that it is 100% Donovan's responsibility not to foul the other fighter.

However, if the ref had been doing his job even half competently, the foul would never have happened. It is the referee's job to protect the fighters and Crocker was being whaled on, having already been knocked down and a horrific looking eye. Given you're suggesting the referee couldn't possibly be expected to be aware that the round was about to end, presumably the logical extension of that is he'd not have been aware if there were another 10, 20, 30 seconds etc left in the round. Should he have just continued to watch Crocker get battered rather than intervening and stopping the fight? If there was time left in the round , that fight was ending a few seconds later. His failure to do his job in protecting Crocker meant he was on the receiving end of the foul and badly KOed. If you think McDonnell isn't in line for a critical mauling, you're absolutely deluding yourself.

None which, as I've now said twice, changes the fact that it's Donovan's responsibility not to foul his opponent.

grand, so it was Donovan’s fault completely for getting disqualified. That’s all you had to say!

Tank-Roach was interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Rematch will get far more attention now. Eddie licking his lips.

If you'd read (or understood) any of the posts, you'd have been aware that I already did.

If Boots vacates there’s a possibility that the rematch could be for the vacant IBF world welterweight title.

Hey, great two Irish lads fight for a world title in one the sports most historically significant and deep divisions, but by jaysus you’d never see a softer title given.

Boots, if Crocker fights him, hammers Crocker within 3-4 rds

Now, if ya wanna see a referee screw up it was not awarding a KD against Davis in rd 9 last night. Cost Roach the victory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Referees screwing up all over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Thought Donovan boxed superbly and was awful unlucky to come out with that outcome. Referee was weak all night.

Hopefully one of those situations where the controversy helps bring a bit more attention to Donovan and actually ends up boosting his profile and career a bit. Will be important that the IBF help him out though. Got to order an immediate rematch. Probably unlikely but the dream scenario would be Ennis moving up in weight, vacating the title and the rematch being for a world title.

Yes would be a fantastic fight, and you'd imagine would end up with Donovan as a world champion

What could Crocker do differently? I mean, right from start he was looking gun-shy, even before Paddy was tagging him. I have not seen too much of Crocker, but I did think he’d outwork and break Paddy down. Paddy boxed very well, but Crocker was just too inactive. Reminded me a Scott Quigg against Frampton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭weemcd

One dimensional and no plan B. I hadn't seen much of Crocker before but I was expecting more than that. He looked very limited to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭blade1

A wise man once said

"You live by the egg, you die by the egg"

Chris Eubank Jr. - 2025.