Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,371 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Just listened to Keane's rant on Bruno. Thought he was out of order to be honest. Bruno would get in to many major teams around Europe and has pretty much wasted his prime years with us.

His petulance can rile people the wrong way, usually opposition, but that's him sticking to up for the team when he's at the refs. Look at the shower he's had to play with the last good few years, it would irritate anyone.

Our most creative and is consistent with his numbers since he joined. Never injured and gives it all. He's been one of Rubens best presence's on the pitch this season.

In 10 years time I think he'll be appreciated more during what we're going through the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Caustic

I think he was way over the top in his criticism no doubt about it really and was just letting his frustration out even some of what he said about the pressing I don't think can be leveled at Bruno.

But the stuff about leadership and what gill came in with about his whining I do wonder about. Does that effect the morale of the team nobody likes to here someone whinging All the time.

You look at Van Dyke at Liverpool constantly barking at people telling them what they should have done or where they should be or Odegard at arsenal tried to motivate players and gee them up in a more positive way.

On the flip side it's hard to know how much it really matters if someone was the say Bruno leads by example in terms of output and work rate it's hard to argue against that.

I do feel united fans over rate him like in all his time at the club have we ever had any serious interest in him, bids or even speculation about a move from a big team, his wages were fairly reasonable most of his time at the club so that didn't block a move yet no big team really came looking, that should at least give some pause for thought.

I think if we go on to find success for top trophies in the next 10 years he won't be thought of too much tbh maybe that wouldn't be fair but it's how I would see it and if things stay the same or get worse he'd probably just divide opinions like degea and rashford Do now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Diego Leon scored tonight.

Not a bad finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Decent finish……although he had plenty of time to decide what to do .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭Talisman

I think there is something to what you say regarding the negative attitude i.e. whinging by an influential player affecting the team. There's an interview with Salah in which he said that early in his career at Liverpool, Robertson took him aside and told him not to show his frustrations during the game, e.g. when decisions went against him, when the player he had passed to missed a chance or he himself missed a scoring chance, because it did affect other players and as a result his frustration spread through the team. He accepted the criticism and acknowledged that he had a responsibility to put the team before himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭crusd

I dont know much about Trafford, he is an example. What our scouts need to be doing is looking at keepers with the profile like that of Trafford and identifying who has the traits needed as we cannot afford another 50 million keeper.

Now on Trafford, one of the reason Talk Sports are not doing segments on the Burley keeper mistakes is because they have only conceded 1 goal in the last 14 matches, in the one match that Trafford missed. Thats a remarkable record. He is not the keeper who looks good because his team give up a lot of chances. He is the keeper who allows no mistakes behind a good defence. Is he good enough, I dont know, but to write him off based on what he did as a 20 year keeper is strange given what he is doing now. And anyone is better than Onana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,261 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

He's not captain material though. He's too petulant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Yeah it was very strange. Obviously it’s good entertainment but if you take it at face value, he was definitely OTT and borderline angry really, which is weird for someone who doesn’t even support the club. I think Ian Wright was making sense but he was talking to a wall at that point.

Roy repeatedly trying to hammer home some point about “taking responsibility”. Why would you start with Bruno on that point of all people. When others are phoning it in, he’s always available to play and doesn’t hide away from it. He has bad games but he’s always there. Always faces up to the media. He has his faults and can be frustrating of course but the guy is obsessed with Man United and you can see how much it hurts him when we lose.

Look at the some of the other captains of big clubs in the league at the moment. Son, Odegaard, Reece James, de Bruyne. They’re not exactly like the captains of old, which is what people are expecting us to have. van Dijk being an exception. Teams don’t have the Roy Keane’s, Tony Adams’, Vieira’s as much anymore.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Bruno is a serious player and one that always takes on responsibility.

60 goals and almost as many assist in his 185 league games. He arrived as a 10 but has taken on many midfield and attacking roles since then. All without any fuss and on many cases he has taken on those multiple roles/positions within games.

As a player that has signed more than one new contract he actually stands alone as a player that continues to give everything before, during and after such contract changes. So many others get a new deal and go missing but he has never hid.

Yes he complains too much but he also praises people when they do well. Keane used to do that himself.

The amazing thing about Bruno is that the club have basically written off what is left of his contract as years they won't win and will be in transition. It must be horrible for him after all the changes and mess ups the club made in his time. So many false promises and unrealised opportunities. He could have sulked or taken a step back to try and move but instead there he is playing out of his best position for the team and giving everything - physical and mentally - to the team.

