Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭kentu

I was Dissapointed Peter McDonald wasn't atleast brought on, thought Mackessy struggled a bit, not a Midfielder at this level unfortunately, half back or nowhere I would think for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭ttowncat

Are we safe from relegation?

Wex and clare can only get to 4 points? Do we stay safe on head to head then?

You'd imagine that was the last audition for some lads there tonight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Box to box

I thought it was a night for zach with his pace. Killian doyle isnt ready,defensively we arent too bad. Its up the field that's where the problem lies..5 points from play in 40 minutes won't win you big games. If cian Kenny could maintain his form at 11 he would be a big help especially when John and Adrian come back. The big fallout from games is alarming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Siaranbealach82

Well in fairness to yee, Kk were hanging tough as the team that were probably doing the least of it, but when nothing is being done about it, this is what has to happen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭kentu

I would imagine Kilkenny safe enough regarding relegation no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Krazy gang

Donnelly must have been injured to be taken off I take it? Kenny brilliant and Molloy a big plus. Backs did well in general bar blanch. 3 of cork forwards held scoreless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87

Clare would have to beat , Cork, Tipp and Limerick and Kilkenny lose to both Tipp and Limerick. So more or less guaranteed safety. Kilkenny and Tipp will be a cracker next week, both teams need to win to make league final

Stephen donnelly hamstring problem. Lawlor quad above the knee.. maybe dead leg.

Mossy and kenny hopefully might have jarred something in the leg is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭mullinr2

Whats really disappointing is that two of our best prospects from underage are not going to make it as senior players - Shine and Drennan. Shine reminds me of Kevin Kelly, bit of an underage reputation but didn't make it at senior. We really need to find a forward with a bit of sparkle, nothing would excite you in that Kilkenny forward line. Is there anything coming through at underage to give us a bit of hope we might finish off the decade with an All Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I wouldn’t write either of those lads off just yet and we’ll be competitive again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 njcat

Happy enough with today's and the Wexford performance. Coordination is improving with the consistent team. Cian Kenny very impressive again- real class for over 12 months. Jordan Molloy also class and good tonight. Stephen Donnelly is good in the corner and will hopefully improve with game time. Padraic Moylan did very well when he came on. Would like to see his DCU teammate Paddy Langton get a run. We need to persevere with the skillful lightweight corner forwards (Harry Shine & Billy Drennan); they need time for S&C to reach their potential. Keep their confidence up and give them time; it may take another 2 years. But let's not lose patience. Same with Killian Doyle who showed some nice touches. I think all three can play at the level Cian Kenny is showing now; have the skill but lack the S&C si getting horsed out of it. In my opinion, skill will ultimately win out. We missed out 2022-2024 in quality league games v Limerick, Tipp and Galway. Kilkenny started to peak for the Leinster Final 2022-2024 and I wont worry about wides like today in the interim. We did not fade imotoday as some have said and I liked how we disrupted both Wexford (a first) and Cork backs when we played our hunt in packs game admittedly for just the firdt half. Lastly, hoping that Adrian Mullen is not disheartened by all the injuries first to his brother Daragh and now himself. He is a great player and we need him at his best. Also hoping John Donnelly is able to recover from his thumb surgery; he was fantastic last year prior to the Wexford game; thumbs and fingers are critical in accurate shooting; hopefully, his feel from the thumb is restored early.

If corner forwards are slow they are at nothing.

Derek Lyng is still an Emeralds man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

A lot to like from that performance.

Solid defensive spine.

Improved pattern of play.

Jordon Molloy was very good.

Cian Kenny was very good.

Lots of selfless play from Cody.

S.Donnelly looked sharp.

Get a fit Mullen, Donnelly, TJ back in there and we have a first 15 to rival anybody..

Negatives is our accuracy from long range, particularly Blanch. Not much impact from the bench although Moylan was good.

Ref did us no favours tonight. But for a few gifts to Cork + our wastefulness from long range, we were the better team over the 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭forchange

anyone that hit a positive from that rubbish tonight has a very low standard

Butler again 4 frees giving away

Tommy Walsh destroyed

Probably the best player we have blanchfield has a bad night and you slate him

What about Ryan he scores a goal and never seeing again I think he went to Aldi for second half instead off super value

The biggest joke about kilkenny hurling at the moment is Doyle the amount of players that

half walked over him getting game time

Me old friend Mossy what a terrible performance he went out under the tunnel after a ball he should have kept going

They brought on hogan did he hit the ball I don’t think so

I told you all 2 years ago kenny was the best player we had all laughed at me but I right again

I told you along time ago about poor old paddy Deegan what a disaster

The reality cork were no way near ready to play tonight and we still could not take them fitzgibon didn’t raise a gallop and our midfielder s could not take advantage

The only matches we have won the Clare B team and we beat the worst Wexford team ever started a match and we still made hard work off it

We are going to need some one to come in and do a miracle like the great Ollie Walsh done in 1991 2and3 when he dragged Kilkenny hurling and revived it by making brave decisions and backing his judgement bringing John power into the forwards bringing Christy in as a impact sub

Backing his own son who turned into a all star others would not give him a game brought in players from junior grade can’t think off there names on corner back got Adrian Ronan up to the mark (hope he doing ok )

Lyng should never have being appointed had not the experience for the job and were paying for it now anyone that could see positives in that load of rubbish tonight has tinted glasses on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 upnorth

You are a great fan of the Walsh’s…. While pretending to be from Mullinavat.

