Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Golf Thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

Well its hard to know how to take that man. he's be waffling on about drug dealers and fathom rounds at Augusta all morning. I just though he was some form of comic, serious is definitely not the way I was interpreting his posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,031 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Kinda space..(thanks )

Say you go to a gym...lads won't even wait for you to get out of way at a locker ..Real I want that now. Even on machines looking at phones and no manners to move even with 100s of notices and people waiting ..

I'm empowered to do what I want now.

A bit of craic mixed in...but drop trying to copy what the pros are at ..particularly around the greens .

Get around in about 4 hours and drop all the bullshit on.the course..

Stick a stopwatch in your hood...and be cool in your hood and move fast and drop the routines..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Break80

My point was about optics and the image you want to project. I asked for honestly and don't think I got that.

My honest thoughts if someone is on a golf course with the idea, a dress code doesn't apply to them. Would the rules of golf apply to them on the course?

If a guy knocked at my door with a hoodie pulled up and tatts on his face to sell me something, my thoughts would be, why would you dress like that when the business you are in needs a different projection. TBF it's a uniform for most scumbags countrywide.

I don't have a problem with tatts,clothes or anything like that but these would be my honest thoughts in these situations.

I think I'll leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

The sense of entitlement out there is unreal.

Adds to slow play massively..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭blue note

Can the mods move this discussion to the non golf thread? I don't think posts about hoodies have anything to do with golf.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Surely we want to open golf for all, gear is expensive, no one in my family or I knew of golfed growing up, it was simply too expensive…if they're out there golfing and having fun then good luck to them/me/you/us

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REFLINE1

conflating people wearing golf hoodies to societal behaviour changes which in turn have caused slow play on golf courses is quite the leap. i play plenty of golf and although I see people take too much time faffing around with putts I've yet to see anyone do it to try "look cool."

It's mad how lads are making these comparisons.

I've just gone into my 40th year of playing golf. So I've seen every form of bandit, blatant cheating, the worst type of obnoxious behaviour you can imagine, oblivious self entitled slow play, and so on. And do you know what? It's not the hoody wearing brigade I find the problem. The most entitled behaviour I find comes from lads who are out there as long as me, and who should know better.

All I care about in golf. Is that you try you best keep the pace of play going, and are good company for the few hours. If you tick those boxes, I couldn't care less what you wore.

Post edited by IrishOwl... on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Shank Williams

I dare someone to defend the all grey sweatpants and hoodie combo Jason day was wearing a few weeks back- looked like someone you’d see meeting with the gangsters in pictures in the Sunday world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

What a load of bollox boards has become

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭coillcam

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

It's the internet, fora started off as Discussion Boards where different opinions are discussed, there's no right or wrong answer because we're all different (although Jason Day a few weeks back quite the way out there)

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

Jaysus lads , people need to be a bit less offended , of course, some mad stuff was posted. But the idea of a forum is your are exposed to different views. These can be expressed in any way , sometimes this is just a laugh , satire , irony. I accept it is hard with some to distinguish what is real or not.

The forum was at its best when you had absolute world class trolling ( even if it was masked , as not allowed), from likes of GreeBo - or your man Conno ? . A real edge of seat feel to the place. This has been moderated out - and a good bit is not allowed now. Is calmer around here (somewhat understandable as was a MOD nightmare), but way less fun.

I love and have loved the forum as it exposes you to other world views. It takes you out of your life gold fish bowl. That is what I love in life , the colour and variety of people and experience.

If people think - what people wear in sport is not looked at. They are not in the real world , or have not been in the real world of sport. Image is a massive thing in sport. It is a massive part of the golf industry. I'm clearly not into it - look terrible all the time. But , there is nothing wrong with a bit of a laugh saying - the state of that shirt on the US ryder cup team. It is just a laugh and fun. Grown men go around dressed in European flags - jaysus , come on how can you not laugh.

As for what Day is wearing - lol.

In a time - when everything you read is controlled by an algorithm , your opinions on things are shaped by the internet , product placement is part of life and influencers are a pariah of free thinking. Embrace a space of free and open opinion , even if that is completely opposite to your own.

The pro game and industry is bombarding us with absolute rubbish club marketing, outrageously expensive equipment , clothing , daft green fee rates, a split pro tour, outrageous crazy slow play and routines permitted, mad high WHS handicaps.

I embrace anyone who wants to offer a different view and challenge the current status quo. Keep it up , I'd say. Let people issue more controversy and challenging views. I never imagined I'd say this - but bring back the likes of GreeBo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,816 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

99.99% of slow play is due to guys who were golfing 20 years before Michael Noonan tried to ban hoodies, let's be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭bobster453

🦕...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭srfc d16

The last two pages are some of the most depressing posts I have ever read on this forum.
    People who wear hoodies are drug dealers, people who wear hoodies are north inner city toe rags who cause anti social behaviour on public transport, people in hoodies are self centered and cause 5 hour rounds. I'm sure I have missed out on a few here but there is some genuinely baffling comments made over the past few days.
    Make sure you look on your ring doorbell or through the peephole before answering the door in case there happens to be a boogie man with a hood on or maybe even a tattoo.
    I'll make sure never to put my name down for a boards society outing. I wouldn't want my playing partner to be too scared if I were to wear a hoodie.
    I see the class system is alive and well for some when it comes to golf. Grim stuff all around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭bobster453

Well said except the bit about boards outings, we have to comply with host courses dress codes, even if we dont agree with them.

Actually, the same could be said for a lot, possibly most courses regardless.

I often, in the past, played golf with guys who wore wellies or workboots on the course.Mind you it didnt take long for them to be told whats what by the powers that be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭soverybored1878

Is it safe to come out yet? I'm wearing a grey hoodie at the moment so just checking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,970 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

That's not how it works, everyone is afraid of you if you're wearing a hoodie? Do you have any tatts?? Because apparently those amply the fear.

I'm definitely wearing one at a Boards outing now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭token56

I wore one to the last outing, would not recommend. I was shunned and had to stand in the practice net while having balls hit at me to "teach me a lesson".

Next time I'll be wearing this bad boy - https://wonderhoodie.com/products/wonder-hoodie-x-adult-bulletproof-hoodie-nij-iiia?variant=40605263167599

(All jokes aside I can't believe the above actually exists)

it will help somewhat when we start launching the balls at you….

I do have tatts. Maybe I should just sell my clubs and not go outside ever again, less I scare the women and children (and the hysterical boards poster)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Anyone got any advice on breaking in new golf shoes?

I bought some new footjoys over the winter and have been wearing them here & there (mostly to stand & watch my son play football) for a while.

I went out to play yesterday, wearing the new ones, and had to come in after 6 holes, with the heels cut off me.

Anybody any advice on breaking them in, or is simply a matter of wearing them in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭kennethrhcp

Wear blister patches for the 1st few rounds in any new shoes. I always had the heels cut off me aswell & this works. I hear of people using a hairdryer on the heel of new shoes but haven't tried that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭coillcam

Another option is to use a different sock. I have a couple of pairs of 1000 mile (running socks).

They have two layers meaning that 1 sock layer and shoe should slip independently. In turn, reducing the friction on your heel or foot. I don't run, and I bought them to deal with blisters. They're more expensive but they do work as they were designed for people running marathons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Compede