If that does not drive other people on then the problem is those other people, not Bruno.
    I would love the team to somehow get another FA Cup or Europa League this season for him as much as anyone, and if they do it will largely be because of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Seattle

But Keane has always been like that. His analysis is simplistic at best and judgement is average. He's driven by emotion and doesn't have the best critical thinking skills. It's why he's still a pundit and not in management - despite wanting to re-enter management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,797 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Utd won't win the league again until Bruno, as he is today, isn't good enough to get into the Utd team.

He is far from Utd's most pressing player issue in 2025, but he isn't near good enough to captain the team Utd should aim to have.

Keane's comments make sense in that context. The tricky thing to swallow is that Bruno is symptomatic of how much work is required. The conversation around that work naturally focuses on the worst players in the XI and squad. But Bruno would not get into the Liverpool, City, or Arsenal teams. He isn't good enough for where Utd aspires to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

Put Bruno in a team where he is surrounded by players as good as him and better, players who have a similar game intelligence and workrate to him - he would thrive and be well worth his place.

Any player who can consistently stand out and perform in this Utd Squad is a fairly remarkable player IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Seattle

You're entitled to your opinion on that but I couldn't disagree more. Bruno has so many strong characteristics and can play in many different roles to a high level. The managers of the teams you mentioned would love to have a player like him and would strongly disagree with your assessment imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Amorim on Garnacho walking down the tunnel vs Ipswich

"He came to me. It was funny because he came to my office. I did an investigation, he went to the dressing room to change his clothes because they were wet. He watched the game from somewhere different from the bench. There is no issue. I told him perception is important. He will pay for dinner for all the team."

So Garnacho has to buy dinner for everyone because of how he reacted. Whatever about the on pitch performances but Amorim is very good with handling the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,301 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,225 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Just watched the Keane-Bruno bit on the Overlap. Keane has made a tit of himself there to be honest. I get what he's saying to an extent but what the feck man. You'd swear his wife had just texted to say she's shagging the neighbour. No need for that anger at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

The part that resonated (because I've mentioned it here numerous times) with me about what Keane said is what he said about making it look like/pretending you're defending/pressing. Running and stopping about 2 yards short of the player. It looks like you're putting in a press but you're not really.

Dalot in particular grinds my gears in the regard but most of our players are the same. Lack of aggression and fear of being skint.

Post edited by All_in_Flynn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Hallaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Carragher and Neville were going at it before Keanes outburst about Arsenal and Liverpool. Definitely felt like a producer told them they'd all been too agreeable the past couple of weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,261 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Sometimes it looks staged to drag in more viewers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,225 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I suppose so. It's like the Goldbridge nonsense.

Personally it out me off the show. I don't watch it that regularly, more just the occasional clips here and there. I watched the full show for the likes of Schmeichel and Irwin.

I've always enjoyed the craic and banter. Like Keane joking about Jill and "Big" Marlon. Seeing him being a bad tempered belligerent arsehole didn't make me more likely to watch, less if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 96 ✭✭Westport Covies

in the next breath he'll tell you he doesn't mind utd winning or losing and that it doesn't make or break his weekend.

U18s live on youtube for the FA Youth cup, 1-0 up vs Arsenal, Jack Fletcher.

Dalot vs Ipswich was his 101st game since the start of last season. That's an incredible amount of games and is something like 9000+ minutes on the pitch.

No wonder the drop in form has happened with that amount of game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 819 ✭✭✭ngunners

Dalot is no world beater but he absolutely needs a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pipmae

Another assist for Rashford and he looks good. He's putting in some good set pieces into the box.

U18s go through in ET, Mantato with the winner.

Paper talk saying Barca will in for him in the summer (take with a pinch of salt) so if he's reading that he'll want to put in some good performances to impress for his dream move.

Will raise the price tag for us i'd imagine, which will is pure profit and that will be massive this summer for us if we want players in.

Dealing with any club he goes too should be an early priority imo to give us some cash this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭thefa

The likes of Keane, Scholes (also recently criticized Bruno) and some others on those teams were just a different breed compared to today’s united team in terms of mentality. Presume Bruno is targeted more being the captain and best player.

Sure, compared to the current team he takes more responsibility but not compared to most of the Ferguson’s teams. Think older teams would have lambasted Bruno to sh!t until some of his common errors are reduced.

Guess some of the ex players lack empathy to say the least and never see united as a team that shouldn’t be competing at the top. Keane (& others) can be very harsh in delivery but those same players weren’t molly-coddled either. Hope it lights a fire under Fernandes.