Anyone else think cian Kenny was lucky to get away with that challenge on Joyce? Did he even get a yellow? The fact he went down himself probably distracted the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭neverbet

22,193 atrended the match tonight, I would say we struggled to make up the 193. Surely that was worth rhree points to the rebels. Pat Ryan deserves great respect for being there.

Yeah Kenny was fortunate not to get a yellow at least, he was trying to line Joyce up and just got it all wrong, I don’t think it was intentional but definitely dangerous.

Savage crowd for a Saturday evening although the conditions were perfect for going to a game.

Can’t have been easy for Pat Ryan as you say so fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Be careful you don’t choke on your own bitterness there

Any chance you might head off to Aldi yourself maybe take your negativity with you

There’s criticising players and then there’s you just been a miserable w*nker for the sake of it

Hard to fathom that your an actual kk supporter but talk about the current players and management in such derogatory terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭neverbet

Our backs did fine again. Michael Carey developing into a solid 6,Paddy very good at 7 and Blanch just needs to keep it simple. Huw brilliant and his loss is frightening. Padraig Moylan did well so a couple of starts should give him a real chance to make it. Jordan molloy should never have been hooked in Ennis and looks the part midfield. Doyle had a very good first half but messed up too much in the second.Cian Kenny was our MOTM by a distance. I think everyone on here has been in his camp and Lawlor apart he has been our most consistent for the last couple of years. The other forwards were well held. Stephen Donnelly again looked a good one but for the constant injuries. What a chap for sticking at it.we are never going to beat the Corks Limericks ,etc with so little ball winning ability and pace upfront. I honestly don't know who else we can look to for it? Saying that there was no lack of effort on anyones part and John Donnelly, Mullan, Phelan and TJ will make a huge difference, just nothing new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

100% next we need perfect getting away with taking a lot more steps like the others 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Why is it that our forwards can't get any separation between themselves and the back thats marking them?

Because some of them have average pace. Because the ball is telegraphed delivered from near our own half back line. Because anyone would do well to win a race and get a touch of these long hard deliveries let alone control it, turn, pass/score.

In saying that the cork corner backs are obviously fast.

Guillane isn't lightening quick. He doesn't go until his team have worked the ball at least half way and obviously himself, Flanagan and casey can shoot and score going away from goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

People forget how big and strong in the air both Gillane and Flanagan actually are.

For inside men they are both big.

Gillane especially can win any ball that comes into him.

Yeah not the worst tackle ever and red would have been harsh but definite yellow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

You'd need to see the footage from behind the goal to get a true picture but I reckon the movement off the ball is average at best. You don't need to be lightning fast if you can move a defender one way and then go another. Body position against the defender before the ball comes in is also important - see when Mellerick nipped in ahead of Shine in the first half last night as Shine tried to let the ball run past him.

I'd say most of our forwards are half forwards and not suited to playing inside. That tells by what happens off the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭usualstripes

The reason I ask is the same reason many have been saying this for years. Yes we can complain that a lot of the ball in is not great but as a half back or midfielder what are we doing in training? When molloy, blanchfield, deegan or carey are lining up to send ball in, if we can't anticipate this in the corners we're at nothing. And if we anticipate this and can't make the break or separation then its time we looked at our training methods. Or maybe we just don't have the pace. I'm not saying they can all be gillanes but we can certainly aim to make the ball stick more than we are now.

We have to give ourselves an edge as other teams like Limerick and Cork do cone championship.

We will have john donnelly, Adrian Mullen, TJ and Tom phelan back which will help but the tactics will need to be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Village87

Unfortunately Harry Shine and Billy Drennan are too slow for inside and not great in the air. Gillane is incredible in the air and can win any ball that goes in. Shine has had a load of ball his way last 2 matches but is not good enough in the air or fast enough around space to get away. I have seen comments about Eoin Cody not being fast enough, then Shine and Drennan have no chance. Any sign of Marty Murphy, he has been a stand out under age and is a huge man and would have more hurling that a Brian Hayes type. We are running out of options.

Over the last few years Kilkenny can match it with anyone for 55 minutes but after this we fall off a cliff. Be it lack of pace or energy levels/workrate drop as Kilkenny do work harder than anyone and we have little or no impact off the bench. We really need to plan for the last 15 minutes in these matches or else we will get the same results.